Disc Golf Store
Sanford, MI 
The Jungle Share
Uploaded By: Dark Strangely Hole #18
5 / 431ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very challenging

1    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jon33jon2003
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2012
Pros: Nice and clean, feels secluded. Well suited for a rightie throwing forehand.
Cons: Pretty tough course for beginner and experienced. Very tough to place a good tee shot on many holes which leaves you to rely on luck a little too often. Of course the cost to enter has to be a negative, although we arrived at 7:10PM and he let us in for free.
Other Thoughts: I will wait until my level of play is a little higher before returning to this course. Had a pretty decent round but I was throwing great and had all the lucky bounces and could see where it could have been a horrible round.

 fun in the rain

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: LEFTY360
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this park is in wonderful condition, large cement tee pads and nice baskets on all 18 holes. very challenging course, tons of variety, I liked that it mixed distance and acuracy challenges constantly. Well layed out and easy to navigate hole to hole, some fairways are tricky though. birdie holes are few but make for a nice break between some of the monster holes.
Cons: found myself having to walk ahead to "go find the basket" more than i would have liked.
Some shots here just seem impossible. maybe clear just a few more trees.
didnt see a practice/warm up basket near the first tee. was told they have one though.
Other Thoughts: very hard course, but very fun too. worth the drive, worth the entry fee. will return next chance i get.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Best Pro Course in Area

1    7/20/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: DNez2001
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenge of both physical and mental disc golf game. Risk-reward in play on almost all holes. Requires proper drive placement and discipline for low scores. SSA est. at near 54-55 at~5700ft long. Best course for pro players in the region.
Cons: More anhyzer/lefty holes than most. Tight fairways on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Will continue to get better with a bit more maturity. Complete disagreement with last designer about haphazard holes. This course will challenge the best disc golfers, and will frustrate many ams who just want to throw at a basket in front of them. There are no straight holes on this course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Played in January

1    1/25/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 1/28/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm new to dg having started in Sept. 09 and drove a little more than an hour to the Jungle to get out of even deeper snow. Surprised pleasantly to see the first tee pad cleaned of snow as were all 18 pads. Even in winter it was relatively easy to follow the flow of the course. I think I looked a bit at 2 transition areas to find the next tree. Played the entire 18 in an hour.

Nice signage at each hole with fairway mapping on each sign. Rest benches are located in many areas.
Cons: Trees.. Tree.. Pretty typical of many Mi. courses. Again it was winter so the experience is what it is but not really much to knock.
Other Thoughts: It's easy to see some good though was put into the layout and hardware here. Also easy to see that this course is new as there are major trees here and very little scarring from disc strikes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well I designed it so I am biased

5+    9/13/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Dark Strangely
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 38.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of property. Will test various parts of your game. On some holes judgement of landing zones is critical. On some holes you must stay controled and excecute. Dont get me wrong all the holes arent tough but even then you have to excecute. Shooting a Pro Par 54 is truly a good round and I have yet to hear about anyone shooting a 54 on this course yet. To all who claim its too hard ... think outside of the box ... you have to be creative to score well ... watch ball golf on TV ... the tough courses require control and creativity .. the easy courses end up 20 down as the winning score at the end of the weekend ... Yawn
Cons: The land prevents any grip and rip drives. This not a con to me since I cant grip and rip but I do know some will not like this. I would have liked to see a few less trees removed around a couple of baskets. Some have complained the course is too tough. Yes its tough but I think so many players have bought into the idea that you should have a chance at birdie on all holes and that a 3 should be the norm.. in ball golf Par for non scratch players is not the norm.
Other Thoughts: The Parks Dept is solidly behind this course and have spent alot of time, and money in it development. They look at "The Jungle" as a work in progress and will continue to improve the course. We will be fixing hole 9, the hole ended up tougher than planned and will be opening up the fairway to make it fairer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.