Frankfort, IN 
Camp Cullom DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 224ft.   3 / --   3 / 284ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hell of a course

1    10/11/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was an extremely impressive course.

24 challenging holes (from either pro or amateur tees).

Variety: It has everything: elevation, flat holes, wooded holes, open holes, water hazards. It starts off with a few open holes then it changes to wooded for a majority of the course. Finishes with a fee open holes.

The baskets are Spiderweb 3 brackets made by Allen Pier and they are some of the best baskets around. There are 25 of them (1 practice basket).

2 gravel throw pads per hole (with exception of hole 19). There are amateur and pro tees.

Signs were amazing. Both amateur and pro tees have their own sign which has a map, distance, par, and location of the other tee. There are several signs in the woods pointing you towards the tee. Without the, you would get lost.

Lots of shade! Plenty of benches. Bridges and stairs where needed. Course has had plenty of work done to perfect it and it really has shown.
Cons: Gravel Tees. Some of them were uneven, some were slanting downward, some upward, and some had loose gravel.

Lots of poison ivy. Bring sanitizer.

No trash cans.

Frustrating course (but that's a good thing).
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely a must play. There are no courses in the central Indiana area that compare to this course. Imagine the hilly wooded holes of Boondocks Farms and Avon exept much more challenging. Also, imagine the challenge of Hazel Landing Park and add elevation.

I don't have a problem with gravel pads or dirt pads but concrete pads would put this course over the top. I know it's hard to remove poison ivy on a 24 hole course but it would help.

I played this course from the amateur tees and it was still difficult. Holes 6, downhill shot then hooked left at the very bottom, and hole 10, an uphill "island" type hole where if you undershoot it rolls down and if you overshoot it rolls down the other side, were my favorite.

I will definitely be back and would recommend this course to anybody looking for a challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Break.

1    8/20/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: Fuath
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1. Only people on the course.
2. Good mix of tight and open holes.
3. Easy to navigate all 24 holes.
4. Nice mix of elevation on the holes.
5. Practice basket.
Cons: 1. Some of the holes got repetitive.
2. Not that close to any amenities.
3. No trash cans.
Other Thoughts: One of the most fun times I have had in a long time.The caretaker of the course was friendly ans welcoming. It was well taken care of and clean. We had the course to our selves. I really enjoyed the change in elevation. The holes start out open for the most part, and generally tighten as you play. On the down side I Found myself going to the same two disc hole after hole. A change in some of the distances would be nice but not needed. Also, I played with some beginners and found myself distracted often. However, that is not the courses fault. I would highly recommend this to any passing through the area. Go Disc Golf!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 almost as good as it gets...

2-4    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Every hole is different from the last, and each one of them with challenge you in a different way. From a super long hole that sits atop a gigantic sleeding hill, hooking right to left, to a straight away, tight shot 189 foot hole that flies over a ravine, you will be forced to use every disc in your bag and love it!
- the custom made baskets are the best in the business. Local businessman and course owner Alan Pier made these baskets and there literally are not better baskets out there. 3 layers of chains, and all in brand new condition.
- beautiful scenery. from the hill top views, to the super quiet, creek side shots, to the amazing woods that look like something out of a samurai movie, it's just a peaceful place to be.
- there are 24 holes of this wonderful goodness!
- great signage. every hole has a map of the hole, good distance marking and a sign to point you to the next hole when you are done. MORE COURSES NEED THESE SIGNS!
- every hole (except for one of them I think) has multiple tee pads that alters the hole drstically. great idea to have Am and PRO tees!
Cons: tee pads are gravel, but it's a soft gravel.I didn't feel like I was slipping or rolling an ankle or whatever. This could be better by being concrete, but they weren't that bad.
Other Thoughts: This would be a perfect course with concrete pads.
there is NOTHING else wrong with this course.
great variety. great scenery. amazing views. good signage. this really is the best course that I have ever played.
not too shabby for an Eagle Scout project!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area

5+    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Rockwell
Played: 78  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the reasons I love this sport is that it allows you to get out into the wilderness, away from too much concrete and noise. Add to that the way it pits you against yourself, testing your mind as well as your physicality. And then there's the simple beauty of just watching a disc fly through the air. I'm in love. (and sometimes hate.)

Eagle Scout DG Course will deepen your love for the game. It is truly a wilderness that has been tamed just enough to give you great flight paths and smooth ground to tread.
Towering trees, winding creeks, and striking elevation help you get lost in the game. Tight gaps, perched greens, long bombs and technical short shots test your mind and arm.

