Layout Extinct

Bemidji, MN 
Bemidji City Park - Old Layout Share



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 9 more in Bemidji soon ?

5+    7/4/2009   5/24/2010
Review By: kapitan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a short course & technical, some consider that a bad thing, not me. I gave it a 2.5 because its not a 18 hole(yet,...then it might be a 3.5) The 1st 3 holes are out in the open the back 6 are in the woods on X-country ski trails that are fairly narrow.5 is defiantly ace able (ace'd it) Holes 7 & 8 have a creek on the right side, that can be deep in the spring but nothing to worry about in the summer
Cons: Dirt tee pads, wood ticks, short course
Other Thoughts: Ive hurd that they are adding 9 more holes and going to charge 3-5 bucks. (about time on another 9) How about another course out north of town, Movil Maze maybe... just a thought for another course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bemidji City Park Rundown!!!

5+    6/9/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good midrange driving practice
-Alternate pin positions
-Easily followed course
-If any wait, it's quick
-I believe they do have a disc golf team for learning the game or competition, this I'm not sure of
-Good course to learn the game on, fun for young kids being that's it's not challenging at all.
Cons: -Not any holes where you can open up your throwing power on
-Not the most manicured course
-No t-pads
-Very short round (granted is it only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Makes decent use of the little space given for the course...low ceilings, tunnel shots, small creek somewhat comes in to play on the last half.

Unfortunately, this is the only course in the Bemidji area that I know of. It's a decent course, just the basic necessities...minus the t-pads.

It's worth the time to play, even a few times, but I wouldn't go far out of your way for it.

I HAVE PICTURES FOR EVERY HOLE ON THIS COURSE, I'LL GET THEM POSTED SOMETIME IN THE NEAR FUTURE!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only course in town, heck only course within 50 miles. Was good for beginners, my 11 year old son enjoyed it quite a bit, and my wife liked it as well. easy to navigate, nice baskets.
Cons: short and easy, really no other real cons, could have been harder (and a back nine and some better teemarkers would be hot).
Other Thoughts: Only course nearby, was played on a vacation up to Itasca. Not worth a special trip, but if you are already up there it isn't a bad course to go and play and then go see Paul Bunyan or something.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not as bad as all that...

2-4    6/8/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: gvan
Played: 111  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's a course in Bemidji, which has no other course.
- Easy to follow design and baskets are visible from the tees.
- Great course to introduce people to the sport. I only wish there were something more challenging in the area for when they advanced.

- The first hole is a nice 290' shot around some trees, choose a right or left side line and drop it by the basket. Unfortunately, that's the longest hole on the course.

- Holes 7 and 8 are a nice little shot along a creek to the right which can punish a bad shot.

- They were clearing land for a back 9.
- Great course for practicing a short game
Cons: - Everything is really short on this little 9 hole course. There isn't much here for an intermediate or advanced player. I played the entire second round with only a Roc and scored 4 birds for a score of 23 and I am only rated 875 at this point. I can see having a hot round and scoring 18 as each hole is potentially ace-able for a player with reasonable skill.

- A bad RHBH hyzer (the type new players often throw) on hole 2 can easily get to the hole 1 fairway, so watch out for errant shots.
Other Thoughts: Oddly enough, the ease of the course seems to have been a choice. On at least 4 of the holes, I could identify a basket placement that would add a lot more challenge without adding a lot of distance.

I'm glad they are adding a back 9 to the course, but hope they revisit the current layout.

The locals have a league and they appear to have some alternate teeing areas on a couple of holes that added a bit of challenge. Look for them if you go try this course.

Final word is, this course isn't worth going out of your way for, but if you find yourself in Bemidji, it's the only course, so give it a shot!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/10/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: andyman
Played: 146  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging shots through woods. Holes 4-9 are in the woods. The fairways are clear, but there are trees and heavy brush on the sides of the fairways.

Tee markers (wood post) at each hole with distances and par marked on them.

The baskets are still in nice condition and catch discs well.

Course flows through open space and into the woods. Someone drew arrows on basket posts pointing to next tee which made this course easy to navigate.
Cons: All holes are under 300'. I teed off with my midrange on most holes.

All of the tee pads are dirt. Concrete tee pads would be nice.

The pars listed on the tee markers were inconsistent. Holes that seemed harder had a lower par than some other holes.
Other Thoughts: There are many improvements scheduled to take place in the near future. The disc golf course will be expanded to 18 holes. I will plan another trip to Bemidji when this is done.

I didn't see too many other people playing this course while I was there (graduation weekend).

I really enjoyed playing this course. I stayed at the AmericInn while I was up there and was able to walk out the back door and go to the park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bemidji

6/23/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: mike_riewer
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are all in good shape. The course flows well through the woods on a trail. This course tests ones ability to be dead accurate. There are plenty of trash bins on the course and the benches are well placed.
Cons: The course seems to be getting old and in need of new tee off boxes. The old ones were poles with distances and hole info on them; now they are uprooted and aged. There was some littering and possible vandalism. There are also no long shots to test ones range. And the Mosquitos were terrible. (Minnesota's second state bird)
Other Thoughts: The course is set up very nicely inbetween the woods on a walking trial. I enjoyed playing this course because it tests accuracy. It would be improved if it did have some longer holes mixed in. The course is heavily played, so the tee off boxes of dirt are very worn. Cement would greatly improve this problem. I had played the course before, but to a new person on the course directions could be a problem. If the tee off poles were replaced and impoved, this would solve the problem. Overall, this course has the potential to be 4 or 4.5 with a little more maintenance. (if there is any at all)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

8/10/2006   5/26/2008
Review By: DanaHaberman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Narrow, challenging shots. Woods make excellent control throw practices. Lots of group players.
Cons: Rampant vandalism. Alcohol containers present. Tees missing markers or are completely missing in general. Poorly groomed trails and fairways.
Other Thoughts: If disc golf had a ghetto, this would be it. Little care goes into Bemidji's course. Markers have been put up to set some type of rules and hole Pars, but constant vandalism is always one step ahead. The only good thing about this course is that plenty of players come here and the holes are fun. Half of the course is in the woods, adding tricky shots and strategy. Disc golf course planners can take a cue from this course as a symbol of what not to let happen

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center