Sanford, MI
The Jungle Share
Uploaded By: Dark Strangely Hole #16 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
in the jungle the noisy jungle... ain't no one sleepin'

1    11/20/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 194  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a county park area with many amenities. Area is most certainly NOT dg exclusive so huk safely!

teepads-- nice big concrete pads. in great shape

teesigns-- sweet dga signs. giving hole, par, length, and a map..

Variety--there's a little bit of eveything. lefts, rights, longs, shorts, elevation. sweetness.

challenge-- the challenge here is the tightness of the fairways. some of the fairways are insanely tight and leave little room for error. definite need for shot placement as the rough can be punishing. nice to have distinct "landing zones."

routing and nav-- very easy. pads are typically visible from the previous basket.

belle vista-- the lake here is pretty. hole 4's basket backs up to it! :)
Cons:
us-10-- it's super noisy at all times not really controllable but hey, it's a negative.

dangers-- hole 3 crosses a park road, I saw several walkers even on a cold november morning..

pay to play-- although, when I played it was free. $10 to play a round of average dg is a bit much...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Demanding, impressive, and expensive ;-)

2-4    9/2/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/25/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Fun fun fun!
+ No hole is impossibly difficult, but each hole seems to require thoughtful planning
+ The lovely lake sits by a couple of the holes
+ The course is maintained
+ Surprisingly it wasn't buggy in 2012 even when all the mosquitoes were taking over the other dg courses in mid-Michigan. I think that's because it's not a busy course and there are other places the skeeters can go to breed.
+ Although the course slightly favors RHBH, there are a few holes that switch things up
+ Lots of twists and turns and corners and hooks and a couple doglegs
+ The course keeps your attention throughout, there aren't many no-brainer holes that everyone just naturally throws great
+ The hole layouts/distances combine for very exciting play, upshots are especially fun
Cons: - $10 for a non-resident to park here.
- One side of the course is lined with a chainlink fence/highway that detracts from the overall feel of a forest, jungle, whatever.
- County park, so the parking is seasonal with county park hours
- Slightly favors RHBH
Other Thoughts: Over the past couple of years Sanford Lake Park has apparently been known to have annoying problems with vandalism and delinquency. I'm not exactly a witness to it, but I just started playing disc golf the summer of 2012. Anyway, the word on the street is that to reduce its problems, the park system increased their rates. Now it is $10 to park and play here. The official statement is that the park believes they have a quality product to offer and people will pay the price and they will keep it maintained. I usually express my opinion to the attendant when we pay the fee, but in reality the quality of the course is actually worth it. I just hope some day they will lower the fee, and I hope the problems they had (apparently caused by people who can't pay a higher fee) disappear.

The course itself is very good. It's fairly level, but it has a few impressive holes that make for very exciting play while in a group. A lot of the holes have blind pin placement and you really have to utilize different shots rather than go all out and smash the disc through trees. Whether this is a lucky coincidence because it wasn't designed carefully or deliberate because it was designed to be very challenging, I don't know. I just know that I get more frustrated here than any other course around (OK maybe Wickes, too).

Honestly, if you are skilled enough to stay on the fairway the whole time you'll love Sanford. I see even some of my most experienced disc golf buddies tossing some crappy rounds here, and we actually like it more because of that. Probably the biggest star on the course is the way trees and very minor elevation changes alter the way holes need to be played. If you resist the way the course wants you to throw, you're gonna be mad. If you just accept that you're going to have to be creative and utilize different shots, you'll be one with Treesus.

As I write this I'm reminiscing about some really good rounds here. It was one of the first courses I played and I remember accidentally learning to throw rollers on a couple holes and getting rewarded for it. I also remember throwing a Teedevil RHFH and yelling immediately after I released it because it literally flew sideways out of my hand and went over the fence by the highway. Pretty fun.

If you're just paying for disc golf, it would be best to come with friends to split the cost. If you have the time to make a day out of a visit to this course you could play the course right when you get here, enjoy the beach and spray park, have a picnic/BBQ, and then play the course again and maximize your trip.

Thanks for reading!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very challenging

1    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jon33jon2003
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2012
Pros: Nice and clean, feels secluded. Well suited for a rightie throwing forehand.
Cons: Pretty tough course for beginner and experienced. Very tough to place a good tee shot on many holes which leaves you to rely on luck a little too often. Of course the cost to enter has to be a negative, although we arrived at 7:10PM and he let us in for free.
Other Thoughts: I will wait until my level of play is a little higher before returning to this course. Had a pretty decent round but I was throwing great and had all the lucky bounces and could see where it could have been a horrible round.


