Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Gold Course Share
Uploaded By: hookem41 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach (Long Position)



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A real doozy!

1    7/1/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A truly challenging course beginning to end. The tee boxes and baskets are very nice, and arrows make navigating between holes easier. If you like pushover courses, don't play here. In my limited class of the most difficult courses with Idlewild in KY, and the three courses at the PDGA headquarters in GA. I had a high score, but I wouldn't change any of the holes. A super disc golf course!
Cons: A couple of the tee signs did not accurately represent the pin positions. I stepped in quicksand trying to grab a disc on the edge of the creek. Over my skill level, left me muttering a few times.
Other Thoughts: If you appreciate a formidable challenge to your game, check this one out. If not, Lindsay Park has 36 more holes to offer which I didn't play, but assume would offer a bit more playability to the average player.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat Out Nucking Futs FUN!

1    6/2/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. This is a very tough course, but for me, that is an attractive quality. There are tons of older trees here making this setting rather tranquil. For the hottest part of the day this is the course you want to be playing. The heavily wooded and shaded hopes can knock the temperature down quite a few degrees. There are all kinds of shots and disc navigation needed to play here. The pin placements are in rather clever spots on many of the holes. The multiple pins can really change things up a bit. Many of them, will even change the layout from lefty to righty holes and vice-versa. The few creeks and well made bridges make for some nice risk/reward choices. The tee pads are big concrete slabs and well placed. There is some great seating and trashcans at many of the tees. The tee signs have the usual footage for both pin placements and there are lots of small next tee signs posted to really help you find your way. The park has portable restrooms at the parking lot.
Cons: This course is not beginner friendly. The tee signs do not show you where the pins are. Some poisonous plants (ivy, sumac, oak,) around, but that is at most of shaded courses in the DFW area. That is all I can think of.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is outstanding here. This is tough and so much fun. This is worth a drive from just about anywhere. You have to love that this course has a stone monument with some tournament winners and years listed on it. The fact that there are 3 courses in this one park makes for a great outing. This is however the cream of that crop. If you like it difficult and figuring holes out like puzzles, this is your place!

Extra notes: The wildlife inside this particular course is rather intense. I saw many snakes, lizards, and other reptiles as well as the regular garden variety furry little varmints. ;) So just keep your eyes open. The locals call this the "Dogwood Course". It even has a warning sign at the beginning stating that it is a professional course and not meant for beginners. This sign matches the sign from the Dogwood ball golf course. It is obviously some kind of inside joke that we are all now part way in on. ;)

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The "WARNING" sign says it all...

5+    4/7/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park is home to 3 quality disc golf courses, with Dogwood being the most recently installed (and thus having the newest baskets, tees, signs, etc).

Let's start with the basics: Spacious concrete tees on every hole, new DisCatcher baskets, multiple pin placements on almost every hole, benches on many holes, "next tee" signs where needed, several restrooms and port-o-johns throughout the park, plenty of parking space, and a bulletin board with an overhead view of the courses.

Well-thought-out and VERY challenging design...this course will test even the most experienced of players with it's tightly wooded and sometimes epic-ly long fairways. Hole 1 is moderately wooded, but is the most open hole on the entire course, so don't let it lull you into a false sense of security...the punishment begins on the very next hole :) Aside from the ever-present trees and schule, many of the holes incorporate sharp doglegs, elevation, low ceilings, and a winding creek as additional hazards.

The holes that stood out the most to me were 3, 4 and 17. Hole 3 plays through a high-ceiling, narrow tunnel with a slight right-to-left turn for the first 350'-375' before turning sharply to the left for another 80'-150' (depending on pin placement) over a creek. Hole 4 has one of the most beautiful fairways I've ever seen...after the initial 90-degree right dogleg that's only 100' from the tee you're greeted with yet another long tunnel-ish shot, but this one is flanked by walls of giant old-growth pine trees! Throw in some small trees in the middle of the fairway, a slight uphill climb, and a guarded green, and you have a recipe for a possible 5 or higher score if you aren't careful. Hole 17 is what I would call the signature hole, although it isn't one of the heavily wooded holes (which is what Dogwood is all about). It incorporates a moderately open fairway that curves left-to-right and runs slightly downhill over 400' before turning back left to a heavily protected green with a creek behind the pin...this is my favorite hole on Dogwood because of the multiple elements incorporated (elevation, trees, water, guarded pin).

The sandy soil on most holes drains very quickly after a rain (hole 3 being the only exception I can think of).

Although the warning sign at hole 1 states that Dogwood is "only recommended for highly skilled golfers", I found many casual players enjoying the course as much as myself...all in all, playing Dogwood has the potential to be a very humbling experience, but the smart golfer who can keep his or her disc in the fairway will be happy with the outcome.
Cons: At this point, some of the fairways (especially recently added long pins) still need significant trimming for them to be considered "fair" in my book. A prime example of this is hole 9 in the left pin (not sure if it's considered long or short), where the limbs hang only a few feet off the ground in spots, turning even the best drive into a lay-up 3.

Navigation can be a little tricky in a few spots where "next tee" signs aren't immediately obvious...when in doubt, look for orange marks on trees, and follow them as best as you can.

In retrospect, some of the holes seem a *little* redundant in the short pins...however, the long pins make up for this fact.
Other Thoughts: I gave Dogwood 4 out of 5 orangeish, oblong, disc-shaped things....I feel that with a little more trimming and some more detailed signage, it could get 4.5 out of 5.

With the addition of the Dogwood course, Lindsey Park now seems to have it all (in terms of shot variety) and is a great spot for a full day of golfing.

