San Ramon, CA 
Old Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: AthruZ Hole #6 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Sloping Along

1    10/9/2016   10/12/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 62  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: Old Ranch Parks plays along a moderately sloping hill side and has wonderful views of Mount Diablo in the backdrop. (Best view from hole 8 basket.). The shrubs and plants within the park are also well manicured and offer some of the few obstacles that will shape your driving decisions.
- There is moderate amount of elevation to deal with as the course plays along the hill and will ultimately dictate your shot selection. If you're a one trick pony thrower, you will be severely handicapped.
- There are a couple of nice picnic tables along fairway 8. Which unfortunately probably gets unused as they're in the path of fire.
- This course would be great for 1 disc beginners, as there is really no chance to lose a disc to ruin their day.
- Most holes have adequate hole signage with directional ques to the next tee area.
- The baskets are in great shape, unfortunately a typical comment when you quickly run out of good things to say about a course.
Cons: There are numerous issues with Old Ranch Park.
- First I'll mention the hole spacing. There are several holes that cross paths with other holes. In addition, several tee areas are unprotected and are within striking distance of other baskets.
- There is a problem with blind shots that run along well traveled walking paths. My group almost nailed an unsuspecting park patron. Please be sure to double-check for walkers and joggers or use spotters.
- Navigation can be an issue as there is no course map. (The course map link on DGCR is accurate as of this review) Two tee signs are missing. Holes 7 and 9. Hole 7 has a black sharpie marking on a garbage can and crosses 6 fairway down the slope. Hole 9 tee is seemingly obvious with a sunken area surrounded by wood lumber. Although, no markings were observed on the lumber.
- Hole 10 is not marked at all, seems to be a local alternate hole. It uses 7 tee and 3 basket. For this reason, I feel that the course should really be relabeled as 9 holes, and not 10. On a side note, 10 was actually one of the most fun holes to play as it was the most aggressive downhill shot. Plus you have to head that way anyways to get to your car.
- Speaking of which, the parking is located across the street. Not a huge issue, but I generally like to finish a course by my car.
- The holes themselves lack uniqueness. There are very few trees in the park that guard pin placements. Most are just wide open with hole 9 being thee exception. There are no doglegs, no par 4s or 5s, no water elements, no driving windows to split, only one hole with a bit of length. (394). I wish the designer had made a couple of holes straight down and straight up the slope to mix it up a bit.
- alot of the holes, due to slope by pin placements, bring into play the death role. That is when your disc catches an edge and rolls way down the hole. Our group had one such occurrence on hole 6 where my friend hit the basket and then played his next shot a 100 feet away.
- the tee boxes are slightly below average. They reuse the walking path for most holes with the rest being dirt. Other than tee 1, all the holes are unshaded. None of the holes have seating at the tee box.
- During my visit, there was an overabundance of grass burrs. Not sure if this is typical for this part of California but I'm glad I wore pants.
Other Thoughts: Regardless of all the cons mentioned above, I truly did enjoy my first California disc golf experience.

1    5/15/2016   5/16/2016
Review By: Pip123
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2016
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Not crowded nice. Nice Elevation changes it is a open corse not a lot of obstacles to hit
Cons: Hole 3 is a supper long hole you need a big arm to get par if you don't have a big arm you won't get par. Hard to find some of the sings for some of the holes

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of baskets

2-4    8/21/2015   8/26/2015
Review By: Louis4357
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Never crowded
Cons: No real tee pad for any of the holes
On a side of a hill
Lots of dried, overgrown weeds
Holes aren't spaced out very well; they overlap a lot.
Other Thoughts: If someone randomly dropped baskets on a side of a hill, it would be called Old Ranch Park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent when empty.

5+    6/16/2015   6/18/2015
Review By: osopolare
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Surprisingly challenging given the distances. The wind and elevation changes makes it interesting.

Clever use of the space in some cases.

Lovely view.

The only course for miles around.

Someone took the time to put the course layout in UDisc. A big help!

Good baskets in good shape.
Cons: Ugh, where to begin.

The course is not laid out or marked to be easily navigated. I was there alone so without UDisc I would have been completely lost.

There's very prickly brush all over the place that can lead to some disc searching adventures.

