Sanford, MI 
The Jungle Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #12 (Taken 9/2009)
5 / 413ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
in the jungle the noisy jungle... ain't no one sleepin'

1    11/20/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a county park area with many amenities. Area is most certainly NOT dg exclusive so huk safely!

teepads-- nice big concrete pads. in great shape

teesigns-- sweet dga signs. giving hole, par, length, and a map..

Variety--there's a little bit of eveything. lefts, rights, longs, shorts, elevation. sweetness.

challenge-- the challenge here is the tightness of the fairways. some of the fairways are insanely tight and leave little room for error. definite need for shot placement as the rough can be punishing. nice to have distinct "landing zones."

routing and nav-- very easy. pads are typically visible from the previous basket.

belle vista-- the lake here is pretty. hole 4's basket backs up to it! :)
Cons:
us-10-- it's super noisy at all times not really controllable but hey, it's a negative.

dangers-- hole 3 crosses a park road, I saw several walkers even on a cold november morning..

pay to play-- although, when I played it was free. $10 to play a round of average dg is a bit much...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Demanding, impressive, and expensive ;-)

2-4    9/2/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/25/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Fun fun fun!
+ No hole is impossibly difficult, but each hole seems to require thoughtful planning
+ The lovely lake sits by a couple of the holes
+ The course is maintained
+ Surprisingly it wasn't buggy in 2012 even when all the mosquitoes were taking over the other dg courses in mid-Michigan. I think that's because it's not a busy course and there are other places the skeeters can go to breed.
+ Although the course slightly favors RHBH, there are a few holes that switch things up
+ Lots of twists and turns and corners and hooks and a couple doglegs
+ The course keeps your attention throughout, there aren't many no-brainer holes that everyone just naturally throws great
+ The hole layouts/distances combine for very exciting play, upshots are especially fun
Cons: - $10 for a non-resident to park here.
- One side of the course is lined with a chainlink fence/highway that detracts from the overall feel of a forest, jungle, whatever.
- County park, so the parking is seasonal with county park hours
- Slightly favors RHBH
Other Thoughts: Over the past couple of years Sanford Lake Park has apparently been known to have annoying problems with vandalism and delinquency. I'm not exactly a witness to it, but I just started playing disc golf the summer of 2012. Anyway, the word on the street is that to reduce its problems, the park system increased their rates. Now it is $10 to park and play here. The official statement is that the park believes they have a quality product to offer and people will pay the price and they will keep it maintained. I usually express my opinion to the attendant when we pay the fee, but in reality the quality of the course is actually worth it. I just hope some day they will lower the fee, and I hope the problems they had (apparently caused by people who can't pay a higher fee) disappear.

The course itself is very good. It's fairly level, but it has a few impressive holes that make for very exciting play while in a group. A lot of the holes have blind pin placement and you really have to utilize different shots rather than go all out and smash the disc through trees. Whether this is a lucky coincidence because it wasn't designed carefully or deliberate because it was designed to be very challenging, I don't know. I just know that I get more frustrated here than any other course around (OK maybe Wickes, too).

Honestly, if you are skilled enough to stay on the fairway the whole time you'll love Sanford. I see even some of my most experienced disc golf buddies tossing some crappy rounds here, and we actually like it more because of that. Probably the biggest star on the course is the way trees and very minor elevation changes alter the way holes need to be played. If you resist the way the course wants you to throw, you're gonna be mad. If you just accept that you're going to have to be creative and utilize different shots, you'll be one with Treesus.

As I write this I'm reminiscing about some really good rounds here. It was one of the first courses I played and I remember accidentally learning to throw rollers on a couple holes and getting rewarded for it. I also remember throwing a Teedevil RHFH and yelling immediately after I released it because it literally flew sideways out of my hand and went over the fence by the highway. Pretty fun.

If you're just paying for disc golf, it would be best to come with friends to split the cost. If you have the time to make a day out of a visit to this course you could play the course right when you get here, enjoy the beach and spray park, have a picnic/BBQ, and then play the course again and maximize your trip.

Thanks for reading!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained, But Difficult.

5+    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Dogleg2rt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice parking lot
- nice pads, baskets and signage
- well maintained
- forgiving par 5's
- seldom busy or slow play
Cons: - pay to play
- a few unforgiving par 3's (#13 should be a par 4 or logged to provide any kind of vert tee shot)
- course needs to be beat in or logged in many places
- muddy in the early season
- can be buggy w/ lake so close
Other Thoughts: Aside from a few holes that need hogged out. this is a nice, but difficult course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    5/7/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Cement teas
-Easy to navigate
-Many Fun Technical holes
Cons: - $6 cost to get in and it is a county park so the state park sticker will not work.
- Not many open throws
- Was strange to have nearly 1/2 - 2/3 of the holes forehand.
- Poor Drainage

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Muddy but fun.

1    5/14/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: MGregg85
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean with good signs and tee pads
Not a lot of traffic, no waiting to throw
No real thick brush to eat your discs
Lots of variety requiring well placed hyzer and anhyzer shots.
Cons: A lot of water. One hole, i'm pretty sure it was #3 , had it's tee pad completely surrounded by water. Most holes had some kind of drainage issue, one had a small stream(~2 feet wide) running through it. At one point we had to cross a mud hole by balancing on logs that traversed it.

The transition from hole 16 to 17 is a little confusing, I would recommend printing off a course map before your first time playing this one.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course, it was challenging but fun. Once it gets warmer I think a lot of the med holes and ponds will dry up. Until then bring your boots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Wait

5+    3/25/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course design! Different levels of difficulty, a few hill shots, one of the craziest snake shots I ever saw, and I love having a practice basket. This course is kept very clean. You can tell a lot went into designing this course.
Cons: First time I played this course I got lost, arrow signs would be nice.
Other Thoughts: When I first heard rumors of this park I couldn't wait. I got to play it once before it was finished, and once right at the end of the year last year. I see that they made a few changes to basket locations. It was definitely worth the wait and will likely become my most played course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.