Frankfort, IN 
Camp Cullom DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #21 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 244ft.   3 / --   3 / 305ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #21 Pro Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good but needs improvement

1    5/17/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 134  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoy playing courses off the beaten path and this course certainly had that going for it. Two sets of tees is also a huge plus as is having 24 holes. The course was mostly wooded but had a few open holes that allowed you to air the disc out. The baskets were truly phenomenal and really caught the disc well. The scenery was also beautiful as the course was situated in a very nice area when it comes to nature. Some of my favorite holes include holes 10 and 12. Hole 12 in particular had an awesome green that really punished shots that went long. Hole 19 was a stunning hole over a ravine to a very narrow green. Going long on this hole is jail. Hole 22 was a nice break from the woods and offered the chance to air out the disc. All in all this was a good course (that's what a 3 rating constitutes) that was mostly enjoyable to play.
Cons: Every course needs improvement and this course was no different. Unfortunately the tee pads were borderline unplayable on the day that I played. I will say that I was there on a wet day but even taking that aside the tee pads were simply not good. Not only are they worn but they are uneven and sometimes you are throwing uphill on the teepad. Concrete would be a huge addition to this course. Navigation wasn't bad but the navigation between hole 6 and 7 is just bad. To walk back through the fairway of hole 6 to get to hole 7 is confusing and was a mistake. The other main con with this course are the long tees. Long tees are supposed to be tough but some of the long tees had lines that were simply unfair. In particular, holes 8, 9, 10, 11 had long tees that you just wanted to scratch your head. Challenging is a good thing but luck is not. These holes simply did not have enough of a defined fairway to be a fair hole. Also, the grass was VERY high the day I played the course and the rough was brutal. Getting off of the fairway was not pleasant. Also, the two holes that essentially used the road as the fairway did not work for me. The tee signs could have been placed better as they always are facing to where you'd have to walk behind the tee to see the distances on the holes and the layout. This is not a big deal but just a minor issue. Also, hole 24 did not fit with the rest of the course. It wasn't a super long hole but there was no fairway. The option was to throw high over a line of trees to the basket. It just seemed out of place. Finally, in general it seemed that the long tees were designed as an after thought. There were many holes that simply required you to back track 150 feet just to throw the long tee.
Other Thoughts: This course has great potential to be even better. I rate courses based on defined characteristics. So while this course may be private and should get slack because its an Eagle Scout course, I want to make sure everyone knows what they are getting themselves into. The course has some design issues that a few tweaks could definitely fix. I would also add that the Short Tees seemed much more fun and fair. It was still a fun course that had some enjoyable holes but it is a challenging course. Its not beginner friendly but I want to give a huge thanks to the Scouts for building this course. It is appreciated!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course. But...

5+    3/19/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 31 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has about as good of topography as you can get in central-northern Indiana for disc golf. It has open areas, light woods, heavy woods, tons of hills, up and down all over. The holes are well designed with lots of variety and for the most part, the flow works well. It is a very tough course! Miss a shot and bogeys are easy to find (or worse).

Decent signs with a graphic depiction of the hole, par, distances, sponsor, etc. Am and Pro tees. Six extra holes!

With the extra holes, It is a test of skill and endurance. Best for Intermediate or Advanced players. Water available at the start of the course.
Cons: The tees are not the best design or in the best condition. They are wooden "frames" laid on the ground (so the wood is not flush with the ground, but above it by 3"-5"). Then the tee was filled with gravel. The gravel has shifted around, washed out in areas and does not provide the best footing. The boards around the tee constitute a trip hazard when throwing (especially for newer, less skilled players).

Also, I'm not in love with the road hole. It just doesn't seem to fit well with the rest of the course.

No alt pin locations. For the length of the course, it sure could use some benches and trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Despite being at a Scout Camp, it is not really a Scout or new player friendly course. Yes, it does have "Am" tees, but trust me, as a Scout Leader who has worked with several large groups of inexperienced players (adults and kids) it is not really a beginner friendly course. Perhaps instead of one long super course, maybe a kick ass 18-hole layout and a short beginner friendly 9-hole loop might have worked better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hell of a course

1    10/11/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was an extremely impressive course.

24 challenging holes (from either pro or amateur tees).

Variety: It has everything: elevation, flat holes, wooded holes, open holes, water hazards. It starts off with a few open holes then it changes to wooded for a majority of the course. Finishes with a fee open holes.

The baskets are Spiderweb 3 brackets made by Allen Pier and they are some of the best baskets around. There are 25 of them (1 practice basket).

