Powhatan, VA 
The Monster @ Fighting Creek Share
Uploaded By: blackmamba5490 Hole #10 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 203ft.   3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Long Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun course

2-4    7/24/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: RedElectricDragon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very long course. A nice variety of shots after the 1st nine.
Cons: Signage should be numbered with the hole numbers. In some places there are multiple unmarked arrows pointing to different tees. Some of the tee signs are broken.
Other Thoughts: No one wants to talk about hole 10? The tee is behind a baseball field and is hard to find. You have to avoid two huge hazards and the fairway is very small. Need some serious control teeing off here.

Quick Comment

1    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Maybe I shouldn't even post a review since I didn't play the course but didn't know where else to provide feedback.

Stopped by twice to play the course but didn't find the starting point the first time (it's not by the library as was described. (I just updated the directions) Keep going to the next parking parking area and you'll see the sign posted in the pics.

Second time we found the starting point but when the wife saw she had to wade through knee deep weeds just to get to the first tee she was less than thrilled. When I waded through and looked at hole #1 it took 10 minues to figure out the basket location. We looked around just to check out holes 9,10 & 11. Never found #10 pad.

A map posted at the beginning of the course would be VERY useful since nothing is posed on here and the posted scorecard is apparently from the older layout and incorrect.

Looks like it could be interesting but I saw no-one playing the course. Needs a lot of work. I gave it only a 2.5 just because I saw no real reason to come back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The monster it is.

1    1/11/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent signs, left to rght mixture of holes. Decent elevation holes.
Cons: Natural tees are caked in mud and has a piece of carpet to keep your footing. Tee boxes are missing a lot of markers, some of the holes have been altered for the footage.No clear route to take on several holes.
Other Thoughts: It is always nice to play new courses. A little more TLC and few more lanes this course could really have something. I just felt like I was playing the same hole several times with a long drive and then another long drive for an upshot. It felt like an open driving range then the basket would be tucked away in the woods for a putt.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

What a Pleasant suprise!

1    1/7/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2013
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Long holes
Clear signs detailing where the baskets are for both the long and short tees
A great mixture of long open holes and tightly wooded holes
Carpet tee pads

Cons: Lots of walking
40 miles from where i reside
A little confusing finding the next holes
score card for this course is wrong ( holes are in different places than what it says)
Other Thoughts: I have avoided this course because of the bad reviews but i gave it a shot anyway and WOW AM I GLAD I DID! Its got two separate thousand foot par 5's and a lot of hills to climb but i love courses with diversity and this one has got it.I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to get a workout and play a jewel of a course!

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Course updates are awesome!

2-4    12/19/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: DUBONE
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new updated course plays so much better than before, the tee boxes seem a little nicer as well. Directional arrows in the trees help out for easy navigation as well as map boxes on each hole. This was my 4th time playing here and the first 3 were not so good, but the new updates to the course made it worth while. I will be going back =)
Cons: The only con I can think of is a few of the wooded holes have too many trees on them and I also had to jump across the creek a couple of times because there are no bridges.
Other Thoughts: This is a very long course but there are benches and picnic tables along the way if you need a break.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: ChuckDiscs
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the longest courses in Virginia if you play from the longs. The hole placements are decent and vary in difficulty. They have drawn maps at each hole (the long pads) to show you the length of hole and where the basket location is. White arrows on trees to point you in the direction of the next hole.
Cons: Poorly kept, the grass needs to be cut and the short tee pads are in desperate need of attention The pads are a bit small and are what seems to be carpet with crush rock underneath. Which is fine but most of the AM pads are, in my opinion, a little on the small side width wise.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 was the most memorable for me. There was 4 of us that played and we all seemed to enjoy ourselves. With a little better upkeep and maybe better maps or directions to get to the next hole this course would get a higher rating from me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than advertised

2-4    3/10/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course. Nice innova baskets. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Great use of elevation changes! Rubber tees with nice signs on long tees. Nice library at the first hole and practice basket with restroom when open.
Cons: Long! Not that that in and of itself is a con, but players need to be warned. Long doesn't cover it, LOL. Shorts are poorly marked, no tees or signs for shorts, only pink wooden markers in the ground. very hard to see, let alone find at all. On most courses this isn't a problem because the shorts aren't too far off from the longs, but not at The Monster. The map will help, but it's still a nightmare if you play here for the first time. Try and meet up with someone who knows the place or a long day will turn into an all day event for one round!
Other Thoughts: After reading all the negative reviews I was expecting far worse. The Monster lived up to its name and was overall a good course. While not for the beginner, if you have played for a while it will be tough but not impossible to complete and maybe par. If both sets of tees were marked with pads and signage it would make for a much better time, as finding your way around would be much easier. Overall I enjoyed my day at The Monster and would return, but with a little tweaking and additions of pads and signs for both tees, this could be a premiere course.

Note: Hole #7 over 1000 feet with left and right hand turns the whole way to the basket was an amazing challenge!

Played at the very end of winter and couldn't imagine playing in the summer with all the growth in full bloom. Discs would vanish into the brush with little effort.

