Rolla, MO 
Ber Juan Park Share
Uploaded By: odysseus81 Hole #7 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / --   3 / 251ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad, not great

2-4    9/25/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Doesn't take to long to play, and it's pretty easy. A couple long holes, which are a nice change of pace.
Cons: Tees are not great, baskets are not great, in general, it's fun, but not to amazing.
Other Thoughts: I like it, but I don't really think it's all that challenging.

 Good starting course.

5+    9/24/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: noahrienks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good safe course for beginners. Wide open fairways that are forgivable to people who are not quite in control of their throws. Course is well maintained and mowed. Good disc selection at the Centre.

Hole 1: Pretty straight forward, nice bridge to cross the creek. The pin placement is nestled in the trees, and forces the player to make a clean shot.

Hole 2: Good pin placement, long.

Hole 3: Can be challenging to thread the needle. This is a good hole to roll on, and can be challenging to the inexperience player.

Hole 4: Good challenging par 3. Thread the needle to the right, and hyzer it close to the hole, or forhand it down the left. Go straight and you're gonna whack a tree!

Hole 5: Big ol' long hole. This is gonna make you want to throw farther.

Hole 6: This is a fun hole to try and bomb one on. Good elevation and long.

Hole 7: The short tee allows for a good ace run.

Hole 8: Good uphill shot with the tree hazard. Call for a huge arm with pinpoint accuracy.

Hole 9: This one is deceptive. Wide open with a lake on the left. Man a player has dumped one in the drink on this baby,
Cons: Poor hole markings. No tee pads. No score cards near the first tee. This course could do with some more obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Other than the lack of real challenging holes, this course is good to play on. This is definately my second choice when compaired to Lion's Club.

There are plans to expand the course to 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/15/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: giddyup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was the course I learned to play disc golf on on and it was great for that because it's a pretty open, not too technical course. There are a lot of big, mature trees scattered all over the course, a pond and a few creeks they make good use of, and a lot of elevation changes. But, again, not super technical. Holes 4 and 9 are the only two where you can't see the basket from the tee box.

Cons: This coarse is very one dimensional and can get a bit boring. Hole layout and basket placement is predictable.

There is a VERY hit-able pond on hole 9. I have now lost 2 discs there. So, maybe I'm just bitter.

There are some spots that they don't mow too often. On hole 5 which is a long par 4 there is a big trench that only gets mowed a time or two per summer, so it gets pretty hairy if you end up out there.
Other Thoughts: Overall, nice little course if you want to get out and play a quick 9 on your lunch break, which I do often.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown

5+    1/2/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's very close to me, I am at the centre a lot and the course has its ups and downs. Very open, especially hole #3, 5 and 9. Like to unleash my drive on holes 3, 5, and 9 because they are long holes. Very good course to play if you are a beginner, open enough so there is a good enough margin for error and there are no woods to go looking for your disc if u throw it in there.
Cons: Dirt tees, muddy when wet, not fun. Navigating is difficult if you dont get a map from inside the rec center. Cages, chains are to thin and spread too far apart for my preference but that is not a big deal. Also not very challenging, but will test your putting. Course is not very technical because it is very open.
Other Thoughts: Finally, Disc Golf in Rolla, can't wait for the Lions Club Course, have helped with some construction and I like the way it looks already.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Start in Rolla

2-4    9/6/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice short course. Good variety of uphill/downhill and a few flat land shots. Used the trees, creeks and lake on several holes...maximized the terrain. Really liked the pin placement both on 8 and 9.
Cons: Still new...no signs yet (they are supposed to be up soon)...no tee-pads (natural not a big deal, but only reds are marked right now)...some pedestrian traffic on a couple of holes (sidewalk runs through the park and comes into play a couple of times).
Other Thoughts: Most of the cons I'm assuming will be addressed with time. Overall, one of the nicer 9 hole courses I've played. I am glad I no longer have to drive an hour and a half just to play a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Fun

5+    9/7/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course flows nicely and makes good use of the varied terrain available. Strong finish to the course. I really enjoyed 7, 8, and 9 to finish up. Great course for any level of player.
Cons: There is very little signage right now and the baskets are temp baskets. Multiple places (1 and 7) where a bridge of some kind would be helpful over the creeks. Not a whole lot of length to the course if you like to air it out.
Other Thoughts: For the land they had to work with, I felt like it was maximized. As the course is developed and more funding becomes available, I can definitely see my rating going up. I am just thrilled to have a course to play at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.