Layout Extinct

Springdale, AR
Sports Life DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: kmcclur Hole #9 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Much Improved

5+    1/15/2011   2/25/2011
Review By: ClayTy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a fun course that has both longer, open holes and medium length, more technical holes.
Cons: Not real fond of playing around traffic and having to wait for cars on several holes where roads and parking lot come into play. (The asphalt OB's kill my score)
Other Thoughts: When I was told there was going to be a DGC place on this land, I pictured a very easy, short course. When 13/14 baskets were laid out, it was a long course but took advantage of all terrain and wrapped around the baseball fiels including use of additional terrain. Now the course has 18 baskets and the designer did an outstanding job of utilizing all aspects of the terrain which necessitates including the woods, baseball fields, watermarks, roads, island land in a parking lot in the area to make for a more technical and challenging course than imaged. Overall, this is a top 2 course for the 6 DGC's that I have played.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to hone your skills

2-4    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: TSeller
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
* Well Groomed - Fairway and rough are pretty immaculate.

* Every classic shot is covered. Up shot, down shot, left, right, high degree bank.

* Pin placement is well thought out.

* Maps next to tee for each hole are extremely well done.
Cons:
* Not overly challenging. Dog legs aren't very doggy.

* Some risk for errant throws to go into road ways and the outfield of a baseball diamond.

* Horrible tee boxes. Not having cement tee boxes keeps this course from getting a 'Good' from me.
Other Thoughts:
Weather was 98 degrees, sunny, with no wind, yet there was still some moisture in the ground. When the ground is wet, the tee boxes must be a mess. I'd steer clear if it was rainy or had rained previously.

This course is a few trees and a little cement away from being an excellent course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sports Life DGC...

1    7/11/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very well maintained, almost no trash. Mostly open, but has some nice slightly wooded holes. Awesome signs and baskets. The signs look like they're made by houck design, but I'm not sure. Baskets are made by Disc Golf Monkey (called monkey traps) and catch very well. Good variety in hole distances (219-525). Good variety in hyzer/straight/anhyzer holes. Very creative O.B., but sometimes feels a little gimmicky.
Cons: No trash cans or benches. Tee pads are grass, but have a wooden plank to mark the front of them. Hole 8 has some weird rock tee pad right now that is horrible, so I just teed off to the right of it. 3 holes play right next to a busy road.
Other Thoughts: It was very windy when I played here. Other reviewers have complained about the distance and baseball fields. I thought the baseball fields made it better, but I guess other people don't like it. I don't know if the park has been redesigned or not, but I thought the distances were fair. Threw a disc into the road, and a car almost ran over it.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Update

5+    9/1/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is well kept and has very nice baskets. It is so open and clean. Very straght forward holes, very long on a few. They finshed the course now it is 18 holes. It is a great place to work on distance and control. Also if you want to work on driveing and putting with wind this it the place to practice. If you spend the time here you could become a strong driver and putter.
Cons: If you cant drive far you be throwing your disc alot. Stays wet for a longtime after it rains but only in some places, also it igets really windy here to much to play sometimes. One thing the first hole is kind hard to find they need a bigger sign for hole one so people know.
Other Thoughts: The people who designed the course put a lot of effort into it, the baskets are nice and so are the tee signs. Tee pads are coming soon.

BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a shame

1    5/8/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: ajbridg
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great place to practice your long drives
Cons: -very long
-extremely unfriendly to new golfers
-jumping fences can be frustrating
-tends to flood
Other Thoughts: Could have been a gem of a course, but turns out it's a big arm designer's perfect course. It feels like there was not much consideration to player's other than the designer

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Love it

5+    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: Swaindaddy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a great combination of technical and straight forward holes. There are several creative OB spots on various holes as well. No water makes it a safe course to play and the layout is great.
Cons: Windy most of the time although I think this is more of a seasonal thing. There wasn't any wind during the summer/fall months. Some holes are close to fenced in ball fields requiring a jump over if you go OB.
Other Thoughts: Some of the other reviewers obviously have not played the course with all 18. The "too long" comments no longer make sense with the completed course. Just FYI.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Much Improved Course!!

2-4    4/10/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Treesmasher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Best baskets I've ever played. I don't know who made them, but they are phenomenal.
-18 hole course with a nice mix of technical and long shots.
-Nicely manicured, nice tee posts.
Cons: -Pretty wide open. I would prefer more trees..
-Seems like the wind is always blowing 30 mph on this course. Bring your wind game!
Other Thoughts: The original 13 holes have been made into a nice 18 hole course. I'm not a long thrower and I scored 3 under when I played. There are some great shots that appear easy but make you pay dearly for an unplanned anny. I love this course and plan to play it every chance i get.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Pretty Lame

2-4    9/4/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: 28003
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: If you love throwing your [insert Innova's lastest wide-rimmed driver], then you'll love this course.
*Plus side: you'll probably never lose a disc on this course!
Cons: There is no technical aspect to this course, whatsoever. Its almost as if the person that designed this course doesn't throw midranges or control drivers and this is reflected by the design. So much wasted space.
Other Thoughts: This isn't so much a "disc golf course", but more like a 13-chance "distance competition". They could've easily put in an 18 hole course, but I guess its more important to have wide-open, 450+ft holes. I will probably never play this course again.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly long...

2-4    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: ZCRogers
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tricky greens on softball field burms, very clean, and if you like to throw far you have plenty of without much risk.
Cons: The holes are long, 8 of 13 are over 400 ft. You expect a more recreational course around a sports complex that has very few trees. Could've easily squeezed 18 holes down by shortening a few.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course because I can practice longer distance golf shots. It still would've been fine if there were only 3-5 of them and i could play an entire 18.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.