San Ramon, CA 
Old Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: AthruZ Hole #6 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Decent when empty.

5+    6/16/2015   6/18/2015
Review By: osopolare
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.6 Years
Pros: Surprisingly challenging given the distances. The wind and elevation changes makes it interesting.

Clever use of the space in some cases.

Lovely view.

The only course for miles around.

Someone took the time to put the course layout in UDisc. A big help!

Good baskets in good shape.
Cons: Ugh, where to begin.

The course is not laid out or marked to be easily navigated. I was there alone so without UDisc I would have been completely lost.

There's very prickly brush all over the place that can lead to some disc searching adventures.

There was heavy grass and weed growth which while preventing roll-outs also made every throw a searching event even when one knew almost exactly where it landed.

A pedestrian path crisscrosses the course and in fact is used as a teepads. Lots of conflicts with pedestrians if they are present.

Really terrible overlap of holes, fairways and tees.

Some dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: There's a lot to dislike about this course clearly and it would be unplayable on a day with busy walkers and lots of golfers. A real hazard for disc hits.

But... I played it on a quiet afternoon in June with the only golfers being on my card and not too many walkers.

Given all that it was an enjoyable time and I really appreciate the work of whoever built this course.

I sometimes have work nearby and the next time I'm up at that location I will return for an afternoon round.

Old Ranch

5+    5/17/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: smithers
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging. 35-40 min to play nine. Very nice and helpful locals. back nine using same targets and different tee pads. great view
Cons: wind. poor/missing tee signs. can be confusing for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: needs a little work. has potential

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not so good

1    5/19/2015   5/21/2015
Review By: beetlewigs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting terrain - this is on a steepish hillside.
Cons: Very disorganized. I couldn't figure out where to start. Of the 10 holes, I only found 6 or 7. I couldn't tell where I was throwing to most of the time, as a lot of baskets are very close. Maps are by some holes, but they are very poor.
Other Thoughts: Unless you have no other options, skip it. This needs a lot of work. I get the feeling that when it was built it was nice, but it's too rundown.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Poorly kept

1    2/11/2015   2/15/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 0.8 Years
Pros: Good baskets. Nice hole signs. Elevation changes. Good hole distances.
Cons: Long distance from parking to number 1. Hard to follow course. Most tees are just on the sidewalk with a faded line. (Some are just a wooden frame with mud in the middle). Extremely muddy. Boots wouldn't be a bad idea. Long grass and weeds hold moisture. Plus it makes discs hard to find. Too many baskets are on top of hills. (One roll down a hill can put a huge dent in your score).
Other Thoughts: Not a terrible course in the summer time I would guess. If you can you should play Livermore instead.

ZZTop

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 392  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Views from atop the ridge.

Some challenging (runaway) greens.
Cons:
Lots of opportunities to have your disc fade into (or beyond!) the neighbouring fairway - some crossing fairways, too.

Some tees too close to previous baskets or near/amid neighbouring fairways.
Other Thoughts:
Course Zig Zags its way up a moderate slope to the Top of a ridge, where flat hole-9 offers the only window-challenge, needing to go straight through a window early, with a left late to find the basket guarded on nearly all other sides by small trees, The remainder of the holes are primarily open, with the rare bush to throw around or over, the main challenges being: a) the wind; b) controlled fade on the downslope holes, and c) adjusting for the extra "distance" of the upward-sloping holes.

With the map, course was easy enough to navigate. There was no teesign for 7/10 when I played, but it seemed obvious to play form near the bench/trash can next to the path (access to water up there, too!)

