Firebaugh, CA 
Firebaugh DGC Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 In need of attention

1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Rabbi Rick
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's not crowded. If you're interested in practicing around the park, you should have plenty of opportunity. We found it completely empty on Labor day. It felt abandoned.
Cons: We couldn't find all the holes. The only marked one we could identify was #2 and had to guess on a few more before giving up and walking around attempting to find them all. The trash was disturbing. I'm used to seeing broken beer bottles, but the used diapers really hurt the ambience.
Other Thoughts: It's unfortunate that this course appears to have been left to deteriorate. The surroundings are pretty, along the river with trees and foliage. It has some possibilities if locals showed some interest in a minimal amount of upkeep.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An Improving Venue

5+    4/21/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: CrashnBansh
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A quiet, relatively challenging and fun setting next to the San Joaquin River in the Central Valley's west side. Hole variety is good in the fact that the course plays through the more vegetative and river bordering Firebaugh Park to the north and moves below the 13th St./Ave. 7 1/2 bridge and along the San Joaquin River into the more community frequented (from what I've seen) Dunkle Park to the south and west. The course asks for a variety of shots to avoid obstacles present on every hole, which makes it far more interesting than other shorter courses, in my opinion. The currently low number of local players/visitors makes usage of the course uncomplicated and allows for repeated play of the holes.
Cons: Firebaugh does have a lack of signage and can be a bit confusing in terms of the direction of course play to those unfamiliar. There is a hole with a crossing fairway and a tee pad close to the basket for that hole. Play through Dunkle Park can be tough with other park users and cars but is no more of a problem than with other courses that share their play area. The cons of this course are due more to past neglect and a lack of attention than anything else.
Other Thoughts: Firebaugh is a constantly improving course in a community/region lacking recreational opportunity. Improvements are currently and steadily being made to the signage, playability issues and course conditions. Quality alteration/rearrangement of the current nine hole course (basket number ten will be added to the course again soon) would make it as interesting and enjoyable a shorter track as Hensley Lake to the east in the Sierra foothills and Parque De La Raza to the northwest in San Jose. The course has the potential through expansion to be one of the nicest and most challenging in Central California. The continued attention it has been receiving recently on the part of a couple of very enthusiastic, community-involved, and considerate locals can only mean better things for this forgotten venue.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Decent but Needs an expansion

5+    4/21/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: flooded255
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good flight path variety, next to a river, and a good combination of trees/open spaces. Course takes you along a variety of scenery, there is a decent amount of shade. Short holes still provide a challenge due to thoughtful placement. Good for beginners and a challenge for pros alike.
Cons: Too many people/cars around, so not good for the unskilled player if the park is crowded; all holes are par 3. High rate of vandalism, so there is a lack of signage.
Other Thoughts: The claim on other reviews that the course is hard to navigate is asinine; just about any course would be hard to navigate if the majority of the signs were missing. Ask a local to help you out instead of whining about it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not The Easiest Course To Follow!

1    4/4/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It seems to be the only course around for miles and miles. Holes 5-6 and 7 are located in the one park. They're easy to find and navigate. They have signs and the baskets are old but catch alright.
Cons: This course, in general, is fairly confusing and difficult to navigate. #'s 1,2,3 and 9, I guess??? are in one park then # 8 is in between the two parks, # 4 plays along the river and the aforementioned 5-6-7 trio plays around the outside of park #1 or is it park # 2? I found a concrete teepad or two and I did find a wooden teepad in the grass. And there some markings on some sidewalks here and there.
Other Thoughts: At the end, I think I was still left with one unaccounted for basket??? Is that # 10? Or was I just really confused and dazed by this course?
To tell you the truth, there's really a very miniscule chance I'll ever be back in Firebaugh. It doesn't look as though many of our 28,000 members have ever been through Firebaugh and by the looks of the course, I don't think much of Firebaugh's meager population is burning up this course either! So don't stay up late tonight contemplating the existence of the # 10 basket at Firebaugh.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Firebaugh the most depressing place in the world

1    5/11/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is a disc golf course that has baskets
Cons: The course had been completely flooded out when I arrived. There were stumps literally in the basket and a layer of sand that covered the entire course. I threw around for about a half hour and then I left.
Other Thoughts: There is no reason to go to Firebaugh. The town has one of the highest unemployment rates in the nation and the town is dying. If you want to see what misery looks like come and play disc golf at this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    2/11/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: nettie380
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not a busy course so you can play a couple of rounds in no time.
Other Thoughts: An average course that isnt laid out very good. The course starts in one park, goes up a hill near a street and into another park. There was a lot of cars parked around the holes, so watch out!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.