Poulsbo, WA 
Fredericksen DGC Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider   (Taken 7/2009)
Next Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

5+    7/1/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: bigbmoney
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of potential. Lots of creative holes using valleys and uphills. Short course but still provides plenty of challenge for everybody.
Cons: Really need to make a decision on tee boxes. Level'em out and get gravel, concrete or something. Incredibly wooded but still being cleared.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Lots of elevation changes and natural hazards. Keep an eye on this one cause its only gonna get better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fredericksen DGC

1    12/19/2009   1/8/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
As you come close to the course you find yourself pulling in to what appears to be a driveway next to a beautiful home. As you continue a bit on the gravel road it opens up to a parking lot where you see a kiosk directing you towards the discgolf course. I went with a friend who was familiar with the course which was huge because even though it was easy to get to it was just as easy to overshoot the entrance due to lack of signs clearly showing "Disc Golf Course."

That being said, once there I was delighted with what I saw. A beautiful northwest course and great addition to the other quality courses nearbye.

Once you follow the hiking trail for about a quarter mile winding down and then back up to tee 1 you find yourself throwing straight uphill. The next few holes have you throwing and then crossing small ravines to targets that are above or below the tees. The majority of holes from about 5 on have much less elevation changes but are equally as enjoyable. Fairways are tight with a mixture of low and high ceiling shots allowing for the most part multiple approaches with the exception of a few. The course has a mixture of straight on shots to doglegs left and right. Enough variety to appeal to everyone. The fact that you are isolated from everyone because of the hike into the hills makes it very quiet and relaxing with little to no one around. The evergreens and ferns surrounding this lush forest allow for wildlife and plantlife to grow abundantly, making this place truly special.

Baskets are great and the red signs with arrows pointing dgers toward the next hole is very helpful as without them it would be quite difficult.
Cons:
Because this course is fairly new and located high up in the hills I find the tee pads passable but not much more then that. Gravel or cement would really improve this course along with quality tee signs. The holes on this course are short to very short but, funny enough it seems to work here. The lines although given can be quite challenging at times but still always gives a chance for an ace. Distance in this case didn't seem to bother me as the neighboring courses seem to be a lot longer making this course a nice change of pace.

Eventually, I know that the wonderful people who installed and maintain this course will make adjustments as they see fit regarding maintenance, lengthening of holes,and signage.
Other Thoughts:
What makes this course great is that it is a true nature course that allows one to get outdoors and enjoy a great workout. Although it is a hike to play the whole course, I was able to play Van Zee, Kitsap Fairgrounds, and then Fredericksen and still want more. It is a great course to learn on and the local scene seems to really have their act together. I always enjoy playing rounds on this side of the sound and am excited to make it back!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 From a course worker

5+    11/9/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Roguelover
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fredericksen disc golf course is one that will give you a workout both physically and for improving your game. The first 4 holes are really up and down, but if you can get past the physical challenge, hole 5 levels out and the rest of the course has less elevation change in each hole, though there might be some change between holes.
You can use your whole range of finesse shots on this course, though your long drive won't be necessary, yet. (see below) I use backhand, forehand, thumber, hammerthrows and all kinds of flicks and dinks to get around trees and between tight spots. Hole #12 is narrow with all kinds of brush lining the way - stay leftish. Hole #13 has a "tree wall" to the left so stay right. And #14 is a right angle to the right - very fun. Hole #15 is called the hallway because while it is short, it is only about 6-8 feet wide most of the way, and downed logs take rollers out of play. Each hole has its own character lends spice to this course. It's also a very picturesque and quiet course.
Cons: It's a short course.
Number 9 has unexpected water issues right now - take your waders.
There are still a number of holes that could use some clearing. Lots of opportunity to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: I have personally done some of the work up there with clearing and setting baskets and tee placements. It is definitely a work in progress, but our people are adding things all the time. Soon to come are score cards and course maps at the kiosk as you begin your walk into the first tee.
We are also toying with an alternate #9 that could include a very long tee shot, but that will take some doing. Also, we recently lengthened holes 5,6,7, and 16 and made the course 100-200 feet longer. For this course that is significant. There are all kinds of possibilities out there and we'll continue to make improvements. The more play we get out there and the more input, the better we can all make it. Have fun, and let fly!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rainy day in the woods

1    10/15/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a lot of potential there are a lot of clever holes making good use of the natural terrain as hazards and features of the course. This is obviously a young course with much work to be done that in no way means it is not ready to be played on actually it is what the course needs as the fairways will be more established the more it gets played.
Cons: the brush on both sides of the fairways is still pretty thck but is being cleared little by little as there are many piles of debris(which are a good place to lose a disc) The sign about the agressive ground wasps was a little discouraging although i did not encounter any myself the terrain needs to be explored and tamed in some areas
Other Thoughts: This course is a beautiful location and provides for much wilderness interaction and has many possibilities for expantion and variations as there is ample room for alternate pin and or tee locations

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 WARNING! This Course Is Not Handicapped Accessible!

