Frankfort, IN 
Camp Cullom DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 224ft.   3 / --   3 / 284ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    6/11/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: CC has 24 holes that are mostly wooded technical holes, but it does start and end with more open holes bordered by deep rough. Hole design and flow are nicely done with little repetition and several memorable holes. There is a good variety of hole style with ups, downs, and level elevation along with straight, right, and left shaped fairways. There is a creek that is not a major obstacle, but it can come into play on several holes with an errant shot, and there is a pond in play on another.

There are 2 sets of tees offering 2 distinct levels of difficulty. Excellent signs and baskets. Navigation was easy without a map. Good gravel parking area and very nice restrooms. Course begins and ends at the lot.
Cons: Gravel tees are never as good as concrete tees (however, these aren't horrible). Hole #20 uses the road for a tee, but it is on a severe up-slope, and was the worst tee of them all. Also, this hole pretty much plays up the road, which is not a good idea because of safety.

This course needs maintenance- 24 holes is a lot to take care of. Many places in the woods needed fairway grass/weeds trimmed and branches picked up.

I was not a big fan of the condition of #18 and #19. First, hole 18 Am Tee has the railings for the walking stairs right in front of the tee. The bottom of these holes had a small creek- but the rest of it was densely filled with stinging nettles with no nettle-free landing area except for the creek. These holes need cleared out in a bad way so you can find your discs and you can protect your arms and legs. I am glad the stairs were built on these two holes with steep elevation and these are probably many people's favorites here, but I would skip them the next time if the "nettle farm" was still there. Also, hole #19 is dangerously steep if your disc manages to land on the steep dirt slope.

Course does not come back to the parking lot until #24 so bring plenty to drink and a snack. It is possible that holes #3 and #4 could be closed if campers are there. Hole #1 is pretty weak as it is just straight and open, but at least it is the first hole as the rest get better, and it makes for a good warm-up.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid course- fun from the Am Tees and challenging from the Pro Tees. It is probably not the "Very Best in Indiana" as was originally billed by some (Lemon Lake and the Southern part outside Louisville may be better), but it is still better than average, and is quite possibly the best in a large radius as you would not expect to find hilly woods in the farm land of central Indiana.

Compliments to the Scouts for designing and building a very good course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Almost awesome

1    9/26/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded hilly camp with lots of really nice elevation changes. There are a few holes with really steep ups and downs making for some fun and challenging shots. Most of the rest of the holes have at least some elevation in play, including several with roll away greens and ravines. There are a couple places where some water is in play, it's not a lot of water or easy to get into, but it is there on a really shanked shot.

The rough is very punishing, missing the fairways on this course will hurt your score tremendously. There's a great mix of hole shapes and lengths here, it doesn't really feel like you throw exactly the same shot twice which is really impressive for a 24 hole course. From the longs, there are some shorter shots, and some where a long controlled drive is called for. The short tees offer a nice option for newer players, there's less length variety, but they offer a different and balanced set of shots that would still be a fun easier round for more experienced players.

There are some of the better gravel tees I've played on, both on the shorts and on the longs. Both sets of tees have decent tee signs with hole layout and distance. The layout of the course is easy to follow, and any transitions between holes that aren't immediately obvious are well signed.
Cons: The biggest issue I had with the course is the tees. They are well taken care of for gravel, but they are still a little loose and rutted, and will need a huge amount of work to stay at a reasonable level for this tough a course. A few holes play close to areas of the camp used for other activities, a couple holes were closed when we played. There are also a couple holes close to or on roads, hard on plastic and a little bit of a safety issue.

The course still feels pretty new, the rough is very wild and full of thorns, nettles, and poison ivy making for some scratched up itchy legs if you don't stay on the fairways. There are a couple holes that need a little more work to have a fair line to the hole.
Other Thoughts: The long tees here make for a very challenging round. Even very skilled players will need to be very accurate to score well here, and there is plenty of trouble waiting on errant shots. The shorts offer a challenging and fun round for newer players, though the rough is still pretty harsh even with shorter holes. If I were near this course, I would play both sets depending on what kind of round I felt like, both are well designed and balanced. A ton of work has gone into this course, and it seems like work is ongoing. Great work scouts!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 excellent course built on great land