If you get lost at any time, look around you for trees or the ground marked in pink. That will get you headed in the right direction. You will either be headed toward the basket or the next tee. It is really helpful.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Wooded, Distinct Challenge

2-4    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Length, quiet, exercise
Cons: Length, hard to find tees
Other Thoughts: There's no course quite like The Monster at Fighting Creek. The long holes along wide pipeline easements, the long walk for the whole course, and the choice of pink to mark all tees are all distinctive features you won't find on any other Central Virginia course. To make the best of your time on this course, you'll need to bring your straightest long range driver, bring your best long game, and be long on patience to find the tees and follow the course all the way through to the end.

Nine of the first 10 holes at Fighting Creek follow the same pattern as #1; if you're playing the longs, find the pink markers set flush in the ground that show the hole (1L). If you're playing the shorts, continue along staring intently at the ground, until you find the pink markers that say (1S) or maybe just some unmarked pink boards, or maybe only some shards of pink wood. Stare down the 30-40 foot wide right-of-way with thick woods on either side, and throw your straight long range driver as far as you can, focusing on simply staying in the easement. Hole #1, and others, may play around a bend, or up a small hill, but otherwise that's the approach, except for the one hole that's mostly in the woods, is a good bit shorter, and has little to no discernable fairway. Most of these holes are bona fide par 4s and 5s, especially from the longer, much better marked tees.

#11 starts a short run of different holes; open shot to a basket set alongside a hill, downhill shorter shot to a basket placed precariously between a retention pond and sharp drop-off, and the a tee right on the same drop-off down to a basket placed back in the woods along a stream. Then from #14 on the holes are maybe not quite as long, but still longer than average, and are pretty much so in the woods, with fairways ranging from pretty well wooded to what some might consider unreasonable.

Even with a map, finding all the tees at this course is a challenge. Playing the longs is a good bit easier in this regard; while the markers are set flush in the ground, most (but not all) were there the times I've been out to this course. A few of these tees have carpet pads, but most are just natural. Even with the map, finding the short tees can be a challenge; some are marked as well as the longs, some have just a bit of pink marker or a flag to indicate their location, most can only be found with careful searching along the ground, and some might not be there at all. If by chance the grass ever got long here, finding the tees, long and short, would be nigh on impossible.

Fighting Creek is one of those courses that might provoke a wide range of opinions. If distance is the strength of your game, you come with a map and a lot of patience or play a round with some locals (though judging by the unworn state of the teepads, I'm not sure this course has many locals), enjoy long walks in non-distinct but quiet woods, and play on a nice day in fall or spring, then you might really enjoy the course. If you have more of a touch game, like well marked, well played courses in city or state parks, get tired of simply chucking it as far as you can for a bunch of holes in a row, or conversely have a low tolerance for wooded courses, or play on a hot buggy day, well Fighting Creek might not be for you. I've rated it Decent/Typical but really it's anything but Typical. Rather, it's a course of extremes; part frustrating and aggravating, but part interesting and challenging in a way most courses are not.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    8/15/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: mandingo.chupacabra
Played: 125  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 36.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: People went to the effort to build a course that has a well defined sense of self. (This course is meant to be demanding, and it doesn't back down from that on any hole)
...So Kudos to Them!

The complaints about it being difficult to navigate are not really valid. There are problems, but it is not any worse than a run of the mill course.

Holes 11 through 13 are real standout holes. Very well done. When the designers had real options on where to put holes they made good decisions
Cons: The wooded holes are like Iron Hill, minus the fairways.

The course does not engage your brain. When you are standing on the tee trying to figure out how to get to the pin the answer is almost always power. When the answer is not power it's prayer.

(Some of this is because of the geography. Most of the open holes are down very long easements cut by the county so there are only so many options.)

Portions of the course smell like roadkill raccoon slow roasting over charcoal briquettes made of processed pig poop. That's not really a knock on the course, because you have to work with what's available, but if you have a delicate constitution you should play Bryan instead.
Other Thoughts: My review may come off as being negative, but on the whole the course makes for a mediocre round of disc golf.

The fact is this course isn't much different than a pitch and putt course, it's just longer.

Given the layout I would have liked to see something on the order of 18 open holes followed by 9 wooded holes (there seems to be space to fit that in), but that is something of a nit-pick.

There are problems with the course, but this is a good start and with a few tweaks over time this could become something special.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Monster@Fighting Creek

1    6/19/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 58  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good parking and a practice basket.
Cons: Where do I start? The amateur tees were almost non-existent they were so hard to find. Need tee signs. If you're not a long straight thrower, you're in for a long, hot, tick infested, sewer smelling day where more time is spent in the woods than in the fairway. And it's not just "woods" it's briars, and thick, dense stuff. Honestly, it was just misery. Grass was high in the "fairways" and some holes were marked (or not marked, as it was) so badly that we misplayed them completely. Even the guys in our group with solid playing experience were at a loss on how this course played. Too many other courses nearby that i'll be more than happy to drive and play than go here and it's in my backyard. (10 miles).
Other Thoughts: They told me it was long. But I thought "cool" long, not "are you kidding me" long. I will leave you with this picture and be glad this review is not in "smellomatic".... Sewer lines. Stinking, no, reeking sewer lines on a hot summer day..... Good try guys, but I just have to say "no".....

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center