Rochester Hills, MI 
Grizzly Oaks Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #7 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wooded Course on OU Campus

5+    5/7/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: Michael.Christian
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout; well thoughtout and challenging for a course of moderate size. Bucalic setting and deer populate the course throughout.
Cons: With exception to early spring and early fall, the rough is very rough. Although the fairways are well maintained, one foot or two off the path and one is in for ripped up legs and ankles. There is also some poison oak or ivy among the rough which annually presents an issue.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hmmm

5+    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: edcarpus
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting use of slight elevation changes and open areas
Cons: ROUGH rough and lots of blind holes. Not friendly for the first few times you play it, really need to learn the course.
Other Thoughts: Can never seem to shoot as well here as I feel that I should.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Suburban Course

5+    7/30/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: thsmchnkllsfcsts
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My new home course...good location in Rochester / Auburn Hills right by I-75, etc. Play a quick 9 to warm up your short game at Civic Center across Squirrel Road beforehand.

Light traffic...especially compared to nearby FireFighters park in Troy.

Lots of wildlife and wildflowers.

Good course diversity as mentioned, fields, woods, trees, open fairways, etc. Several birdie holes even for shorter-armed throwers. No water hazards.
Cons: This is a con for me...this course seems majorly skewed to favor left handers, whose shots fade to the right. As a righty forehand S thrower, it's a real challenge to get my disc going right and to stay that way. I've gotten used to it though after playing the course a lot.

The rough is ROUGH in the summer, quite buggy and thick trees. Use bright colors.

Teepads are shorter than average, if you have a long run-up to drive you'll have to adjust.

No smoking and no alcohol signs posted, though i've never seen these rules enforced, OU Police are know to be vigilant and unreasonable.
Other Thoughts: Good course, a lot of fun and challenging for most players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Golden Grizzly

5+    4/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
--What I like most about this course is how deceiving every hole is. There's a lot of baskets insight from the tee that look closer or farther than they really are.

--I also give credit to the designer for making the back nine much more different than the front nine. The course starts off in a mostly open area with just enough trees and shrubs to alter your lines, with a good mix of long and short holes. The back half of the course uses more woods and elevation, making a couple really cool holes.
Cons:
--What I dislike most about this course is the extremely slippery tee pads. They're big rubber pads that get very sandy and can make you fall if your not careful. When I play here I step to the side, because if I put all my weight into the throw I will slip on these tees.

--A few of the holes on the front half are a little bland and could have probably been better. And the front nine seems a little clustered. Stray discs land in other holes fairways all the time, so there's a chance someone could get hit.

--Also there's a couple holes that really need a few trees cut down for how long they are.
Other Thoughts:
--For the most part this is a good course, definitely good to have in the area. If you were driving through the area on I-75 and had to choose between this course or Firefighters, I would say stop here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A rookie with great upside...

2-4    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation. Lots of uphill and downhill shots. Well defined fairways with trees and bushes scattered about. Very nice baskets marked with hole #. Plenty of long, bomber type holes mixed up with some nice ace runs. Shooting under-par is a definite possibility. Tee markers are rocks with hole # and distance painted on. Next tee markers are again rocks, painted with arrows. Above average flow from hole to hole. Trash cans on about half of the holes. Practice basket and soccer field at the first hole.
Cons: No maps or directional help to find your target. Walking ahead/spotters on a few blind shots is necessary. A few tightly placed holes might confuse the feeble minded. Common sense prevails in those situations. Just follow the rocks and arrows from basket to the next tee. There are a few 'back-track and walk up the fairway' to the tee situations.Tee boxes are rubber mats. Very slick rubber mats. Shorter than usual, very slick rubber mats. No smoking and no alcohol sign at the first hole.
Other Thoughts: Great setting for golf. Clean, scenic and well designed. Lots of deer. Nice 'foresty' feel on a college campus. Great variety of short-long holes. Nice mix of left and right turn drives. This place will challenge the seasoned player. With cement tees and some kind of a map system it would rank higher. It has great potential and rivals most courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/8/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of hole types: uphill, downhill, open, hidden, tight
Lots of "Next Tee" signs to guild along
Tight and compact, but never felt crowded
Lots of trash cans
Practice basket, and open soccer field to practice drives
Cons: Rubber pads with sand all around can quickly lead to slippery falls
Signs don't indicated where the pin is, just distance away. On a tight course where you can often see 2 or 3 or even 4 pins from the pad, not knowing which to shoot to is annoying
No main sign or indication of where to go from the parking lot (just keep walking, past the practice basket, behind the bushes)
Other Thoughts: Great campus course. I liked how the signs (large rocks) were painted in the school colors, and then changed from the front 9 to the back 9
Keep control of your throws. Due to it being such a compact course you can easily throw onto a different fairway, or at another pad.
Better signs would make this course a whole lot better

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.