Denver, NC 
Beatty's Ford Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 quick play

1    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 218  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little 9 hole course that sits right on the edge of Lake Norman. It is in a very nice park that on a clear day has great views across the lake.

It has nice baskets and there is almost no trash on the course.

While there are no next tee signs on the course they are not really needed because the course flows really well and I never found myself wondering where to go next.

The design of the holes makes things interesting because while they are short you must throw accurate shots.

Cons: Lack of trashcans, tee-signs, and benches(although you don't really need them)

The tee-pads are natural and are starting to rut out. While they are manageable now they could be a big problem in the future.

The course is kinda overgrown. While the lines are still pretty clean there is thick undergrowth very close to the baskets and fairways.

It is very short and fun for those of you wanting a challenge
Other Thoughts: This course was very quick fun and pretty fun to play. It is by no means and championship course but it is a tight upshot course to practice putter and mid accuracy. If you are close by this one will take no time to play and is worth playing however unless you are a course played junky I would not go out of your way

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Little Course

2-4    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: mcleanclan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I enjoyed this course. It has been over a year since I played, it but if I lived locally I'd play it often. A course is a course and it's partly open and partly wooded.
Cons: Weren't many things that stood out about it, but nothing that was negative about it either.
Other Thoughts: The holes aren't all easy-as-pie and the bit of difficulty factor is enough to make the course a very enjoyable place.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but technical

2-4    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: jedwards
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent variety of easy and challenging holes.
- Baskets - Being a fairly new course, the discatchers were all in excellent condition at the time of review. Most still have the plastic where the chains attach to the top of the basket.
- Tee Pads - "natural" = dirt. All are clearly marked with round ground markers along with the hole #.
- Tee Signs/Maps/Markers - No tee signs. There were no maps in the box at the first hole at the time I played the course. Each hole has ground markers as mentioned above.
- General Course Design - In general, the course was designed with great care to take advantage of the natural landscape. The fact that the fairways were left wooded brings a great technical aspect to this otherwise short course.
As mentioned in other reviews, the course is in a great area and the park is very clean and well-kept. The scenery is fantastic and so far there is no graffiti to speak of, which is a nice change.
Cons: No real deal-breaker cons to speak of. But there are a few things that some might find irritating:
- Several of the tee pads do not allow adequate space for any real footwork, not that it is needed for most holes but I found myself very aware of the lack of space to throw as I have come to expect from other area courses.
- No trash cans: I picked up a fair amount of trash the day I played -- 6 cans and 4 energy bar wrappers. I am not sure who these guys are that felt they needed 4 energy bars after the 175 ft third hole but I would like to meet them -- I thought I was in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: Again, a very nice park with great family amenities, although I do not agree with some of the other reviews that say the course is family friendly -- aside from holes 1 and maybe 8. The fairways are pretty tight for most of the other 8 holes, and I do not think a family would appreciate their technical aspect.
I appreciated the raised basket on hole 5 after the narrow tee shot over the pathway. Definitely a nice touch.
If I lived closer I would probably play this course as much as any other 9 holer in the area but I will probably not drive the 45 minutes it took to get there...UNLESS it goes to 18 holes as it has been rumored. I would be very interested to see what they could do in the space that they haven't done already.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic 9 hole

