San Ramon, CA 
Old Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: AthruZ Hole #6 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 237ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Course in the Burbs

1    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: Jahilbert
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1.This course is built in a planned community in an area that is a well landscaped garden area.
2. The baskets are brand new and easily visible from the landscape as they are orange. 3. Great if you are looking for a very quick 10, yes 10, holes.
Cons: 1. Just a switchback up the side of a hill
2. Fairways cross or you are throwing at people who are throwing at you.
3. Parking is inconvenient as you must park across the soccer fields or in a residential area and trudge to the course.
Other Thoughts: The course seems like it was dropped in on top of a garden area. I felt guilty stepping through the well groomed planting areas to the next tees. It isn't very challenging as everything is straightaway.. The only things standing in the way of a par or birdie is a bit of wind or a blind shot or two.

I was in the area on business and stopped here for a break. This is not a destination course so if you are looking for something new or challenging, travel to San Jose or up to Berkeley. It was fun and quick and will be more challenging when the plants grow a little taller.

Finding Holes 7 and 10 were tricky. From the top of the hill, the trash can is labeled "7" and "10". If you face the street, look at your 9 o'clock position and you'll see both 7 (closer) and 10 (further) down the hill.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Up hill battle

2-4    10/4/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 51  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Mach 5 Baskets
-Good variation of holes
-Some tricky shots with the wind

The course climbs up and down a hill that at times can challenge a player with the different degrees of altitude change. The course has signs the let the player know the distance and par for each hole. Most the tees are the sidewalk the goes up the hill and the holes can be seen from most of the tees. I have only played the course in the early afternoon so I have not had a problem with walkers but the flow of the course is nice and can be played in about 30-40 minutes.
Cons: -No markers for holes 7 and 10
-Shots are pretty straight forward with little obstacles
-Wind can be a problem at times
Other Thoughts: Nice little 10 hole course in a houseing track area where you can get a quick game in. I would not go out of my way to play this course but if you are in the bay area it is one of the few courses that is with in range of the east bay.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One Of The More Unique Courses You'll Play!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 613  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old Ranch Park is set on a fairly steep hillside next to a pretty busy street. There is a winding sidewalk leading from the street to the top of the park. New vegetation has been planted. As it matures, it will maybe change the dynamics of the course and might also serve as a wind block. Currently, the wind is a major challenge in the course play. The course has these very cool bright orange Mach 5 baskets. I can think of many wooded courses that could use these bright baskets. Navigating the course is currently sketchy at best as you sometime tee off the sidewalks. At other times, the course doesn't flow real well. There are signs that are fairly informative. The # 6 basket is currently in a very treacherous (scary as hell) position, perched at the edge of a steep drop-off. This makes for an extremely scary drive or an even scarier approach or putt especially with swirling winds. # 7 and # 10 both tee off from the same position near the garbage can at the top of the hill. It's faintly marked on the can. # 7 is a short little (175') downhill touch shot while # 10 is a little longer (probably 225') also downhill. Park across the street by the soccer fields and the restrooms.
Cons: The wind greatly adds to the challenge. There were people walking on the course causing us to wait a couple of times before teeing off. Some kind of permanent marking of the tee-off areas on the sidewalks would help on the navigation. Maybe some kind of next tee arrows.
Other Thoughts: Love the baskets! Great look there. Basically a fun course although we were pretty frustrated trying to get through it as first timers. A few navigational aids for us first timers would be greatly appreaciated guys. Some fun throws. Be considerate of the walkers here. Very clean. This course would definitely teach you to play in the wind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good 'ol Ranch

5+    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super close to home. Elevation changes and prevailing wind makes for rewarding pars & birdies. Friendly local players, and not too busy. Makes great use of available space
Only takes 45 minutes to play 10 holes. The prevailing wind here has surely improved my putting, approach shots, and tomahawk drives.
Cons: The weeds can get a bit long and high in the late winter, but usually gets mowed in the spring. Wind & potential for roll-aways can be tough at times for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I'll always have a special place in my bag for this course because it accidently introduced me to disc golf while checking out the "Summit View Trail". Awesome burn spot behind the bush next to #5 teebox. Holes #5 & #7 are great birdie/ace opps. Getting pars on #3 & #6 are really good. Update: The course is in great shape right now, with some definition coming in after the recent mowing.
=================
Uniqueness: A- (built on a sidehill lie; great use of limited space & layout)
Difficulty: B+ (constant wind; high potential for roll-aways)
Fun Factor: B (elevation changes; variety of drives)
Aesthetics: B (nice views; clean; sweet orange baskets)
---------------------
Overall: B+

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course in Development

1    8/23/2009   3/23/2010
Review By: Natedog565
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good start to a newer course
Elevation changes / wrapping around a hill
Nice baskets
Nice park amenities - parking, benches, bathroom, water fountains, etc...
Nice views
Cons: No obstructions... see the pictures in the other reviews.

