Winston-Salem, NC 
Horizons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    5/5/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good distance, not too challenging (a couple holes are a little bit difficult, not too shabby though).
Great for players on an intermediate skill level. Hole 1 is a good opener. I hit the basket on the first shot, finished up the course with a 1 over.
Cons: Holes a little too close together.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 181  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape
Scenic setting
Easy to play
Mostly open shots to basket
Plenty of ace-runs
Fun to play
Cons: 2-step concrete pads
Several baskets on edge of parking lot
Short holes
Other Thoughts: I was traveling and running out of light so I dashed to this course. Thanks to 3OrangeWhips who gave me directions while missing the Colts/Jets game. After reading other posts, I see this is NC's first course - so playing on a historic course adds to the enjoyment.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Confidence Builder

5+    11/23/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: hycard
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open course for learning the basics but still fun for intermediate players to run at the chains. Family friendly environment.

Variety of players from kids to senior citizen; family groups to advanced players.

Scorecard / map available at teepad #1 but map is not needed - above average signage allows for easy navigation.
Cons: Short course.
Other Thoughts: Course well maintained - restrooms and amenities for the whole family. Dogwalking park across the street.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Horizons Park

5+    11/26/2016   8/21/2008
Review By: inscho
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2016
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in Rural Hall/Winston-Salem area. The park is smaller than most but offers a refreshing view of Sauratown and Pilot Mountain. The course has some short holes but to get through trees in the middle, you need to be accurate. A lot of ace run opportunities.

-Fairly easy to navigate and a good course for family play or leisure play. A bit more challenging on some windy days, but still easy to shoot under par.
-Course is maintained better than most courses I've seen.
-New erosion control and grass planted throughout the middle of the course.
-Trash cans at various holes.
-New tee pads on Holes 13 and 14 look great.
-New baskets installed in 2012
Cons: -Some pin positions a little to close to parking lot.
-Very short tee pads.
-The intimidating trees lining the right side of the biggest hole of the course (Hole 12) from what I was told by locals, were removed due to complaints of poison oak. I feel this brought crosswinds into play but simplified the hole, overall.

EDIT: Since this write up, Horizons Park has been outfitted with brand new baskets that catch much better.
Other Thoughts: One of the oldest courses in North Carolina. Barn comes into play on hole 14. The service road and beyond plays as O.B. on the back 9.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.