Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Gold Course Share
Uploaded By: hookem41 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach (Long Position)



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Challenging Woods Golf - Tests Extreme Accuracy

1    4/25/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park offers a tremendous amount of disc golf with three 18 hole courses on sight, each widely varying in difficulty. The Gold course is easily the toughest course in the park and is one of the toughest courses that I have played. The amenities are great with plenty of parking space, water fountains, and bathrooms. The course is greatly taken care of as well with very nice concrete tees, DISCatcher baskets, and plenty of directional signs, bridges, benches, and trash cans.
Other than bookending holes 1 and 18, the course is set entirely in the dense woods.

This is a very beautiful setting, playing through hundreds of enormously tall trees and a creek that winds through numerous holes. The creek made for some fun risk/reward play (holes 2, 3, 6, 12, and 13) and adds to the challenge of an already frustratingly hard round. There were multiple times where I was faced with the decision to either go for the basket from the other side of the creek and risk getting a tree kick into the water, or lay up and play it safe. I also enjoyed playing on the sandy, but hard ground. This allowed for a lot of generous skips.

Definitely one of the toughest courses I have played, Lindsey Gold presents very tight and specific lines hole after hole. There is a pretty good distribution of distances and considering the tight lines in the woods, adding another hundred feet feels like a huge difference on some holes. There are 7 holes <300 feet, 5 holes 300-400 feet, 5 holes 400-500 feet, and 1 hole >500 feet.

My favorite holes were the ones that offered more than one lane either off the tee or on the way to the basket. The holes that best represented this were 2-4, 7, 10, and 12. The front half was more enjoyable to me with the creek in play and having multiple lanes on more holes. Holes 1 and 18 give at least a little variety out of the woods, and the multiple pin positions that most holes have add variety to the course as well.

One of the things that impressed me most about the course was how minimal the chances were of losing a disc, despite how densely wooded it was. I don't know if the course designers have done a ton of maintenance thinning out the rough or if the woods are naturally set like that, but you shouldn't spend too much time searching for discs if you go off the fairway. For you score, however, you definitely want to stay on the fairway.
Cons: -The biggest downfall of the course was how specific most of the holes were. Because the course is so tight, the holes generally played along one specific lane. If you didn't hit the line, you had to pitch out from the rough back on the fairway and throw until you did hit the line. For about half of the holes, there wasn't much to it other than that. While I definitely enjoyed the type of holes presented at the course, it would have been nicer to play more holes with multiple lanes, especially off the tee.
-For numerous holes, many shots off the tee felt very similar. There were a bunch of times I stood on the tee looking at either a super tight straight fairway or a slightly wider straight fairway. Depending on the tightness of fairway and length of the hole, I generally either threw my understable mid or understable driver. This stretch is most common in the middle holes and felt almost painfully repetitive.
-The tee signs show both pin positions, but would be a little more helpful if they were more detailed. For instance, it would be nice if it pointed out that 18 has a deep ravine right before the pin rather than just showing a brown spot. My fault for not checking out the hole before I threw, but I lost a disc down there because I did not see the ravine from where I threw. Not a big deal at all, but the tee signs could be a little better.
Other Thoughts: Lindsey Park truly offers something for everyone providing three courses with vastly different levels of difficulty. I recommend also playing the Blue course as it offers a tremendous variety of wooded and open holes and even has some holes with major elevation changes. The Gold course is definitely one of the hardest courses I've played, so come play if you want to test your accuracy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Straight-up

1    4/25/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lindsey Gold offers a truly advanced-level challenge in a gorgeous wooded setting that is well-groomed: while the rough is thick enough to punish errant shots, losing a disc is rarely a fear. Carved out of the woods, the course challenges you to hit very unforgiving windows and lanes; there's rarely any room for error. If you're looking to test your control and accuracy, you've come to the right place.

The best holes on Lindsey Gold provide memorable challenges in tight quarters, such as the intimidatingly long and tree-studded anhyzer of hole 4 and the tight shot over a creek bed with multiple obstacles on the approach of hole 2. The relatively more open holes 1 and 18 provide a different feel and some elevation. Variation is largely in short supply, but when it does appear it's very effective.