The work that has gone into crafting this course is astounding. It was carved out of some of Indiana's finest DG terrain, and my hat is off to those who put in so much time and energy so that the rest of us can enjoy this gem.

Hole 6: The pro-pad is where this hole truly shines, allowing you to launch an overstable driver down a sledding hill and watch it glide down and around a manicured fairway. A creek a the bottom of the hill and a towering pine on the left keep you honest though. It's a joy for us Midwestern disc golfers to get to throw off a hill.

Hole 10: A scary hole. But beautiful scary. Fly your disc between the trees, over the creek and up the hill, dropping it on the ridge where the basket sits, taunting you. Too short and you're at the bottom, too far and you're even further down. You'll have a love/hate relationship with this hole, depending on your tee shot.

Hole 12: Lace a putter or mid straight away and nestle it close, or risk falling into the ravines that surround this putting green on three sides.

Hole 19: Most incredible ace run on the course. Putter or mid over a large gully. Just don't miss the ace or you're down another huge hill on the backside of the green. (side note: the stairways created on this course are second to none.)

Layout requires shots to bend all directions, at varying lengths, and with different degrees of elevation. Well done. The course forces you to make shots.
Cons: This course will only get better with time.
This course would benefit from new concrete tee pads that are level with the ground (some pads slope downward. Pads are currently gravel, and well maintained) And a few garbage cans added throughout would be nice. No major complaints.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course far fewer times than I would like, but so far I'm finding the amateur tee pads to allow more of a fun factor and true shot making ability. The pro pads require a few too many S-shots that can sometimes make you question whether the line is really there or it's more of a luck thing. (and I have a long arm, and usually am drawn to pro-pads.) Both courses offer some awesome shots though, and both together make a killer team.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Review from an Eagle Scout to an Eagle scout course

1    4/17/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Dave Walters
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Permanent 24 hole course
-Great Hole design. Tons of elevation change and the holes play to it very well.
- Signage was very nice. every tee pad marked with distance and hole layout. Also had signs pointing you to the next tee.
- Scenery was amazing.
Cons: - Gravel tee pads. Not really a problem at all just the only thing I could see that needed improved.
Other Thoughts: This course was built by an Eagle Scout. I myself am an Eagle Scout so it meant alot for me to play this course.
For his project he installed all the tees, signs, and baskets. they also built 3 sets of stairs (100 foot stairs) and a bridge.

I have played many courses through out Indiana and this is one of the elite we have.

Overall this course is amazing!!!
Very nice scenery with a great variety of holes.
Must play if you are stopping through Indiana!!!!!

Any questions about the course? Shoot me an email xedstatemanx@aim.com and I can go into tons of detail.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Cullom DGC

2-4    9/9/2009   4/14/2010
Review By: ScumbagJosh
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Amazing layout
-Challenging shots
-#6 is a bomber, signature hole
-Wooded holes are tough, but very make able
-Signage is spot on
-Clean bathrooms
-Practice basket with foot markers
Cons: -The non-concrete tee boxes
-Wicked sharp undergrowth in some places
Other Thoughts: I was really impressed with this course, in my opinion it's the best in Indiana, as far as altitude changes and ravine shots. Went with a couple of friends the first time, and whole time all of us were just really excited to be playing a great course an hour north of Indianapolis. I think with some very minimal improvements i.e. concrete tee boxes, this course could be a 5, no questions asked. I've played Flip City in Michigan a few times, and I think this is as comparable of a course to that as you can get, I know this might sound very very unpopular, but I actually like it better than Flip City. That's not a slight on Flip City at all, it's a 5 all the way, but I think Cullom in the coming years will be Indiana's Flip City

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hello Beautiful

1    11/28/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Practice basket is in an open area next to the parking lot with distances marked from 15'-50'. All baskets are Al Pier spiderweb baskets-awesome!
Pro and Am teepads for all 24 holes with detailed signs and distances. Navigation for this course was a breeze as there were signs with arrows pointing to the next tee.
This course offers plenty of variety in its' 24 holes. It has holes with elevation changes, short holes, long holes, open holes (not too many though), tight wooded holes, left turning, right turning, straight...it's got it all, so bring your whole bag and your A-game!
Benches are available throughout as well as well/recently constructed staircases to climb up and down the steep ravines.
Cons: Only a few things that I could think of...
A few holes play on a road that travels through the camp using the road as a fairway. It is not a busy road, but it can eat up your discs.
Teepads are crushed stone as mentioned, however, footing was not too bad in the stone. Concrete tees would be a huge plus, but I believe it would be difficult to get the concrete to some of the tees as they are deep in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is definitley a championship calibur course IMO.
Enjoy the first hole out in the open because there are no more like it. Almost the rest of the course plays in the woods with a lot of holes having tight fairways and others with tree-lined fairways.
The course takes excellent advantage of the elevation changes. You will throw over ravines, downhill, and uphill. Hole 5 plays over a ravine and then you walk to the tee at hole 6 and you will drop your jaw....a beautiful, wide, grassy hill awaits your teeshot. This was definitely my favorite hole on the course.
The course continues from this point on playing through the woods with many holes taking advantage of the ravines that run through the camp.
It is obvious that a lot of hard work has been put into this course. There are many bridges and staircases deep in the woods, which without these, trekking through the course would be much more difficult. Kudos to all those who give their time to make the course what it is.