1    4/29/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course will def. keep your head up or even down. This is a long course, u will use every disc in your bag, every hole had signs on them, long tee pads, nice baskets, when entering the park, the person gives u a scorecard. Built in trash cans
Cons: only 2 benches throughout the entire course, only one person can sit on the bench at one time. We had to PAY 10.00 to get into park bc we were non residents, its a rip off. Majority of the holes were S shots, insane shots, alot of mosqiotos, so bring the bug spray
Other Thoughts: It was the toughest course Ive played, played over 80 courses throughout MI, and this is thee hardest.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun in the rain

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: LEFTY360
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this park is in wonderful condition, large cement tee pads and nice baskets on all 18 holes. very challenging course, tons of variety, I liked that it mixed distance and acuracy challenges constantly. Well layed out and easy to navigate hole to hole, some fairways are tricky though. birdie holes are few but make for a nice break between some of the monster holes.
Cons: found myself having to walk ahead to "go find the basket" more than i would have liked.
Some shots here just seem impossible. maybe clear just a few more trees.
didnt see a practice/warm up basket near the first tee. was told they have one though.
Other Thoughts: very hard course, but very fun too. worth the drive, worth the entry fee. will return next chance i get.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 "the jungle"

1    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -set in a nice park
-great tee pads, baskets, and signs
-well maintained
-trash can on every hole
-great variation in hole length
-easy to navigate
Cons: -way too many RHFH drives. probably 90% of the holes go to the right.
-most shots don't fit how a disc could possibly fly. It's ridiculous to lay up 100' down the "fairway", make a 90 degree turn and then throw 300 more feet to the basket.
-there is one hole (8 maybe?) that the tee pad is aimed straight at some trees not 5 feet in front of it. I had to use the far left side of the pad to have a look at the fairway.
-the course plays around a beautiful lake. but there is not a single hole that makes use of it. I kept waiting and looking forward to throwing near/over the lake but it never happened.
-Ive heard this course has some horrible drainage problems, like the entire thing could be underwater, but it was dry when I played so I did'nt consider it a con in my rating.
-VERY difficult. I'd rather a course where I know what I need to throw and it's just a matter of doing it. At this course I have no idea how to make the disc do the things that are required. It's either throw and pray or throw four 100' lay ups to navigate an impossible fairway.
Other Thoughts: $6 to get into the park. not sure if its a pro or con. keeps out the people that I hate at free courses yet costs me 6 bucks...

I never thought that being too difficult would be a con.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained, But Difficult.

5+    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Dogleg2rt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice parking lot
- nice pads, baskets and signage
- well maintained
- forgiving par 5's
- seldom busy or slow play
Cons: - pay to play
- a few unforgiving par 3's (#13 should be a par 4 or logged to provide any kind of vert tee shot)
- course needs to be beat in or logged in many places
- muddy in the early season
- can be buggy w/ lake so close
Other Thoughts: Aside from a few holes that need hogged out. this is a nice, but difficult course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    5/7/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Cement teas
-Easy to navigate
-Many Fun Technical holes
Cons: - $6 cost to get in and it is a county park so the state park sticker will not work.
- Not many open throws
- Was strange to have nearly 1/2 - 2/3 of the holes forehand.
- Poor Drainage

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Best Pro Course in Area

1    7/20/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: DNez2001
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenge of both physical and mental disc golf game. Risk-reward in play on almost all holes. Requires proper drive placement and discipline for low scores. SSA est. at near 54-55 at~5700ft long. Best course for pro players in the region.
Cons: More anhyzer/lefty holes than most. Tight fairways on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Will continue to get better with a bit more maturity. Complete disagreement with last designer about haphazard holes. This course will challenge the best disc golfers, and will frustrate many ams who just want to throw at a basket in front of them. There are no straight holes on this course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not that much of a jungle really

1    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great park well maintained and new. Cement tees, signs, map, bathrooms, parking etc etc
Minimal ivy and rough, nice sandy pine forest with ferns.
Now not every hole is that bad, half are pretty decent with a couple very nice holes.
Cons: - Poor design (this is an opinion site), majority of the holes seem randomly tossed in without a care to a fairway. A few holes leave you just throwing into trees hoping for the best but knowing it's not up to you but luck. Several super-sharp turns that don't fit how discs fly as far as I've ever seen. Mainly, a most of the medium-length holes that could be reached by the average golfer cannot be parked due to having no flight line. I feel ridiculous laying up 150ft. off the tee on a 300ft. hole!

Cleary gets very wet/flooded sometimes on the first few holes.
Other Thoughts: With some heavy re-design it could reach '4' stars but the overall layout cuts out 1 star.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.