Poulsbo, WA
Fredericksen DGC Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 PNW Jungle Golf!

1    11/9/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: wolfey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lush, forested setting. Challenging terrain without feeling like it's "unfair".Super-bling gold plated basket on #1 was a hilarious surprise (oops, spoiler). The next tee signs were very helpful.
Cons: Some uncertainty as to where the actual tee pad was on some holes. The challenging terrain could be considered a con if you arrived expecting a walk in a city park.
Other Thoughts: It is a beautiful wilderness area with good quality baskets and some thoughtful fairways. If you arrive looking for these attributes and not a city park style course, you will not be disappointed. We had a terrific time and will play here again when next in the area as it is a nice compliment to the more refined courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/15/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: Js73
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery, challenging pin placement thru the trees. At least two possible ace holes with a good mid shot.
Cons: No maps/distance. Poorly marked. Unless you're rocking hiking boots don't go.
Other Thoughts: Way out in the bush. I'd recommend personal protection for bears or big cats. It was fun but next time I'm definitely bringing something with a little more uhhp than a pocket knife.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Goats only!

5+    9/6/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course! Not easy unless you play very conservatively...maybe midrange and putters only. Course layout is definitely fun.
Cons: Couple of holes have dangerous steep slopes. If you aren't wearing hiking boots this could cause you some serious injury. #2 is a fun hole but steep climb upto (good ace hole). #18 recently changed but still steep decline...not safe for us older dudes.
Other Thoughts: Someone is doing some work on this course and it will get better and better. My playing partner considers this his most fun place to play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not very fair

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: Ryan C
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Someone obviously took a lot of time to cut down a bunch of trees to make these "holes." There are a few really interesting shots out there. Most notably number 18 is a really crazy hyzer dump shot. You play your disc about 100 feet in front of you, and then let it faaaaade down a hill to a pin position a good 75' below the "tee pad." Bring your accuracy!
Cons: Unfortunately, I don't think I'll be coming back here anytime soon. The course has no facilities of any kind, no signs, no real tee pads, no bathrooms.... really, not much of anything.

It really feels like they kind of forced this course to happen, because the terrain is very steep and densely wooded and really doesn't lend itself to disc golf very well. Even though there are "fairways," they are often only a few feet wide. Many of the holes are laid out so that they can't be deuced, and virtually everyone will just take a 3. Just bad hole design. I know there are probably people who really like this place and have worked on it, but there is a lot to do before this is even a decent course. The lack of signage and no clearly marked tee pads were my biggest frustrations.
Other Thoughts: If you go, go ready to hike, because its steeep! And don't bother bringing drivers. The holes are almost all very short. No need for anything except a few putters and mids.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good hike and isolated!

2-4    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Calyub
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Isolated environment. The course is located outside of Poulsbo on a rural road.
- Challenging! Most of your shots are obscured by trees and branches. There are 3 or 4 "L" shaped holes that will test your marksmanship.
- Variation. The first few holes will give you an idea of how varied the course is. Hole 1 will have you shooting up a steep hill. Hole 2 and 3 are also uphill but each hole has a different feel to it, one will have you shooting around trees while another will have you shooting over a little valley.
- Hole 18. I thought this hole was fantastic! A long "L" shaped hole with a steep left turn (down a big hill). The shots seem very majestic coming off this approach.
- Very little foot traffic. We did not see another player at the course while we were here.
Cons: - You have to pay attention to the directions listed on the front page of the Fredericksen description on this site or you will drive right by it. There are no signs marking the park from the main road.
- Litter. No garbage bags at the holes and several players decided to not carry their trash out with them.
- Horrible approaches / tee boxes. Several of the holes had no set approaches, just a worn spot on the path. You will need to watch your footing on some of the "tee boxes" as little roots and stumps are sticking out.
- Hole maps at the approaches would be great. There are a few holes where you come upon a 4 way intersection and you are not sure which way to shoot.
- Prepare to play pinball! Lots of trees and narrow fairways so make each shot count!
- Very muddy at the start and end of the course.
- Watch your step! Steep fairways, especially at the beginning of the course. Lots of places to accidentally fall.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes here are fairly short -- not many chances to really let anything fly a long distance. However, with the way the holes are laid out, the course still remains challenging with the amount of trees, vegetation, stumps, logs, valleys and hills strewn throughout. The tee boxes (approaches) need some major work and a few more signs posted to assist with basket direction would greatly improve this course. Not as clean, fun or organized as the other local courses (NAD, Fairgrounds, Bud Pell). Fredericksen is a decent alternative if you are looking for a course to test your finesse and marksmanship.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A very enjoyable 18

1    11/14/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 42  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very technical course. Most of the holes are short, but there's enough variation in hole length and enough trees to mess up your line that the distance is good. I almost want to call the longer holes a con just because you have to have a cannon that can throw a perfect line to get a birdie look, but they add to the enjoyment of the course because it keeps you from being lulled into a nice, easy par or birdie run. Every time I started to feel good about myself I'd hit a tree or a long hole. I like that challenge, so it's a pro.

The signage was ample, which made navigation very easy.

I also enjoyed how isolated the course was from everything. You could barely hear the traffic out in Poulsbo, and I didn't see another golfer on the course. This was probably due to the rain and the time of day.

One more thing I can't forget: They have benches scattered throughout the course, and every teepad has sign hangers.
Cons: There was one homemade basket that made the least pleasurable tone I've ever heard. It looked like they threw $5 worth of materials together and called it a target. It would have been better if they'd just used a pole on that hole until they could raise enough money to buy a new basket.

