San Ramon, CA 
Old Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: Rock Neurotic Hole #6 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Lots of potential in quiet park

2-4    10/17/2010   7/23/2011
Review By: MudDisk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quiet setting in suburban park;
Relatively empty most of the time;
Pretty new and unused
Cons: Navigation is a chore the first few times you play;
Very few signs placed in key locations;
No tee pads;
The path leading through the park is used as tee for like 3 different holes;
Other Thoughts: Was excited to find this course in close proximity to my work location. It has a lot of potential if a local group takes it under their wing to maintain and add a few upgrades. Given the user-friendly nature of San Ramon Parks and Rec it would be easy to partner with them to add tee pads and signage. This could be a much better course than it is. It is not neglected like some courses; it just needs to be finished. Good for a quick round after work and a great project for some enterprising volunteers or Eagle scouts.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Local course, but not much more

1    6/8/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great views. This course is perched on the side of a hill, and once you hit the top the vistas are quite gorgeous.
- Good length for newer players - holes aren't excessively short or long (probably close to 300-350 ft/hole)
- Closest course for at least 15-20 minutes in any direction.
Cons: - This course is extremely confusing to navigate. Parallel/crossing runways + being able to see multiple baskets from most tees = great confusion.
- Parking area is slightly detached (~500 ft) from the course.
- This course is a decent local course, but is by no means a "destination" course because of the layout of the course (10 holes, switchbacking up a hill) and moderate hole length.
Other Thoughts: Old Ranch fills a needed niche as a "local" course for people who can't drive to Moraga, Berkeley, or San Jose to play on a regular basis. That said, if I had the time, I'd look instead at playing De La Raza or Golden Gate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/30/2010   3/23/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 638  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 16.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Old Ranch has a couple of really cool positives going for it, first is the course location which is on a nice grassy hillside overlooking the small city below. Views from up top are really beautiful! If I had to select a practice basket for putting on, hole 8 would be it - so cool to look down on the town with all of the burnt-red roofs and the hillsides further in the distance. Other than the view, the course itself utilizes what space is available quite well incorporating uphill/downhill/sidehill holes to make up for the lack of any meaningful tree coverage. The orange powercoated baskets also add to the uniqueness of the course and they really stand out against the green grass and blue skies. Experienced players won't find much here but beginners will appreciate the opportunity to play with some elevation and the wind blowing over the relatively open space of the course.
Cons: While there are nice tee signs available on most holes, the course is still difficult to navigate for the first-time player because of all of the switchbacks and also simply because so many baskets are in view at any given time. Once you figure out the layout, I'd expect the course is a breeze to play though. As other reviewers have mentioned, you have to park quite a ways away from the actual start of the course and walk back and forth up and over the hill. When we visited, we actually accidentally parked across the street near the soccer fields and walked over after seeing the awesome orange candy coated baskets.
Other Thoughts: Although I've only rated it a '1', this course is a nice change of scenery for the veteran course bagger-type who will appreciate the unique venue on top of the hill with the beautiful view of the city. Newer players also will likely enjoy getting to play on a seriously hilly course with little chance for losing discs. Veteran competitive golfers will probably want to mosey on down to some of the more traditional championship courses in the area such as Golden Gate.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

1    1/23/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're just learning the sport of disc golf, then this is the course for you... Beautiful view of the mountains and all baskets are within a fairly reasonable distance with no trees in the way... #9 is my favorite basket because it's set up just like a disc golf course should be set up...
Cons: Not all of the tees are marked to show where you should start off.. Most of them are along the walkway which is not a true set up of a disc golf course... This is a very hilly park so if your disc starts rolling, you better hope it stops somewhere other than near the street..
Other Thoughts: Coming from Texas and having played at many courses in the past, this is my first course to play upon moving to California.. I look forward to coming here more often since it's closer to where I live and to experience other parks...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course in the Burbs

1    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: Jahilbert
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1.This course is built in a planned community in an area that is a well landscaped garden area.
2. The baskets are brand new and easily visible from the landscape as they are orange. 3. Great if you are looking for a very quick 10, yes 10, holes.
Cons: 1. Just a switchback up the side of a hill
2. Fairways cross or you are throwing at people who are throwing at you.
3. Parking is inconvenient as you must park across the soccer fields or in a residential area and trudge to the course.
Other Thoughts: The course seems like it was dropped in on top of a garden area. I felt guilty stepping through the well groomed planting areas to the next tees. It isn't very challenging as everything is straightaway.. The only things standing in the way of a par or birdie is a bit of wind or a blind shot or two.

I was in the area on business and stopped here for a break. This is not a destination course so if you are looking for something new or challenging, travel to San Jose or up to Berkeley. It was fun and quick and will be more challenging when the plants grow a little taller.

