Disc Golf Store
Frankfort, IN 
Camp Cullom DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #23 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 258ft.   3 / --   3 / 320ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Am Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good course. But...

5+    3/19/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 31 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has about as good of topography as you can get in central-northern Indiana for disc golf. It has open areas, light woods, heavy woods, tons of hills, up and down all over. The holes are well designed with lots of variety and for the most part, the flow works well. It is a very tough course! Miss a shot and bogeys are easy to find (or worse).

Decent signs with a graphic depiction of the hole, par, distances, sponsor, etc. Am and Pro tees. Six extra holes!

With the extra holes, It is a test of skill and endurance. Best for Intermediate or Advanced players. Water available at the start of the course.
Cons: The tees are not the best design or in the best condition. They are wooden "frames" laid on the ground (so the wood is not flush with the ground, but above it by 3"-5"). Then the tee was filled with gravel. The gravel has shifted around, washed out in areas and does not provide the best footing. The boards around the tee constitute a trip hazard when throwing (especially for newer, less skilled players).

Also, I'm not in love with the road hole. It just doesn't seem to fit well with the rest of the course.

No alt pin locations. For the length of the course, it sure could use some benches and trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Despite being at a Scout Camp, it is not really a Scout or new player friendly course. Yes, it does have "Am" tees, but trust me, as a Scout Leader who has worked with several large groups of inexperienced players (adults and kids) it is not really a beginner friendly course. Perhaps instead of one long super course, maybe a kick ass 18-hole layout and a short beginner friendly 9-hole loop might have worked better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top 5 Course

1    9/29/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Excellent piece of property. Course is WELL designed using the terrain. Hilly, wooded with some open areas. Lots of woods make this course a real challenge. Nice, easy to follow signs. Several wide open holes great for big throws. 24 holes, with hice baskets.
Cons: Needs concrete pads, the gravel pads are a challenge. I understand the pro tees are supposed to be poured this next spring.
Other Thoughts: With concrete pads this could be one of the best courses I have played in central Indiana.


1    9/22/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 82  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very good signage located at both tees.
-Baskets are some of the best i've seen, very visible through the woods and catch very well.
-Course flows well with directional signs under the baskets pointing towards the next tee and signs throughout the course to keep you on track.
-Great use of topography,a feature uncommon in central Indiana.
-Very clean despite very few trash cans. Carry out what you carry in.
Cons: -Tee pads are worn out.they get very muddy after a good rainfall. Concrete pads are supposed to be installed this year sometime according to the course notes.
-Course could use a couple more benches in spots.
Other Thoughts: This course is by far one of the best courses in Indiana that i've played so far.If and when the concrete pads get installed, this course would be a 4.5 IMO.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: CC has 24 holes that are mostly wooded technical holes, but it does start and end with more open holes bordered by deep rough. Hole design and flow are nicely done with little repetition and several memorable holes. There is a good variety of hole style with ups, downs, and level elevation along with straight, right, and left shaped fairways. There is a creek that is not a major obstacle, but it can come into play on several holes with an errant shot, and there is a pond in play on another.

There are 2 sets of tees offering 2 distinct levels of difficulty. Excellent signs and baskets. Navigation was easy without a map. Good gravel parking area and very nice restrooms. Course begins and ends at the lot.
Cons: Gravel tees are never as good as concrete tees (however, these aren't horrible). Hole #20 uses the road for a tee, but it is on a severe up-slope, and was the worst tee of them all. Also, this hole pretty much plays up the road, which is not a good idea because of safety.

This course needs maintenance- 24 holes is a lot to take care of. Many places in the woods needed fairway grass/weeds trimmed and branches picked up.

I was not a big fan of the condition of #18 and #19. First, hole 18 Am Tee has the railings for the walking stairs right in front of the tee. The bottom of these holes had a small creek- but the rest of it was densely filled with stinging nettles with no nettle-free landing area except for the creek. These holes need cleared out in a bad way so you can find your discs and you can protect your arms and legs. I am glad the stairs were built on these two holes with steep elevation and these are probably many people's favorites here, but I would skip them the next time if the "nettle farm" was still there. Also, hole #19 is dangerously steep if your disc manages to land on the steep dirt slope.