1    8/22/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 362  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Shot variety--slight to severe annys and hyzers, straight shots high shots low shots
--Terrain variety lots of nice ravine shots in the woods. Signature hole 6? Is a 550 ft bomber downhill and tucked to the left
--Quality baskets made in IN (Allen Pier, I think)
--Nice tough lines to hit from the long tees, hole 12 comes to mind, it is a straight, fairly short shot, but is almost shape line a very narrow arrow head and is a very daunting shot.
--There were a couple holes that had really excellent tee placement, for example on hole 10 there was 1 tree off the tee that was right in the way of a solid line that I would have taken, but I had to hit the tougher line with that tree playing head games.
-Really nice amenities through out: benches, nice tee signs, next tee signs on a lot of the baskets, staircases and bridges, nice practice area
-24 solid holes of good golf
Cons: Not a lot here for cons, but definitely ones that leave this course behind when compared to top notch wooded courses.
--Although the roads provide nice fairways (such as 7), it is disappointing to see them used, it takes away from the natural beauty of the land.
--gravel teepads-although the pro pads were all level and fine, I did notice that some of the am pads were sloped.
--Compared to other "championship" wooded courses, it's a bit on the short side. IE some of the PA, Charlotte, Iron Hill for example. Of the courses I've played Camden II in Illinois is longer, more hilly, and concrete.
--No water hazards, well one if the shot is terribly shanked
Other Thoughts: I definitely struggled giving this awesome course a 3.5, really it is more of a 3.75. This is definitely the best course in Indiana that I've played, I have yet to play the big NW courses (ie LL, valpo, alwoods) but I will play those in less than a month.
--A huge thanks must be given to the scouts and to the kids of clinton county (I think) for letting us use this beautiful course. Thanks!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/29/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tough course, will challenge most players of any skill level
- Good mix of open holes and wooded holes. Some of the wooded holes are very tightly packed with trees, which demands accurate shots.
- Constant elevation changes throughout the entire course. This is especially important for some of the open holes, which turn then from so-so to very good. In the forest, the elevation changes can be maddening, with baskets atop hills and next to small valleys. Maddening in a good way, of course. These holes were tough.
- Nice mix of shots. Left, right, and straight needed to be on target for any chance of a good score. High tree canopy helped to prevent tunnel shot after tunnel shot.
- A little water in play, but not really. A bad shot would come close, but you would really have to shank it to go in.
- Great signage, good baskets, and good tees. They were some of the best gravel tees I have ever thrown from. Pro and Am tees for different skill levels.
- Bathrooms in good shape, and the water from the fountain could have been worse.
Cons: - This course doubles as a campsite, so I did have to skip holes 3 and 4 due to cars and people being in the way. Another hole had a car on the fairway, but I was able to avoid it.
- Paved road in play on some of the holes, so you have to watch out for cars and pedestrians. These pedestrians were also present throughout the entire round, forest and all.
- One major, major con which really hurt my rating is a hole with the road as the fairway. To the left and right is dense rough, and it is an upshot, so chances are good your drive will land in the street. It took a decent sized chunk out of my Pro Beast, needless to say I was very upset.
- The rough here is brutal. I gave up looking for a disc on one hole because I didn't want to be covered in poison anything. My legs were burning for two holes after a different jaunt in the rough. Beware...
Other Thoughts: - This was a very good course with all the different types of holes. Like I said before, some of those dense forest holes were tough to finish. Especially if your approach rolls down a hill.
- This would be a great course if it was in a secluded area. Unfortunately, having to deal with oblivious people walking around the forest, and having an asphalt fairway really brings it down in my book.
- There are some easy holes, too, but the majority are tricky.
- Definitely would play it again if I was in the area, cons or not.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 almost as good as it gets...

2-4    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Every hole is different from the last, and each one of them with challenge you in a different way. From a super long hole that sits atop a gigantic sleeding hill, hooking right to left, to a straight away, tight shot 189 foot hole that flies over a ravine, you will be forced to use every disc in your bag and love it!
- the custom made baskets are the best in the business. Local businessman and course owner Alan Pier made these baskets and there literally are not better baskets out there. 3 layers of chains, and all in brand new condition.
- beautiful scenery. from the hill top views, to the super quiet, creek side shots, to the amazing woods that look like something out of a samurai movie, it's just a peaceful place to be.
- there are 24 holes of this wonderful goodness!
- great signage. every hole has a map of the hole, good distance marking and a sign to point you to the next hole when you are done. MORE COURSES NEED THESE SIGNS!
- every hole (except for one of them I think) has multiple tee pads that alters the hole drstically. great idea to have Am and PRO tees!
Cons: tee pads are gravel, but it's a soft gravel.I didn't feel like I was slipping or rolling an ankle or whatever. This could be better by being concrete, but they weren't that bad.
Other Thoughts: This would be a perfect course with concrete pads.
there is NOTHING else wrong with this course.
great variety. great scenery. amazing views. good signage. this really is the best course that I have ever played.
not too shabby for an Eagle Scout project!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area

