Raleigh, NC 
NC State Centennial Campus Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #6 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Small and Balanced

2-4    5/25/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: tenuous
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice intro course. Is great for taking the family along or filling the time when you have an hour to kill.

Several of the pins are situated just to the side of tight manicured fairways. Other require a delicate weave through the trees.
Cons: Parking can be a bit of a pickle later in the day. Permits required on weekdays.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Student Golfer

5+    8/20/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Justin_Haynes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good variety of holes both open and wooded
tight fairways of some homes allow for accuracy and others you can just throw it
Cons: the course like most has a few underbrush issues but mainly...

WHY IS THERE NOT 18 HOLES
the amount of room the university has is insanely large and with the popularity of the sport and amount people that play this course I believe that this course is in desperate need for expansion
Other Thoughts: alternate way to play 18 without having to play 1-8 then go to 4-9 then 1-3 then 9

if hole quality was kept and extended to 18 this would be a 4 or 4.5 for me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Basic Nine-Hole Course

2-4    6/2/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played these nine holes twice, once in the early summer and once in late fall. It either plays better in the winter or they've just upped the maintenance level because two of the holes were much better the second time around. 1 is actually playable with the tall grass out of the picture. 5, which in teh summer had no line to speak of, suddenly has a nice little path to the basket.

A few trees were planted which helped block the cheat route to the basket on 4. I'm not sure if they were planted for golf purposes, but either way, they helped.

The best hole here is definitely 2. A short tunnel with a hill in the middle, it forces your shot into quite a narrow window and hold that path for a decent amount of distance. It's fun.
Cons: But of the nine holes, there are too many bad layouts to rate this course highly. There is one hole(4) that the ideal shot lands in what I assume is casual water. There is one hole(9) in which the tee is pointing directly into the woods. And there is one hole in which the angle desired is just impossible for a disc to travel.(6)

But mostly, the holes are just too short overall and too lacking in challenge. It's a nice course on a college campus that might introduce a few people to the game, but that's about it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New Course Layout

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 56  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It seems like this course is of deserving some fresh reviews with the new layout. I never played the old one, but the course is a lot better than what it used to be.

Baskets - All in great condition with interesting placements
Tee Pads - Solid concrete that are about average in size
Signage - Accurate and in fantastic shape on every hole
Navigation - Layout flows very nicely, with no repetitive shots or long walks between tees/baskets
Shot Selection - Almost every shot comes into play at some point on this course. No hole is very long, but #2 allows for somewhat of a decent drive. That is if you can keep it in the fairway.
Cons: Upkeep - #1 eats discs due to the overgrowth. The course upkeep has definitely improved over the past few months, but it has a way to go.
Traffic - This course will see a massive growth in players once the Centennial dorms are finished. It isn't terrible in the summer, but when NCSU is in session the traffic increases exponentially.
Utilization of land - There is so much potential for this course, 18 holes is a real possibility. There is definitely room for improvement to utilize all the available land.
Other Thoughts: For a 9 hole course, it isn't bad. Definitely not a destination course, but if you're around Centennial it's a must play. It's a good course to work on your upshots and drives with your putters. #6 is a nice spike hyzer shot. Or a smooth buttery hyzer with your Buzzz SS.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 If you are in the area...

5+    3/11/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great baskets. Great signs. Great tee pads. Very easy to navigate.
Cons: Very poorly designed. Very littered. Rough off the fairways
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 - Might be the best hole in Raleigh. It's stunning when you see it in person.
Hole 2 - A really good short open hole. Great Pin placement
Hole 3 - Might be the worst hole in Raleigh. So many things wrong with it.
Hole 4 - A hole that isn't great, but isn't terrible. I like the amount of options you have off the tee, but it's mainly because none of them are good options
Hole 5 - A great hole. I love holes that you have to throw hyzer or annhzyer, but still control the disc as opposed to just letting it crash
Hole 6 - A cool little short hole. Good pin placement
Hole 7 - Yeah, not sure what we were thinking here
Hole 8 - Not the worst, but definently not a good hole.
Hole 9 - Cool finishing hole. Really like the pin placement.

Overall, this course is ruined by how bad of a hole holes 3 and 7 are. Simple changes could have been made to avoid these. Pretty obvious it was set up by someone at the university who had played a few times with his buddies. If you are in the area, it's quick and easy to play by yourself. But don't make a special trip to play it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad

5+    1/3/2012   2/3/2012
Review By: grhomes
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent course, good mix of open and tight shots.
Cons: Very briery on a few holes, not a lot of length.
Other Thoughts: Crying shame that NCSU (an engineering school/design school)
1. only has 9 holes
2. has more land than who knows to build a dg course
3. Could easily incorporate a dg project into some kind of college credit/extra curricular

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

this is the best you can do?