Keep an eye out for some awesome local artwork on the trees...holes 3, 10, and 14?. Unless, of course, you're freaked out by evil clowns :)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trip dog

1    4/2/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Complex,trees are daunting,very tight lines thru heavily wooded fairways, Comparable to Gateways more difficult holes and Mohawk(Blackhawk) in Tulsas holes if you added some elevation.This is one of the top three Hardest courses i've ever played.Don't get me wrong though there are plenty of birdie opportunities here to be had when the placements are in the short.In other words you better bird the shorty holes here.Gotta love that Pine and sand.
Cons: Showed up without proper rest and tried to play all three courses in a day.Bring extra brewskies its dry out there.I was rolling an extreme amount of times,don't get me wrong i only put it in the cons box due to the fact that they didn't work so well,it felt like it was the only safe throw.
Other Thoughts: Lyndsey Park alone is now a genuine full day excursion.Heard a seven over is the best round recorded here so far.....ouch.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 dogwood

5+    1/23/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: pimpcapnc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lets see i rate in my top 5 favorite courses just because of the difficulty and how it makes me play harder than other courses. be prepared to use shots that you usually wouldnt use because you will need it all. first time or two can be rough
Cons: i HATE hole number three tee box!!!! i like the old tee box better. other than that its great

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Tylers got a gem, and it's harder than diamonds.

1    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All wooded, technical and long. I have never seen so many 550 and 600 ft. wooded holes before. I don't know how long this course is. If I had to guess I would say around 7000 Ft.!! Easy to navigate... easy to navigate in Tyler? Yes!!!! Thanks to Chalos13 for all of the navigational tips, but they are no longer needed. There are next tee arrows that you can't miss. New tee signs and concrete Tee pads. It appears that the local Tyler group knows what they have here and pay a lot more attention to having this course traveler or 1st timer ready. The course was not busy today on a overcast day with the temperature a smooth 67 degrees. A father and son playing the blue course helped me find the 1st tee and told me that this course is really hard and said that they gave up on hole 6 and told me good luck as if I was about to go into battle. I soon found out why. This course will challenge even pro level players and rec players like me will be happy to par a few of them. The fairways are well defined(The time of the season may have contributed to this).Only time will tell if it will continue to be well maintained and have well defined fairways once all of the leaves return. A creek comes into play on several holes with the baskets close to many of them. Tricky but not unfair landing zones. There are many semi straight shots that are long with multiple routs to many, which adds difficulty and options to them. Watch out on hole 7. The basket has a creek around the back of it, but discs were retrievable today. Extremely secluded. The only time that I heard traffic was by hole 13s basket. Don't worry, you go right back into the woods for 14 and soon can't hear anymore signs of civilization. Just like a brand new shiny toy waiting to be played with. This is a wooded golfers must play. It is by far better than the blue and red courses unless you don't like heavily wooded courses. Plenty of trash cans and benches to rest, and you will need it unless you are in great shape. The shot selection is what stood out to me more than the pin placements, which were not bad themselves. 54 holes in 1 spot. Plan a day at Lindsey, but play the gold 1st as it is longer and more of a workout than the other 2. Another fun ass Tyler course, unless the difficulty ruins it for you.
Cons: Not beginner friendly. No open bomber shots or across the water shots(except for the creek shots). Can't think of any more, if I do I will update my review.
Other Thoughts: hole 1 takes you into the woods and 18 brings you out, the rest are in the woods.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    11/4/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The paths are already beaten in pretty well. There are trash cans, benches, it's already a good course. I'm told the boy scouts built all the bridges, thanks to them, they're great. The course is great, extremely challenging. If your not a pro, you're going to be frustrated. There are several tunnel holes, lots of very long holes, it's the hardest course in tyler by far. Several very tight fairways, the woods are not forgiving at all. You need a long, accurate drive to play well here. Even the short holes are challenging. The paths between holes are marked by orange streamers in trees, and sometimes orange spray paint on the trees themselves.
Cons: The signs aren't in yet. There is no way to know the distances, and in most cases you can't see the basket from the tee, so you have to walk 300 feet to find it, or throw and pray you're in a good spot. The tee boxes are dirt and marked by stakes painted bright pink, so relatively easy to find, but I hope they're putting in cement. Several times there were multiple paths leading away from a basket, so be prepared to do some exploring. Lots of thorns and such, wear pants, the ground was very soft due to rains about a week ago, so the ground clearly needs to get packed in to help solve this problem.
Other Thoughts: I put in the notes I wrote down for myself here, if I didn't list a hole, you could see the basket or it was obvious where to go.
1. park in the lower parking lot where you park to play red, look for 18s basket right by a large gate in the fence, from there you can see hole 1. it's a long shot downhill from there.
2. across both creeks and on the right, you can almost see it from the box
3. very long hole, it's all the way down and then about 75 feet or so up on the left over the creek. the creek is deeper than it looks, it swallowed my new stalker
4. long dogleg to the right. from hole 4 look left for some orange markers in the trees for the path
5. long tunnel marked with logs down either side, pin is at the bottom and to the right, head back left to 6
From 6 head right to 7
From 7 head back across the bridge and up the path to the left for 8
From 9 backtrack on the fairway and turn right for 10
From 11 take the path right
12. very long hole with short dogleg left at the end. turn right for 13
From 13 walk back up the fairway a good ways, you'll see the box on the right
14. short tunnel, basket is to the right
17. this one took me 5 min to find. it's at the other end of the clearing, on the right side about 30 feet into the woods.
From 17 head back across the creek, walk by the tee box for hole 2, and 18's tee box is up the hill on the right
Good luck explorers, I'm very happy to have 3 18 hole courses at this park, and 5 total in Tyler.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center