2-4    2/26/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great Amenities, clean restrooms, water fountains, and a huge covered outdoor area.
- Great course to bring your kids, safe area, with a water/splash park area.
- Attractive park
- Despite being a short 9 hole, the course still offers a variety of shots.
- Easy to navigate
Cons:
- Natural teepads
- No trashcans or benches throughout course
- No teesigns
- No distance shots
Other Thoughts: It seems that all 9 hole courses are the same, but this one breaks away from the pack a little. It shares the characteristics of being a short beginner friendly course, but the wooded holes here make it a little more technical than the others. Enjoyable course in a nice park, certainly worth playing if your coming through town, a local, or just looking for a great park to play some disc golf with the kids.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/18/2010   3/19/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging 9-hole course. For such a short course - 5 holes under 200 ft, none longer than 255 - you really need to throw some great shots to score well.
- Good variety of holes - several open, doglegs, one throwing to a raised basket, and tight fairways. Other than lack of elevation, the course has a little bit of everything.
- The course will appeal to all skill levels. Advanced players will enjoy the real challenge of trying to get their birdies. Lack of distance means beginning players will not be overwhelmed.
- Great scenery. It really feels like you're deep in the woods on several holes, only to turn around and realize you're a couple hundred feet from the lake. What an amazing view.
- Park has nice, new amenities - restrooms, water fountains, playground and splash area for the kids, and boat access ramps.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Not a problem on most holes because they're so short. The only real issue is the tee for #2 is on uneven ground. There wasn't a spot within 5 feet of the tee marker that was flat enough to do a real run-up throw.
- You probably don't need a map when playing, but at least take a glance at one online beforehand. The park has 2 parking lots (the second is a public boat access ramp), and there aren't any big signs marking the first tee. So, if you're not paying attention, you may find yourself wandering around looking for the first tee.
- #8 runs along side the road. It's not a heavily travelled road, but still have to pay attention when throwing. If the hole was any longer, requiring drivers to be used, or if the road had more traffic, I'd be more concerned about safety.
Other Thoughts: Most 9-hole course all feel the same. This one definitely stood out. I give it credit for making holes challenging, yet still appealing to everyone.
- As mentioned, the course isn't long, so you can play only carrying a couple mid-range discs.
- Favorite hole was #6. 240 foot dog leg right through a tight, wooded fairway. It takes a precise shot to A., not hit the trees along the fairway, and B. put yourself in birdie position.
- This course is supposed to be an 18-holler at some point. It will be an enjoyable change of pace from the longer/more difficult courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 tight 9 hole course

1    2/25/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a short 9 hole course that has tight fairways on at least 6 of the 9 holes.good course to work on control shots and midrange. set in a really nice park along lake norman. bathrooms and a nice playground for the kid.( i took my 2 year old daughter). nice variety of shots considering the amount of land used.
Cons: it was a little muddy,and windy the day i played. could use some clean up inthe form of cut and dead branches laying on the ground.
Other Thoughts: this course was designed by MJ (micheal johansen) a charlotte club pro. it shows... very tight lines are required to navigate the fairways. the raised basket on hole#5 was probably my favorite hole. you dont really need to bring a driver out except for maybe two holes. overall a enjoyable course to play

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Fun, Fun

2-4    1/3/2010   1/5/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes are short and interesting, a fun course to play through several times. We would have played a few more rounds, but ran out of time.

Fairways here, while mostly tight, some ridiculously so, are well defined.

The park is in a nice setting, with a nice playground and a boat landing, pretty scenery, right on the lake at a boat landing.

The course is easy to navigate. There are well defined paths to the next hole.
Cons: The tees are natural, and marked with small round white numbered markers, really not much of a con here as most of the holes don't require a run-up.

There is no signage, but there is a small sign with a box for course maps near the first tee. Again not really much of a con, because the holes are short, all of the baskets can be seen from the tee, and the course is easy to navigate.

The longest hole is 255 feet.

There are only 9 holes.

The nearest store is about two miles away.

Benches and trash cans are not to be found on the course, but not to sound redundant it's not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, take a putter and a mid and have fun. If you're passing through, I highly recommend it. It's almost as good as I can imagine a 9 hole pitch and putt course being. I will stop and play this course every chance I get. i would give it a higher rating if it were 18 holes. This course will be the standard by which I judge short pitch and putt type courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Good

1    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: MattTheMan575
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed; different shot types required; tight and technical with difficult doglegs; fun gaps to try; good trails from hole to hole; good location near the lake at a nice, new park
Cons: Very short; thick woods; no signs
Other Thoughts: Despite its short length, the course is still challenging. The heavy woods will make you pay for missed shots. You can easily play the course with a mid-range and a putter.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.