Rolla, MO 
Ber Juan Park Share
Uploaded By: odysseus81 Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / --   4 / 376ft.   4 / 457ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    2/4/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: dj3k
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Forgiving for beginners.
Not too challenging due to wide open and not many trees to navigate around - Again, good for beginners.
Cons: Multi-use park. Be careful of pedestrians and people that have no idea they are walking around on a disc golf course.
The tee pad on hole one is too short.
No other tee pads other than hole one.
Very susceptible to windy conditions due to being on a mostly open hillside.
Watch out for the disc-sucking lake that some into play on three or four holes.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course. Play there one time for about every fifteen times (for a little variety) I play at LCDGC, the other course in town that is way better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Course #1

5+    6/17/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: - good variation for 9 holes
- some elevation change
- some long holes for distance drives
- trees/creek/lake provide for good obstacles
- multiple tees
- the park's rec center carries a fairly wide selection of Innova discs
Cons: - natural pads
- can easily lose discs when grass is unmowed
- can be busy with pedestrians and traffic
- tee pads not always marked clearly
Other Thoughts: this is the first course that i ever played on, and continued to play on with friends for a while. as far as 9 hole courses go, this is a pretty good one in my opinion. usually go here for a quick warm up round or play both tees for a full 18.

Not bad, not great

2-4    9/25/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Doesn't take to long to play, and it's pretty easy. A couple long holes, which are a nice change of pace.
Cons: Tees are not great, baskets are not great, in general, it's fun, but not to amazing.
Other Thoughts: I like it, but I don't really think it's all that challenging.

Ber Juan

5+    9/30/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Bigben932
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A reasonable course. Good layout with 9 varying holes. The centre offers maps w/ scorecard for free

Not to many trees
Cons: High edge baskets,
No concrete tee offs except for hole 1.

Stupid disc eating lake
Only hole 5 should be par 4
hole 3 trees I hate
Other Thoughts: 2 rating is for a reasonable course. If this course had proper tees and markers to follow this course would be a 3-4 rating.

Pro tees don't offer any additional challenge or distance more than 20 feet except for hole 5.

Haven't played on a windy day, but I am sure this would add a much greater challenge due to the amount of hills.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a Quick 9

5+    5/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Prafeston
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever tossed a disc on and it's pretty forgiving for a newer player. Though it's not a full 18 it's a great place to go when I only have time for 9 and I don't want to spend time searching for lost discs!

I like the fact that is has 2 different tee locations. There is good use of the land. Very open holes for the most part so you can really chuck your drivers. Tee locations are well thought out and make you pick how you are gonna throw it to avoid the few trees that are on the course.

Lots of elevation changes and great use of water hazards. Because it is so open wind can really be an issue.

Having The Centre right there at the beginning of hole #1 and the end of hole #9 is perfect. They also sell some discs inside and have other amenities like bathrooms and vending machines.
Cons: Even with some of the clever tee locations the course isn't real challenging. Again it's great for a beginner, but I could see how more experienced disc golfers should be paring or even birdieing every hole!

It is only a 9 hole course so it goes by quick...especially since it's so open.

Gotta be careful on holes #8 and #9 or you'll lose a disc or have to go swimming.

Only tee #1 from the farther distance has a concrete pad. Other locations are just bare spots in the grass marked by flags and spray painted edges.

Tees also have no signage. Though in most cases you can see the chains from the tee. Would still be nice to have signs showing tee locations, hazards, distance, and par.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a very nice beginner course that's just lacking some upgraded tee pads and signage. A great course too if you don't have a lot of time or just wanna have some fun as you shouldn't be kicking yourself too much for terrible throws or lost discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty damn good!

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, quiet park, and the lack of pedestrian traffic made for a relaxing round of golf.

GREAT use of the space available; every hole had elevation, they weren't repetitive favoring one particular style of throw, and some obstacle to avoid every time.

Surprisingly easy to follow the flow given the redesign/lack of proper tee signs. (Granted i got a map from the community center which certainly helped in that process, but it wouldn't be impossible to play without.)

Gnarly wind cost me a couple strokes, but made an already interesting course a little more challenging.

Nice to have the community center there to get a map/use the john/grab a snack from the vending machines.

