Frankfort, IN 
Camp Cullom DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #23 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Am Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Rough, but super fun

1    5/21/2015   5/29/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 123  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 hole course set in the woods of a campground, kind of out in the middle of nowhere.

2 sets of teepads, which offer mostly varying lines, and a decent amount of extra distance. They are gravel, and kind of erratic, but were in decent shape the day we were there, which was the day after a rainstorm.

Spiderweb baskets, which caught quite well. I had never seen these before (that I could recall), but I liked them quite a bit. The yellow really stood out in the woods. One position per hole.

Tee signs were adequate, with distance, a basic layout, and hole number. Navigation was relatively simple, and without a guide, we didn't really get crossed up at all.

Now to the meat of it. Camp Cullom has a TON of shots. Lots of elevation, shots turning in every direction, tunnels, big hyzers, soft turnovers. The fairways range from wide open, to open, to tight. There was barely a throwaway hole on the entire course. Even hole 1, while open, provided a nice start/warmup to the course. If you're going to have an easy, open hole, it should be at the beginning. This is one of those courses that you could play 50 times and keep finding new lanes to the basket, which is exactly what I like. Lots of replay factor.

Plenty of parking and brick and mortar bathrooms at the beginning of the course, which is really nice. There was also people tent camping near hole 1, doing some bird watching.
Cons: The rough here is rough. Wear long trousers, or you'll come out worse for the wear. Lots of itchy scratchy stuff to plow through if you're off the fairway.

Speaking of rough, the entire place is sort of rough. Being an Eagle Scout project on a campground, it's to be expected. Concrete tee pads and some clearing would go a heck of a long way here.
Other Thoughts: This really is a fantastic course that has a high replay value. If you're playing well that day, you could score well...but if you're not, it could completely eat your lunch, especially from the long tees.

In the sake of time, we played the shorts, but even then, there was plenty of challenge as an Int player. I would love to play the longs here, and see what kind of beat down that would be.

Overall, a really good course that could be fantastic with some upgrades, and shouldn't be missed if you're in the area. Just remember your long pants and bug spray!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Current Conditions

5+    5/10/2015   5/12/2015
Review By: skishootfly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Great Course, one of the best in the state for many reasons, all of which other reviewers have stated. This is my home course to play and I usually play 3 times a week.
Cons: 5/11-5/15/15 the course is closed. Its a boy scout camp, and observatory also. Last time I played it was passable but soggy on #6 (one of the best holes), & between 23-24.
Other Thoughts: If you play from the PRO tees from now on its best to have someone with you to help find your disc on several holes. Bring Mosquitto repellant, wear long pants (stinging nettles on several holes in the woods, and poison Ivy/Oak especially on bad drives).


5+    6/8/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: pandabaer6496
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course is just flat out fun! 24 holes with am tees for intermediate players and pro tees for those really looking for a challenge. the holes overall are very well designed, and the atmosphere is simply beautiful, especially if youre playing in the fall. it really is a beautiful place for a course. hole 6 is the one that really stands out the most to me
Cons: although this course is awesome overall, i do have a couple gripes...
first, hole 20 uses the road as a tee, and proceeds to play right up that road.
second, the limestone tees! they arent as bad as some ive seen, but the tees are really what keeps this from being a really top notch course
third, there is lots of poison ivy here, and the course is not always maintained as well as it could be.

Other Thoughts: overall, this is by far the best course ive played in the West Indiana area, as well as one of the best in the state. get some gravel tees and this course would be a 4.5/5 easily.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in the middle of nowhere!

1    12/8/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: try122583
Played: 105  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: PROS
- A course that will definitely challenge your ability to throw accurately! Great course that will challenge experienced players.
- Good elevation adds to the beauty of some holes.
- Very easy to follow. They did an excellent job of putting up signs to direct you along your way. With all the woods it could be easy to get lost otherwise.
- Tee signs were nice too, clearly marking where both the pro and am tees were located, and they had tee signs at each pro and am tee box.
- First time playing a course with the arachnid baskets, and I really like them. Nice deep basket which means shots go in and stay in. Three layer chains as well.
-Despite most of the course being through the woods, there are routes to throw through. Very rewarding when you hit your mark and get all the way down without hitting anything.
Cons: - Limestone tees, which means once a hole is dug into it, it stays there, making your approach difficult at times.
- Another issue with the tees, some of them were not on level ground, adding to the footing issues, and forcing you to adjust your drive a bit.
- Could be pretty muddy, so wear shoes you don't care about. It's the woods, so what do you expect?
- It is listed as a private course. Even though we had no problem playing it, there might be times where it might not be available, so you might want to look into that before heading out.
Other Thoughts: Fix the boxes, and this course becomes that much better! Even though it's in the middle of nowhere and kinda out of the way for a guy from Champaign, IL, I would definitely go back. It is well worth the trip! Beautiful land and beautiful course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 121  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a fun round! I don't even know where to begin.