If you like your courses open with challenging slopes, give this course a try.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stale and punishing

1    4/7/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It exists.
-Well maintained.
-It exists.
Cons: -Little to no shot variety. Just straight shots the whole way
-Needlessly unforgiving: between the high winds and steep hill, every shot has a chance of random errant rolls, gusts, etc.
-THE HILL: perfect shot, catch an edge, roll 50 feet. Bogey. Lame
-Stacked on itself, you're dodging other discs on nearly every hole.
Other Thoughts: It's great that the city supported a course, but with all the crazy perfect terrain in the area, this is a mind-bogglingly bad location for a course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  San Ramon Disc Course - Update

5+    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: The Furnace King
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good group of guys play regular rounds in the evening starting around 5:30 PM. Epic night rounds for those without a curfew.
Cons: Very windy at times and disc can roll downhill for days. Pedestrians frequent the path through the park. Most know about the disc golf course. Heads up when course is busy - flight paths cross on most holes
Other Thoughts: If you play with one of the regulars we can show you all 18 holes. Did I say 18? I mean 19 holes. We are trying to put together a weekly and monthly tournament so shout out if you want to play. When the sun goes down and wind is not blowing we play Glow Golf. Thanks Geoff for the LED disc lights. Bring some glow sticks for your discs and the baskets if you come out.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the stop

5+    3/14/2013   3/15/2013
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 189  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 21.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Mach 3 baskets, bright orange and numbered
-Parking across the street near the soccer field
-In spite of being on the side of a hill, there are different shots, including two downhill shots, four slightly uphill shots, three that are essentially level, and one up the slope
-Shot distances vary, ranging from 220 ft to almost 400 ft
-There is a good balance of right and left shots and a few that are straight
-Scenic course with great views
-Not many people, either walking or playing disc golf
-Signs are at each tee except for hole 9 and 7/10
-Water fountain at the top of the path
-It takes about 30 min to play, so I went 5 times in a row (3:30 PM start) and only saw some other disc golfers at around 5 PM
Cons:
-Crossing fairways, but if no one is there, not an issue
-Dirt tee pads (holes 2, 5, 7/10 [the same tee]) are somewhat uneven and not well defined. The other tees are on the cement pathway that switchbacks up the park
-On holes 3, 6, and 9 the pin is hidden from the tee
-The nearest bathroom is back at the parking lot near the soccer field
Other Thoughts:
Parking: turn right off of Old Ranch Park Road at the stoplight (Vista Monte Drive) and park next to the soccer field--this is actually where the GPS location indicates. The course is across Old Ranch Park Road--you will see the orange baskets.
Hole 1: The tee is on the cement path, with a sign, and Pin 1 is upslope and in view. A drop off behind it may have tall grass, but the landing area next to the pin is barren.
Hole 2: Tee up the hill from pin #1 a few feet and has a sign. The tee is enclosed by a wooden frame, but the dirt inside was pretty soft from use. Be careful. Pin 2 is across the slope, slightly down hill and there are a few shrubs and young trees in the path of a hyzer drive by a RHBH player.
Hole 3: Tee is back on the cement path, walk back toward tee 1 and you will see the sign. Pin 3 is tucked in the corner of the hill, about 400 ft away. Fairway may have weeds, about ankle-knee high, and only some of them had been hacked down as of March 14, 2013, so a spotter would be good here.
Hole 4: The tee is a walk back from pin 3, and at a switchback in the cement path. Pin 4 is visible, a 350 ft straight, slightly uphill shot. Beware of slope behind the pin.
Hole 5: Tee is dirt next to the sign, and pin 5 is obvious. One of the shorter holes.
Hole 6: Tee is immediately downslope of pin 5 on the cement path and has a sign. This deviates from the original course map posted. I think this sign also shows the rest of the course in terms of tees and pins. Pin 6 cannot be seen from the tee, and is up the slope and on the shoulder of the hill. Cool shot if you can avoid hyzering down the slope. Has the same ground cover and foliage as hole 3, so have a spotter if the weeds are high.
Hole 7: Tee is not signed, but there is a bench and a cement trash-can holder that has faint paint on it indicating tee 7 and 10. The tee is decomposed granite and a depression in the pathway, at the foot of the bench. Pin 7 is slightly hidden whereas pin 10 (really pin 2, same basket) is clearly visible. Just a little putter shot. Clear landing area and an easy birdie.
Hole 8: Tee is cement pathway and there is a sign. Pin 8 is not visible, but is close to pin 4 and is basically a twin of that shot. Again, beware the slope behind the pin. I had one drive disappear all the way down to the cement gutter, about 100 ft past the pin (it must have rolled down the steep slope).
Hole 9: No tee sign, but at the top of the cement pathway there were remnants of apparent tees on the cement (black paint now poorly covered by white paint). I would suggest that after putting out on pin 8, turn back to the pathway, then walk to your right. The top of the hill has a huge flat area covered with wood chips. You will soon see pin 9 in a little copse of oak trees. Make your own tee and blast away.
Hole 10: This is a 'bonus' safari hole, and uses the same tee as hole 7. After finishing at pin 9, walk to the bench on the path and you'll see the trash can with faint paint indicating hole 7/10. Aim at pin 2 and drift a putter gently down the slope and carried by the strong tailwind. It's a fun shot, as long as no one is playing hole 2!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quiet course. Better than people think.

