Disc Golf Store
Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Gold Course Share
Uploaded By: hookem41 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challenging Woods Golf - Tests Extreme Accuracy

1    4/25/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 62  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park offers a tremendous amount of disc golf with three 18 hole courses on sight, each widely varying in difficulty. The Gold course is easily the toughest course in the park and is one of the toughest courses that I have played. The amenities are great with plenty of parking space, water fountains, and bathrooms. The course is greatly taken care of as well with very nice concrete tees, DISCatcher baskets, and plenty of directional signs, bridges, benches, and trash cans.
Other than bookending holes 1 and 18, the course is set entirely in the dense woods.

This is a very beautiful setting, playing through hundreds of enormously tall trees and a creek that winds through numerous holes. The creek made for some fun risk/reward play (holes 2, 3, 6, 12, and 13) and adds to the challenge of an already frustratingly hard round. There were multiple times where I was faced with the decision to either go for the basket from the other side of the creek and risk getting a tree kick into the water, or lay up and play it safe. I also enjoyed playing on the sandy, but hard ground. This allowed for a lot of generous skips.

Definitely one of the toughest courses I have played, Lindsey Gold presents very tight and specific lines hole after hole. There is a pretty good distribution of distances and considering the tight lines in the woods, adding another hundred feet feels like a huge difference on some holes. There are 7 holes <300 feet, 5 holes 300-400 feet, 5 holes 400-500 feet, and 1 hole >500 feet.

My favorite holes were the ones that offered more than one lane either off the tee or on the way to the basket. The holes that best represented this were 2-4, 7, 10, and 12. The front half was more enjoyable to me with the creek in play and having multiple lanes on more holes. Holes 1 and 18 give at least a little variety out of the woods, and the multiple pin positions that most holes have add variety to the course as well.

One of the things that impressed me most about the course was how minimal the chances were of losing a disc, despite how densely wooded it was. I don't know if the course designers have done a ton of maintenance thinning out the rough or if the woods are naturally set like that, but you shouldn't spend too much time searching for discs if you go off the fairway. For you score, however, you definitely want to stay on the fairway.
Cons: -The biggest downfall of the course was how specific most of the holes were. Because the course is so tight, the holes generally played along one specific lane. If you didn't hit the line, you had to pitch out from the rough back on the fairway and throw until you did hit the line. For about half of the holes, there wasn't much to it other than that. While I definitely enjoyed the type of holes presented at the course, it would have been nicer to play more holes with multiple lanes, especially off the tee.
-For numerous holes, many shots off the tee felt very similar. There were a bunch of times I stood on the tee looking at either a super tight straight fairway or a slightly wider straight fairway. Depending on the tightness of fairway and length of the hole, I generally either threw my understable mid or understable driver. This stretch is most common in the middle holes and felt almost painfully repetitive.
-The tee signs show both pin positions, but would be a little more helpful if they were more detailed. For instance, it would be nice if it pointed out that 18 has a deep ravine right before the pin rather than just showing a brown spot. My fault for not checking out the hole before I threw, but I lost a disc down there because I did not see the ravine from where I threw. Not a big deal at all, but the tee signs could be a little better.
Other Thoughts: Lindsey Park truly offers something for everyone providing three courses with vastly different levels of difficulty. I recommend also playing the Blue course as it offers a tremendous variety of wooded and open holes and even has some holes with major elevation changes. The Gold course is definitely one of the hardest courses I've played, so come play if you want to test your accuracy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough round

1    8/16/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads were all concrete with plenty of room for any shot type. The signage was great, and it even had really good signage on trees leading you toward the next tee, which made navigation a breeze. The course provides a variety of shots needed and good distance variation. It makes good use of the water hazards (if they aren't dried up) and the changes in elevation. All of the baskets were in great shape, and every hole had multiple pin placements. There were plenty of trash cans and benches along the way, and there was a bunch of artwork to be discovered through the round. It was hot, but very peaceful and quiet back in those woods.
Cons: This one is not beginner friendly. There are a ton of very wooded shots that could ruin your day, if you aren't throwing your A-game. Some fairways could use some trimming, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Really beautiful course, and there are two more on site. Bring lots of water in the summer because it gets hot, even on this very shady one. Definitely worth the time to play if you think you have the experience, but be warned: the sign at the first tee is no joke. This one gets tough pretty quickly, and it doesn't really let up. Also it is a pretty long walk with trails winding you all through the woods, so be prepared for a hike.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gold Course

1    3/9/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very tough course with a lot of trees, which is good for improving your game. Well thought out and has numerous holes for every shot. Concrete tees and pretty well maintained 'fairways', as well as seating pretty regularly.
Cons: Tough course. Not meant for beginners or people who don't feel like being frustrated.
Other Thoughts: The hardest of the three courses at Lindsey. There are very few true open shots on this course, and if they are open then there's some sort of catch to make it difficult. Play this course to improve your game, but only once you can already throw at least 300 with some control.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/9/2010   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for the big arms. Long fairways and it really makes you pick that exact shot. You can't just get up there and boom it to the basket. You have to mix power and accuracy.
Cons: No cons.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to scramble on. Def a beast to take on alone. With a partner I was able to get plus 2 but alone not so good.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A real doozy!

1    7/1/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A truly challenging course beginning to end. The tee boxes and baskets are very nice, and arrows make navigating between holes easier. If you like pushover courses, don't play here. In my limited class of the most difficult courses with Idlewild in KY, and the three courses at the PDGA headquarters in GA. I had a high score, but I wouldn't change any of the holes. A super disc golf course!
Cons: A couple of the tee signs did not accurately represent the pin positions. I stepped in quicksand trying to grab a disc on the edge of the creek. Over my skill level, left me muttering a few times.
Other Thoughts: If you appreciate a formidable challenge to your game, check this one out. If not, Lindsay Park has 36 more holes to offer which I didn't play, but assume would offer a bit more playability to the average player.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The "WARNING" sign says it all...

