Frankfort, IN 
Camp Cullom DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #24 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 297ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Am Tee

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 better than the best in Indiana

1    3/27/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 768  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfection in regards to navigation. Two sets of tees per hole; very clearly marked. Wooden signs with correct footage. Next tee signs where needed.
Tough hole after tough hole. Lots of tight S drives needed; with shot finishes equal for righties and lefties.
Staircases and bridges done well and in wonderful condition. i.e. fairly recently constructed.
24 holes (I love extra holes!)
Quality spiderweb baskets. I believe these are made fairly locally, and are a nice touch.
Creek in play on multiple holes (but you won't take many strokes, as there is not much water in the creek; and even if you're close, it will be rare that you're surrounded. However, if you were to head here for a tourney; I would imagine that o.b. lines roped off or otherwise marked would cause lots of o.b. strokes....we had one player take one with actual water surrounding disc; and others of us were very near o.b. a number of times)
Elevation in use all over the place. This makes for great scenery. Also, makes for a fairly tiring round; bring water and snacks if that's your style; as your round will probably take a while (course 2.3 miles from start to finish).
Lots of benches on course.
Eagle scouts, of course, should get TONS of credit for this phenomenal course.
Practice putting game set up near practice basket; with the bricks in the ground marking spots to shoot from.
Roll away greens (i.e. hill side) on more than 1/4 of the course.
Cons: Gravel tees. (These were maintained and constructed as well as this type of tee can be done; but, in my experience, gravel tees always end up spread out in the end)
Scouting events can fill the course sometimes. This, it should go without saying, is not really a con; as it is THEIR course. However, I'm just pointing out that we had to skip one hole, when visiting, because a group was using fairway for #3. Lots of scouts with tents, near course when we were here (some kind of jamboree or something). No one seemed concerned we were playing, as were others, both groups coexisted just fine....but, we did have to skip a hole.
The roadway is a disc chewer upper; but is not that bad.
Other Thoughts: We played Camp Cullom after Alwoods, in Rennselear, IN. That course has notes claiming to be the toughest in Indiana. This course is just as tough, if not tougher. Lines are slightly tougher at Alwoods; but, Cullom features more elevation and tougher rough.
We alternated between short tees and longs; and shot well over par; and our group consisted of primarily blue level players.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Review from an Eagle Scout to an Eagle scout course

1    4/17/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Dave Walters
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Permanent 24 hole course
-Great Hole design. Tons of elevation change and the holes play to it very well.
- Signage was very nice. every tee pad marked with distance and hole layout. Also had signs pointing you to the next tee.
- Scenery was amazing.
Cons: - Gravel tee pads. Not really a problem at all just the only thing I could see that needed improved.
Other Thoughts: This course was built by an Eagle Scout. I myself am an Eagle Scout so it meant alot for me to play this course.
For his project he installed all the tees, signs, and baskets. they also built 3 sets of stairs (100 foot stairs) and a bridge.

I have played many courses through out Indiana and this is one of the elite we have.

Overall this course is amazing!!!
Very nice scenery with a great variety of holes.
Must play if you are stopping through Indiana!!!!!

Any questions about the course? Shoot me an email and I can go into tons of detail.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Cullom DGC

2-4    9/9/2009   4/14/2010
Review By: ScumbagJosh
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Amazing layout
-Challenging shots
-#6 is a bomber, signature hole
-Wooded holes are tough, but very make able
-Signage is spot on
-Clean bathrooms
-Practice basket with foot markers
Cons: -The non-concrete tee boxes
-Wicked sharp undergrowth in some places
Other Thoughts: I was really impressed with this course, in my opinion it's the best in Indiana, as far as altitude changes and ravine shots. Went with a couple of friends the first time, and whole time all of us were just really excited to be playing a great course an hour north of Indianapolis. I think with some very minimal improvements i.e. concrete tee boxes, this course could be a 5, no questions asked. I've played Flip City in Michigan a few times, and I think this is as comparable of a course to that as you can get, I know this might sound very very unpopular, but I actually like it better than Flip City. That's not a slight on Flip City at all, it's a 5 all the way, but I think Cullom in the coming years will be Indiana's Flip City

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Scout project?!

