Disc Golf Store
Fowlerville, MI 
Fowlerville United Brethren DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 335ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket (Looking Back)



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around (and through) a church's property, through the woods and over a small retention pond. I'm guessing that there are non-dg'ers around a lot of the time, so be careful!

Teesigns- give you a basic diagram of the hole, distance and par. also, there are three tees for each hole.

Routing and nav- relatively easy. hole 8 is missing signage (because it was moved to #9) and 9 was moved to 10 and 11 is unsigned. I'm not sure how to handle this. but it wasn't a huge distraction.

Baskets- in good repair and reasonably visible in the woods.

Challenge- the three tees per hole give you a distinct view of the basket. to theoretically, you could play 33 holes here and have 33 individual holes.

Variety- see above. the variety is the challenge. that and the thick thick shule and the retention pond.

water- interesting use of water here. #6 has two tees that throw over the pond, and one that doesn't. 3 throws over a small creek.

upkeep- Fairways are nicely mowed but the rough is super rough.
Cons:
Teepads- dirt or worse with logs denoting the tee area. there are three tees per hole. on some, it offers very distinct views of the hole on some it is completely unnecessary #7 is a good example of this.

Oddities- having #8 and #11 unsigned but playable and some of the teesigns moved to different holes this place is a bit in flux right now...
Other Thoughts:
This is a great 11 hole course with 9 holes worth of signs. I don't have a ton of bad things to say about it, but I am ranking it on a 9-hole scale for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/15/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
Pros: great signage, who ever built this course on church land knew what they were doing. some water shots, were very cool, huge parking lot to park your car, loved every hole, 1st hole got a birdie on so it made me play to my level the rest of the holes. In the woods were very nice holes. Knew where the next hole is.
Cons: not really a con but wish there were more holes,
Other Thoughts: only played here once then we went to howell and played.

Nifty little course fills a big void!

2-4    7/4/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: By the time I played here, two permanent additional baskets had been installed, for a total of 11 baskets and 33 tee pads (red, blue, and gold for each hole). Nice color coded tee markers with distance at each tee area (distances appear to be pretty accurate). On some holes, different tees provide quite a different look at the basket and really change the line. On others, they're simply the same shot give or take about 60 ft or so.

Course designer did a good job of accommodating varying skill levels from beginner to experienced intermediate players. Fairways range from wide open (on many of the first few holes) to tightly wooded holes requiring decent control on several of the later holes. Nice mix of fairways means you'll need to throw hyzer, straight, and annie or FH. Some baskets are right in front of you, a couple are tucked into a nice little pocket just off the fairway, and a there's a few blind holes thrown in for good measure.

Hole 3 makes nice use of a small creek, and provides a somewhat guarded, but inviting approach to the putting circle. Besides making the basket accessible, the bridge crossing the creek provide a bit of ambience to the hole.

For a humble little course, Hole 5 is a real risk/reward shot requiring a drive of about 250 ft or so from the blue tee (farther from the gold) to clear a pretty large pond, while the red tee provides a reasonably safe/dry alternative.

Even though course flows reasonably well from basket to next tee, the printed score cards w/map were a nice plus and quite helpful navigating the course for the first time.
Cons: Genuinely like what they've done here, and certainly appreciate that you can only work with what you have in terms of land and money, but the cons listed here a real nonetheless, and to say they didn't detract from my playing enjoyment would be lying.

Tee boxes with wood chips felt uneven under my feet - my least favorite tee type. Plain grass would be an improvement, so I drove from the area next to the tee box.

No elevation changes (but you can only work with the land you have).
Other Thoughts: All in all, a fun round on a decent course that does a lot with a little. My hat's off to Kurt and everyone who had a hand in making this course happen - job well done. Not to sound corny, but I got the feeling this course is really a labor of love, and they really are using it as a positive in their community. Definitely worth the time if you're in the area, or even a short drive away.

Don't want to overlook the fact that this course is on private property. As far as I know, they've opened it to the public, and I thank them for doing so. I hope everyone visiting respects that. It'd be a shame if the course got pulled because the congregation just couldn't ignore the smell of weed blowing in off the course as they head to the parking lot when services let out.

I don't blame the locals for being excited about getting a legit course in their locale and feeling some love for it, but in my opinion, giving this course 4 or 5 discs is simply misleading. That would imply it's as good as Hudson Mills or Black Locust - I'm sorry, but it's not. There's no shame in falling short of those courses - they were designed with land and resources these designers probably couldn't dream of. 3.0 discs = a "good" course, and that's exactly what this is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ...and on the seventh day, the Lord said...

2-4    3/27/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 72  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three tees per hole, red-blue-gold, with varied lines and distances between them. Playing from different tees at this course enables you to feel like you're playing three different 9-hole courses. Kinda.
The tee-boxes, while being rudimentary in their design (boxed in with logs and filled with wood-chips), are large and do offer some sort of traction. Tee-boxes are also marked with hole # and distance mounted on easy to find wooden poles.
The flow works well here, especially because it is only a 9-hole course.
There are two holes where water is a factor. Always a nice feature. At hole #3 there is a river that runs just past the tree-line. At hole #5 the location of the water hazard is quite obvious.
Not much chance of losing a disc at this course, outside of the water-hazards. There are not many holes where the overgrowth is very thick. In fact, its pretty wide open on most holes. Only two that throw completely through trees.
Excellent baskets, maps are available but not necessary.
Cons: Tee boxes need improving. The wood-chips have better traction than rubber-mats but are very uneven.
The lack of any ceiling on most holes gives it a monotonous feel. You can see most of the other baskets from almost anywhere on the course.
When it gets wet, it gets VERY muddy.
Its only 9-holes long. (for now)
Other Thoughts: Fowlerville UB was a lot of fun to play. The short tees gave up lots of ace/deuce runs and the gold tees challenge the crap out of your arm. The blue tees are what divides the men from the beagles. While most holes are open, the course is set up in a way that makes very good use of what the natural terrain allows it to do-unless we expect them to plant forty-foot tall trees everywhere.
Inside of the church on occasion can be found a make-shift disc-golf store. Complete with new and used plastic, accessories and various other trinkets. Kurt and Andy are great guys and are doing a great job with what they have.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course #1,071

2-4    1/22/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees turns 9 holes into 27. Long open spaces on half the course to really air it out. Water hazards, some rough, 2 wooded holes to provide a mix. Nice tee signs, course board, map, scorecards. Tons of parking. Tees still dirt/woodchip but are framed.
Cons: #3 over the bridge couldn't tell water was there- don't like blind water hazards as a general rule. From the Gold tee the gap to hit is too small/too far from the tee for the typical pro shot to hit half the time.
Last 2 woods holes a bit too tight with illogical lines/fairways.
Other Thoughts: Nice use of otherwise wasted land. Bring your drivers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.