5+    10/10/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: UPDATE: The course has been semi-redone so I'm redoing my enitre review.

Layout - It's a shorter technical style course that mixes in some open holes. The wooded holes make you hit tight gaps while working the disc a bit. The open holes are just about placement and avoiding some elevation around the greens; there's one throw off a hill.

2 is the best hole out there because they actually cleaned up all of the rough stuff. Now it not only looks much better but plays much better. It's a tight longer tunnel shot with a bump midway you have to go over. The left of the fairway is guarded by large stones.

Just like the old layout it's got a few fun little short shots.

Equipment - Baskets still in good shape, Informative signs with maps of the hole and distances. Concrete teepads.

Atmosphere - They certainly made this part of the park a lot better looking. There used to be a lot of trash and it wasn't well cleared out. Now they've done some nice landscaping on parts and opened it up a bit. It's right next to the lake on Centennial campus and as you're finishing 8 you see the waterfall off the dam.
Cons: Layout - They took out some of the dumbest holes in disc golf and replaced them with one short hyzer shot and a wide open short beginner hole which is just boring.

There's still some really boring short holes out here with a few holes with really tight gaps. Basically if it's meant for newer/casual players it doesn't make much sense on some holes but if it's meant for better players overall the course doesn't have much to offer other than a super quick play.

Equipment - Only real complaint here is parking. You can only park in the park or on the road if you're a student M-F 9-5.

Atmosphere - The course is still all crammed in a small space that follows around a walking trail and a high use park area next to the lake. Watch out for non-discers.
Other Thoughts: Yeah they redid it and yes it improved the course. Though not that much to make me want to go play it regularly. It's still an awkward little course crammed in there that doesn't use the gorgeous lake at all.

My biggest complaint remains, Centennial Campus is huge, there's a lot of unused forest out there with huge elevation changes and great features. The golf course out there is really nice yet for the disc golf course they give you this thing. They didn't even consult or let the NC State disc golf team have any input on the course and it shows.

It's just frustrating being a huge NC State supporter, especially when UNC has an amazing disc golf course.

I don't recommend experienced players come out here unless you're just racking up courses.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I agree except the signage

2-4    6/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: holyschnikes
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. Short holes but do keep an eye out as there are lots of vegetation-ators to loose it. Right off of Hwy 40 at Lake Wheeler which is clost to my house. Good signage, but I still got lost and skipped a hole and I had a map! And parking is very light. There's no place close to park if the small lot is full.
Cons: Bugs - tics, chiggers. There are dear clustered in the area since the centenial campus golf course took up most of the land boardered by major roads. Only 9 holes too.
Other Thoughts: I'd say play before the vegetation gets to bad and stop by to play catch after.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/17/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: SpaceAntelope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is fairly technical with some tight fairways to make up for how short it is. The environment around the course is natural and beautiful. Although it is 9 holes it makes for a great short midday course.
Cons: The vegetation can get pretty out of control. There are some disc eating trees. Its short, Its only 9 holes, never really a chance to grip it and rip it.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Tight shorts lol

5+    4/14/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Offer a nice of mix of birdie holes in with 3 ridiculously hard ones (1,3,7) The only holes I have yet to birdie here. Everything here is in a native enviroment so if your into plants and wildlife this is your disc golf course!
Great tee pads and new baskets that are not to bad to rob
Multiple lines through dense forests along with two open holes(2,9) that you should birdie, just dont go long on number 2 because the basket is perched atop a hill
Risk/reward factor is huge here, trying the same lines like everytime, I will shoot in the range of -2 up to +5
Newly mulched area around number 1's basket make for an official green and completes one of the most technical/scenic/challenging holes in Raleigh

Cons: Hole 1 is rather long to be as tight as it is. I have never birdied it and only par'd it like 3 times and I have played this course 3 times a week since I started playing in January 11. I recommend a flick off the tee to have a chance at birdie/par. Hole 3 is even tighter than 1, if you can throw a big sweeping hyzer you can kind of see a line to the left of a couple of massive pines. I got lost on hole 7 the first time I played it lol, the fairway is serioulsy 7 ft wide at the widest point! Look for a huge water birch tree and the basket is kind of tucked behind it and a couple of small cedar trees (good luck to par you will need it on all three of these!). Oh and yea def be aware that leaves of three should be left bee!! (poison ivy, oak are bad in the pine patches)
And since I am on the NCSU Disc golf team I have recently become aware that their is NO plans of expansion to 18. This is the biggest con to me because there is plenty of room for an awesome back nine!
Other Thoughts: While it is only 9 holes it def offers a challenge because of its super tight lines on all of the holes except mainly 2. If your near NCSU's campus and have 35 min to blow I recommend trying it out!
As an NC State student I would love to see the addition of another 9, Ill help with the building process!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.