Poulsbo, WA 
Fredericksen DGC Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #18 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Putter Challenge!

1    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: krife
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Incredibly technical course. Bring your placement game!
-Scenic holes with multiple elevation changes.
-Pleasant setting. Feels like you're in the (ahem) wilderness.
-Extremely challenging pin locations. Must be 6-8 perched precariously on mounds or hills. Laying up is often the prudent course of action.
Cons: -Biggest one was the lack of clearly marked tee pads. For the most part each hole has a worn patch that one can assume is the pad, but it's not always clear.
-Lack of risk vs. reward. Most of the holes offer 2 options: Safe or Suicide. Of course I've only played it once so I probably didn't see those "high risk/high reward" lines.
-Distance, I guess. Yes this is a very short course. That is NOT to say an easy round. Personally I shot a 58 on my first round and felt like I survived it.
Other Thoughts: One of the most memorable courses I've played. You will not forget #18, with the EXTREME downhill dogleg left. I thought I'd parked it, only to find out I'd come up 30 feet short and was destined to roll out and finish with a 4. Can't wait to try it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a few good improvements

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: sipdawg28
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very physically challenging with some significant elevation changes. Technical finesse is required for many of the holes.
Cons: Not laid out well. Got lost between holes every now and then. Hard to identify tee pads. Felt more like a nature hike scavenger hunt and less like disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Improvements that could be used are rubber tee boxes, hole information and layout at each tee box, better directions between holes and some stairs on a couple of holes. Those looking to play this course, I recommend good hiking boots or something with cleats to tackle some of the hills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great in the future

2-4    4/18/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: nathani
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2014
Pros: Some interesting holes with big elevation changes. The layout is good, no big walks except the one into the course. The course is challenging, with a few blind throws. 18 is a great finish with its huge downhild dogleg left. Next tee signs are helpful. Parking lot is a decent size and has a washroom. High quality targets.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes are unclear, uneven and rooty on multiple holes. Some signage out on the road would be greatly appreciated. There was some circa 1970 garbage buried on hole 3 I think. Quite a few really short holes.
Other Thoughts: No walk in the park, bring proper footwear. Looking forward to coming back as this course has some great potential.

 PNW Jungle Golf!

1    11/9/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: wolfey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lush, forested setting. Challenging terrain without feeling like it's "unfair".Super-bling gold plated basket on #1 was a hilarious surprise (oops, spoiler). The next tee signs were very helpful.
Cons: Some uncertainty as to where the actual tee pad was on some holes. The challenging terrain could be considered a con if you arrived expecting a walk in a city park.
Other Thoughts: It is a beautiful wilderness area with good quality baskets and some thoughtful fairways. If you arrive looking for these attributes and not a city park style course, you will not be disappointed. We had a terrific time and will play here again when next in the area as it is a nice compliment to the more refined courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 From a course worker

5+    11/9/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Roguelover
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fredericksen disc golf course is one that will give you a workout both physically and for improving your game. The first 4 holes are really up and down, but if you can get past the physical challenge, hole 5 levels out and the rest of the course has less elevation change in each hole, though there might be some change between holes.
You can use your whole range of finesse shots on this course, though your long drive won't be necessary, yet. (see below) I use backhand, forehand, thumber, hammerthrows and all kinds of flicks and dinks to get around trees and between tight spots. Hole #12 is narrow with all kinds of brush lining the way - stay leftish. Hole #13 has a "tree wall" to the left so stay right. And #14 is a right angle to the right - very fun. Hole #15 is called the hallway because while it is short, it is only about 6-8 feet wide most of the way, and downed logs take rollers out of play. Each hole has its own character lends spice to this course. It's also a very picturesque and quiet course.
Cons: It's a short course.
Number 9 has unexpected water issues right now - take your waders.
There are still a number of holes that could use some clearing. Lots of opportunity to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: I have personally done some of the work up there with clearing and setting baskets and tee placements. It is definitely a work in progress, but our people are adding things all the time. Soon to come are score cards and course maps at the kiosk as you begin your walk into the first tee.
We are also toying with an alternate #9 that could include a very long tee shot, but that will take some doing. Also, we recently lengthened holes 5,6,7, and 16 and made the course 100-200 feet longer. For this course that is significant. There are all kinds of possibilities out there and we'll continue to make improvements. The more play we get out there and the more input, the better we can all make it. Have fun, and let fly!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rainy day in the woods