This course felt very lefty friendly. There were a few RHBH holes, but the majority were right turning holes... Including one that turned right incredibly hard shortly after the teepad. That's not a con. I just hadn't ever seen it before.

The teepads were difficult to distinguish. Some of them were marked by logs, but the majority were only found by looking for worn in areas somewhere in the vicinity of the tee sign.

The trash. Come on. I've figured out by now that far too many disc golfers have zero respect for the land that they're playing on, but it still pisses me off every time. So there aren't trash cans. It's a wilderness course. Pack it out. You had room for it full, so why can't you handle the weight when it's empty?

Other Thoughts: The first time I went here they had the whole thing shut down because of fire season.If it wasn't for all of the other great Kitsap area courses, I would have completely wasted a ferry trip. But Kitsap has some of the best courses in the state. I'm not sure why that is, but I love every course I've played over there so far. Maybe it's because they have land available that's bigger than the plot that North Park sits on? Regardless, the area is always worth the trip. I would easily put two of their courses in my top 5 courses played.

The hike back to the first tee really adds to the experience as well. The only thing I would change would be some extra signs on the teepads. At least give us an idea of the basket location and/or distance. You get lulled into a sense of security with the short/visible pins, and then hit a long hole. I like that as a setup, but for a first timer it gets irritating when you have to walk most of the way to the pin to figure out where it lies. Just laminate a picture with distances on it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Frederickson DGC

5+    7/18/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course, you can tell they really keep up on the course.
-Good course layout, a lot of the holes aren't too terribly long, making it great for beginners or people working more on their mid-range game
-Good signage on where to go, I always knew where the next hole would be
-Its in a great location, not a whole lot of hustle and bustle in the area making it a very relaxing place to play
Cons: -The tees could use a little work, ideally i'd like to see some concrete tees put in, but even some gravel to clearly define the tee box would be useful
-Seeing a sign at the tee with a picture of the hole layout would be helpful, although with most of the holes pretty short its not vital
-Unfortunately, this course will probably be almost unplayable in WA's rainy weather due to all the mud and inclines
Other Thoughts: -I really enjoyed this course a lot. The layout was good, it's a great course for an entry level disc golfer, and its being upkept really well. I think this course has great potential and i will definitely be returning.
-A lot of the fairways are very narrow, and trees on the holes love to block shots, so for some thats a big downside. I think it adds to the challenge a bit and is only frustrating on a couple of holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded

1    4/28/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Sparkyant18
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course could be a gem one day if they make some of the holes a little less narrow. Playing in the Pacific NW, a lot of people are used to that and it makes you a lot better but some of the holes are a little unrealistic. I loved the up and down nature of the landscape and you'll get a great exercise just walking through this course.
Cons: Tee boxes aren't the easiest to find but luckily I played with someone who's played it multiple times. I assume they are constantly upgrading this course, so I know that will improve. Trees aren't that big of a deal but when you have a long hole with almost no passage for your shots, you aren't going to enjoy the hole. This happens about 3 or 4 times during the 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful hike/game to enjoy and this course has a great future. Played on vacation up in Seattle and would definitely return in the future to hopefully see some progress.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/1/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: bigbmoney
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of potential. Lots of creative holes using valleys and uphills. Short course but still provides plenty of challenge for everybody.
Cons: Really need to make a decision on tee boxes. Level'em out and get gravel, concrete or something. Incredibly wooded but still being cleared.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Lots of elevation changes and natural hazards. Keep an eye on this one cause its only gonna get better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fredericksen DGC

1    12/19/2009   1/8/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
As you come close to the course you find yourself pulling in to what appears to be a driveway next to a beautiful home. As you continue a bit on the gravel road it opens up to a parking lot where you see a kiosk directing you towards the discgolf course. I went with a friend who was familiar with the course which was huge because even though it was easy to get to it was just as easy to overshoot the entrance due to lack of signs clearly showing "Disc Golf Course."

That being said, once there I was delighted with what I saw. A beautiful northwest course and great addition to the other quality courses nearbye.

Once you follow the hiking trail for about a quarter mile winding down and then back up to tee 1 you find yourself throwing straight uphill. The next few holes have you throwing and then crossing small ravines to targets that are above or below the tees. The majority of holes from about 5 on have much less elevation changes but are equally as enjoyable. Fairways are tight with a mixture of low and high ceiling shots allowing for the most part multiple approaches with the exception of a few. The course has a mixture of straight on shots to doglegs left and right. Enough variety to appeal to everyone. The fact that you are isolated from everyone because of the hike into the hills makes it very quiet and relaxing with little to no one around. The evergreens and ferns surrounding this lush forest allow for wildlife and plantlife to grow abundantly, making this place truly special.

Baskets are great and the red signs with arrows pointing dgers toward the next hole is very helpful as without them it would be quite difficult.
Cons:
Because this course is fairly new and located high up in the hills I find the tee pads passable but not much more then that. Gravel or cement would really improve this course along with quality tee signs. The holes on this course are short to very short but, funny enough it seems to work here. The lines although given can be quite challenging at times but still always gives a chance for an ace. Distance in this case didn't seem to bother me as the neighboring courses seem to be a lot longer making this course a nice change of pace.

Eventually, I know that the wonderful people who installed and maintain this course will make adjustments as they see fit regarding maintenance, lengthening of holes,and signage.
Other Thoughts:
What makes this course great is that it is a true nature course that allows one to get outdoors and enjoy a great workout. Although it is a hike to play the whole course, I was able to play Van Zee, Kitsap Fairgrounds, and then Fredericksen and still want more. It is a great course to learn on and the local scene seems to really have their act together. I always enjoy playing rounds on this side of the sound and am excited to make it back!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.