Course does not come back to the parking lot until #24 so bring plenty to drink and a snack. It is possible that holes #3 and #4 could be closed if campers are there. Hole #1 is pretty weak as it is just straight and open, but at least it is the first hole as the rest get better, and it makes for a good warm-up.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid course- fun from the Am Tees and challenging from the Pro Tees. It is probably not the "Very Best in Indiana" as was originally billed by some (Lemon Lake and the Southern part outside Louisville may be better), but it is still better than average, and is quite possibly the best in a large radius as you would not expect to find hilly woods in the farm land of central Indiana.

Compliments to the Scouts for designing and building a very good course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 excellent course built on great land

1    8/22/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Shot variety--slight to severe annys and hyzers, straight shots high shots low shots
--Terrain variety lots of nice ravine shots in the woods. Signature hole 6? Is a 550 ft bomber downhill and tucked to the left
--Quality baskets made in IN (Allen Pier, I think)
--Nice tough lines to hit from the long tees, hole 12 comes to mind, it is a straight, fairly short shot, but is almost shape line a very narrow arrow head and is a very daunting shot.
--There were a couple holes that had really excellent tee placement, for example on hole 10 there was 1 tree off the tee that was right in the way of a solid line that I would have taken, but I had to hit the tougher line with that tree playing head games.
-Really nice amenities through out: benches, nice tee signs, next tee signs on a lot of the baskets, staircases and bridges, nice practice area
-24 solid holes of good golf
Cons: Not a lot here for cons, but definitely ones that leave this course behind when compared to top notch wooded courses.
--Although the roads provide nice fairways (such as 7), it is disappointing to see them used, it takes away from the natural beauty of the land.
--gravel teepads-although the pro pads were all level and fine, I did notice that some of the am pads were sloped.
--Compared to other "championship" wooded courses, it's a bit on the short side. IE some of the PA, Charlotte, Iron Hill for example. Of the courses I've played Camden II in Illinois is longer, more hilly, and concrete.
--No water hazards, well one if the shot is terribly shanked
Other Thoughts: I definitely struggled giving this awesome course a 3.5, really it is more of a 3.75. This is definitely the best course in Indiana that I've played, I have yet to play the big NW courses (ie LL, valpo, alwoods) but I will play those in less than a month.
--A huge thanks must be given to the scouts and to the kids of clinton county (I think) for letting us use this beautiful course. Thanks!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 better than the best in Indiana

1    3/27/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 702  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfection in regards to navigation. Two sets of tees per hole; very clearly marked. Wooden signs with correct footage. Next tee signs where needed.
Tough hole after tough hole. Lots of tight S drives needed; with shot finishes equal for righties and lefties.
Staircases and bridges done well and in wonderful condition. i.e. fairly recently constructed.
24 holes (I love extra holes!)
Quality spiderweb baskets. I believe these are made fairly locally, and are a nice touch.
Creek in play on multiple holes (but you won't take many strokes, as there is not much water in the creek; and even if you're close, it will be rare that you're surrounded. However, if you were to head here for a tourney; I would imagine that o.b. lines roped off or otherwise marked would cause lots of o.b. strokes....we had one player take one with actual water surrounding disc; and others of us were very near o.b. a number of times)
Elevation in use all over the place. This makes for great scenery. Also, makes for a fairly tiring round; bring water and snacks if that's your style; as your round will probably take a while (course 2.3 miles from start to finish).
Lots of benches on course.
Eagle scouts, of course, should get TONS of credit for this phenomenal course.
Practice putting game set up near practice basket; with the bricks in the ground marking spots to shoot from.
Roll away greens (i.e. hill side) on more than 1/4 of the course.
Cons: Gravel tees. (These were maintained and constructed as well as this type of tee can be done; but, in my experience, gravel tees always end up spread out in the end)
Scouting events can fill the course sometimes. This, it should go without saying, is not really a con; as it is THEIR course. However, I'm just pointing out that we had to skip one hole, when visiting, because a group was using fairway for #3. Lots of scouts with tents, near course when we were here (some kind of jamboree or something). No one seemed concerned we were playing, as were others, both groups coexisted just fine....but, we did have to skip a hole.
The roadway is a disc chewer upper; but is not that bad.
Other Thoughts: We played Camp Cullom after Alwoods, in Rennselear, IN. That course has notes claiming to be the toughest in Indiana. This course is just as tough, if not tougher. Lines are slightly tougher at Alwoods; but, Cullom features more elevation and tougher rough.
We alternated between short tees and longs; and shot well over par; and our group consisted of primarily blue level players.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.