Larned, KS 
Larned Community Center Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #8 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great Course!

5+    1/15/2012   1/22/2012
Review By: tadream0
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Larned Disc Golf Course plays very well for all level of players. Many of the holes have their own character and provide some subtle challenges. The course does not favor right/left handed throwers, so both backhand and forehand throws come into play. A few dogleg holes as well as some good long distance 'air-it-out' holes to provide a good mix. Depending on the wind speed and direction, this course can use a wide variety of discs.

The course weaves somewhat like a figure eight, allowing you to play the first nine holes then decide whether to replay the front, play the back, or finish early, always ending right near your cars. Well thought out design for players. Good use of the trees around the area with some open shots and some blind shots.
Cons: The cons are the same as already noted for the course. The tee signs need to be turned the correct way and the baskets need to be fixed to keep the discs from falling out, but that is one of the problems with homemade baskets. If finances are an issue, there are some quick, cheap fixes for the baskets to make them work. Signs do need to be turned correctly and some sort of foot fault line needs to be established, but again, this could be done on the cheap. Pro baskets, correct tee sign placement and completed tee boxes are the only things hurting this course and keeping it from being given more notice. Easy to get to and quick to play.
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course for a small town in Western Kansas! If you are ever near the Larned area, this would be a nice course to stop and play. No major obstacles to mess with, easy access to the course and a copy of the map is available at this site. Good course to test all of your different styles of shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some tweaking

1    6/13/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 250  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was in great shape, grass mowed, no trash, trees trimmed, etc. There are some open holes and also there is a good mix of trees here as well. Dog legs both right and left, and uphill and downhill shots as well. A decent mix of short and long, but not too long.
Hole #1 hard dog leg left which was nice.
Hole #2 dog legs right, around the rec center
#4's basket was behind a rock pile, which was different.
#6 was a downhill shot, with moderate length
#7 was a slightly uphill shot
#9 was a nice hole, with trees blocking the pin
#11 was a short straight shot
#14 bomb it across the alfalfa patch
#15-17 had some trees to contend with but not too bad
#18, just air it out, basket is next to #9's.
This is a nice small town 18 hole course.
Cons: The homemade baskets need some work. Even when you make a putt it falls out of the bottom of the basket. Also it would be nice to have a number on each basket so you were sure you were throwing to the right basket or not. A simple sticker on the pole of the basket would help tremendously. As stated previously, the tee signs need to at least be pointed in the right direction towards where you are throwing to. There were a couple of times, even with the map, that the tee markers were misleading and we ended up playing in the wrong direction. The baskets and the tee signs are both issues that could be easily fixed, and would bump this course up .5 stars.
Other Thoughts: About the only obstacles that I came into contact with were some people flying kites in a field on #18, and the cars driving down the dirt roads going into the softball fields. If there were people on the walking paths, then you would have to be paying attention to that as well. You could potentially hit the rec center on #1 to your right, if you shanked it, and the same goes on #2. If you have the misfortune of shanking your drive on #6, you could land out in the middle of 56 highway, but then again you most likely have more control than I do.
Possiblity of losing a disc is low, unless it got lost in a tree. I would imagine that you would not have a whole lot of traffic on the course to contend with. With a little work this could be a much better course. Put in some tee pads, fix the sign issues, and get some pro baskets, as stated earlier, and it would help a lot. It is what it is, and if you are in the area then stop and play here. Not a destination course, but not a dump either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Turn the Tee Signs

1    3/18/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: Devin0022
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very good for intermediate players such as me. Many holes had a decent amount of trees on them but because some of the holes were short (under 300 ft) it didn't make them overwhelmingly difficult. It had a good variety of short, long, bend right, bend left, wide open, and tree covered holes. I was forced to try many different shots throughout the day as I played this course. Tee signs have now been added to the course. Although they were very informative and helpful to find the baskets, they were not all put into the ground facing the same direction. Sometimes it took us (my dad and I) a minute to figure out which way the sign should be facing. We should've checked this site before we went, then we could've printed off the map. The course flows well and it was not difficult to find the tee signs of the next hole.
Cons: Since we didn't print off the wonderful map, we failed to find the first tee. We started on two and eventually found it after finishing 18. The baskets also had no numbers on them. We had to do some guessing as to which basket to throw to on hole 9. In addition, there is a walking/exercise track around some of the holes and you could have to dodge some people sometimes. There are roads everywhere but there were few cars. It was a quiet park in March, but I don't know how busy it might be during the summer. Some holes would've been a little more difficult to find if we hadn't already found them during our search for #1. The baskets are homemade and the discs do fall through the bottom sometimes. As a matter of fact, some of the openings around the baskets were so big that my dad put a disc right through the wire on the side of one basket to make a putt. The putt was thrown too low to make it into a normal basket.
Other Thoughts: It was a pretty decent course for intermediate players. Perhaps a little short for long throwers but it was perfect for us. The city golf course is just behind #13 basket. The park area is a nice little center with baseball fields, sand volleyball, and a walking course. I would recommend you play it if you are in the area but it's definitely not a high caliber course. Although many holes are labeled par 4's, i don't think any were difficult enough. Even at our level. The new tee signs are great but it would be helpful if they were facing the right direction.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a solid three star course with some improvements

1    8/25/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At just under 6000' LCC has good moderate length for a small town course and for the most part isn't crowded in amongst other park amenities. Mostly open, but holes have varying degrees of woodsiness. Hole 1 is probably the best hole on the course with the long degleg righty hyzer with the OB parking lot if you go too long. The front nine finished well too with a blind pin tree laden hole on #9. I also like how they got two loops of nine to converge at the same spot and how the OB roads throughout the course (note that these are park roads and do not carry much traffic) are in different locations on different holes (sometimes on your left, sometimes right, sometimes long) giving some semblance of lefty/righty balance. Lots of varied lengths too between 225' ace run holes and 400'+ open bombs.
Cons: No tee markers were present other than some faint white lines on the ground and I never did find them all, so I just used the course map I found inside the community center and approximated where the tee would have been. Without this, I would have been lost. Baskets are homemade and they catch accordingly. They only have eight radials on the basket bottoms so discs can fall out of them quite easily. It happened to me three times.
Other Thoughts: Its a new course that could be a great one with some improvements. I'm sure the issue is funds, but with some extra radials added to the baskets (or the purchase of some professional grade ones) and some tee markers or signs, this could be a really solid course that I think both seasoned players and casual ones could enjoy. The length and excellent use of trees don't relegate it to pitch and putt, and the lack of water hazards mean little chance of losing a disc here. I would highly recommend getting a map inside the community center or printing off the one in the files section on here in case its closed. Just a couple blocks off US-56 and worth the stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.