Fowlerville, MI 
Fowlerville United Brethren DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #6 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 335ft.   3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around (and through) a church's property, through the woods and over a small retention pond. I'm guessing that there are non-dg'ers around a lot of the time, so be careful!

Teesigns- give you a basic diagram of the hole, distance and par. also, there are three tees for each hole.

Routing and nav- relatively easy. hole 8 is missing signage (because it was moved to #9) and 9 was moved to 10 and 11 is unsigned. I'm not sure how to handle this. but it wasn't a huge distraction.

Baskets- in good repair and reasonably visible in the woods.

Challenge- the three tees per hole give you a distinct view of the basket. to theoretically, you could play 33 holes here and have 33 individual holes.

Variety- see above. the variety is the challenge. that and the thick thick shule and the retention pond.

water- interesting use of water here. #6 has two tees that throw over the pond, and one that doesn't. 3 throws over a small creek.

upkeep- Fairways are nicely mowed but the rough is super rough.
Cons:
Teepads- dirt or worse with logs denoting the tee area. there are three tees per hole. on some, it offers very distinct views of the hole on some it is completely unnecessary #7 is a good example of this.

Oddities- having #8 and #11 unsigned but playable and some of the teesigns moved to different holes this place is a bit in flux right now...
Other Thoughts:
This is a great 11 hole course with 9 holes worth of signs. I don't have a ton of bad things to say about it, but I am ranking it on a 9-hole scale for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Church on Sunday

1    6/23/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jnever1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
Pros: The fairways were freshly mowed. I had the entire course to myself. Good variety for my taste. Disc catchers look brand new. Three (for most holes) tees per hole - long(er), mid, short.
Hole 1: Behind a large tree/rough area
Hole 2: Straight shot, but tight fairway/tall grass lined
Hole 3: Tucked in a clearing behind a creek and a row of trees. Three windows to throw through.
Hole 4: Dogleg to the left, almost semicircular from mid/short tees. Narrow fairway from long. VERY tall grass. Wooded.
Hole 5: Around (or over) a reed-infested pond. Nice and open though.
Hole 6: Lame. Straight across a baseball outfield. Corn field behind the hole.
Hole 7: Parallel the corn field. Hole is in a clearing just inside a wooded area. Wide open window.
Hole 8: Tee in the woods, hole in an open field.
Hole 9 (Signage says 8): Into the woods gentle curve to the left.
Hole 10: Narrow corridor with a few trees standing in the fairway.
Hole 11: Wide open tee with a hole the requires a sharp hook o the left or risk OB or overshot.
Cons: Really tall grass, sometimes over 4 feet tall, lines the fairway and is a hassle to search through after an errant throw. Bring your brightest discs! Course maps provided are less than descriptive. Arrows and x's would have been more informative. Some signage deviations. Not all tees are clearly marked (hole 11 is not marked at all). Mosquito trap on hole 10.
Other Thoughts: I made the trip from my home course (Birchfield) due to a tournament going on. I was pleased with what the course had to offer going so far as to repeat holes 1-5 from alternative tees. Pros and 'hardcores' might find it trivial, but for weekenders, like myself, I think FUB DGC has a lot to offer. Giving i a 4 because the course deserves better than to be lumped with lower lots.

 

1    4/15/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
Pros: great signage, who ever built this course on church land knew what they were doing. some water shots, were very cool, huge parking lot to park your car, loved every hole, 1st hole got a birdie on so it made me play to my level the rest of the holes. In the woods were very nice holes. Knew where the next hole is.
Cons: not really a con but wish there were more holes,
Other Thoughts: only played here once then we went to howell and played.

 Nice Course

1    3/19/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice course with some good variations on it. Most of the course is wide open but there are a couple of holes that allow for some trees to get involved.
Cons: Too short of a course with only 9 holes and only dirt pads. It can be a little difficult to determine which basket you are shooting at the on the first round or finding the correct pad. Once the course is finished it should be very nice. However I think if they put more holes in the woods it may appeal to a few more DG'rs.
Other Thoughts: I gave it a 3.5 being that it's unfinished and a pretty basic course. Once the course is finished it should be very nice. However I think if they put more holes in the woods and cement the pads it may appeal to a few more DG'rs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nifty little course fills a big void!

2-4    7/4/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: By the time I played here, two permanent additional baskets had been installed, for a total of 11 baskets and 33 tee pads (red, blue, and gold for each hole). Nice color coded tee markers with distance at each tee area (distances appear to be pretty accurate). On some holes, different tees provide quite a different look at the basket and really change the line. On others, they're simply the same shot give or take about 60 ft or so.

Course designer did a good job of accommodating varying skill levels from beginner to experienced intermediate players. Fairways range from wide open (on many of the first few holes) to tightly wooded holes requiring decent control on several of the later holes. Nice mix of fairways means you'll need to throw hyzer, straight, and annie or FH. Some baskets are right in front of you, a couple are tucked into a nice little pocket just off the fairway, and a there's a few blind holes thrown in for good measure.

Hole 3 makes nice use of a small creek, and provides a somewhat guarded, but inviting approach to the putting circle. Besides making the basket accessible, the bridge crossing the creek provide a bit of ambience to the hole.

For a humble little course, Hole 5 is a real risk/reward shot requiring a drive of about 250 ft or so from the blue tee (farther from the gold) to clear a pretty large pond, while the red tee provides a reasonably safe/dry alternative.

