Rochester Hills, MI 
Grizzly Oaks Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #2 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    1/25/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: Thomas437
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots
Hidden on campus
Overall fun to play
Cons: Like said before construction has changed the course. Holes 1 and 18 have been shortened to make them significantly easier.
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are rubber and can become slick with rain or dew, plus they are on wooden boxes to keep them level but some have drop downs at the end of them

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    9/13/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this course a lot. It has a decent variety of shots, decent layout, and overall a good experience. I think the course would be pretty easy for those that are more experienced. I'm a noob and found it to be great for beginners. There isn't really and very tough shots to make, but has just enough challenge to make it fun.
Cons: --Tee pads are rubber and are slippery when sand is on them.
--Signage would be very very helpful here. They only have small painted rocks. Some holes are not so obvious where to go next.
Other Thoughts: I actually had a great time on this course. Like I said, I only have maybe 10 rounds under my belt and it felt like a good course for a beginner, and a nice relaxing course for the more experienced. We even saw a deer out there that let us get within 15 feet of it, so that was pretty cool too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Ample and free parking, open to public, trash cans, porta-johns, message board.
- Good solid design save for a couple holes, well balanced shot variety, only lacking in short straight shots (too many at other courses anyways).
- Hilly, nice terrain screams put disc golf course here.
- While the rough is pretty thick, poison ivy and thorns are not a serious issue!
- Tournament level layout can be tough and challenging but easy enough that score-variation should be fairly large here.
- Practice basket/field
Cons: - Navigation: Finding the course and the first tee is not that hard, but the tee signs are just rocks, some with the info. rubbed off already. Maybe half the holes need to be walked first to figure out where you are throwing to, so first time out it will be a long round. Hole #4 is hard to figure out as there are arrows pointing right but they are NOT for disc golf, as the basket is straight ahead, confusing.
- Construction of the campus left a nasty dirt trail and fence across #1/the walk to the tee.
- Hole #10/11- #10 seems kind of thrown in, unfinished, blind turnover into narrow/non-existent fairway with best shot being punching through with luck. #11 seems like someone carved a new, unplanned fairway down the left side making the hole much easier, and pointless, then it should have been/was planned to be.
Other Thoughts: My 1,074th course played

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/12/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 102  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice use of the land. All kinds of shots are needed. Great terrain.
Cons: Good signs could help out. Garbage cans everywhere but still major amounts of trash around.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun and beautiful looking course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very NIce

1    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: atassac66
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice. This course is located on rolling hills which plays through beautiful Michigan woodlands. Holes are quite long and technical to boot. Almost every hole will force you to throw shots with a lot of movement. Good Distance, good baskets, good balance of left and right fading shots. Fairways are prononuced on majority of holes.
Cons: Advanced players have a major advantage as the big arms can throw above the tree lines on 80 % of holes. Noodle arms will try to hit lines through the fariways while open/AM 1 folks can just bomb above the tree line.
Other Thoughts: Reminds me of a smaller version of Oshtemo park in kalamazoo. Great layout and the Distance makes this course challenging. Rocks make this course easy to navigate it. A must play for all Detroiters. Kind of a jewel course if they can maintain the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 watch for deer

1    9/10/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: compn
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of elevation, some shade too. well mowed fairways and new tee pads and baskets. clean course next to OU.

a few apple trees on the course, tasty!
Cons: No benches/tables. very rough as its a new course, lots of 6ft tall grass and tons of bushes to eat discs.

some holes are pretty close to each other, can cause some crossover discs/players.

Course Rules say NO ALCOHOL, NO SMOKING OF ANY KIND and NO DOGS/PETS. (not a con for me, but might hamper other players)
Other Thoughts: called the head office to try to find the course, no one knew where it was. but i'm not gonna blame anyone since it was the first day of classes (after a teacher strike). course could use some par signs. maybe a larger disc golf sign, its pretty tiny.

lots of deer prints and doves on this course. a few mosquitos too. raspberries in the rough, rose/thorn bushes on the fairway in a few of the holes.

there is one trampled rusty fence and a full barbed wire fence to lookout for. also be on the lookout to skip those TDD (three disc douchebags)

port-o-potties in the parking lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but Fun

1    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: mohmandm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great nature setting. Challenging. There is a wide variety of pin placements and hole lengths.
Cons: Very very thick brush. newly made course so you definitely don't want to miss the fairway. not beginner friendly. tee pads are short and made of a rubber type padding
Other Thoughts: I would definitely bring a friend when you play this to help you look for discs. I spent probably a third of my time looking for discs. Even if you are just off the fairway, it is tough to see your disc. Use brightly colored discs!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brand Spankin' New!