Before my trip here, I'd heard a lot about Camp Cullom. I heard/read that it was a epic 24 hole course designed and build by an eagle scout and it was considered to be one of Indiana's best courses. I've been to Lemon Lake and those were sweet courses, so I decided to make the 3 hour trip to Camp Cullom and check it out and I must say it was absolutely worth it.

When we arrived to this very secluded campsite, we were the only people there and seeing this tremendous property being used almost exclusively for disc golf brought a smile to my face.

I definitely wasn't expecting most of this course to be in the woods, but it really was a nice change of pace from what I'm used to. Most of the tee shots from both the pro and am tee require pin point placement on drives and really required control to score well. The holes are challenging, and yet fun, fair, and offer great risk/reward.

My favorite shot, as many others have mentioned, was #6, the 500ish foot downhill dog leg left. Overshooting means you're in a creek, undershooting means your friends can make fun of you. There's really only one option and that's going for it. It's great. :)
Cons: As everyone before me has mentioned, the gravel tees are miserable, but I also read on the Course Information page that they're supposed to get replaced within the next few months with cement, which is super.

All in all, you'd never think that an eagle scout did this high quality work, and for that, I commend him, wherever he is. :)
Other Thoughts: I had such a blast playing the Am tees here. They were definitely still challenging and provided plenty of fair deuce opportunities...I just didn't utilize them as well as I could of...

Oh well, looking back it was an awesome round. I highly recommend playing here!!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    3/18/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 79  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked (tee signs and basket arrows to next hole)
Dual tees (fine gravel, but well maintained)
Course changes difficulty with seasons
Shot variety needs (bring everything you have and more)
Fairways (tightly wooded, but fairways stand out)
Cons: A couple fairways along gravel drive (not heavily traveled)
2-4 holes have tee pads at a downhill angle
1-2 tee pads at uphill angle
Stair system on 19 almost creates crossing fairways with 18
Other Thoughts: All in all, I think this is a great course. The short tee's are fun yet challenging. The long tee's are exactly what they say, Pro tee's. Be ready to open up your eyes and think outside the box to determine what shot and which lane to take to the basket. If "scrambling" is not a part of your game, you might have trouble here, but this course will teach you to scramble by the end of a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Almost awesome

1    9/26/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded hilly camp with lots of really nice elevation changes. There are a few holes with really steep ups and downs making for some fun and challenging shots. Most of the rest of the holes have at least some elevation in play, including several with roll away greens and ravines. There are a couple places where some water is in play, it's not a lot of water or easy to get into, but it is there on a really shanked shot.

The rough is very punishing, missing the fairways on this course will hurt your score tremendously. There's a great mix of hole shapes and lengths here, it doesn't really feel like you throw exactly the same shot twice which is really impressive for a 24 hole course. From the longs, there are some shorter shots, and some where a long controlled drive is called for. The short tees offer a nice option for newer players, there's less length variety, but they offer a different and balanced set of shots that would still be a fun easier round for more experienced players.

There are some of the better gravel tees I've played on, both on the shorts and on the longs. Both sets of tees have decent tee signs with hole layout and distance. The layout of the course is easy to follow, and any transitions between holes that aren't immediately obvious are well signed.
Cons: The biggest issue I had with the course is the tees. They are well taken care of for gravel, but they are still a little loose and rutted, and will need a huge amount of work to stay at a reasonable level for this tough a course. A few holes play close to areas of the camp used for other activities, a couple holes were closed when we played. There are also a couple holes close to or on roads, hard on plastic and a little bit of a safety issue.