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 185  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 27.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great length - nice long course

Awesome hike

Nice, often dramatic, elevation changes

Water hazards on multiple holes

Nice signature hole #6

Excellent signage - at the tee and pin

No map needed

Log pathways directing traffic

Lots of freshly built stairways and bridges to make the diverse landscape easily traversed
Cons: Perhaps too tight on a few holes.

Course seemed to favor left to right shots

Rough is down right nasty in multiple areas
Other Thoughts: This course is an Eagle Scout project? Are you kidding me?! This is a fantastic course. Tremendous diversity. It has all the hazards and obstacle you could want - water, elevation, hard slopped greens, guarded pins, very tight fairways, respectable distance shots...just to name a few.

This is NOT an easy course. You will need to bring a VERY accurate tee shot on most holes to stay out of jail. The rough is painful...literally. Thorn bushes are thick and plentiful. considering how long many of the holes are, I found many of the fairways to be extremely tight.

The first few holes are relatively open, these hopefully get you warmed up for the rest of the course. Hole #6 is a gorgeous raised tee shot with the pin to the left and a river strait ahead. Sexy hole. Shortly after this, you settle into the forest. Its a beautiful and rugged hike. Even though it is dense, I never needed a map. The tee signs are superbly detailed...which is nice because several holes are blind. Once at the pin, if there is any significant trek to the next pad, there is a "next tee" sign pointing the direction. Furthermore, when the pin lacks this signage, you can most likely follow the hand placed log pathways that have been positioned to guide you through.

Most bridges and staircases are clearly new builds. They are a welcome amenity to the winding creek and steep hills.

This course will test your patience. Its loaded with risk/reward shots. Carve out some time to play. Expect at least a couple hours.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hello Beautiful

1    11/28/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 131  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Practice basket is in an open area next to the parking lot with distances marked from 15'-50'. All baskets are Al Pier spiderweb baskets-awesome!
Pro and Am teepads for all 24 holes with detailed signs and distances. Navigation for this course was a breeze as there were signs with arrows pointing to the next tee.
This course offers plenty of variety in its' 24 holes. It has holes with elevation changes, short holes, long holes, open holes (not too many though), tight wooded holes, left turning, right turning,'s got it all, so bring your whole bag and your A-game!
Benches are available throughout as well as well/recently constructed staircases to climb up and down the steep ravines.
Cons: Only a few things that I could think of...
A few holes play on a road that travels through the camp using the road as a fairway. It is not a busy road, but it can eat up your discs.
Teepads are crushed stone as mentioned, however, footing was not too bad in the stone. Concrete tees would be a huge plus, but I believe it would be difficult to get the concrete to some of the tees as they are deep in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is definitley a championship calibur course IMO.
Enjoy the first hole out in the open because there are no more like it. Almost the rest of the course plays in the woods with a lot of holes having tight fairways and others with tree-lined fairways.
The course takes excellent advantage of the elevation changes. You will throw over ravines, downhill, and uphill. Hole 5 plays over a ravine and then you walk to the tee at hole 6 and you will drop your jaw....a beautiful, wide, grassy hill awaits your teeshot. This was definitely my favorite hole on the course.
The course continues from this point on playing through the woods with many holes taking advantage of the ravines that run through the camp.
It is obvious that a lot of hard work has been put into this course. There are many bridges and staircases deep in the woods, which without these, trekking through the course would be much more difficult. Kudos to all those who give their time to make the course what it is.