2 gravel throw pads per hole (with exception of hole 19). There are amateur and pro tees.

Signs were amazing. Both amateur and pro tees have their own sign which has a map, distance, par, and location of the other tee. There are several signs in the woods pointing you towards the tee. Without the, you would get lost.

Lots of shade! Plenty of benches. Bridges and stairs where needed. Course has had plenty of work done to perfect it and it really has shown.
Cons: Gravel Tees. Some of them were uneven, some were slanting downward, some upward, and some had loose gravel.

Lots of poison ivy. Bring sanitizer.

No trash cans.

Frustrating course (but that's a good thing).
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely a must play. There are no courses in the central Indiana area that compare to this course. Imagine the hilly wooded holes of Boondocks Farms and Avon exept much more challenging. Also, imagine the challenge of Hazel Landing Park and add elevation.

I don't have a problem with gravel pads or dirt pads but concrete pads would put this course over the top. I know it's hard to remove poison ivy on a 24 hole course but it would help.

I played this course from the amateur tees and it was still difficult. Holes 6, downhill shot then hooked left at the very bottom, and hole 10, an uphill "island" type hole where if you undershoot it rolls down and if you overshoot it rolls down the other side, were my favorite.

I will definitely be back and would recommend this course to anybody looking for a challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course in the middle of nowhere!

1    12/8/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: try122583
Played: 98  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: PROS
- A course that will definitely challenge your ability to throw accurately! Great course that will challenge experienced players.
- Good elevation adds to the beauty of some holes.
- Very easy to follow. They did an excellent job of putting up signs to direct you along your way. With all the woods it could be easy to get lost otherwise.
- Tee signs were nice too, clearly marking where both the pro and am tees were located, and they had tee signs at each pro and am tee box.
- First time playing a course with the arachnid baskets, and I really like them. Nice deep basket which means shots go in and stay in. Three layer chains as well.
-Despite most of the course being through the woods, there are routes to throw through. Very rewarding when you hit your mark and get all the way down without hitting anything.
Cons: - Limestone tees, which means once a hole is dug into it, it stays there, making your approach difficult at times.
- Another issue with the tees, some of them were not on level ground, adding to the footing issues, and forcing you to adjust your drive a bit.
- Could be pretty muddy, so wear shoes you don't care about. It's the woods, so what do you expect?
- It is listed as a private course. Even though we had no problem playing it, there might be times where it might not be available, so you might want to look into that before heading out.
Other Thoughts: Fix the boxes, and this course becomes that much better! Even though it's in the middle of nowhere and kinda out of the way for a guy from Champaign, IL, I would definitely go back. It is well worth the trip! Beautiful land and beautiful course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top 5 Course

1    9/29/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Excellent piece of property. Course is WELL designed using the terrain. Hilly, wooded with some open areas. Lots of woods make this course a real challenge. Nice, easy to follow signs. Several wide open holes great for big throws. 24 holes, with hice baskets.
Cons: Needs concrete pads, the gravel pads are a challenge. I understand the pro tees are supposed to be poured this next spring.
Other Thoughts: With concrete pads this could be one of the best courses I have played in central Indiana.


1    9/22/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 82  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very good signage located at both tees.
-Baskets are some of the best i've seen, very visible through the woods and catch very well.
-Course flows well with directional signs under the baskets pointing towards the next tee and signs throughout the course to keep you on track.
-Great use of topography,a feature uncommon in central Indiana.
-Very clean despite very few trash cans. Carry out what you carry in.
Cons: -Tee pads are worn out.they get very muddy after a good rainfall. Concrete pads are supposed to be installed this year sometime according to the course notes.
-Course could use a couple more benches in spots.
Other Thoughts: This course is by far one of the best courses in Indiana that i've played so far.If and when the concrete pads get installed, this course would be a 4.5 IMO.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Break.

1    8/20/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: Fuath
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1. Only people on the course.
2. Good mix of tight and open holes.
3. Easy to navigate all 24 holes.
4. Nice mix of elevation on the holes.
5. Practice basket.
Cons: 1. Some of the holes got repetitive.
2. Not that close to any amenities.
3. No trash cans.
Other Thoughts: One of the most fun times I have had in a long time.The caretaker of the course was friendly ans welcoming. It was well taken care of and clean. We had the course to our selves. I really enjoyed the change in elevation. The holes start out open for the most part, and generally tighten as you play. On the down side I Found myself going to the same two disc hole after hole. A change in some of the distances would be nice but not needed. Also, I played with some beginners and found myself distracted often. However, that is not the courses fault. I would highly recommend this to any passing through the area. Go Disc Golf!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a fun round! I don't even know where to begin.

