Raleigh, NC 
NC State Centennial Campus Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #3 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Basic Nine-Hole Course

2-4    6/2/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played these nine holes twice, once in the early summer and once in late fall. It either plays better in the winter or they've just upped the maintenance level because two of the holes were much better the second time around. 1 is actually playable with the tall grass out of the picture. 5, which in teh summer had no line to speak of, suddenly has a nice little path to the basket.

A few trees were planted which helped block the cheat route to the basket on 4. I'm not sure if they were planted for golf purposes, but either way, they helped.

The best hole here is definitely 2. A short tunnel with a hill in the middle, it forces your shot into quite a narrow window and hold that path for a decent amount of distance. It's fun.
Cons: But of the nine holes, there are too many bad layouts to rate this course highly. There is one hole(4) that the ideal shot lands in what I assume is casual water. There is one hole(9) in which the tee is pointing directly into the woods. And there is one hole in which the angle desired is just impossible for a disc to travel.(6)

But mostly, the holes are just too short overall and too lacking in challenge. It's a nice course on a college campus that might introduce a few people to the game, but that's about it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 If you are in the area...

5+    3/11/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great baskets. Great signs. Great tee pads. Very easy to navigate.
Cons: Very poorly designed. Very littered. Rough off the fairways
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 - Might be the best hole in Raleigh. It's stunning when you see it in person.
Hole 2 - A really good short open hole. Great Pin placement
Hole 3 - Might be the worst hole in Raleigh. So many things wrong with it.
Hole 4 - A hole that isn't great, but isn't terrible. I like the amount of options you have off the tee, but it's mainly because none of them are good options
Hole 5 - A great hole. I love holes that you have to throw hyzer or annhzyer, but still control the disc as opposed to just letting it crash
Hole 6 - A cool little short hole. Good pin placement
Hole 7 - Yeah, not sure what we were thinking here
Hole 8 - Not the worst, but definently not a good hole.
Hole 9 - Cool finishing hole. Really like the pin placement.

Overall, this course is ruined by how bad of a hole holes 3 and 7 are. Simple changes could have been made to avoid these. Pretty obvious it was set up by someone at the university who had played a few times with his buddies. If you are in the area, it's quick and easy to play by yourself. But don't make a special trip to play it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad

5+    1/3/2012   2/3/2012
Review By: grhomes
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent course, good mix of open and tight shots.
Cons: Very briery on a few holes, not a lot of length.
Other Thoughts: Crying shame that NCSU (an engineering school/design school)
1. only has 9 holes
2. has more land than who knows to build a dg course
3. Could easily incorporate a dg project into some kind of college credit/extra curricular

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I agree except the signage

2-4    6/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: holyschnikes
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. Short holes but do keep an eye out as there are lots of vegetation-ators to loose it. Right off of Hwy 40 at Lake Wheeler which is clost to my house. Good signage, but I still got lost and skipped a hole and I had a map! And parking is very light. There's no place close to park if the small lot is full.
Cons: Bugs - tics, chiggers. There are dear clustered in the area since the centenial campus golf course took up most of the land boardered by major roads. Only 9 holes too.
Other Thoughts: I'd say play before the vegetation gets to bad and stop by to play catch after.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has Potential

1    2/27/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - This course is on a great piece of property right beside a beautiful lake.
- Nice teepads and signs on every whole. The tees even have the number of the hole on them which I thought was a really nice feature.
- Good course to go out and practice driving with your putter
- Only 9 holes in close proximity so can get in a last minute round pretty quickly
- Baskets are all new and very nice.
Cons: - This is not a very challenging course which can make it a bit dull for multiple plays for people that aren't just starting to play.
- No trashcans on the course. This has sadly led to crushed beer cans at almost every teepad. Also was a drag when my dog pooped on hole #2 and I got to carry it around for the rest of the round.
- There are also no benches. This isn't a huge problem since the course is very short but it would be nice to have somewhere to sit between holes and record your score or grab a drink.
- Not much parking and is restricted during the week.
Other Thoughts: This course looks great but outside of that it just doesn't deliver. As an NC State I really wanted to enjoy the course I just found it pretty dull for the most part. Sure it is good if you want to work on your mid-range or putter throwing but outside of that it just doesn't deliver.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Playable in the Winter

5+    12/12/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: Firios
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Good signage, NC State themed signs that work very well, look professional
+ A few challenging holes stand out, and make this a more technical par 3 experience than Kentwood.
+ Pins are in GREAT condition
Cons: - You have a huge chance of losing your disc. Tall grass, catchy/thorny trees, and kudsu during the summer all contribute to a scary experience. Even on good throws, keep an eye on it.
- Some of the tees are not located in good positions, which clearly shows that the disc golf community did not have much imput in this course
- Thorns everywhere, you are going to get caught in them at some point. Period.
Other Thoughts: In whole, this course is one of the worst courses in the area, but the area has some pretty good courses. When I played this in August, with the summer overgrowth, the course was bordering on unplayable, due to kudsu and extremely dense boundary zones that completely ate discs. In December however, I tried it again, and found a more positive experience. Yes, some of the holes are tight like insanity, and if you miss the fairway, you will have an impossible par attempt, but it is doable. Give this course a try if you are in the area/ don't have time to go for a full 18, but if you can only play a few courses in the area, STAY AWAY, and see what else Raleigh has to offer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.