Nice to see the designer wasn't afraid to incorporate the water on 4 holes.
Cons: No pads, no tee signs, single chain baskets, no benches, no trash cans, no signage to get to the first tee or from one hole to the other.

As all of these things are supposed to be added as the weeks go by, i see this course easily gaining a half disc as the amenities materialize, if not more.
Other Thoughts: I really don't understand why this course doesn't have more favorable reviews; it's pretty cool! I can only guess that people are playing Lion's Club down the street first and getting spoiled by that course. Ber Juan IS far more open and easier, but it has its own challenges.

My barometer for this course was Jokerst Park in Festus, MO., a solid 3.5 in my book. Ber Juan is already a similar, but better course by design.

...And as all the extras go in, it'll only get better.

Watch out for that wind, and have a smoke before or after your game and catch a glimpse of some of the eye-candy running in and out of the community center.

If you're interested in an adult beverage or two before your round, you'll have to go to the Phillips on the east side of Forum Drive. The Delano station on the west side doesn't have any alcohol for sale.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good starting course.

5+    9/24/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: noahrienks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good safe course for beginners. Wide open fairways that are forgivable to people who are not quite in control of their throws. Course is well maintained and mowed. Good disc selection at the Centre.

Hole 1: Pretty straight forward, nice bridge to cross the creek. The pin placement is nestled in the trees, and forces the player to make a clean shot.

Hole 2: Good pin placement, long.

Hole 3: Can be challenging to thread the needle. This is a good hole to roll on, and can be challenging to the inexperience player.

Hole 4: Good challenging par 3. Thread the needle to the right, and hyzer it close to the hole, or forhand it down the left. Go straight and you're gonna whack a tree!

Hole 5: Big ol' long hole. This is gonna make you want to throw farther.

Hole 6: This is a fun hole to try and bomb one on. Good elevation and long.

Hole 7: The short tee allows for a good ace run.

Hole 8: Good uphill shot with the tree hazard. Call for a huge arm with pinpoint accuracy.

Hole 9: This one is deceptive. Wide open with a lake on the left. Man a player has dumped one in the drink on this baby,
Cons: Poor hole markings. No tee pads. No score cards near the first tee. This course could do with some more obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Other than the lack of real challenging holes, this course is good to play on. This is definately my second choice when compaired to Lion's Club.

There are plans to expand the course to 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/15/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: giddyup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was the course I learned to play disc golf on on and it was great for that because it's a pretty open, not too technical course. There are a lot of big, mature trees scattered all over the course, a pond and a few creeks they make good use of, and a lot of elevation changes. But, again, not super technical. Holes 4 and 9 are the only two where you can't see the basket from the tee box.

Cons: This coarse is very one dimensional and can get a bit boring. Hole layout and basket placement is predictable.

There is a VERY hit-able pond on hole 9. I have now lost 2 discs there. So, maybe I'm just bitter.

There are some spots that they don't mow too often. On hole 5 which is a long par 4 there is a big trench that only gets mowed a time or two per summer, so it gets pretty hairy if you end up out there.
Other Thoughts: Overall, nice little course if you want to get out and play a quick 9 on your lunch break, which I do often.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good start

1    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: dragonhide
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In a populated place, near a lot of activities- something for everybody!

Nice elevations

Nice map with aerial view- a MUST for first time!

Can buy discs at the store in the community center.

Disc Golf!
Cons: Tee points hard to find, just dirt spots with red spraypaint on the ground.

Hole #1 doesnt have a map/scorecard

Must go inside the community center and ask for a map

Other Thoughts: Be sure to go inside the community center right at hole #1 and ask for a map...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown

5+    1/2/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's very close to me, I am at the centre a lot and the course has its ups and downs. Very open, especially hole #3, 5 and 9. Like to unleash my drive on holes 3, 5, and 9 because they are long holes. Very good course to play if you are a beginner, open enough so there is a good enough margin for error and there are no woods to go looking for your disc if u throw it in there.
Cons: Dirt tees, muddy when wet, not fun. Navigating is difficult if you dont get a map from inside the rec center. Cages, chains are to thin and spread too far apart for my preference but that is not a big deal. Also not very challenging, but will test your putting. Course is not very technical because it is very open.
Other Thoughts: Finally, Disc Golf in Rolla, can't wait for the Lions Club Course, have helped with some construction and I like the way it looks already.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.