Before my trip here, I'd heard a lot about Camp Cullom. I heard/read that it was a epic 24 hole course designed and build by an eagle scout and it was considered to be one of Indiana's best courses. I've been to Lemon Lake and those were sweet courses, so I decided to make the 3 hour trip to Camp Cullom and check it out and I must say it was absolutely worth it.

When we arrived to this very secluded campsite, we were the only people there and seeing this tremendous property being used almost exclusively for disc golf brought a smile to my face.

I definitely wasn't expecting most of this course to be in the woods, but it really was a nice change of pace from what I'm used to. Most of the tee shots from both the pro and am tee require pin point placement on drives and really required control to score well. The holes are challenging, and yet fun, fair, and offer great risk/reward.

My favorite shot, as many others have mentioned, was #6, the 500ish foot downhill dog leg left. Overshooting means you're in a creek, undershooting means your friends can make fun of you. There's really only one option and that's going for it. It's great. :)
Cons: As everyone before me has mentioned, the gravel tees are miserable, but I also read on the Course Information page that they're supposed to get replaced within the next few months with cement, which is super.

All in all, you'd never think that an eagle scout did this high quality work, and for that, I commend him, wherever he is. :)
Other Thoughts: I had such a blast playing the Am tees here. They were definitely still challenging and provided plenty of fair deuce opportunities...I just didn't utilize them as well as I could of...

Oh well, looking back it was an awesome round. I highly recommend playing here!!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    3/18/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked (tee signs and basket arrows to next hole)
Dual tees (fine gravel, but well maintained)
Course changes difficulty with seasons
Shot variety needs (bring everything you have and more)
Fairways (tightly wooded, but fairways stand out)
Cons: A couple fairways along gravel drive (not heavily traveled)
2-4 holes have tee pads at a downhill angle
1-2 tee pads at uphill angle
Stair system on 19 almost creates crossing fairways with 18
Other Thoughts: All in all, I think this is a great course. The short tee's are fun yet challenging. The long tee's are exactly what they say, Pro tee's. Be ready to open up your eyes and think outside the box to determine what shot and which lane to take to the basket. If "scrambling" is not a part of your game, you might have trouble here, but this course will teach you to scramble by the end of a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: CC has 24 holes that are mostly wooded technical holes, but it does start and end with more open holes bordered by deep rough. Hole design and flow are nicely done with little repetition and several memorable holes. There is a good variety of hole style with ups, downs, and level elevation along with straight, right, and left shaped fairways. There is a creek that is not a major obstacle, but it can come into play on several holes with an errant shot, and there is a pond in play on another.

There are 2 sets of tees offering 2 distinct levels of difficulty. Excellent signs and baskets. Navigation was easy without a map. Good gravel parking area and very nice restrooms. Course begins and ends at the lot.
Cons: Gravel tees are never as good as concrete tees (however, these aren't horrible). Hole #20 uses the road for a tee, but it is on a severe up-slope, and was the worst tee of them all. Also, this hole pretty much plays up the road, which is not a good idea because of safety.

This course needs maintenance- 24 holes is a lot to take care of. Many places in the woods needed fairway grass/weeds trimmed and branches picked up.

I was not a big fan of the condition of #18 and #19. First, hole 18 Am Tee has the railings for the walking stairs right in front of the tee. The bottom of these holes had a small creek- but the rest of it was densely filled with stinging nettles with no nettle-free landing area except for the creek. These holes need cleared out in a bad way so you can find your discs and you can protect your arms and legs. I am glad the stairs were built on these two holes with steep elevation and these are probably many people's favorites here, but I would skip them the next time if the "nettle farm" was still there. Also, hole #19 is dangerously steep if your disc manages to land on the steep dirt slope.

Course does not come back to the parking lot until #24 so bring plenty to drink and a snack. It is possible that holes #3 and #4 could be closed if campers are there. Hole #1 is pretty weak as it is just straight and open, but at least it is the first hole as the rest get better, and it makes for a good warm-up.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid course- fun from the Am Tees and challenging from the Pro Tees. It is probably not the "Very Best in Indiana" as was originally billed by some (Lemon Lake and the Southern part outside Louisville may be better), but it is still better than average, and is quite possibly the best in a large radius as you would not expect to find hilly woods in the farm land of central Indiana.

Compliments to the Scouts for designing and building a very good course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.