Few city parks offer more disc golf than Lindsey does: three 18s of widely ranging difficulties, terrains, and looks give you a lot to do on your visit. Together, the three courses offer something for every golfer, from the absolute beginner to the top-level pro.

Concrete tees are great. Multiple pin positions. Amenities are on site and parking is abundant. For as many holes as there are in such a prominent park, there's virtually no conflict between disc golfers and other park goers, which is very welcome. I didn't have to contend with a single pedestrian on my Friday afternoon visit. Can't go wrong with a shaded environment in the Texas heat.
Cons: Lindsey Gold is one of the least varied courses I've ever played. First, the environment itself never steps down from tightly wooded, outside of the bookending holes. This in itself isn't a problem, but it places a pressure on the design to create variation that it unfortunately doesn't achieve. Many of the holes play straight and tight, including an incredibly self-similar stretch from holes 9 to 13 or so in which you're throwing the same disc on largely the same line. There are exceptions to this that are effective and welcome, but by the end of my round the course had become very repetitious.

Partly this is due to Lindsey Gold's lack of a mental game. The predominant tightness regularly gives you one look and line off the tee, with few and often only minor exceptions. The result is that there's little to think about and rarely any risk versus reward to weigh: you see your shot, you attempt it, and you either hit it or you don't. There aren't many places where you can push for birdie or lay up, or take multiple, equally feasible routes to the basket, or recover from an unfortunate kick off a tree or a badly executed drive. Many of these holes have only one possible play through, and the extreme tightness of the windows and lines can punish even great shots: anything less than the ideal will often send you scrambling. It's not a question of being hard so much as it's a question of maintaining interest by providing a rich, multivalent experience. I feel like a greater change of pace and possibility is required here to make the course truly special, though the potential is certainly there.

Lindsey Gold entertains a relatively high luck factor. Approaching many of the tree-guarded pins threatens to pass from challenging into poke and pray, especially on the occasional blind shot. I can appreciate the push for a challenging course, and that everyone has a different interpretation of where challenge ends and random begins. For me, Lindsey Gold crosses this line at too many points.
Other Thoughts: For as highly rated as it is, I had hoped for more variety and a more interesting mental game at Lindsey Gold. It does tightly wooded very, very well, but doesn't have much else to offer. It's like a bar band that only knows a handful of tunes: after you catch on to the repetition, it's all you hear. With some tweaking to create more diverse lines the course could be really special. As it stands, I wouldn't recommend Lindsey Gold in itself to anyone unless they were looking to gauge the capabilities of their control game. That said, with all else on offer in the park, disc golfing and otherwise, it's hard to discourage someone from making a visit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Tough Course

1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed, signage for navigation, challenging but fair, beautiful surroundings, well maintained
Cons: Signage at each tee pad detailing the hole could be better
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course. Very challenging but rewards good play. There's a seasonal creek that runs in and around many holes, but no large bodies of water. The dense foliage offers enough challenge without having to worry about that. This is a course worth traveling to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Championship Caliber Beast!

5+    11/18/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: hookem41
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is referred to as the Dogwood course locally. It is a true test of accuracy and distance that will challenge even the most seasoned professional disc golfer. It requires every shot shape in the bag; dogleg left, dogleg right, straight shots, even a chance at an overhand or two. Excellent use of elevation where possible, as well as water when possible (even though rain is necessary to fill in the creek beds). Every hole drains like a champ because of the sand, except for number 3. This is an amazing hike through the woods, with benches and trash cans everywhere. A true championship caliber course with concrete tee pads on every hole, as well as short and long pin locations on every hole except numbers 4, 10, and 17 (all true par 4's). With several tournaments being held here now, there has been touch up trimming done, along with a significant amount of trees removed making every hole fair with it's line(s) to the basket.
Cons: I wish it had better signage, that's it. Zero significant cons here. Yes, it is not "beginner friendly" and the warning sign at the first hole lets you know that. It's not a joke. If you miss your line and hit a tree, it's possible the punishment could outweigh the crime. You just have to be accurate. The rough is very rough in several places and you will have to pitch out in some situations. This is also a true test of your mental capacity to have a short memory and flush bad shots or bad holes.
Other Thoughts: It's cart friendly, so take em. It takes you way away from the parking lot with no chance to refill any water bottles mid round, so take what you need with you. Extra water in the summer is necessary, it's brutally hot, but still the most shaded of the 3 courses at Lindsey Park. I've got par on the short pins at 58 and 64 on the long pins for the Dogwood. Please use the trash cans, the local club has to do all the maintenance except the mowing the city does. Lindsey Park is an incredible place to play disc golf with 3 very very good courses in one place. Check it out soon!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Great Course