Even though course flows reasonably well from basket to next tee, the printed score cards w/map were a nice plus and quite helpful navigating the course for the first time.
Cons: Genuinely like what they've done here, and certainly appreciate that you can only work with what you have in terms of land and money, but the cons listed here a real nonetheless, and to say they didn't detract from my playing enjoyment would be lying.

Tee boxes with wood chips felt uneven under my feet - my least favorite tee type. Plain grass would be an improvement, so I drove from the area next to the tee box.

No elevation changes (but you can only work with the land you have).
Other Thoughts: All in all, a fun round on a decent course that does a lot with a little. My hat's off to Kurt and everyone who had a hand in making this course happen - job well done. Not to sound corny, but I got the feeling this course is really a labor of love, and they really are using it as a positive in their community. Definitely worth the time if you're in the area, or even a short drive away.

Don't want to overlook the fact that this course is on private property. As far as I know, they've opened it to the public, and I thank them for doing so. I hope everyone visiting respects that. It'd be a shame if the course got pulled because the congregation just couldn't ignore the smell of weed blowing in off the course as they head to the parking lot when services let out.

I don't blame the locals for being excited about getting a legit course in their locale and feeling some love for it, but in my opinion, giving this course 4 or 5 discs is simply misleading. That would imply it's as good as Hudson Mills or Black Locust - I'm sorry, but it's not. There's no shame in falling short of those courses - they were designed with land and resources these designers probably couldn't dream of. 3.0 discs = a "good" course, and that's exactly what this is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ...and on the seventh day, the Lord said...

2-4    3/27/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three tees per hole, red-blue-gold, with varied lines and distances between them. Playing from different tees at this course enables you to feel like you're playing three different 9-hole courses. Kinda.
The tee-boxes, while being rudimentary in their design (boxed in with logs and filled with wood-chips), are large and do offer some sort of traction. Tee-boxes are also marked with hole # and distance mounted on easy to find wooden poles.
The flow works well here, especially because it is only a 9-hole course.
There are two holes where water is a factor. Always a nice feature. At hole #3 there is a river that runs just past the tree-line. At hole #5 the location of the water hazard is quite obvious.
Not much chance of losing a disc at this course, outside of the water-hazards. There are not many holes where the overgrowth is very thick. In fact, its pretty wide open on most holes. Only two that throw completely through trees.
Excellent baskets, maps are available but not necessary.
Cons: Tee boxes need improving. The wood-chips have better traction than rubber-mats but are very uneven.
The lack of any ceiling on most holes gives it a monotonous feel. You can see most of the other baskets from almost anywhere on the course.
When it gets wet, it gets VERY muddy.
Its only 9-holes long. (for now)
Other Thoughts: Fowlerville UB was a lot of fun to play. The short tees gave up lots of ace/deuce runs and the gold tees challenge the crap out of your arm. The blue tees are what divides the men from the beagles. While most holes are open, the course is set up in a way that makes very good use of what the natural terrain allows it to do-unless we expect them to plant forty-foot tall trees everywhere.
Inside of the church on occasion can be found a make-shift disc-golf store. Complete with new and used plastic, accessories and various other trinkets. Kurt and Andy are great guys and are doing a great job with what they have.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course #1,071

2-4    1/22/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees turns 9 holes into 27. Long open spaces on half the course to really air it out. Water hazards, some rough, 2 wooded holes to provide a mix. Nice tee signs, course board, map, scorecards. Tons of parking. Tees still dirt/woodchip but are framed.
Cons: #3 over the bridge couldn't tell water was there- don't like blind water hazards as a general rule. From the Gold tee the gap to hit is too small/too far from the tee for the typical pro shot to hit half the time.
Last 2 woods holes a bit too tight with illogical lines/fairways.
Other Thoughts: Nice use of otherwise wasted land. Bring your drivers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/28/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Juglaz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a really well designed course. There are only 9 holes but with three tees per hole. The tees are laid out so well that you could really play the course like it was a 27 hole without it feeling redundant. Also you can play a hole 10 to the practice basket on your way back to the parking lot.
Cons: Can't wait till they put the rest of the holes in!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/30/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: andyhennig
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I love this course!!! I live in Fowlerville so this course is only ten minutes away compared to 30 minutes to drive to Hudson Mills or Kensington. It's a great setup and the entire couse is maintained perfectly. Wednsday @ 6:00 is the league night and goes until 10 or 11:00 including the glow round. you should definitly come to this course.
Cons: Everytime I play...KURT CHARLETVILLE (the course designer)BEATS ME!!! ARRRRGGGHHHH!

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  A whole lot of fun

5+    9/26/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: footwork
Played: 64  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the best nine whole course in central MI. It has a good mix of holes and shots that keep it interesting for a nine hole course. An excellent place to get better as a golfer because of the challenge with the three tees, as well as a place to build confidence as you can get through a round in under 45 min. The water holes keep you honest and the wooded holes have good fair lines. No real duce or die holes so a full on nine down is something to keep you coming back for more.
Cons: The fun stops after nine holes. Also some trimage needs to happen because of how new it is. Once the full 18 happens and the course wears in from use, it will be an easy 5 out of 5 stars.
Other Thoughts: Got to give this one a try, especially if you live around it. It might just turn into one of your home courses.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.