Rochester Hills, MI 
Grizzly Oaks Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / --   3 / 483ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Ample and free parking, open to public, trash cans, porta-johns, message board.
- Good solid design save for a couple holes, well balanced shot variety, only lacking in short straight shots (too many at other courses anyways).
- Hilly, nice terrain screams put disc golf course here.
- While the rough is pretty thick, poison ivy and thorns are not a serious issue!
- Tournament level layout can be tough and challenging but easy enough that score-variation should be fairly large here.
- Practice basket/field
Cons: - Navigation: Finding the course and the first tee is not that hard, but the tee signs are just rocks, some with the info. rubbed off already. Maybe half the holes need to be walked first to figure out where you are throwing to, so first time out it will be a long round. Hole #4 is hard to figure out as there are arrows pointing right but they are NOT for disc golf, as the basket is straight ahead, confusing.
- Construction of the campus left a nasty dirt trail and fence across #1/the walk to the tee.
- Hole #10/11- #10 seems kind of thrown in, unfinished, blind turnover into narrow/non-existent fairway with best shot being punching through with luck. #11 seems like someone carved a new, unplanned fairway down the left side making the hole much easier, and pointless, then it should have been/was planned to be.
Other Thoughts: My 1,074th course played

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A rookie with great upside...

2-4    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 68  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation. Lots of uphill and downhill shots. Well defined fairways with trees and bushes scattered about. Very nice baskets marked with hole #. Plenty of long, bomber type holes mixed up with some nice ace runs. Shooting under-par is a definite possibility. Tee markers are rocks with hole # and distance painted on. Next tee markers are again rocks, painted with arrows. Above average flow from hole to hole. Trash cans on about half of the holes. Practice basket and soccer field at the first hole.
Cons: No maps or directional help to find your target. Walking ahead/spotters on a few blind shots is necessary. A few tightly placed holes might confuse the feeble minded. Common sense prevails in those situations. Just follow the rocks and arrows from basket to the next tee. There are a few 'back-track and walk up the fairway' to the tee situations.Tee boxes are rubber mats. Very slick rubber mats. Shorter than usual, very slick rubber mats. No smoking and no alcohol sign at the first hole.
Other Thoughts: Great setting for golf. Clean, scenic and well designed. Lots of deer. Nice 'foresty' feel on a college campus. Great variety of short-long holes. Nice mix of left and right turn drives. This place will challenge the seasoned player. With cement tees and some kind of a map system it would rank higher. It has great potential and rivals most courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/12/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 102  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice use of the land. All kinds of shots are needed. Great terrain.
Cons: Good signs could help out. Garbage cans everywhere but still major amounts of trash around.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun and beautiful looking course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/8/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of hole types: uphill, downhill, open, hidden, tight
Lots of "Next Tee" signs to guild along
Tight and compact, but never felt crowded
Lots of trash cans
Practice basket, and open soccer field to practice drives
Cons: Rubber pads with sand all around can quickly lead to slippery falls
Signs don't indicated where the pin is, just distance away. On a tight course where you can often see 2 or 3 or even 4 pins from the pad, not knowing which to shoot to is annoying
No main sign or indication of where to go from the parking lot (just keep walking, past the practice basket, behind the bushes)
Other Thoughts: Great campus course. I liked how the signs (large rocks) were painted in the school colors, and then changed from the front 9 to the back 9
Keep control of your throws. Due to it being such a compact course you can easily throw onto a different fairway, or at another pad.
Better signs would make this course a whole lot better

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very NIce

1    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: atassac66
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice. This course is located on rolling hills which plays through beautiful Michigan woodlands. Holes are quite long and technical to boot. Almost every hole will force you to throw shots with a lot of movement. Good Distance, good baskets, good balance of left and right fading shots. Fairways are prononuced on majority of holes.
Cons: Advanced players have a major advantage as the big arms can throw above the tree lines on 80 % of holes. Noodle arms will try to hit lines through the fariways while open/AM 1 folks can just bomb above the tree line.
Other Thoughts: Reminds me of a smaller version of Oshtemo park in kalamazoo. Great layout and the Distance makes this course challenging. Rocks make this course easy to navigate it. A must play for all Detroiters. Kind of a jewel course if they can maintain the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 so close to home

5+    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Steven Hromek
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: being right there it provides a course right in my back yard. i love a new course smell in the morning.
Cons: bring the bug spray. the cross country runners are always running through the course on there path. i.e. some holes cross the path<2 only>
Other Thoughts: fruit trees along the path. i grab an apple or two on hole three

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good local challenge

1    9/12/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: bergles
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Most holes require precision to land on the narrow fairway or avoid trees. Enjoyable challenge - a lot of holes have multiple large bushes or trees to navigate. Having to judge your lie and change throws throughout the course is something I enjoy.
Cons: Most of the time the place I want to throw my disc is out of sight, meaning that it's easy to spend a few minutes looking for a disc. When we played this course, I ran ahead as a spotter while others teed off. They then watched my disc - made navigating the course a lot easier.

There is a barbed-wire fence along the Meadowbrook property line. I also found random metal sticking out of the ground on one fairway (#11?).

I don't trust my footing on the rubber tees, especially when there's a fine layer of dirt/sand on them.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are part of the "field" section of the course - I would've preferred more in the "woods" section.

  Very challenging but fun

1    9/11/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Bucknasty
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/29/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very tight and demands an accurate shot....even more so for me since i'm a beginner. Nice tees and rocks pointing you towards the next tee.
Cons: You have to watch where your disk lands and be ready to do a little bushwacking. Lost 2 on 17 but also found 2 on 17 while searching for ours.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast. Wear jeans if your new or you'll have cut up legs like me.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 watch for deer

1    9/10/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of elevation, some shade too. well mowed fairways and new tee pads and baskets. clean course next to OU.

a few apple trees on the course, tasty!
Cons: No benches/tables. very rough as its a new course, lots of 6ft tall grass and tons of bushes to eat discs.

some holes are pretty close to each other, can cause some crossover discs/players.

Course Rules say NO ALCOHOL, NO SMOKING OF ANY KIND and NO DOGS/PETS. (not a con for me, but might hamper other players)
Other Thoughts: called the head office to try to find the course, no one knew where it was. but i'm not gonna blame anyone since it was the first day of classes (after a teacher strike). course could use some par signs. maybe a larger disc golf sign, its pretty tiny.

lots of deer prints and doves on this course. a few mosquitos too. raspberries in the rough, rose/thorn bushes on the fairway in a few of the holes.

there is one trampled rusty fence and a full barbed wire fence to lookout for. also be on the lookout to skip those TDD (three disc douchebags)

port-o-potties in the parking lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but Fun

1    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: mohmandm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great nature setting. Challenging. There is a wide variety of pin placements and hole lengths.
Cons: Very very thick brush. newly made course so you definitely don't want to miss the fairway. not beginner friendly. tee pads are short and made of a rubber type padding
Other Thoughts: I would definitely bring a friend when you play this to help you look for discs. I spent probably a third of my time looking for discs. Even if you are just off the fairway, it is tough to see your disc. Use brightly colored discs!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.