This course is definitely a must play. It is not far from the interstate, so be sure to stop by. Allow yourself plenty of time to play considering it is 2.3 miles start to finish. As mentioned earlier, there are Pro and Am tees so anyone can play this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Championship Potential

5+    9/21/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: klittle08
Played: 154  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best pieces of land in Indiana to utilize for a disc golf course. The design is leaps and bounds ahead of nearly every other course in the state. Eagle Scout Disc Golf Course (Camp Cullom) offers one of the most challenging and rewarding disc golf experiences in the area. As opposed to many wooded courses, this is by no means a 'birdie-or-die' kind of course layout. Nearly the entire course plays through incredibly technical, but makeable lines. While this course may not be the most new player friendly course, it will force Ams and Pros alike to throw better and play smarter on the course.

While time will tell the true potential of this course, it currently looks very promising. With a handful of very dedicated individuals who made this course what it currently is the course will be in good hands for quite some time to come. With the prospect of future scouts installing concrete tee pads and improving the area even more, this course may truly work its way into being one of the few NT capable courses in Indiana.
Cons: The immediate drawback are the tee pads, the only reason I wouldn't recommend this course for a 5 star rating.
Other Thoughts: I just want to personally thank Nathan, Randy, and all individuals who made this course what it is today. Hopefully you will actually be able to play it yourselves one day!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/24/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: ahaas
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best course I've played. It is the most challenging and fun course I've experienced.

At the start of the course, there is a putting basket. There are various concrete markers around the basket denoting feet away from the basket (I believe 5 foot increments up to 50 feet). This is a nice little touch.
The course is marked on how to get from one hole to another. There are a few holes where you do need to look and the way could be better marked. But the markings are there and can be found without too much effort.
Each hole has a marker with a picture of hole placement and distance by each tee. There are two tee pads for each hole, am and pro. The am tees are very tough. The pro tees are tougher, and they are like playing a different course from the am tees. If playing in a group of different skill levels, the am tees for the weaker players and pro tees for the stronger make an excellent handicap to make the game competitive.

There are many outstanding unique holes that make this a special course. This is not a flat course, elevation (up and down) is a factor in many holes. One hole features a mild left to right toss of around 200 ft. The kicker is you are throwing across a ravine where the hole sits near a narrow ledge on the other side. If you throw too hard, you are pass the narrow ledge into a steep downhill area. If you don't throw hard enough, your disk will fall into the ravine. To make the hole even more of challenge, you are unable to throw your disc too high, otherwise an over hanging tree will knock you disc down the ravine.

There are two big downhill holes. The first a long hole that even people with weak arms will be able to throw far. It features a dogleg left where you have to judge correctly where your disc will make the turn, otherwise have fun in the trees. The other downhill hole features a throw into a ravine. To even make it into the ravine, you need to thread a tree with two big branches that fork into a Y. So you better make the fields goal. Once past the tree, you have a steep drop off into the ravine where the hole sits at the bottom around 200 feet past the tree and sharply to the right. There is a lot of room for shot creativity on this one. I've seen rollers, overheads, side arms, and normal backhands all attempted with various degrees of success.

Be prepared to use a wide range of disk selection in your bag. This course gives you good opportunity to use a wide variety of discs and shots to good effect.
Other Thoughts: This was an eagle scout project. If there is some sort of recognition for outstanding eagle projects, I hope this course earns him a reward. I also hope that the course is maintained and kept up in future years. This course is something special and I hope the community realizes what they have here and continue to give the love to keep it up. I had the pleasure to meet and thank the scout. I found out that another troop may be seeking funding to put concrete pads on the course! The course is a one two punch, great design and wonderful execution of making the design a reality.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Must play

5+    9/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: NicedGuy
Played: 131  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees, elevation, high quality baskets, 24 holes, fairways are lined with logs, defined fairways, course plays very fair. Stairs on ravine holes. This course has every kind off hole, left to right, right to left, straight, open, tight(mostly tight), up hill, down hill, bring your whole bag you'll need it.
Cons: Stinging nettle. Its only on a couple holes but if you get in it with shorts on your legs will be on fire for about three holes. If you wear pants you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: This course has only been open for a short time yet plays like a mature course. Work is still being done and concrete pads may be coming soon. This course will be a 5 in no time. If you travel to play this course you won't be disappointed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Possibly and Indiana Hot Soon in the Future

