Rolla, MO 
Ber Juan Park Share
Uploaded By: odysseus81 Hole #9 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / --   4 / 362ft.   4 / 415ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Home Course #1

5+    6/17/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: - good variation for 9 holes
- some elevation change
- some long holes for distance drives
- trees/creek/lake provide for good obstacles
- multiple tees
- the park's rec center carries a fairly wide selection of Innova discs
Cons: - natural pads
- can easily lose discs when grass is unmowed
- can be busy with pedestrians and traffic
- tee pads not always marked clearly
Other Thoughts: this is the first course that i ever played on, and continued to play on with friends for a while. as far as 9 hole courses go, this is a pretty good one in my opinion. usually go here for a quick warm up round or play both tees for a full 18.

 Great for a Quick 9

5+    5/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Prafeston
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever tossed a disc on and it's pretty forgiving for a newer player. Though it's not a full 18 it's a great place to go when I only have time for 9 and I don't want to spend time searching for lost discs!

I like the fact that is has 2 different tee locations. There is good use of the land. Very open holes for the most part so you can really chuck your drivers. Tee locations are well thought out and make you pick how you are gonna throw it to avoid the few trees that are on the course.

Lots of elevation changes and great use of water hazards. Because it is so open wind can really be an issue.

Having The Centre right there at the beginning of hole #1 and the end of hole #9 is perfect. They also sell some discs inside and have other amenities like bathrooms and vending machines.
Cons: Even with some of the clever tee locations the course isn't real challenging. Again it's great for a beginner, but I could see how more experienced disc golfers should be paring or even birdieing every hole!

It is only a 9 hole course so it goes by quick...especially since it's so open.

Gotta be careful on holes #8 and #9 or you'll lose a disc or have to go swimming.

Only tee #1 from the farther distance has a concrete pad. Other locations are just bare spots in the grass marked by flags and spray painted edges.

Tees also have no signage. Though in most cases you can see the chains from the tee. Would still be nice to have signs showing tee locations, hazards, distance, and par.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a very nice beginner course that's just lacking some upgraded tee pads and signage. A great course too if you don't have a lot of time or just wanna have some fun as you shouldn't be kicking yourself too much for terrible throws or lost discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty damn good!

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, quiet park, and the lack of pedestrian traffic made for a relaxing round of golf.

GREAT use of the space available; every hole had elevation, they weren't repetitive favoring one particular style of throw, and some obstacle to avoid every time.

Surprisingly easy to follow the flow given the redesign/lack of proper tee signs. (Granted i got a map from the community center which certainly helped in that process, but it wouldn't be impossible to play without.)

Gnarly wind cost me a couple strokes, but made an already interesting course a little more challenging.

Nice to have the community center there to get a map/use the john/grab a snack from the vending machines.

Nice to see the designer wasn't afraid to incorporate the water on 4 holes.
Cons: No pads, no tee signs, single chain baskets, no benches, no trash cans, no signage to get to the first tee or from one hole to the other.

As all of these things are supposed to be added as the weeks go by, i see this course easily gaining a half disc as the amenities materialize, if not more.
Other Thoughts: I really don't understand why this course doesn't have more favorable reviews; it's pretty cool! I can only guess that people are playing Lion's Club down the street first and getting spoiled by that course. Ber Juan IS far more open and easier, but it has its own challenges.

My barometer for this course was Jokerst Park in Festus, MO., a solid 3.5 in my book. Ber Juan is already a similar, but better course by design.

...And as all the extras go in, it'll only get better.

Watch out for that wind, and have a smoke before or after your game and catch a glimpse of some of the eye-candy running in and out of the community center.

If you're interested in an adult beverage or two before your round, you'll have to go to the Phillips on the east side of Forum Drive. The Delano station on the west side doesn't have any alcohol for sale.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good start

5+    10/14/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every drive is interesting; a good use of the terrain and the trees. Variety of holes forces many different types of approaches. Course flows well and slowly builds up to more challenging holes.
Cons: Still needs tee pads and signage. Temporary tee markers are kind of annoying.
Other Thoughts: Maps are readily available at the Centre front desk.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.