5+    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Rockwell
Played: 78  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the reasons I love this sport is that it allows you to get out into the wilderness, away from too much concrete and noise. Add to that the way it pits you against yourself, testing your mind as well as your physicality. And then there's the simple beauty of just watching a disc fly through the air. I'm in love. (and sometimes hate.)

Eagle Scout DG Course will deepen your love for the game. It is truly a wilderness that has been tamed just enough to give you great flight paths and smooth ground to tread.
Towering trees, winding creeks, and striking elevation help you get lost in the game. Tight gaps, perched greens, long bombs and technical short shots test your mind and arm.

The work that has gone into crafting this course is astounding. It was carved out of some of Indiana's finest DG terrain, and my hat is off to those who put in so much time and energy so that the rest of us can enjoy this gem.

Hole 6: The pro-pad is where this hole truly shines, allowing you to launch an overstable driver down a sledding hill and watch it glide down and around a manicured fairway. A creek a the bottom of the hill and a towering pine on the left keep you honest though. It's a joy for us Midwestern disc golfers to get to throw off a hill.

Hole 10: A scary hole. But beautiful scary. Fly your disc between the trees, over the creek and up the hill, dropping it on the ridge where the basket sits, taunting you. Too short and you're at the bottom, too far and you're even further down. You'll have a love/hate relationship with this hole, depending on your tee shot.

Hole 12: Lace a putter or mid straight away and nestle it close, or risk falling into the ravines that surround this putting green on three sides.

Hole 19: Most incredible ace run on the course. Putter or mid over a large gully. Just don't miss the ace or you're down another huge hill on the backside of the green. (side note: the stairways created on this course are second to none.)

Layout requires shots to bend all directions, at varying lengths, and with different degrees of elevation. Well done. The course forces you to make shots.
Cons: This course will only get better with time.
This course would benefit from new concrete tee pads that are level with the ground (some pads slope downward. Pads are currently gravel, and well maintained) And a few garbage cans added throughout would be nice. No major complaints.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course far fewer times than I would like, but so far I'm finding the amateur tee pads to allow more of a fun factor and true shot making ability. The pro pads require a few too many S-shots that can sometimes make you question whether the line is really there or it's more of a luck thing. (and I have a long arm, and usually am drawn to pro-pads.) Both courses offer some awesome shots though, and both together make a killer team.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 better than the best in Indiana

1    3/27/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 719  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfection in regards to navigation. Two sets of tees per hole; very clearly marked. Wooden signs with correct footage. Next tee signs where needed.
Tough hole after tough hole. Lots of tight S drives needed; with shot finishes equal for righties and lefties.
Staircases and bridges done well and in wonderful condition. i.e. fairly recently constructed.
24 holes (I love extra holes!)
Quality spiderweb baskets. I believe these are made fairly locally, and are a nice touch.
Creek in play on multiple holes (but you won't take many strokes, as there is not much water in the creek; and even if you're close, it will be rare that you're surrounded. However, if you were to head here for a tourney; I would imagine that o.b. lines roped off or otherwise marked would cause lots of o.b. strokes....we had one player take one with actual water surrounding disc; and others of us were very near o.b. a number of times)
Elevation in use all over the place. This makes for great scenery. Also, makes for a fairly tiring round; bring water and snacks if that's your style; as your round will probably take a while (course 2.3 miles from start to finish).
Lots of benches on course.
Eagle scouts, of course, should get TONS of credit for this phenomenal course.
Practice putting game set up near practice basket; with the bricks in the ground marking spots to shoot from.
Roll away greens (i.e. hill side) on more than 1/4 of the course.
Cons: Gravel tees. (These were maintained and constructed as well as this type of tee can be done; but, in my experience, gravel tees always end up spread out in the end)
Scouting events can fill the course sometimes. This, it should go without saying, is not really a con; as it is THEIR course. However, I'm just pointing out that we had to skip one hole, when visiting, because a group was using fairway for #3. Lots of scouts with tents, near course when we were here (some kind of jamboree or something). No one seemed concerned we were playing, as were others, both groups coexisted just fine....but, we did have to skip a hole.
The roadway is a disc chewer upper; but is not that bad.
Other Thoughts: We played Camp Cullom after Alwoods, in Rennselear, IN. That course has notes claiming to be the toughest in Indiana. This course is just as tough, if not tougher. Lines are slightly tougher at Alwoods; but, Cullom features more elevation and tougher rough.
We alternated between short tees and longs; and shot well over par; and our group consisted of primarily blue level players.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Review from an Eagle Scout to an Eagle scout course