1    8/30/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -24 holes, with am and pro pads
-designed by indy pro Jerry Suiter (he also designed McCulloh Park in Muncie)
-baskets by Allen Pier of Pieradise DGC in Peru, IN
-open holes in the beginning and towards the end
-the rest are woods hole madness
-bring your A game with drives, mids, and putts
-Hole 6: bomb it from the top of the hill and watch it sail, great hole
-can use your whole bag on the round, a good mix will help
-good signs
Cons: -some thick underbrush
-as of now tees are a mixture of sand and gravel mixture, but I would have to guess that when a club gets in on the action these MAY change, but due to the overall terrain is would be insanely difficult at best
Other Thoughts: As stated in the previous review, this course is a kid's Eagle Scout project. SIMPLY AMAZING. I played a round the week before the course actually opened, we ran into the parents of said Eagle Scout and not only were they very excited to hear our thoughts, they seemed to be into whole vibe of disc golf as well. Its purely my opinion, but I feel that over time this course will turn into being one the great ones in the state. All the potential is there, just needs a club over it to help maintain some trimming, cutting, and a way to make consistent teepads. Wear your trail shoes as there are hills, ravines, stairs, hills, and mud. Its hard to really describe the level of fun, difficulty, and potential this course has to offer. Go play, see for yourself.

Played an additional two rounds at the course today, most of the teeboxes are about ready to be filled with their gravel mix. Great signs and arrows pointing you to the next hole. This course continues to impress.....

Also for a TomTom GPS use the address 6815 W 200 instead of the listed address, this one takes you right to the gate.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Congratulations on your eagle badge

5+    5/23/2010   9/7/2009
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 190  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 21.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great spiderweb 3 targets with yellow basket and number plate, easy to see in woods. Alt. Pin & tees. Great tee and directional signs.bathrooms,office, pepsi machine-with water- by #1 tee. Practice basket. As of now free to play,I would pay/donate $5 each person all day,even per round. Working on setting up a lost and found system. Loaner discs at office. The course has everything, nice perk having 24 holes. The sled hill (#6) signature hole, could have two if #24 Alt. Pin would be on island. Starts out open,short-good for warming up. Uses open,woods,over valleys, ridge to ridge-Jerry Suiters,the course designer hole #19. Uphill,downhill,side of hills.
Cons: Only Three; First,Gravel tees they are in very good condition but need a little tlc. Second,needs more trash cans. The last is an event was happening in the community? Building, #3 fairway used as a parking area. With a new course things like that happen.
Other Thoughts: •••UPDATE•••played 5/23/10,Added half a disc to my rating for all benches (much needed) installed! Only thing missing are trash cans. Gravel tees need raking. Really like that on #6 (sled hill) they removed some mature growth giving a "window" shot possibility into the creek. With the recent rains it was FULL and flowing fast.....nice little mind play. Three new tees? #6 third tee 50ft. To the left of current pro tee.#7 pro tee may have 2nd route,over marsh, ace run! #24 third tee behind pond,drive over pond,with the island. using a wheel this course measures 2.3 miles, from #1 pro tee to #24 pole hole. Wear your hiking boots!vision of Nathan Pillion, for his eagle scout badge. His persistence and patience and hard work paid off HUGE for anyone that plays this course. So nice you will play it twice! I had the opportunity to meet Nathan on my first visit. he informed me that all of the wood and screws,from Frankfort's Kramer's do-it center,they purchased at cost! The tee signs,from Perkins Sign Co. Also at cost! If you live in the area support the local businesses, if you need tee signs for a new course or upgrade.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.