Nashport, OH 
Woodchuck Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: FrankieG Hole #15 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Love this course.

5+    8/12/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Mathias25
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Easy to find holes
-Campstore sells and rents discs. Also snacks and drinks
-Nice mix of wooded and open
Cons: -Lots of campers around to hit if you throw a wild one
-No pro tees or concrete tees
-Hole 18 is a swamp... even on the fairway
Other Thoughts: I live close to this course and play 2 or 3 times a week. I have played a few others and this is by far the most fun course in the area. They are having a tournament on Sept 6th to raise money for concrete tees. Entry fee is $30.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ace Run for the Hills

1    5/29/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 102  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice mix of open and wooded holes
2) Elevation changes
3) Camp store with snacks, drinks and discs
4) Moderately scenic
5) Highlight holes: 12 (600' dog leg right. Downhill off the tee and sloping upward about midway through the hole)
Cons: 1) No concrete tees
2) No pro tees
3) Some holes too close to each other
4) Trash dumpsters w smell close to some of holes (9 and 18 I think)
Other Thoughts: This is an enjoyable beginner to intermediate course with lots of ace runs and a few longer holes to test your arm. The first few holes are in the pine trees and then it opens up into rolling hills with scattered trees/brush for a while. Towards the end it goes back into the trees for a few and then finishes in the open.

The course is taken care of fairly well. I didn't notice any trash laying around even though there were no trash cans on the course. There is a camp store right before you get to hole 1 that sells discs (so far only Innova, although I was told they will be expanding to include other manufacturers) and food and drinks. I didn't get to go in because it was closed at 5!? I was told they also serve real ice cream too which would be a great treat after your round because it can get hot out there on those open holes. Hole 1 is right behind the camp store. Go up the wooden stairs and the tee is right there.
Another note: Off of hole 8's tee there is a little building that has a drink vending machine. Very nice on those hot days.

Although the course is not very long, it is somewhat hilly, which makes up for the lack of length. This makes for some interesting angles on the holes. And there is a 600' hole on 12 which has length and elevation changes. Although many of the holes are short, they're interesting in some way. For example, holes 2-4 are in the pine trees which is beautiful. There are several more short holes that have an obstacle to get around or get through so it's not so boring. Also, it's a good feeling to step up to the tee knowing that you could get an ace on the son of a bitch. And there's enough longer holes that allow for medium to full speed drives with drivers that manage to keep the course interesting.

All in all, I enjoyed myself here and will return someday, especially when they get some concrete tees in (a local that we played with told me that they are raising funds to do so) and some pro tees installed. Even without these things, I'll be back someday and if I lived here I'd play this all the time. The challenge isn't too awfully great, but it's not boring either. Do yourself a favor and get out there and play it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice remodel

2-4    8/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: valiant
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Now includes woods and hills. Nice mix of short and long. Includes the longest hole i have played for the red tee. 597'. Discs for rent and sale in the camp store at the start of the course. Holes 1, 9 & 18 are all at the parking lot.
Cons: Still newly updated. needs broken in. Wooded trails muddy on a wet day. still too fresh this will improve over time.
Other Thoughts: More benches and trash cans needed. Need arrows for the next tee on a few holes. Maps available at the counter of the camp store.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 How much Disc could a Disc Chucker Huck if he Hucked at WoodChuck Ridge?

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Park
Friendly Staff
Clean
Mowed Fairways
Markers signs and benches on every hole
Long enough for beginners but not so short that an experienced player couldn't have fun there
Some decent elevation change
Cons: Lots of great land around but the spot they chose for the course was not in the prime area
Anything off the fairway is pretty thick
Kinda short, never far from the parking lot
Course is OK, but nothing stands out about it
Other Thoughts: I was driving to my hometown for Easter and got a traffic ticket in Cambridge. I thought it unfair so I decided to go to court and contest it. So after a hard morning of fighting the man I decided I would make the most of my trip and hit up a local Disc Golf course.

Nice Park, Nice Course, friendly people. I did have little trouble finding it at first (Go to the Regular Camp, not the Horse Camp) but once I did navigating was no problem. Fairways are very nice but be sure and stay on them, cause any stray throws become difficult to find in the tall grass and itch weed. Each hole has a bench and a white pipe which doubles as a marker and a has a small map on it.

The Distances are such that a new player won't be intimidated but an experienced player wouldn't find ridiculously short, most holes are 250-300, with maybe a small dogleg and some slight to moderate elevation changes. Clearly designed for family's and people who need something to do while they are camping.

On the drive in I noticed It seemed like a beautiful area, I was a little excited because I love the nature aspect of Disc Golfing. But none of that great land was used for this course. It simply Zig Zags behind a parking lot, up the side of a small road, back down and to the lot again, I played 2 rounds in under an hour. This course is nice for what it is but it has a medium fun factor and nothing about it really stands out in your mind afterwards. Definitely forgettable.

To sum it up it, Nice Park, Fun Course, If you live nearby it's worth checking out but don't drive out of your way to play it. Hopefully this course is some what popular because it's in an area that's a little thin of courses. Come on Zanesville/Cambridge, wake up! Lets get some more courses in there

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/7/2011   10/27/2010
Review By: Django
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: new player friendly
lots o benches
close to the camp check in station
well groomed
good variety given size of course
good baskets
Cons: not many opportunities to throw big shots
shallow green areas around some baskets
short
no tees
Other Thoughts: like it. play it every year when i go hunting there in the fall.
love how well maintained its

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dillion Lake State Park is worth the long or short term visit

1    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: NO FEE at this STATE park (yet) (but their is a donation pipe that one should feed, if possible).

Benches at almost every hole.

Manicured fairways (mowed), the rough is jus higher grass.

good balance of LRC (left right center design)
Cons: only 9 holes.

some holes play next to camp road (but with the amount of traffic and the slow speed limit, it shouldn't present to much of a problem, but it could).

Some holes play right next to camping lots (so if the people we're non friendly to DGers , it could present a problem or if players threw an errant throw)

No REAL long crusher holes (though they're are some good holes to play)

Other Thoughts: directions can be misleading as Dillion Hills drive will appear before Clay Littick rd when driving WEST. Clay Littick rd is at a stop light, turn right at the light and veer left as the directions state on Dillon Hills dr. and follow to camp ground.

Camp store has delicious ice cream and plenty of other camping needs.

Nice lake to take advantage of

Camping is available.

I liked holes # 6 (blind RHBH hyzer) and # 7 (LHBH hyzer around the BIG tree) the best

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.