Poulsbo, WA 
Fredericksen DGC Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Putter Challenge!

1    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: krife
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Incredibly technical course. Bring your placement game!
-Scenic holes with multiple elevation changes.
-Pleasant setting. Feels like you're in the (ahem) wilderness.
-Extremely challenging pin locations. Must be 6-8 perched precariously on mounds or hills. Laying up is often the prudent course of action.
Cons: -Biggest one was the lack of clearly marked tee pads. For the most part each hole has a worn patch that one can assume is the pad, but it's not always clear.
-Lack of risk vs. reward. Most of the holes offer 2 options: Safe or Suicide. Of course I've only played it once so I probably didn't see those "high risk/high reward" lines.
-Distance, I guess. Yes this is a very short course. That is NOT to say an easy round. Personally I shot a 58 on my first round and felt like I survived it.
Other Thoughts: One of the most memorable courses I've played. You will not forget #18, with the EXTREME downhill dogleg left. I thought I'd parked it, only to find out I'd come up 30 feet short and was destined to roll out and finish with a 4. Can't wait to try it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a few good improvements

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: sipdawg28
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very physically challenging with some significant elevation changes. Technical finesse is required for many of the holes.
Cons: Not laid out well. Got lost between holes every now and then. Hard to identify tee pads. Felt more like a nature hike scavenger hunt and less like disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Improvements that could be used are rubber tee boxes, hole information and layout at each tee box, better directions between holes and some stairs on a couple of holes. Those looking to play this course, I recommend good hiking boots or something with cleats to tackle some of the hills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great in the future

2-4    4/18/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: nathani
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2014
Pros: Some interesting holes with big elevation changes. The layout is good, no big walks except the one into the course. The course is challenging, with a few blind throws. 18 is a great finish with its huge downhild dogleg left. Next tee signs are helpful. Parking lot is a decent size and has a washroom. High quality targets.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes are unclear, uneven and rooty on multiple holes. Some signage out on the road would be greatly appreciated. There was some circa 1970 garbage buried on hole 3 I think. Quite a few really short holes.
Other Thoughts: No walk in the park, bring proper footwear. Looking forward to coming back as this course has some great potential.

 PNW Jungle Golf!

1    11/9/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: wolfey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lush, forested setting. Challenging terrain without feeling like it's "unfair".Super-bling gold plated basket on #1 was a hilarious surprise (oops, spoiler). The next tee signs were very helpful.
Cons: Some uncertainty as to where the actual tee pad was on some holes. The challenging terrain could be considered a con if you arrived expecting a walk in a city park.
Other Thoughts: It is a beautiful wilderness area with good quality baskets and some thoughtful fairways. If you arrive looking for these attributes and not a city park style course, you will not be disappointed. We had a terrific time and will play here again when next in the area as it is a nice compliment to the more refined courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/15/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: Js73
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery, challenging pin placement thru the trees. At least two possible ace holes with a good mid shot.
Cons: No maps/distance. Poorly marked. Unless you're rocking hiking boots don't go.
Other Thoughts: Way out in the bush. I'd recommend personal protection for bears or big cats. It was fun but next time I'm definitely bringing something with a little more uhhp than a pocket knife.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Goats only!

5+    9/6/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course! Not easy unless you play very conservatively...maybe midrange and putters only. Course layout is definitely fun.
Cons: Couple of holes have dangerous steep slopes. If you aren't wearing hiking boots this could cause you some serious injury. #2 is a fun hole but steep climb upto (good ace hole). #18 recently changed but still steep decline...not safe for us older dudes.
Other Thoughts: Someone is doing some work on this course and it will get better and better. My playing partner considers this his most fun place to play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Not very fair

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: Ryan C
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Someone obviously took a lot of time to cut down a bunch of trees to make these "holes." There are a few really interesting shots out there. Most notably number 18 is a really crazy hyzer dump shot. You play your disc about 100 feet in front of you, and then let it faaaaade down a hill to a pin position a good 75' below the "tee pad." Bring your accuracy!
Cons: Unfortunately, I don't think I'll be coming back here anytime soon. The course has no facilities of any kind, no signs, no real tee pads, no bathrooms.... really, not much of anything.

It really feels like they kind of forced this course to happen, because the terrain is very steep and densely wooded and really doesn't lend itself to disc golf very well. Even though there are "fairways," they are often only a few feet wide. Many of the holes are laid out so that they can't be deuced, and virtually everyone will just take a 3. Just bad hole design. I know there are probably people who really like this place and have worked on it, but there is a lot to do before this is even a decent course. The lack of signage and no clearly marked tee pads were my biggest frustrations.
Other Thoughts: If you go, go ready to hike, because its steeep! And don't bother bringing drivers. The holes are almost all very short. No need for anything except a few putters and mids.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good hike and isolated!