1    4/17/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Dave Walters
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Permanent 24 hole course
-Great Hole design. Tons of elevation change and the holes play to it very well.
- Signage was very nice. every tee pad marked with distance and hole layout. Also had signs pointing you to the next tee.
- Scenery was amazing.
Cons: - Gravel tee pads. Not really a problem at all just the only thing I could see that needed improved.
Other Thoughts: This course was built by an Eagle Scout. I myself am an Eagle Scout so it meant alot for me to play this course.
For his project he installed all the tees, signs, and baskets. they also built 3 sets of stairs (100 foot stairs) and a bridge.

I have played many courses through out Indiana and this is one of the elite we have.

Overall this course is amazing!!!
Very nice scenery with a great variety of holes.
Must play if you are stopping through Indiana!!!!!

Any questions about the course? Shoot me an email xedstatemanx@aim.com and I can go into tons of detail.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Cullom DGC

2-4    9/9/2009   4/14/2010
Review By: ScumbagJosh
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Amazing layout
-Challenging shots
-#6 is a bomber, signature hole
-Wooded holes are tough, but very make able
-Signage is spot on
-Clean bathrooms
-Practice basket with foot markers
Cons: -The non-concrete tee boxes
-Wicked sharp undergrowth in some places
Other Thoughts: I was really impressed with this course, in my opinion it's the best in Indiana, as far as altitude changes and ravine shots. Went with a couple of friends the first time, and whole time all of us were just really excited to be playing a great course an hour north of Indianapolis. I think with some very minimal improvements i.e. concrete tee boxes, this course could be a 5, no questions asked. I've played Flip City in Michigan a few times, and I think this is as comparable of a course to that as you can get, I know this might sound very very unpopular, but I actually like it better than Flip City. That's not a slight on Flip City at all, it's a 5 all the way, but I think Cullom in the coming years will be Indiana's Flip City

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Scout project?!

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great length - nice long course

Awesome hike

Nice, often dramatic, elevation changes

Water hazards on multiple holes

Nice signature hole #6

Excellent signage - at the tee and pin

No map needed

Log pathways directing traffic

Lots of freshly built stairways and bridges to make the diverse landscape easily traversed
Cons: Perhaps too tight on a few holes.

Course seemed to favor left to right shots

Rough is down right nasty in multiple areas
Other Thoughts: This course is an Eagle Scout project? Are you kidding me?! This is a fantastic course. Tremendous diversity. It has all the hazards and obstacle you could want - water, elevation, hard slopped greens, guarded pins, very tight fairways, respectable distance shots...just to name a few.

This is NOT an easy course. You will need to bring a VERY accurate tee shot on most holes to stay out of jail. The rough is painful...literally. Thorn bushes are thick and plentiful. considering how long many of the holes are, I found many of the fairways to be extremely tight.

The first few holes are relatively open, these hopefully get you warmed up for the rest of the course. Hole #6 is a gorgeous raised tee shot with the pin to the left and a river strait ahead. Sexy hole. Shortly after this, you settle into the forest. Its a beautiful and rugged hike. Even though it is dense, I never needed a map. The tee signs are superbly detailed...which is nice because several holes are blind. Once at the pin, if there is any significant trek to the next pad, there is a "next tee" sign pointing the direction. Furthermore, when the pin lacks this signage, you can most likely follow the hand placed log pathways that have been positioned to guide you through.

Most bridges and staircases are clearly new builds. They are a welcome amenity to the winding creek and steep hills.

This course will test your patience. Its loaded with risk/reward shots. Carve out some time to play. Expect at least a couple hours.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.