Rochester Hills, MI 
Grizzly Oaks Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Wooded Course on OU Campus

5+    5/7/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: Michael.Christian
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout; well thoughtout and challenging for a course of moderate size. Bucalic setting and deer populate the course throughout.
Cons: With exception to early spring and early fall, the rough is very rough. Although the fairways are well maintained, one foot or two off the path and one is in for ripped up legs and ankles. There is also some poison oak or ivy among the rough which annually presents an issue.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hmmm

5+    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: edcarpus
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting use of slight elevation changes and open areas
Cons: ROUGH rough and lots of blind holes. Not friendly for the first few times you play it, really need to learn the course.
Other Thoughts: Can never seem to shoot as well here as I feel that I should.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/25/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: Thomas437
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots
Hidden on campus
Overall fun to play
Cons: Like said before construction has changed the course. Holes 1 and 18 have been shortened to make them significantly easier.
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are rubber and can become slick with rain or dew, plus they are on wooden boxes to keep them level but some have drop downs at the end of them

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good

5+    4/20/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: Diesel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Uses lots of different shots. You dont have to pay to play. Course is maintained well. Low traffic on course most of the time.
Cons: College kids vandalize trash cans, tables and trees with paint. Tee pads get sandy.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and it is pretty challenging for an 18 hole course and every hole is put together great.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good College Course

1    9/14/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: Aceswild
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course hidden away on the campus of Oakland University provides an interesting variety of shots in both open and moderately wooded setting.
Cons: Temporary construction has made a mess of the area surrounding the course. Navigating from one hole to the next can be a little perplexing at times. Many of the shots require a little scouting ahead to find the chains. A little too many blind shots, but not so much as to ruin the round. Overgrowth does seem to be a problem on few holes especially in the back nine.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't make the trip just for this course, but if you're stuck on campus with a couple hours or so to kill, this course will meet your needs. Reminder campus police are a very visible presence: No alcohol, smoking, or concealed carry on campus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    9/13/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this course a lot. It has a decent variety of shots, decent layout, and overall a good experience. I think the course would be pretty easy for those that are more experienced. I'm a noob and found it to be great for beginners. There isn't really and very tough shots to make, but has just enough challenge to make it fun.
Cons: --Tee pads are rubber and are slippery when sand is on them.
--Signage would be very very helpful here. They only have small painted rocks. Some holes are not so obvious where to go next.
Other Thoughts: I actually had a great time on this course. Like I said, I only have maybe 10 rounds under my belt and it felt like a good course for a beginner, and a nice relaxing course for the more experienced. We even saw a deer out there that let us get within 15 feet of it, so that was pretty cool too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Suburban Course

5+    7/30/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: thsmchnkllsfcsts
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My new home course...good location in Rochester / Auburn Hills right by I-75, etc. Play a quick 9 to warm up your short game at Civic Center across Squirrel Road beforehand.

Light traffic...especially compared to nearby FireFighters park in Troy.

Lots of wildlife and wildflowers.

Good course diversity as mentioned, fields, woods, trees, open fairways, etc. Several birdie holes even for shorter-armed throwers. No water hazards.
Cons: This is a con for me...this course seems majorly skewed to favor left handers, whose shots fade to the right. As a righty forehand S thrower, it's a real challenge to get my disc going right and to stay that way. I've gotten used to it though after playing the course a lot.

The rough is ROUGH in the summer, quite buggy and thick trees. Use bright colors.

Teepads are shorter than average, if you have a long run-up to drive you'll have to adjust.

No smoking and no alcohol signs posted, though i've never seen these rules enforced, OU Police are know to be vigilant and unreasonable.
Other Thoughts: Good course, a lot of fun and challenging for most players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play-in game

1    6/15/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OK signage; painted rocks w/hole # and distance. The best were the smaller rocks pointing you to the next tee on some confusing walks between holes.

Trash cans for litter and as a result a very clean course. Very well maintained by campus grounds.

Some very interesting shots spattered throughout - a 90 degree hook left downhill on the back nine, a long roller on the front.

Great lines on almost every hole make your good drives look GREAT. Free for everyone!
Cons: Tee pads - Wooden boxes with rubber toppers covered with sand. VERY slippery and that's not something you need to be thinking about when planning your drive. I think even just the wooden boxes would be better than what's currently there.

Close placement of holes (especially on the front nine) have you in danger of flying discs. I had one come through a patch of trees and whiz by my head, and i was maybe ten feet off of the fairway.

The holes zig-zag so you just feel like you're walking back and forth over the same piece of land. You can see the following hole's basket from your current hole's teebox. This occurs only on the front nine; the back is layed out much nicer. Rough rough on a few holes (back 9) can have you digging.

Construction around course and you park next to the site, so dust is flying in and this can affect you especially on the first and last holes, nearest to the lot. This of course is a temporary inconvenience.
Other Thoughts: Decent/Typical course so I gave it 2.5 rating. Nothing to fall in love with, but nothing to spit at, either.

Overall, I came away with a very disjointed feeling about Grizzly Oaks. The front at back nine are almost completely different, affecting the overall flow of the course. You've heard the term "a collection of songs, rather than an album"? Well this is a collection of holes, rather than a course.

While the layout varied, the overall look of the course was very static, like someone just took a brush cutter and carved some lanes out of a sprawling field.

I would play this course again, and invite you to as well. Not too shabby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  unkempt

1    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: puzzle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good variation of hole length. Nice changes of elevation.
Cons: Thick heavy grass everywhere. Nothing was mowed as seen in previous pictures. Not real well marked. Distances only occasionally present. No map posted anywhere.
Other Thoughts: I have seen pictures of the place when it has had some grooming and it looks like a blast. I wouldn't go back here unless I learned that the place had been trimmed.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Golden Grizzly

5+    4/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
--What I like most about this course is how deceiving every hole is. There's a lot of baskets insight from the tee that look closer or farther than they really are.

--I also give credit to the designer for making the back nine much more different than the front nine. The course starts off in a mostly open area with just enough trees and shrubs to alter your lines, with a good mix of long and short holes. The back half of the course uses more woods and elevation, making a couple really cool holes.
Cons:
--What I dislike most about this course is the extremely slippery tee pads. They're big rubber pads that get very sandy and can make you fall if your not careful. When I play here I step to the side, because if I put all my weight into the throw I will slip on these tees.

--A few of the holes on the front half are a little bland and could have probably been better. And the front nine seems a little clustered. Stray discs land in other holes fairways all the time, so there's a chance someone could get hit.

--Also there's a couple holes that really need a few trees cut down for how long they are.
Other Thoughts:
--For the most part this is a good course, definitely good to have in the area. If you were driving through the area on I-75 and had to choose between this course or Firefighters, I would say stop here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.