2-4    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well thought out course complete with practice putting basket.
Tees consist of fly pads bolted to pressure treated decking that was well anchored into the ground and slightly elevated on some holes (6-10"). Tees felt quite solid and sure-footed, with sufficient room for most run ups, but are smaller than some of the larger concrete pads on neighboring courses.

Course allows for very good shot variety. Moderately rolling terrain with significant (but not major) elevation changes: enough to rob some distance when driving up a sloped fairway, or get a little more glide when throwing upshots on a downhill grade. Decent mix of dogleg right, dogleg left, straight shots, and a few that beg for a well thrown S-shot.
About 3-4 holes have sharply curved fairways leading to a blind landing. Nice variety in hole lengths as well.

THIS COURSE REWARDS CONTROL AND PLACEMENT. Dotted with many trees, but I wouldn't describe it as heavily wooded. Designers made very good to excellent use of trees and of patches of brush in the fairway. On some holes, this results in a pretty obvious best line, but many make you think about how you should attack a specific hole. Continuously found myself making decisions like, "Should I choose the shorter annie route, that has to be coaxed around some trees, or the big hyzer bomb around all of it and hope I can hit my target area?" (sometimes even on the upshots). Several baskets well protected by mature trees waiting to slap down upshots that don't hold a tight line. Others guarded on one side or the other with patches of brush, and quite a few are fairly out on the open. Plenty of opportunities work on your finesse game.

Intelligently laid out, not too difficult to navigate my first time out. Tee markers are large rocks with hole# and distance clearly stenciled in high contrast school colors. Medium rocks with "NEXT-->" after each basket get you going in the right direction, with pretty obvious paths to the next tee on the vast majority of holes. The rocks for tee markers thing is MUCH better executed here than it is at neighboring Riverbends.

Fairways, while not pristine, were well defined and quite executable.
Cons: They've mowed, chopped and cut to put this course in, but it still feels a bit "rough around the edges." Long, brushy grass obscures drives only a few feet off the fairway, and in some cases, the grass made it tough to find a drive that landed right where I wanted it to. Good chance of losing a disc if a drive gets away from you, especially on the blind shots. I recommend using bright orange/pink or day-glo drivers if you have them.

Lots of woody stubs from bushes that were cut down on the edges of the "greens," as well as a few of the fairways, making footing a bit unsteady in spots. The rough varies quite a bit: not too bad in some spots, but very thick in others. Enough thorny and prickly vegetation scattered about to make you regret getting off of the fairway.

Although hole length is provided for each hole, nothing is posted to show hole or course layout. Had to walk many holes to see what I was aiming for.

Players who like a big run up will find the smallish teepads a bit restrictive.

Despite everything I've listed as cons, I really can't say they detracted from my game or how much I enjoyed my round.

Course is shut down during Cross Country meets (see Other Thoughts).
Other Thoughts: Course is on university campus and shares land with school's Cross Country Course. The two courses cross paths several times, with absolutely no impact on playability in the slightest.

However, there were signs posted indicating, "Disc Golf Course closed Fri 9/4& Sat 9/5 until 1PM." The season for Cross Country is late summer into early fall. During this time, I can't imagine the course will be available consistently. In addition to the University, local high schools use the course for meets as well. Add in a few practices andů playing might be a hit or miss thing certain times of the year. WIll see if the University has posted (or will post) some sort of schedule as to when the Disc Golf Course will be closed.

Some people will rip this course for the lack of signage, which I listed as a con. However, even if this course had well illustrated hole layouts at each tee, I still would have walked the blind holes to see where the fairway bends and figure out where I'd want my drive to land. You just can't get a feel for that stuff off a sign, no matter how nice it is, so I only mentioned it, but didn't rip the rating for it. I also kind of like the low tech, semi-natural "rocks for tee signs" thing.

I found the course extremely playable, and completed 18 holes in about 90 mins, including time spent looking for discs, and walking blind holes to find baskets.

Only favors big arms if they have a lot of control. Tight and technical, but does not necessarily require you to thread the needle. A very fun 18 holes (if you stay on the fairway and don't get torn up)!

FYI - only a mile away, Civic Center presents the perfect opportunity to practice upshots and putts before 18 holes at OU!

Plenty of restaurants and other civilization very nearby.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.