There was heavy grass and weed growth which while preventing roll-outs also made every throw a searching event even when one knew almost exactly where it landed.

A pedestrian path crisscrosses the course and in fact is used as a teepads. Lots of conflicts with pedestrians if they are present.

Really terrible overlap of holes, fairways and tees.

Some dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: There's a lot to dislike about this course clearly and it would be unplayable on a day with busy walkers and lots of golfers. A real hazard for disc hits.

But... I played it on a quiet afternoon in June with the only golfers being on my card and not too many walkers.

Given all that it was an enjoyable time and I really appreciate the work of whoever built this course.

I sometimes have work nearby and the next time I'm up at that location I will return for an afternoon round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Old Ranch

5+    5/17/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: smithers
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: challenging. 35-40 min to play nine. Very nice and helpful locals. back nine using same targets and different tee pads. great view
Cons: wind. poor/missing tee signs. can be confusing for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: needs a little work. has potential

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not so good

1    5/19/2015   5/21/2015
Review By: beetlewigs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting terrain - this is on a steepish hillside.
Cons: Very disorganized. I couldn't figure out where to start. Of the 10 holes, I only found 6 or 7. I couldn't tell where I was throwing to most of the time, as a lot of baskets are very close. Maps are by some holes, but they are very poor.
Other Thoughts: Unless you have no other options, skip it. This needs a lot of work. I get the feeling that when it was built it was nice, but it's too rundown.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Poorly kept

1    2/11/2015   2/15/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 61  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets. Nice hole signs. Elevation changes. Good hole distances.
Cons: Long distance from parking to number 1. Hard to follow course. Most tees are just on the sidewalk with a faded line. (Some are just a wooden frame with mud in the middle). Extremely muddy. Boots wouldn't be a bad idea. Long grass and weeds hold moisture. Plus it makes discs hard to find. Too many baskets are on top of hills. (One roll down a hill can put a huge dent in your score).
Other Thoughts: Not a terrible course in the summer time I would guess. If you can you should play Livermore instead.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 446  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Views from atop the ridge.

Some challenging (runaway) greens.
Lots of opportunities to have your disc fade into (or beyond!) the neighbouring fairway - some crossing fairways, too.

Some tees too close to previous baskets or near/amid neighbouring fairways.
Other Thoughts:
Course Zig Zags its way up a moderate slope to the Top of a ridge, where flat hole-9 offers the only window-challenge, needing to go straight through a window early, with a left late to find the basket guarded on nearly all other sides by small trees, The remainder of the holes are primarily open, with the rare bush to throw around or over, the main challenges being: a) the wind; b) controlled fade on the downslope holes, and c) adjusting for the extra "distance" of the upward-sloping holes.

With the map, course was easy enough to navigate. There was no teesign for 7/10 when I played, but it seemed obvious to play form near the bench/trash can next to the path (access to water up there, too!)

If you like your courses open with challenging slopes, give this course a try.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stale and punishing

1    4/7/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It exists.
-Well maintained.
-It exists.
Cons: -Little to no shot variety. Just straight shots the whole way
-Needlessly unforgiving: between the high winds and steep hill, every shot has a chance of random errant rolls, gusts, etc.
-THE HILL: perfect shot, catch an edge, roll 50 feet. Bogey. Lame
-Stacked on itself, you're dodging other discs on nearly every hole.
Other Thoughts: It's great that the city supported a course, but with all the crazy perfect terrain in the area, this is a mind-bogglingly bad location for a course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  San Ramon Disc Course - Update

5+    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: The Furnace King
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good group of guys play regular rounds in the evening starting around 5:30 PM. Epic night rounds for those without a curfew.
Cons: Very windy at times and disc can roll downhill for days. Pedestrians frequent the path through the park. Most know about the disc golf course. Heads up when course is busy - flight paths cross on most holes
Other Thoughts: If you play with one of the regulars we can show you all 18 holes. Did I say 18? I mean 19 holes. We are trying to put together a weekly and monthly tournament so shout out if you want to play. When the sun goes down and wind is not blowing we play Glow Golf. Thanks Geoff for the LED disc lights. Bring some glow sticks for your discs and the baskets if you come out.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.