1    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Pads on every hole, most holes with Long and Short pads. Immaculately maintained with trash cans and benches at each hole, bridges all in good repair. An absolutely beautiful nature walk.
Cons: None, really. Too far from where I live in Dallas??? :-) Anyhoo, gonna make this a regular.
Other Thoughts: This course is difficult but not the monster it is made out to be. You definately need a strong arm and a finesse arm to be at your best. It is wooded, but not tighly so--Coyote in Cedar Hill is much more densley wooded than this. Errant shots are not a problem--not a lot of difficult underbrush for them to hide--but beware the creeks! There are stickers, but they are minimal as the grounds are very well maintained.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough round

1    8/16/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads were all concrete with plenty of room for any shot type. The signage was great, and it even had really good signage on trees leading you toward the next tee, which made navigation a breeze. The course provides a variety of shots needed and good distance variation. It makes good use of the water hazards (if they aren't dried up) and the changes in elevation. All of the baskets were in great shape, and every hole had multiple pin placements. There were plenty of trash cans and benches along the way, and there was a bunch of artwork to be discovered through the round. It was hot, but very peaceful and quiet back in those woods.
Cons: This one is not beginner friendly. There are a ton of very wooded shots that could ruin your day, if you aren't throwing your A-game. Some fairways could use some trimming, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Really beautiful course, and there are two more on site. Bring lots of water in the summer because it gets hot, even on this very shady one. Definitely worth the time to play if you think you have the experience, but be warned: the sign at the first tee is no joke. This one gets tough pretty quickly, and it doesn't really let up. Also it is a pretty long walk with trails winding you all through the woods, so be prepared for a hike.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gold Course

1    3/9/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very tough course with a lot of trees, which is good for improving your game. Well thought out and has numerous holes for every shot. Concrete tees and pretty well maintained 'fairways', as well as seating pretty regularly.
Cons: Tough course. Not meant for beginners or people who don't feel like being frustrated.
Other Thoughts: The hardest of the three courses at Lindsey. There are very few true open shots on this course, and if they are open then there's some sort of catch to make it difficult. Play this course to improve your game, but only once you can already throw at least 300 with some control.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/9/2010   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for the big arms. Long fairways and it really makes you pick that exact shot. You can't just get up there and boom it to the basket. You have to mix power and accuracy.
Cons: No cons.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to scramble on. Def a beast to take on alone. With a partner I was able to get plus 2 but alone not so good.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  best course in east tx.

5+    1/28/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: discgolfdonkey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: concrete tee boxes , multiple pin placements, pro level course, beautiful fairways, course stays dry , plenty of shade, very challenging. world class course.
Cons: hole 3 is the only hole that gets semi-wet, every other hole stays dry when it rains thanks to the sand.
Other Thoughts: short placements 55-60 real good score, long placements par 63 one of the hardest courses in all of texas. strongly advise playing this unique course. some people complain it's too hard and too wooded but you just have to learn new shots and lean on good placement shots.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A great Course

1    7/18/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: redmanhmg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A really great course. It took everything I had to make it through with my dignity. I think I hit every tree in the park and some across the street as well. The most best park yet. It will test you physically, and mentally. It is way above my skill level but I had a really great time playing the course. I don't have a 200ft straight shot , which would be a great asset at this park. The corridors are very small. If you live close you owe it to yourself to make it out there and play it.
Cons: Nothing really bad to say about the course just a couple of signs were down to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: even though it is in the shade take plenty of water, it is still hot out there right now. good luck, I am sure you will enjoy it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.