1    10/15/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a lot of potential there are a lot of clever holes making good use of the natural terrain as hazards and features of the course. This is obviously a young course with much work to be done that in no way means it is not ready to be played on actually it is what the course needs as the fairways will be more established the more it gets played.
Cons: the brush on both sides of the fairways is still pretty thck but is being cleared little by little as there are many piles of debris(which are a good place to lose a disc) The sign about the agressive ground wasps was a little discouraging although i did not encounter any myself the terrain needs to be explored and tamed in some areas
Other Thoughts: This course is a beautiful location and provides for much wilderness interaction and has many possibilities for expantion and variations as there is ample room for alternate pin and or tee locations

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 WARNING! This Course Is Not Handicapped Accessible!

1    9/26/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't bring your friend in his wheelchair. He's not going to get through this course. I'm not sure a mountain goat could get through this course. Like the previous reviewer noted, by the time you walk the slightly, uphill 1/4 mile to get to the first hole, you're already gassed. And then you peer straight up the hill with no basket in sight and a trail leading up the hill with switchbacks!! But this is one of the most unique disc golf courses that I've ever played. It's very short (most holes are 140-180 feet, I would guess). But there are some great throws to be made here. A couple of my favorites were # 2. It's a short little throw across a gully with the basket maybe standing 20 feeter higher than the teepad. # 17 is a nasty little hole. It's a slight anhyser, maybe180 feet to a basket guarded by a few trees. The problem here is if your disc sails wide left, you are going on a major hike down into a deep gully. And by the time you get to # 17 on this course, you're majorly spent and are in no mind to spend time going down there looking for your disc and then slowly trudging back up the steep hillside.
And then there's # 18. It's longer, (maybe 200' with a double break, with many trees in the way and almost straight downhill with some tough-love rough on both sides but especially on the left.
The course has brand new baskets with the numbers on them. Thank you for the numbers. There's no tee signs as of yet. But it's easy to navigate with little red arrows pointing the way. The teepads are natural and need some work. More on them later. At present, even with all the clearing work that has been done, if you find yourself off the fairway, it's easy to bogie most any hole. With an accurate throw, birdies are easy to be had. One of my favorite things about this course is the design. It's fair. There's always a flightpath to pick. It might be narrow but if you can hit your line, you'll get through and then be rewarded with the bird.
Cons: I would like to see the pads on the uphill throws leveled out flat. I hate teeing off uphill while negotiating an uphill teepad. The course is currently very thick off the fairways but if this course gets enough play, players will break it off and stomp it down. But I'm not sure with it's isolated location if this course will ever get that much play. The1/4 hike in is a pain and at least, the 1/4 hike out when you're dog tired is downhill. I played the course alone and did spend a fair amount of time looking for my discs. Luckily, I was able to find each of them. I also thought there was a lefty bias here with more anhyser throws for a righty back handed thrower.
Other Thoughts: If I were to play this course on a regular basis, I would always bring my brush cutter. You could cut things here forever. The designer(s) have cut many trees and left the cut logs lying on every hole. Hopefully, they will be used to shore up the paths, teeboxs and other areas. I don't this course would be too enjoyable in the real wet weather. I wonder about erosion being a problem. Many of those cut logs could be used to prevent such erosion.

If you want to crank out long, beautiful drives, skip Fredrickson and go play somewhere else. But if you want a truely, unique Northwest forrest experience, want to get a little workout in and like short, technical throws then you'll probably really enjoy this course. I know I did.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.