Raleigh, NC 
NC State Centennial Campus Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #5 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short but decent

1    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 36
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Signage was great. Nice variation for Such a short course.
Cons: Minimal parking. Really short course - not really a chance to air it out.
Other Thoughts: Played this afternoon. I'm not sure about the concerns about overgrowth - I did play it in Jan, but you could tell which areas were "natural" and which was maintained during the growth season. The place was packed - literally. There were probably 7-8 groups on the course at once. Don't know if this was because the weather was nice or if it's always busy. Decent course, but definitely too short. My 8 y/o didn't want tot wait to play the "back nine"

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A technical practice round

2-4    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: turchynowicz
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quality tees pads, baskets and signage.
What the holes lack in distance they make up for in technical difficulty.
Cons: Small parking area that is shared with fishing access. Parking permit required M-F.
Thick vegetation, winter play preferred.
I would advise a spotter on holes where you cannot see the complete flight of the disc, as it is an easy course to loose a disc, or find orphans.
Wear bug repellent, and be cautious of your footing.
Other Thoughts: I typically don't play 9 hole-ers, but this one isn't bad. It makes a good practice round for the other great courses in the vicinity. Future expansion of the course and parking area could put this course on par with courses in the vicinity.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/2/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: Tater
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting little course- tight enough to make up for lack of distance.

Cons: needs some clearing, easy to lose a disc on several holes (unless you play conservatively). Also, lots of tall grass in areas (although they recently cut alot of it) where you will almost definitely find some ticks

enough trees in the way to really alter your play- when playing 3 times in a row, I shot a 2 over, 8 over, and then a 1 under, trying the same lines each time
Other Thoughts: Interesting course- would like to see a little more maintenance and possibly another 9 holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A technical quick 9

2-4    2/22/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: aggreen
Played: 135  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads, baskets and signage were great.
There are a couple of nice holes - especially enjoyed #5 and #9.
The scenery is very nice.
There are a couple of nice ace runs here as well - which actually has a redeeming quality to the course, since it is very technical.
Cons: A couple of holes have a minuscule throwing window (#3 and #8).
Thorns galore - you will get stuck.
If you don't have a parking permit, it's $2 for a day parking pass (only applies M-F from 7am to 6pm)
Other Thoughts: I think it is unfair to compare this course to others in the area, but I think it serves it's purpose, a small course for individuals associated with NC State (students, faculty).
Accuracy is very key on this course.
Played in the winter, so didn't see the kudzu as mentioned in the other review, but can see this course eating some discs with errant throws if the growth is there.
This is not worth the ride to play it, unless you are already playing Kentwood which is a couple of miles away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.