2-4    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Calyub
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Isolated environment. The course is located outside of Poulsbo on a rural road.
- Challenging! Most of your shots are obscured by trees and branches. There are 3 or 4 "L" shaped holes that will test your marksmanship.
- Variation. The first few holes will give you an idea of how varied the course is. Hole 1 will have you shooting up a steep hill. Hole 2 and 3 are also uphill but each hole has a different feel to it, one will have you shooting around trees while another will have you shooting over a little valley.
- Hole 18. I thought this hole was fantastic! A long "L" shaped hole with a steep left turn (down a big hill). The shots seem very majestic coming off this approach.
- Very little foot traffic. We did not see another player at the course while we were here.
Cons: - You have to pay attention to the directions listed on the front page of the Fredericksen description on this site or you will drive right by it. There are no signs marking the park from the main road.
- Litter. No garbage bags at the holes and several players decided to not carry their trash out with them.
- Horrible approaches / tee boxes. Several of the holes had no set approaches, just a worn spot on the path. You will need to watch your footing on some of the "tee boxes" as little roots and stumps are sticking out.
- Hole maps at the approaches would be great. There are a few holes where you come upon a 4 way intersection and you are not sure which way to shoot.
- Prepare to play pinball! Lots of trees and narrow fairways so make each shot count!
- Very muddy at the start and end of the course.
- Watch your step! Steep fairways, especially at the beginning of the course. Lots of places to accidentally fall.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes here are fairly short -- not many chances to really let anything fly a long distance. However, with the way the holes are laid out, the course still remains challenging with the amount of trees, vegetation, stumps, logs, valleys and hills strewn throughout. The tee boxes (approaches) need some major work and a few more signs posted to assist with basket direction would greatly improve this course. Not as clean, fun or organized as the other local courses (NAD, Fairgrounds, Bud Pell). Fredericksen is a decent alternative if you are looking for a course to test your finesse and marksmanship.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A very enjoyable 18

1    11/14/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very technical course. Most of the holes are short, but there's enough variation in hole length and enough trees to mess up your line that the distance is good. I almost want to call the longer holes a con just because you have to have a cannon that can throw a perfect line to get a birdie look, but they add to the enjoyment of the course because it keeps you from being lulled into a nice, easy par or birdie run. Every time I started to feel good about myself I'd hit a tree or a long hole. I like that challenge, so it's a pro.

The signage was ample, which made navigation very easy.

I also enjoyed how isolated the course was from everything. You could barely hear the traffic out in Poulsbo, and I didn't see another golfer on the course. This was probably due to the rain and the time of day.

One more thing I can't forget: They have benches scattered throughout the course, and every teepad has sign hangers.
Cons: There was one homemade basket that made the least pleasurable tone I've ever heard. It looked like they threw $5 worth of materials together and called it a target. It would have been better if they'd just used a pole on that hole until they could raise enough money to buy a new basket.

This course felt very lefty friendly. There were a few RHBH holes, but the majority were right turning holes... Including one that turned right incredibly hard shortly after the teepad. That's not a con. I just hadn't ever seen it before.

The teepads were difficult to distinguish. Some of them were marked by logs, but the majority were only found by looking for worn in areas somewhere in the vicinity of the tee sign.

The trash. Come on. I've figured out by now that far too many disc golfers have zero respect for the land that they're playing on, but it still pisses me off every time. So there aren't trash cans. It's a wilderness course. Pack it out. You had room for it full, so why can't you handle the weight when it's empty?

Other Thoughts: The first time I went here they had the whole thing shut down because of fire season.If it wasn't for all of the other great Kitsap area courses, I would have completely wasted a ferry trip. But Kitsap has some of the best courses in the state. I'm not sure why that is, but I love every course I've played over there so far. Maybe it's because they have land available that's bigger than the plot that North Park sits on? Regardless, the area is always worth the trip. I would easily put two of their courses in my top 5 courses played.

The hike back to the first tee really adds to the experience as well. The only thing I would change would be some extra signs on the teepads. At least give us an idea of the basket location and/or distance. You get lulled into a sense of security with the short/visible pins, and then hit a long hole. I like that as a setup, but for a first timer it gets irritating when you have to walk most of the way to the pin to figure out where it lies. Just laminate a picture with distances on it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Frederickson DGC

5+    7/18/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course, you can tell they really keep up on the course.
-Good course layout, a lot of the holes aren't too terribly long, making it great for beginners or people working more on their mid-range game
-Good signage on where to go, I always knew where the next hole would be
-Its in a great location, not a whole lot of hustle and bustle in the area making it a very relaxing place to play
Cons: -The tees could use a little work, ideally i'd like to see some concrete tees put in, but even some gravel to clearly define the tee box would be useful
-Seeing a sign at the tee with a picture of the hole layout would be helpful, although with most of the holes pretty short its not vital
-Unfortunately, this course will probably be almost unplayable in WA's rainy weather due to all the mud and inclines
Other Thoughts: -I really enjoyed this course a lot. The layout was good, it's a great course for an entry level disc golfer, and its being upkept really well. I think this course has great potential and i will definitely be returning.
-A lot of the fairways are very narrow, and trees on the holes love to block shots, so for some thats a big downside. I think it adds to the challenge a bit and is only frustrating on a couple of holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.