1    9/26/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 609  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't bring your friend in his wheelchair. He's not going to get through this course. I'm not sure a mountain goat could get through this course. Like the previous reviewer noted, by the time you walk the slightly, uphill 1/4 mile to get to the first hole, you're already gassed. And then you peer straight up the hill with no basket in sight and a trail leading up the hill with switchbacks!! But this is one of the most unique disc golf courses that I've ever played. It's very short (most holes are 140-180 feet, I would guess). But there are some great throws to be made here. A couple of my favorites were # 2. It's a short little throw across a gully with the basket maybe standing 20 feeter higher than the teepad. # 17 is a nasty little hole. It's a slight anhyser, maybe180 feet to a basket guarded by a few trees. The problem here is if your disc sails wide left, you are going on a major hike down into a deep gully. And by the time you get to # 17 on this course, you're majorly spent and are in no mind to spend time going down there looking for your disc and then slowly trudging back up the steep hillside.
And then there's # 18. It's longer, (maybe 200' with a double break, with many trees in the way and almost straight downhill with some tough-love rough on both sides but especially on the left.
The course has brand new baskets with the numbers on them. Thank you for the numbers. There's no tee signs as of yet. But it's easy to navigate with little red arrows pointing the way. The teepads are natural and need some work. More on them later. At present, even with all the clearing work that has been done, if you find yourself off the fairway, it's easy to bogie most any hole. With an accurate throw, birdies are easy to be had. One of my favorite things about this course is the design. It's fair. There's always a flightpath to pick. It might be narrow but if you can hit your line, you'll get through and then be rewarded with the bird.
Cons: I would like to see the pads on the uphill throws leveled out flat. I hate teeing off uphill while negotiating an uphill teepad. The course is currently very thick off the fairways but if this course gets enough play, players will break it off and stomp it down. But I'm not sure with it's isolated location if this course will ever get that much play. The1/4 hike in is a pain and at least, the 1/4 hike out when you're dog tired is downhill. I played the course alone and did spend a fair amount of time looking for my discs. Luckily, I was able to find each of them. I also thought there was a lefty bias here with more anhyser throws for a righty back handed thrower.
Other Thoughts: If I were to play this course on a regular basis, I would always bring my brush cutter. You could cut things here forever. The designer(s) have cut many trees and left the cut logs lying on every hole. Hopefully, they will be used to shore up the paths, teeboxs and other areas. I don't this course would be too enjoyable in the real wet weather. I wonder about erosion being a problem. Many of those cut logs could be used to prevent such erosion.

If you want to crank out long, beautiful drives, skip Fredrickson and go play somewhere else. But if you want a truely, unique Northwest forrest experience, want to get a little workout in and like short, technical throws then you'll probably really enjoy this course. I know I did.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than you think

1    9/12/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fredericksen DGC is easy to find with the directions given online and once you get into the small parking lot you walk down a bunch of stairs and take a 1/4 mile uphill walk until you reach hole one. Now that you are at hole one and tired from the walk getting here you throw straight up a very steep hill for a very tough first shot. Hole two then throws across a little valley, a short but very fun shot and another big uphill walk. By the time you get into the rest of the front nine the course gets a little flatter but still elevation is some what in play. The middle holes are a good string of left to right doglegs with very tight technical fairways. Watch out when you get to hole seventeen, this is another anhyzer for a right handed back hand player and if you go left your disc is off the cliff and most likely gone forever. Hole eighteen is a double break, steep downgrade hole that is challenging and a lot of fun, probably the signature hole. First you have to stay left and then there is a terrain drop off and a right turn towards the basket while dodging trees on your left and right the whole way, lots of fun.

The course is very short but don't expect to come here and not be challenged, but leave the high speed drivers at home. Elevation and tight fairways make this course fun, tough on your discs and tough on your score. Very easy to navigate as soon as you find hole one as there are signs everywhere, remember it's the trail on the left and then up the hill a while for hole one. There has been a large amount of work done at this place to clear fairways and under brush, you can tell from playing the course that someone was hard at work getting this course into shape. On a Saturday afternoon there were no other users of the park for disc golf or otherwise. All of the baskets are brand new and in great condition and seeing where the course is located and the amount of traffic it gets I would assume vandalism is very little.
Cons: The course is new and primitive at the moment. Short, natural tee pads are a pain as they are usually not flat or have roots or tree stumps in the middle of the tee box making a run up very hard to do and even standing still shots can be uncomfortable. It would be nice to see a couple long, open holes to round out the rest of the place but seeing the land they have to work with this would be almost impossible. I think the balance of lefty and righty holes are a little off as more than half of the course are left to right doglegs. The fairways are pretty clear but big trouble awaits you off the course. There are a couple of long walks between holes but there are signs guiding you. A lot of blind pin placements and you might need a spotter on a couple of holes, I would recommend one for seventeen and eighteen for sure.
Other Thoughts: We went and played here after the Ace Race in Dalaiwood today and I would say I could recommend this course if you are going to be in the area, like go play NAD and the Fairgrounds and then come here. My friend (his screen name here is cefire) hit an ace on hole six, his first in Washington, too bad he didn't hit it at the Ace Race earlier in the day, oh well.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.