Nashport, OH
Woodchuck Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: FrankieG Hole #17 (Taken 10/2012)
4 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice remodel

2-4    8/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: valiant
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: Now includes woods and hills. Nice mix of short and long. Includes the longest hole i have played for the red tee. 597'. Discs for rent and sale in the camp store at the start of the course. Holes 1, 9 & 18 are all at the parking lot.
Cons: Still newly updated. needs broken in. Wooded trails muddy on a wet day. still too fresh this will improve over time.
Other Thoughts: More benches and trash cans needed. Need arrows for the next tee on a few holes. Maps available at the counter of the camp store.

How much Disc could a Disc Chucker Huck if he Hucked at WoodChuck Ridge?

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: Nice Park
Friendly Staff
Clean
Mowed Fairways
Markers signs and benches on every hole
Long enough for beginners but not so short that an experienced player couldn't have fun there
Some decent elevation change
Cons: Lots of great land around but the spot they chose for the course was not in the prime area
Anything off the fairway is pretty thick
Kinda short, never far from the parking lot
Course is OK, but nothing stands out about it
Other Thoughts: I was driving to my hometown for Easter and got a traffic ticket in Cambridge. I thought it unfair so I decided to go to court and contest it. So after a hard morning of fighting the man I decided I would make the most of my trip and hit up a local Disc Golf course.

Nice Park, Nice Course, friendly people. I did have little trouble finding it at first (Go to the Regular Camp, not the Horse Camp) but once I did navigating was no problem. Fairways are very nice but be sure and stay on them, cause any stray throws become difficult to find in the tall grass and itch weed. Each hole has a bench and a white pipe which doubles as a marker and a has a small map on it.

The Distances are such that a new player won't be intimidated but an experienced player wouldn't find ridiculously short, most holes are 250-300, with maybe a small dogleg and some slight to moderate elevation changes. Clearly designed for family's and people who need something to do while they are camping.

On the drive in I noticed It seemed like a beautiful area, I was a little excited because I love the nature aspect of Disc Golfing. But none of that great land was used for this course. It simply Zig Zags behind a parking lot, up the side of a small road, back down and to the lot again, I played 2 rounds in under an hour. This course is nice for what it is but it has a medium fun factor and nothing about it really stands out in your mind afterwards. Definitely forgettable.

To sum it up it, Nice Park, Fun Course, If you live nearby it's worth checking out but don't drive out of your way to play it. Hopefully this course is some what popular because it's in an area that's a little thin of courses. Come on Zanesville/Cambridge, wake up! Lets get some more courses in there

 

5+    11/7/2011   10/27/2010
Review By: Django
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: new player friendly
lots o benches
close to the camp check in station
well groomed
good variety given size of course
good baskets
Cons: not many opportunities to throw big shots
shallow green areas around some baskets
short
no tees
Other Thoughts: like it. play it every year when i go hunting there in the fall.
love how well maintained its

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dillion Lake State Park is worth the long or short term visit

1    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: NO FEE at this STATE park (yet) (but their is a donation pipe that one should feed, if possible).

Benches at almost every hole.

Manicured fairways (mowed), the rough is jus higher grass.

good balance of LRC (left right center design)
Cons: only 9 holes.

some holes play next to camp road (but with the amount of traffic and the slow speed limit, it shouldn't present to much of a problem, but it could).

Some holes play right next to camping lots (so if the people we're non friendly to DGers , it could present a problem or if players threw an errant throw)

No REAL long crusher holes (though they're are some good holes to play)

Other Thoughts: directions can be misleading as Dillion Hills drive will appear before Clay Littick rd when driving WEST. Clay Littick rd is at a stop light, turn right at the light and veer left as the directions state on Dillon Hills dr. and follow to camp ground.

Camp store has delicious ice cream and plenty of other camping needs.

Nice lake to take advantage of

Camping is available.

I liked holes # 6 (blind RHBH hyzer) and # 7 (LHBH hyzer around the BIG tree) the best

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.