5+    4/7/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park is home to 3 quality disc golf courses, with Dogwood being the most recently installed (and thus having the newest baskets, tees, signs, etc).

Let's start with the basics: Spacious concrete tees on every hole, new DisCatcher baskets, multiple pin placements on almost every hole, benches on many holes, "next tee" signs where needed, several restrooms and port-o-johns throughout the park, plenty of parking space, and a bulletin board with an overhead view of the courses.

Well-thought-out and VERY challenging design...this course will test even the most experienced of players with it's tightly wooded and sometimes epic-ly long fairways. Hole 1 is moderately wooded, but is the most open hole on the entire course, so don't let it lull you into a false sense of security...the punishment begins on the very next hole :) Aside from the ever-present trees and schule, many of the holes incorporate sharp doglegs, elevation, low ceilings, and a winding creek as additional hazards.

The holes that stood out the most to me were 3, 4 and 17. Hole 3 plays through a high-ceiling, narrow tunnel with a slight right-to-left turn for the first 350'-375' before turning sharply to the left for another 80'-150' (depending on pin placement) over a creek. Hole 4 has one of the most beautiful fairways I've ever seen...after the initial 90-degree right dogleg that's only 100' from the tee you're greeted with yet another long tunnel-ish shot, but this one is flanked by walls of giant old-growth pine trees! Throw in some small trees in the middle of the fairway, a slight uphill climb, and a guarded green, and you have a recipe for a possible 5 or higher score if you aren't careful. Hole 17 is what I would call the signature hole, although it isn't one of the heavily wooded holes (which is what Dogwood is all about). It incorporates a moderately open fairway that curves left-to-right and runs slightly downhill over 400' before turning back left to a heavily protected green with a creek behind the pin...this is my favorite hole on Dogwood because of the multiple elements incorporated (elevation, trees, water, guarded pin).

The sandy soil on most holes drains very quickly after a rain (hole 3 being the only exception I can think of).

Although the warning sign at hole 1 states that Dogwood is "only recommended for highly skilled golfers", I found many casual players enjoying the course as much as myself...all in all, playing Dogwood has the potential to be a very humbling experience, but the smart golfer who can keep his or her disc in the fairway will be happy with the outcome.
Cons: At this point, some of the fairways (especially recently added long pins) still need significant trimming for them to be considered "fair" in my book. A prime example of this is hole 9 in the left pin (not sure if it's considered long or short), where the limbs hang only a few feet off the ground in spots, turning even the best drive into a lay-up 3.

Navigation can be a little tricky in a few spots where "next tee" signs aren't immediately obvious...when in doubt, look for orange marks on trees, and follow them as best as you can.

In retrospect, some of the holes seem a *little* redundant in the short pins...however, the long pins make up for this fact.
Other Thoughts: I gave Dogwood 4 out of 5 orangeish, oblong, disc-shaped things....I feel that with a little more trimming and some more detailed signage, it could get 4.5 out of 5.

With the addition of the Dogwood course, Lindsey Park now seems to have it all (in terms of shot variety) and is a great spot for a full day of golfing.

Keep an eye out for some awesome local artwork on the trees...holes 3, 10, and 14?. Unless, of course, you're freaked out by evil clowns :)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    11/4/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The paths are already beaten in pretty well. There are trash cans, benches, it's already a good course. I'm told the boy scouts built all the bridges, thanks to them, they're great. The course is great, extremely challenging. If your not a pro, you're going to be frustrated. There are several tunnel holes, lots of very long holes, it's the hardest course in tyler by far. Several very tight fairways, the woods are not forgiving at all. You need a long, accurate drive to play well here. Even the short holes are challenging. The paths between holes are marked by orange streamers in trees, and sometimes orange spray paint on the trees themselves.
Cons: The signs aren't in yet. There is no way to know the distances, and in most cases you can't see the basket from the tee, so you have to walk 300 feet to find it, or throw and pray you're in a good spot. The tee boxes are dirt and marked by stakes painted bright pink, so relatively easy to find, but I hope they're putting in cement. Several times there were multiple paths leading away from a basket, so be prepared to do some exploring. Lots of thorns and such, wear pants, the ground was very soft due to rains about a week ago, so the ground clearly needs to get packed in to help solve this problem.
Other Thoughts: I put in the notes I wrote down for myself here, if I didn't list a hole, you could see the basket or it was obvious where to go.
1. park in the lower parking lot where you park to play red, look for 18s basket right by a large gate in the fence, from there you can see hole 1. it's a long shot downhill from there.
2. across both creeks and on the right, you can almost see it from the box
3. very long hole, it's all the way down and then about 75 feet or so up on the left over the creek. the creek is deeper than it looks, it swallowed my new stalker
4. long dogleg to the right. from hole 4 look left for some orange markers in the trees for the path
5. long tunnel marked with logs down either side, pin is at the bottom and to the right, head back left to 6
From 6 head right to 7
From 7 head back across the bridge and up the path to the left for 8
From 9 backtrack on the fairway and turn right for 10
From 11 take the path right
12. very long hole with short dogleg left at the end. turn right for 13
From 13 walk back up the fairway a good ways, you'll see the box on the right
14. short tunnel, basket is to the right
17. this one took me 5 min to find. it's at the other end of the clearing, on the right side about 30 feet into the woods.
From 17 head back across the creek, walk by the tee box for hole 2, and 18's tee box is up the hill on the right
Good luck explorers, I'm very happy to have 3 18 hole courses at this park, and 5 total in Tyler.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.