Close to the road on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through on 580 or 680 you'll want to skip this course - that's the bottom line and the reason I wrote this review.

I don't want to knock any disc golf course, because I think it's fantastic that people got together to build it. However, the course needs more work. I think with some fast growing bushes/trees near the baskets this could be a nice course in a few years. As it stands, I would play it if I were a local.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Test your wind game

1    10/27/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: sandman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice pitch and putt, I had a much more extensive review, but this site crapped me out and dumped it all, LAME-O,
nice baskets, concrete pathway,free parking bathrooms across the street, low ground cover makes it easier to find disc.
newer benches etc...
Cons: short, if not windy would be an easy pitch and putt, but wind with hill adds difficulty
Other Thoughts: if other land is useable for DG, it would be good to make a longer 9 hole than try to fit 18 shorties on that land, if you make it longer, they will come.

Video on youtube.com search "sundaydoubles"
WHY REMOVE VID LINKS??? brilliant, who wants to actually SEE the course... frickin brainiac runnin this thing...LOL
Why not take down the course Map I made while your at it, wouldn't want too much info out there

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice job!

5+    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Great new baskets!
Nice paths
Benches
Water fountains
Easy to find
Warm-up/practice area in soccer field across the street (if unused)
Cons:
Minor quibbles:
Wind can be gusty
A little close to the road
Tees are hard to find at the moment but I hear they're working on it.
Could imagine being in the line of fire if it were busy due to the criss-cross nature of the course.
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Park in the parking lot for the park/soccer field across the street. Bathrooms are there.

Random Thoughts:
Still new to the game but I'm glad to see a new course in the East Bay, particularly one that doesn't have "poison oak" in the description (this is important for us duffers =P ). I also like that it's a fairly wide open course, although in an ironic twist, I lost a disc on the most wide open hole (#9) due to an errant throw and a gust of wind that shoved my disc down the hill to the right and into the bushes/houses, so if anyone finds an orange Innova Leopard, holler at me! In any event, we (my girlfriend and I) had a good time out here and will be back soon and often! (If the course keepers need any help, let me know, otherwise keep up the good work.) Lastly, hello again to the friendly folks that were out there today!

UPDATE 11/23/2009: The tee markers are almost all done and they were working on the remaining tee pads last weekend. Keep up the good work!

UPDATE 03/18/2009: Well, the grass is huge now, pretty much necessitating a spotter and long pants (they mowed some paths, but I say mow the whole thing), and the squirrels/gophers own the hillside, so do watch your step. Your ankle will thank you. The tee markers are up on all holes except #7/#10. I can't tell if they gave up on the tee boxes or just postponed for the winter but they haven't changed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Close to Home

5+    9/25/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: sgraykowski
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find
nice new baskets
fantastic views: http://picasaweb.google.com/s...hParkDiscGolf#
very nice and clean park
Cons: No Tees yet
walking path through course puts hikers in the way
All except 1 shot on a hillside
Gofer holes - and snakes to go with them
Other Thoughts: I can see that I'll use this park often as it is close to where I live. I also see a ton more room to expand this into an 18 holer but the path going through the middle is very awkward. I saw a small gofer snake up there today but that was actually pretty cool. Take a camera if you go because it has a great view of the valley and of mt Diablo.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A course in my "backyard"!

5+    9/9/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: Huk Finn
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: .Brand new Mach V bright orange baskets
.I don't have to get on the freeway to play a round anymore
.More challenging than you would think
.Not crowded by any means
.They thought they could only get 5 baskets in, they did a great job making it a 9 hole though, with the space provided
Cons: .Very small area
.Pretty much no shade
.Pedestrians use the center trail
.Parking is across the street (not a big deal)
Other Thoughts: So the course plays along a hill side and 2 baskets at the top of the hill. As of right now, #1 #3 #4 #6 #8 are marked on the sidewalk. The others are scraped out in dirt. Teepads and signs coming soon. (I'm on the volunteer crew, Mike and Andy are responsible for making this course happen, thanks guys!)
Very windy at times, has changed/improved a part of my game. Hole #3 is the longest, havn't measured but it's gotta be 400+
The baskets are the nicest I've ever played.
The back side of basket #2 has a sticker on it that says 10
That is the last hole of the course 'bonus hole' Inches away from the Roc Ace multiple times.
Shoot from top of the hill, same teepad as #7 by the bench and garbage can.
Every disc I lost here has been returned too.
I play this course 5+ times a week. If your in the area hit me up
Peace.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.