San Ramon, CA 
Old Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: Rock Neurotic Hole #6 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 237ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One Of The More Unique Courses You'll Play!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old Ranch Park is set on a fairly steep hillside next to a pretty busy street. There is a winding sidewalk leading from the street to the top of the park. New vegetation has been planted. As it matures, it will maybe change the dynamics of the course and might also serve as a wind block. Currently, the wind is a major challenge in the course play. The course has these very cool bright orange Mach 5 baskets. I can think of many wooded courses that could use these bright baskets. Navigating the course is currently sketchy at best as you sometime tee off the sidewalks. At other times, the course doesn't flow real well. There are signs that are fairly informative. The # 6 basket is currently in a very treacherous (scary as hell) position, perched at the edge of a steep drop-off. This makes for an extremely scary drive or an even scarier approach or putt especially with swirling winds. # 7 and # 10 both tee off from the same position near the garbage can at the top of the hill. It's faintly marked on the can. # 7 is a short little (175') downhill touch shot while # 10 is a little longer (probably 225') also downhill. Park across the street by the soccer fields and the restrooms.
Cons: The wind greatly adds to the challenge. There were people walking on the course causing us to wait a couple of times before teeing off. Some kind of permanent marking of the tee-off areas on the sidewalks would help on the navigation. Maybe some kind of next tee arrows.
Other Thoughts: Love the baskets! Great look there. Basically a fun course although we were pretty frustrated trying to get through it as first timers. A few navigational aids for us first timers would be greatly appreaciated guys. Some fun throws. Be considerate of the walkers here. Very clean. This course would definitely teach you to play in the wind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice job!

5+    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Great new baskets!
Nice paths
Benches
Water fountains
Easy to find
Warm-up/practice area in soccer field across the street (if unused)
Cons:
Minor quibbles:
Wind can be gusty
A little close to the road
Tees are hard to find at the moment but I hear they're working on it.
Could imagine being in the line of fire if it were busy due to the criss-cross nature of the course.
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Park in the parking lot for the park/soccer field across the street. Bathrooms are there.

Random Thoughts:
Still new to the game but I'm glad to see a new course in the East Bay, particularly one that doesn't have "poison oak" in the description (this is important for us duffers =P ). I also like that it's a fairly wide open course, although in an ironic twist, I lost a disc on the most wide open hole (#9) due to an errant throw and a gust of wind that shoved my disc down the hill to the right and into the bushes/houses, so if anyone finds an orange Innova Leopard, holler at me! In any event, we (my girlfriend and I) had a good time out here and will be back soon and often! (If the course keepers need any help, let me know, otherwise keep up the good work.) Lastly, hello again to the friendly folks that were out there today!

UPDATE 11/23/2009: The tee markers are almost all done and they were working on the remaining tee pads last weekend. Keep up the good work!

UPDATE 03/18/2009: Well, the grass is huge now, pretty much necessitating a spotter and long pants (they mowed some paths, but I say mow the whole thing), and the squirrels/gophers own the hillside, so do watch your step. Your ankle will thank you. The tee markers are up on all holes except #7/#10. I can't tell if they gave up on the tee boxes or just postponed for the winter but they haven't changed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.