Finding Holes 7 and 10 were tricky. From the top of the hill, the trash can is labeled "7" and "10". If you face the street, look at your 9 o'clock position and you'll see both 7 (closer) and 10 (further) down the hill.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Up hill battle

2-4    10/4/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Mach 5 Baskets
-Good variation of holes
-Some tricky shots with the wind

The course climbs up and down a hill that at times can challenge a player with the different degrees of altitude change. The course has signs the let the player know the distance and par for each hole. Most the tees are the sidewalk the goes up the hill and the holes can be seen from most of the tees. I have only played the course in the early afternoon so I have not had a problem with walkers but the flow of the course is nice and can be played in about 30-40 minutes.
Cons: -No markers for holes 7 and 10
-Shots are pretty straight forward with little obstacles
-Wind can be a problem at times
Other Thoughts: Nice little 10 hole course in a houseing track area where you can get a quick game in. I would not go out of my way to play this course but if you are in the bay area it is one of the few courses that is with in range of the east bay.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One Of The More Unique Courses You'll Play!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 719  Reviewed: 670  Exp: 37.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old Ranch Park is set on a fairly steep hillside next to a pretty busy street. There is a winding sidewalk leading from the street to the top of the park. New vegetation has been planted. As it matures, it will maybe change the dynamics of the course and might also serve as a wind block. Currently, the wind is a major challenge in the course play. The course has these very cool bright orange Mach 5 baskets. I can think of many wooded courses that could use these bright baskets. Navigating the course is currently sketchy at best as you sometime tee off the sidewalks. At other times, the course doesn't flow real well. There are signs that are fairly informative. The # 6 basket is currently in a very treacherous (scary as hell) position, perched at the edge of a steep drop-off. This makes for an extremely scary drive or an even scarier approach or putt especially with swirling winds. # 7 and # 10 both tee off from the same position near the garbage can at the top of the hill. It's faintly marked on the can. # 7 is a short little (175') downhill touch shot while # 10 is a little longer (probably 225') also downhill. Park across the street by the soccer fields and the restrooms.
Cons: The wind greatly adds to the challenge. There were people walking on the course causing us to wait a couple of times before teeing off. Some kind of permanent marking of the tee-off areas on the sidewalks would help on the navigation. Maybe some kind of next tee arrows.
Other Thoughts: Love the baskets! Great look there. Basically a fun course although we were pretty frustrated trying to get through it as first timers. A few navigational aids for us first timers would be greatly appreaciated guys. Some fun throws. Be considerate of the walkers here. Very clean. This course would definitely teach you to play in the wind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good 'ol Ranch

5+    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super close to home. Elevation changes and prevailing wind makes for rewarding pars & birdies. Friendly local players, and not too busy. Makes great use of available space
Only takes 45 minutes to play 10 holes. The prevailing wind here has surely improved my putting, approach shots, and tomahawk drives.
Cons: The weeds can get a bit long and high in the late winter, but usually gets mowed in the spring. Wind & potential for roll-aways can be tough at times for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I'll always have a special place in my bag for this course because it accidently introduced me to disc golf while checking out the "Summit View Trail". Awesome burn spot behind the bush next to #5 teebox. Holes #5 & #7 are great birdie/ace opps. Getting pars on #3 & #6 are really good. Update: The course is in great shape right now, with some definition coming in after the recent mowing.
=================
Uniqueness: A- (built on a sidehill lie; great use of limited space & layout)
Difficulty: B+ (constant wind; high potential for roll-aways)
Fun Factor: B (elevation changes; variety of drives)
Aesthetics: B (nice views; clean; sweet orange baskets)
---------------------
Overall: B+

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course in Development

1    8/23/2009   3/23/2010
Review By: Natedog565
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good start to a newer course
Elevation changes / wrapping around a hill
Nice baskets
Nice park amenities - parking, benches, bathroom, water fountains, etc...
Nice views
Cons: No obstructions... see the pictures in the other reviews.

Close to the road on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through on 580 or 680 you'll want to skip this course - that's the bottom line and the reason I wrote this review.

I don't want to knock any disc golf course, because I think it's fantastic that people got together to build it. However, the course needs more work. I think with some fast growing bushes/trees near the baskets this could be a nice course in a few years. As it stands, I would play it if I were a local.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Test your wind game

1    10/27/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: sandman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice pitch and putt, I had a much more extensive review, but this site crapped me out and dumped it all, LAME-O,
nice baskets, concrete pathway,free parking bathrooms across the street, low ground cover makes it easier to find disc.
newer benches etc...
Cons: short, if not windy would be an easy pitch and putt, but wind with hill adds difficulty
Other Thoughts: if other land is useable for DG, it would be good to make a longer 9 hole than try to fit 18 shorties on that land, if you make it longer, they will come.

Video on youtube.com search "sundaydoubles"
WHY REMOVE VID LINKS??? brilliant, who wants to actually SEE the course... frickin brainiac runnin this thing...LOL
Why not take down the course Map I made while your at it, wouldn't want too much info out there

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.