Raleigh, NC 
NC State Centennial Campus Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #8 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Has Potential

1    2/27/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - This course is on a great piece of property right beside a beautiful lake.
- Nice teepads and signs on every whole. The tees even have the number of the hole on them which I thought was a really nice feature.
- Good course to go out and practice driving with your putter
- Only 9 holes in close proximity so can get in a last minute round pretty quickly
- Baskets are all new and very nice.
Cons: - This is not a very challenging course which can make it a bit dull for multiple plays for people that aren't just starting to play.
- No trashcans on the course. This has sadly led to crushed beer cans at almost every teepad. Also was a drag when my dog pooped on hole #2 and I got to carry it around for the rest of the round.
- There are also no benches. This isn't a huge problem since the course is very short but it would be nice to have somewhere to sit between holes and record your score or grab a drink.
- Not much parking and is restricted during the week.
Other Thoughts: This course looks great but outside of that it just doesn't deliver. As an NC State I really wanted to enjoy the course I just found it pretty dull for the most part. Sure it is good if you want to work on your mid-range or putter throwing but outside of that it just doesn't deliver.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Short but decent

1    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Signage was great. Nice variation for Such a short course.
Cons: Minimal parking. Really short course - not really a chance to air it out.
Other Thoughts: Played this afternoon. I'm not sure about the concerns about overgrowth - I did play it in Jan, but you could tell which areas were "natural" and which was maintained during the growth season. The place was packed - literally. There were probably 7-8 groups on the course at once. Don't know if this was because the weather was nice or if it's always busy. Decent course, but definitely too short. My 8 y/o didn't want tot wait to play the "back nine"

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A technical practice round

2-4    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: turchynowicz
Played: 69  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quality tees pads, baskets and signage.
What the holes lack in distance they make up for in technical difficulty.
Cons: Small parking area that is shared with fishing access. Parking permit required M-F.
Thick vegetation, winter play preferred.
I would advise a spotter on holes where you cannot see the complete flight of the disc, as it is an easy course to loose a disc, or find orphans.
Wear bug repellent, and be cautious of your footing.
Other Thoughts: I typically don't play 9 hole-ers, but this one isn't bad. It makes a good practice round for the other great courses in the vicinity. Future expansion of the course and parking area could put this course on par with courses in the vicinity.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/2/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: Tater
Played: 52  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting little course- tight enough to make up for lack of distance.

Cons: needs some clearing, easy to lose a disc on several holes (unless you play conservatively). Also, lots of tall grass in areas (although they recently cut alot of it) where you will almost definitely find some ticks

enough trees in the way to really alter your play- when playing 3 times in a row, I shot a 2 over, 8 over, and then a 1 under, trying the same lines each time
Other Thoughts: Interesting course- would like to see a little more maintenance and possibly another 9 holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's a challenge

2-4    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's challenging, good exercise and easy to find your way around. Great course for the spring.
Cons: I've heard the brush gets crazy in the summer. Lots of briers, prickers or thorns (whatever you call them). Only nine holes . . . play twice for 18.
Other Thoughts: It's challenging, especially to beginners who haven't mastered throwing straight. I've been playing for a couple years, but am still rusty when I start up every spring. This course is great for fine tuning different skills.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A technical quick 9

2-4    2/22/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: aggreen
Played: 142  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads, baskets and signage were great.
There are a couple of nice holes - especially enjoyed #5 and #9.
The scenery is very nice.
There are a couple of nice ace runs here as well - which actually has a redeeming quality to the course, since it is very technical.
Cons: A couple of holes have a minuscule throwing window (#3 and #8).
Thorns galore - you will get stuck.
If you don't have a parking permit, it's $2 for a day parking pass (only applies M-F from 7am to 6pm)
Other Thoughts: I think it is unfair to compare this course to others in the area, but I think it serves it's purpose, a small course for individuals associated with NC State (students, faculty).
Accuracy is very key on this course.
Played in the winter, so didn't see the kudzu as mentioned in the other review, but can see this course eating some discs with errant throws if the growth is there.
This is not worth the ride to play it, unless you are already playing Kentwood which is a couple of miles away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Playable in the Winter

5+    12/12/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: Firios
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Good signage, NC State themed signs that work very well, look professional
+ A few challenging holes stand out, and make this a more technical par 3 experience than Kentwood.
+ Pins are in GREAT condition
Cons: - You have a huge chance of losing your disc. Tall grass, catchy/thorny trees, and kudsu during the summer all contribute to a scary experience. Even on good throws, keep an eye on it.
- Some of the tees are not located in good positions, which clearly shows that the disc golf community did not have much imput in this course
- Thorns everywhere, you are going to get caught in them at some point. Period.
Other Thoughts: In whole, this course is one of the worst courses in the area, but the area has some pretty good courses. When I played this in August, with the summer overgrowth, the course was bordering on unplayable, due to kudsu and extremely dense boundary zones that completely ate discs. In December however, I tried it again, and found a more positive experience. Yes, some of the holes are tight like insanity, and if you miss the fairway, you will have an impossible par attempt, but it is doable. Give this course a try if you are in the area/ don't have time to go for a full 18, but if you can only play a few courses in the area, STAY AWAY, and see what else Raleigh has to offer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.