Disc Golf Store
San Ramon, CA
Old Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: AthruZ Hole #8 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 357ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good practice course

5+    1/8/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: Burnsy3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of different shots. The fact that it's on a side of a hill, and the wind varies considerably, this is a great practice course if you need to work on a number of different shots.

The wind can get swirly like many ocean courses. Good for practice. A number of different elevated shots...........

If you play in the morning when there is no wind, it's like playing on a different course.

Quiet during the day, and everyone I've encountered is very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Cross crosses with other holes. If there are other groups, and you like to play at a fast pace this could annoy you.

Very muddy after a rain shower. Makes tee boxes cluttered with clumps of mud.

Hard to navigate through if you're new to the course.....

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Local course, but not much more

1    6/8/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great views. This course is perched on the side of a hill, and once you hit the top the vistas are quite gorgeous.
- Good length for newer players - holes aren't excessively short or long (probably close to 300-350 ft/hole)
- Closest course for at least 15-20 minutes in any direction.
Cons: - This course is extremely confusing to navigate. Parallel/crossing runways + being able to see multiple baskets from most tees = great confusion.
- Parking area is slightly detached (~500 ft) from the course.
- This course is a decent local course, but is by no means a "destination" course because of the layout of the course (10 holes, switchbacking up a hill) and moderate hole length.
Other Thoughts: Old Ranch fills a needed niche as a "local" course for people who can't drive to Moraga, Berkeley, or San Jose to play on a regular basis. That said, if I had the time, I'd look instead at playing De La Raza or Golden Gate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Course in the Burbs

1    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: Jahilbert
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1.This course is built in a planned community in an area that is a well landscaped garden area.
2. The baskets are brand new and easily visible from the landscape as they are orange. 3. Great if you are looking for a very quick 10, yes 10, holes.
Cons: 1. Just a switchback up the side of a hill
2. Fairways cross or you are throwing at people who are throwing at you.
3. Parking is inconvenient as you must park across the soccer fields or in a residential area and trudge to the course.
Other Thoughts: The course seems like it was dropped in on top of a garden area. I felt guilty stepping through the well groomed planting areas to the next tees. It isn't very challenging as everything is straightaway.. The only things standing in the way of a par or birdie is a bit of wind or a blind shot or two.

I was in the area on business and stopped here for a break. This is not a destination course so if you are looking for something new or challenging, travel to San Jose or up to Berkeley. It was fun and quick and will be more challenging when the plants grow a little taller.

Finding Holes 7 and 10 were tricky. From the top of the hill, the trash can is labeled "7" and "10". If you face the street, look at your 9 o'clock position and you'll see both 7 (closer) and 10 (further) down the hill.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Up hill battle

2-4    10/4/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 51  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Mach 5 Baskets
-Good variation of holes
-Some tricky shots with the wind

The course climbs up and down a hill that at times can challenge a player with the different degrees of altitude change. The course has signs the let the player know the distance and par for each hole. Most the tees are the sidewalk the goes up the hill and the holes can be seen from most of the tees. I have only played the course in the early afternoon so I have not had a problem with walkers but the flow of the course is nice and can be played in about 30-40 minutes.
Cons: -No markers for holes 7 and 10
-Shots are pretty straight forward with little obstacles
-Wind can be a problem at times
Other Thoughts: Nice little 10 hole course in a houseing track area where you can get a quick game in. I would not go out of my way to play this course but if you are in the bay area it is one of the few courses that is with in range of the east bay.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A course in my "backyard"!

5+    9/9/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: Huk Finn
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: .Brand new Mach V bright orange baskets
.I don't have to get on the freeway to play a round anymore
.More challenging than you would think
.Not crowded by any means
.They thought they could only get 5 baskets in, they did a great job making it a 9 hole though, with the space provided
Cons: .Very small area
.Pretty much no shade
.Pedestrians use the center trail
.Parking is across the street (not a big deal)
Other Thoughts: So the course plays along a hill side and 2 baskets at the top of the hill. As of right now, #1 #3 #4 #6 #8 are marked on the sidewalk. The others are scraped out in dirt. Teepads and signs coming soon. (I'm on the volunteer crew, Mike and Andy are responsible for making this course happen, thanks guys!)
Very windy at times, has changed/improved a part of my game. Hole #3 is the longest, havn't measured but it's gotta be 400+
The baskets are the nicest I've ever played.
The back side of basket #2 has a sticker on it that says 10
That is the last hole of the course 'bonus hole' Inches away from the Roc Ace multiple times.
Shoot from top of the hill, same teepad as #7 by the bench and garbage can.
Every disc I lost here has been returned too.
I play this course 5+ times a week. If your in the area hit me up
Peace.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.