The course still feels pretty new, the rough is very wild and full of thorns, nettles, and poison ivy making for some scratched up itchy legs if you don't stay on the fairways. There are a couple holes that need a little more work to have a fair line to the hole.
Other Thoughts: The long tees here make for a very challenging round. Even very skilled players will need to be very accurate to score well here, and there is plenty of trouble waiting on errant shots. The shorts offer a challenging and fun round for newer players, though the rough is still pretty harsh even with shorter holes. If I were near this course, I would play both sets depending on what kind of round I felt like, both are well designed and balanced. A ton of work has gone into this course, and it seems like work is ongoing. Great work scouts!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/29/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 443  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tough course, will challenge most players of any skill level
- Good mix of open holes and wooded holes. Some of the wooded holes are very tightly packed with trees, which demands accurate shots.
- Constant elevation changes throughout the entire course. This is especially important for some of the open holes, which turn then from so-so to very good. In the forest, the elevation changes can be maddening, with baskets atop hills and next to small valleys. Maddening in a good way, of course. These holes were tough.
- Nice mix of shots. Left, right, and straight needed to be on target for any chance of a good score. High tree canopy helped to prevent tunnel shot after tunnel shot.
- A little water in play, but not really. A bad shot would come close, but you would really have to shank it to go in.
- Great signage, good baskets, and good tees. They were some of the best gravel tees I have ever thrown from. Pro and Am tees for different skill levels.
- Bathrooms in good shape, and the water from the fountain could have been worse.
Cons: - This course doubles as a campsite, so I did have to skip holes 3 and 4 due to cars and people being in the way. Another hole had a car on the fairway, but I was able to avoid it.
- Paved road in play on some of the holes, so you have to watch out for cars and pedestrians. These pedestrians were also present throughout the entire round, forest and all.
- One major, major con which really hurt my rating is a hole with the road as the fairway. To the left and right is dense rough, and it is an upshot, so chances are good your drive will land in the street. It took a decent sized chunk out of my Pro Beast, needless to say I was very upset.
- The rough here is brutal. I gave up looking for a disc on one hole because I didn't want to be covered in poison anything. My legs were burning for two holes after a different jaunt in the rough. Beware...
Other Thoughts: - This was a very good course with all the different types of holes. Like I said before, some of those dense forest holes were tough to finish. Especially if your approach rolls down a hill.
- This would be a great course if it was in a secluded area. Unfortunately, having to deal with oblivious people walking around the forest, and having an asphalt fairway really brings it down in my book.
- There are some easy holes, too, but the majority are tricky.
- Definitely would play it again if I was in the area, cons or not.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Scout project?!

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 183  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great length - nice long course

Awesome hike

Nice, often dramatic, elevation changes

Water hazards on multiple holes

Nice signature hole #6

Excellent signage - at the tee and pin

No map needed

Log pathways directing traffic

Lots of freshly built stairways and bridges to make the diverse landscape easily traversed
Cons: Perhaps too tight on a few holes.

Course seemed to favor left to right shots

Rough is down right nasty in multiple areas
Other Thoughts: This course is an Eagle Scout project? Are you kidding me?! This is a fantastic course. Tremendous diversity. It has all the hazards and obstacle you could want - water, elevation, hard slopped greens, guarded pins, very tight fairways, respectable distance shots...just to name a few.

This is NOT an easy course. You will need to bring a VERY accurate tee shot on most holes to stay out of jail. The rough is painful...literally. Thorn bushes are thick and plentiful. considering how long many of the holes are, I found many of the fairways to be extremely tight.

The first few holes are relatively open, these hopefully get you warmed up for the rest of the course. Hole #6 is a gorgeous raised tee shot with the pin to the left and a river strait ahead. Sexy hole. Shortly after this, you settle into the forest. Its a beautiful and rugged hike. Even though it is dense, I never needed a map. The tee signs are superbly detailed...which is nice because several holes are blind. Once at the pin, if there is any significant trek to the next pad, there is a "next tee" sign pointing the direction. Furthermore, when the pin lacks this signage, you can most likely follow the hand placed log pathways that have been positioned to guide you through.

Most bridges and staircases are clearly new builds. They are a welcome amenity to the winding creek and steep hills.

This course will test your patience. Its loaded with risk/reward shots. Carve out some time to play. Expect at least a couple hours.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Championship Potential

5+    9/21/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: klittle08
Played: 150  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best pieces of land in Indiana to utilize for a disc golf course. The design is leaps and bounds ahead of nearly every other course in the state. Eagle Scout Disc Golf Course (Camp Cullom) offers one of the most challenging and rewarding disc golf experiences in the area. As opposed to many wooded courses, this is by no means a 'birdie-or-die' kind of course layout. Nearly the entire course plays through incredibly technical, but makeable lines. While this course may not be the most new player friendly course, it will force Ams and Pros alike to throw better and play smarter on the course.

While time will tell the true potential of this course, it currently looks very promising. With a handful of very dedicated individuals who made this course what it currently is the course will be in good hands for quite some time to come. With the prospect of future scouts installing concrete tee pads and improving the area even more, this course may truly work its way into being one of the few NT capable courses in Indiana.
Cons: The immediate drawback are the tee pads, the only reason I wouldn't recommend this course for a 5 star rating.
Other Thoughts: I just want to personally thank Nathan, Randy, and all individuals who made this course what it is today. Hopefully you will actually be able to play it yourselves one day!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.