Winston-Salem, NC 
Horizons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

1    4/7/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: JGro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: I arrived to find a freshly mowed beautiful park with new baskets.  There was plenty of parking as the course was deserted, on a sunny 70 degree Saturday afternoon no less!  I was thankful to be the only one there because I could play a leisurely round without fearing errant discs.  Most of the holes really are all over each other.  There is a *huge* meadow behind the course that is just begging for some holes to be expanded out that way.  I don't know if that idea is even possible, but it would address what is clearly the course's biggest weakness.  The course was well marked, although I thought some of the tee signs were situated too close to the tee box for right-hand-backhand throwers like me.  I'll definitely be back to play again, especially considering the nearby playground and picnic shelters for the family. 

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

5+    3/2/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate this course, nice mix of open shots and wooded areas. Box with scorecards at 1st tee is a plus. Course winds back to the parking lot where bathrooms and trashcans are located. Brand new Discatcher baskets had just been installed the day before I played this last week ! YAY!
Cons: Some of the holes are a bit close, but the tee markers do a good job of showing you where the next basket is.
Other Thoughts: I first began playing back in '85, and this is the course I played regularly as I lived in WS at that time. It is a beautiful course, though with holes ranging from 153 to 280 feet it's a bit short for more experienced players, but great for beginners. They have opened up a large area on the back side and there is a big OB area, but now it's not overgrown and easier to find errant throws. This is a beautiful park, and the disc golf course is not violated by any other park use areas.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    9/1/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: Field Mouse
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of space.
Great for learning the potential of putters/mid-range discs.
It's all basically flat right now, so you can play several rounds without wearing yourself out.
Cons: Really poor upkeep with the tee-boxes and baskets. I think they repaint the baskets once a year, but I don't think they care much about the otherwise.
Short tee boxes. I frequently stand beside the box to tee off so that I don't trip stepping up onto the concrete.
Short holes. I'm by no means a pro, or even the strongest arm out there, but I park or overthrow most of the holes even with my mid-ranges.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and it has a lot of potential. I've heard that this is the oldest course in NC, and that's great, but there is now room for improvement. There is a lot of unused land behind the 11th an 12th holes that could be used to add in a couple of really great distance holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

1    8/28/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 53  Reviewed: 40
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Park is completely dedicated to disc golf
- The course goes back to the parking lot several times, so you can grab water, etc. mid-round
- Park is in pristine condition - they are proud of the park, and it shows.
- This park is an atypical NC park - it's basically wide open (as opposed to lots of trees!), but with enough mature trees to provide shade throughout alot of the round.
Cons: - The holes a somewhat close together, so a slightly errant throw can put you in another's fairway.
- The holes are a little short, so pars are very achievable (not that this is bad, but
- It was really crowded, we played on Sunday afternoon and there were probably 10-12 groups playing.
Other Thoughts: - I play with and 9 and 11 year old daughters (and a 5 yr old for a hole or two). This course was absolutely perfect for them - they could see the tee on every hole, and they were even able to par a few of them. Other courses where holes are > 300 ft, I'm on the "green" in two, and it takes them 5-6 shots to get close. It was crowded, but while waiting to tee on hole #9, we grabbed water, cookies, etc. There were even trash cans two holes later to dispose of the empties properly. This course is a little ways out of the way, but well worth it for the historically value (mentioned in other reviews). If you have young, beginning golfers, this is a MUST. If you are seasoned, this would be a course where the second round you could probably get a good line on several aces.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park, Very short Pitch and Putt

5+    8/5/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: NCSU2002
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very Clean, well kept up park
Easy to navigate with signs and scorecards
Many ace opportunities
Hard to lose a disc here
Great beginner course
Cons: All holes are short (under 300')
Very little in the way of elevation changes
Course is kind of tightly arranged and drives on several holes can reach the other tees
Other Thoughts: Nice short, open beginner course, easy to find and well kept up. I wish it was a little more spread out and challenging.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a midrange and a putter

5+    7/8/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a good course for high intermediate, advanced, and pros to get some practice throwing midrange and putters off of the tee.

The course is kept in great shape and there are very few areas that show signs of errosion. These areas are generally at the back of a few teepads.

There are tee signs which shows the distance and the route to the basket. Flow from one teepad to the next is pretty obvious.

There is a box with scorecards at the first tee.

This can be a good beginner's course if...
Cons: They need to do something about the baskets. These are Mach I baskets with an additional set of chains added. The chains are very stiff and it kicks a lot of solid putts out. The way the second layer of chains were added also tends to kick good putts out as well.

The baskets are also lower to the ground which takes a while to get use to.

Other Thoughts: The longest hole by footage 300 ft and it is slightly downhill which means it plays closer to 270. The following hole is 280 feet uphill but it plays as if it is closer to 300. There is enough land near these holes that the park owns and is not using that could be used to make these 2 holes a little longer and more challenging.

There is an alternate set up that is used in some tournaments. This alternate setup is much better than the original course and it is sad that the alternate course is not used more.

I live close to this course, but would prefer to drive a little farther to get to better courses. I would only come out and play this course if I needed to work on throwing midrange discs and putters.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: mattpoin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quite a beautiful area. In a clean park, and easy to find. Some interesting holes, with a good mix of difficulties. The barn (#14) is a fun challenge. Tees are well-managed, and signage is obvious and clear.
Cons: Gets heavy traffic at times. If you overthrow some baskets, you risk getting your disc crunched by cars. Some baskets are right on top of each other, and it's difficult to know which is yours.
Other Thoughts: Designers were generous with the strokes--this could have easily been a course of all par 3s.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good distance, not too challenging (a couple holes are a little bit difficult, not too shabby though).
Great for players on an intermediate skill level. Hole 1 is a good opener. I hit the basket on the first shot, finished up the course with a 1 over.
Cons: Holes a little too close together.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    6/5/2009   9/5/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a really beautiful course. It is set in a mostly-open field/meadow. It has scorecards and a map on the course. Navigation is easy. Good course for beginners. Good signage, great navigation. They did all they could with the land and space available. Minimal risk of losing discs. I played this course when my max distance was about 250', still manged to shoot way under par, and I had a blast.
Cons: Not really challenging. Short tees. Short holes. Baskets are a little close to the next tee, so just keep a heads-up. Other than that, there's not a lot to say that's bad. Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: For me, this was a fun course for my skill level. I'm sure that I would get tired of it if I played it a lot. Bathrooms on site. All holes are under 300'. I think it's the oldest course in the state and it shows. The holes cannot stand up to modern distance drivers and disc technology, but don't let that stop you. If you want to get someone hooked on the game, start here. Bring a mid-range and a putter and cut loose.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Mando
Played: 113  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Along with Bull Run in Va, Horizons Park is the best course I've seen to introduce someone to disc golf. It is also the oldest course in NC, so it has some historical significance, but without the erosion that you commonly see on old courses. The combo of well-maintained grass and huge trees scattered around paint an aethestically pleasing picture. Totally relaxing disc golf.
Cons: As your game improves you could outgrow this course.
Other Thoughts: Horizons Park fills a need as an introductory course and acheives it with flying colors.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.