5+    7/5/2014   1/8/2013
Review By: Burnsy3
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Elevated shots. Both uphill and down hill

- Very quiet park

-Beautiful backdrop. Weather is decent

-Wind provides better challenges on holes

-Locals are friendly and helpful

-If you play in the morning when there is no wind, it's like playing on a different course.

-Quiet during the day, and everyone I've encountered is very friendly and helpful.

- Locals have volunteered their time to make various improvements to the course.

-Many tee boxes have been improved for the back 9 holes.
Cons: -Many if not most of the holes cross with one another. If there are other groups, and you like to play at a fast pace this could annoy you.

-Wind can be crazy at times.

-Being that the course is on the side of a hill, disc can sometimes roll down to the bottom.

- A lot of foot traffic at times. Most locals know about the course and are always keeping an eye out for golfers as they pass.

-Very muddy after a rain shower. Makes tee boxes cluttered with clumps of mud.

Hard to navigate through if you're new to the course.....
Other Thoughts: -As it currently stands, this course is probably the nicest that I've seen it over the last few years. Locals have gotten together with the city rec. department to keep improvements happening at this course.

- Even though many people complain about the shot variety at this course, this course reminds me of several course down in Santa Barbara and costal courses. Good place to practice throwing in the wind for sure. The addition to the back 9 holes have helped in that department.

- Playing in the morning versus playing in the evening at this course is like playing two different courses. Wind picks up in the later afternoons. 10-15 mph winds are not uncommon.

- Locals are quite helpful navigating through the back 9 holes. However on busy days with many groups, this is a bad idea as other groups get in the way and slow everyone else down. Fortunately the course is quiet enough for the most part that this doesn't happen as much as people think.

-You can look for new information and course updates on Facebook by going to "San Ramon Disc Golf".

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Low expectations

1    11/23/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 69  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I applaud whoever thought to place a course in the midst of suburbia; this course is "better than nothing". If the designer only had one side of a hill to work with, then i admire how tough that must have been. The baskets are nice, there appears to be low usage, and once you figure out the layout you could play this in 30 minutes during lunch or after work. Just bring mids and putters for this course. Good course to work on upshots and down shots. Nice view from the top!
Cons: 4 baskets are in view from any tee, in all directions, so navigation for a first timer is confusing. The tee signs don't really help at all, and i intuitively teed off in the wrong direction a couple of times. Pedestrians and fellow DG'ers would constantly be at risk if anyone was on the course (alot of criss-crossing). Hillside was very muddy, tee-boxes not defined. If you played one hole (300-350 straight), then you've pretty much played them all. Very little shot variety.
Other Thoughts: With so much beautiful trees, hills and scenery in this area, you would think they could put together a first rate course. But, I think real estate is more valuable for homes than DG Courses, so it's just the reality of things.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.