This course is definitely a must play. It is not far from the interstate, so be sure to stop by. Allow yourself plenty of time to play considering it is 2.3 miles start to finish. As mentioned earlier, there are Pro and Am tees so anyone can play this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Possibly and Indiana Hot Soon in the Future

1    8/30/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -24 holes, with am and pro pads
-designed by indy pro Jerry Suiter (he also designed McCulloh Park in Muncie)
-baskets by Allen Pier of Pieradise DGC in Peru, IN
-open holes in the beginning and towards the end
-the rest are woods hole madness
-bring your A game with drives, mids, and putts
-Hole 6: bomb it from the top of the hill and watch it sail, great hole
-can use your whole bag on the round, a good mix will help
-good signs
Cons: -some thick underbrush
-as of now tees are a mixture of sand and gravel mixture, but I would have to guess that when a club gets in on the action these MAY change, but due to the overall terrain is would be insanely difficult at best
Other Thoughts: As stated in the previous review, this course is a kid's Eagle Scout project. SIMPLY AMAZING. I played a round the week before the course actually opened, we ran into the parents of said Eagle Scout and not only were they very excited to hear our thoughts, they seemed to be into whole vibe of disc golf as well. Its purely my opinion, but I feel that over time this course will turn into being one the great ones in the state. All the potential is there, just needs a club over it to help maintain some trimming, cutting, and a way to make consistent teepads. Wear your trail shoes as there are hills, ravines, stairs, hills, and mud. Its hard to really describe the level of fun, difficulty, and potential this course has to offer. Go play, see for yourself.

***EDIT***
Played an additional two rounds at the course today, most of the teeboxes are about ready to be filled with their gravel mix. Great signs and arrows pointing you to the next hole. This course continues to impress.....


@@@@EDIT@@@@
Also for a TomTom GPS use the address 6815 W 200 instead of the listed address, this one takes you right to the gate.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Congratulations on your eagle badge

5+    5/23/2010   9/7/2009
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great spiderweb 3 targets with yellow basket and number plate, easy to see in woods. Alt. Pin & tees. Great tee and directional signs.bathrooms,office, pepsi machine-with water- by #1 tee. Practice basket. As of now free to play,I would pay/donate $5 each person all day,even per round. Working on setting up a lost and found system. Loaner discs at office. The course has everything, nice perk having 24 holes. The sled hill (#6) signature hole, could have two if #24 Alt. Pin would be on island. Starts out open,short-good for warming up. Uses open,woods,over valleys, ridge to ridge-Jerry Suiters,the course designer hole #19. Uphill,downhill,side of hills.
Cons: Only Three; First,Gravel tees they are in very good condition but need a little tlc. Second,needs more trash cans. The last is an event was happening in the community? Building, #3 fairway used as a parking area. With a new course things like that happen.
Other Thoughts: •••UPDATE•••played 5/23/10,Added half a disc to my rating for all benches (much needed) installed! Only thing missing are trash cans. Gravel tees need raking. Really like that on #6 (sled hill) they removed some mature growth giving a "window" shot possibility into the creek. With the recent rains it was FULL and flowing fast.....nice little mind play. Three new tees? #6 third tee 50ft. To the left of current pro tee.#7 pro tee may have 2nd route,over marsh, ace run! #24 third tee behind pond,drive over pond,with the island. using a wheel this course measures 2.3 miles, from #1 pro tee to #24 pole hole. Wear your hiking boots!vision of Nathan Pillion, for his eagle scout badge. His persistence and patience and hard work paid off HUGE for anyone that plays this course. So nice you will play it twice! I had the opportunity to meet Nathan on my first visit. he informed me that all of the wood and screws,from Frankfort's Kramer's do-it center,they purchased at cost! The tee signs,from Perkins Sign Co. Also at cost! If you live in the area support the local businesses, if you need tee signs for a new course or upgrade.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.