Winston-Salem, NC
Horizons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: mattpoin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quite a beautiful area. In a clean park, and easy to find. Some interesting holes, with a good mix of difficulties. The barn (#14) is a fun challenge. Tees are well-managed, and signage is obvious and clear.
Cons: Gets heavy traffic at times. If you overthrow some baskets, you risk getting your disc crunched by cars. Some baskets are right on top of each other, and it's difficult to know which is yours.
Other Thoughts: Designers were generous with the strokes--this could have easily been a course of all par 3s.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good distance, not too challenging (a couple holes are a little bit difficult, not too shabby though).
Great for players on an intermediate skill level. Hole 1 is a good opener. I hit the basket on the first shot, finished up the course with a 1 over.
Cons: Holes a little too close together.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    6/5/2009   9/5/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a really beautiful course. It is set in a mostly-open field/meadow. It has scorecards and a map on the course. Navigation is easy. Good course for beginners. Good signage, great navigation. They did all they could with the land and space available. Minimal risk of losing discs. I played this course when my max distance was about 250', still manged to shoot way under par, and I had a blast.
Cons: Not really challenging. Short tees. Short holes. Baskets are a little close to the next tee, so just keep a heads-up. Other than that, there's not a lot to say that's bad. Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: For me, this was a fun course for my skill level. I'm sure that I would get tired of it if I played it a lot. Bathrooms on site. All holes are under 300'. I think it's the oldest course in the state and it shows. The holes cannot stand up to modern distance drivers and disc technology, but don't let that stop you. If you want to get someone hooked on the game, start here. Bring a mid-range and a putter and cut loose.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Mando
Played: 92  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Along with Bull Run in Va, Horizons Park is the best course I've seen to introduce someone to disc golf. It is also the oldest course in NC, so it has some historical significance, but without the erosion that you commonly see on old courses. The combo of well-maintained grass and huge trees scattered around paint an aethestically pleasing picture. Totally relaxing disc golf.
Cons: As your game improves you could outgrow this course.
Other Thoughts: Horizons Park fills a need as an introductory course and acheives it with flying colors.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

1    3/23/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: windgodd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great example of a classic disc golf course. The park is very rustic and pretty. The course also flows very well from hole to hole.
Cons: Not a difficult course, and it is very short. I used a putter all day except on 2 holes (a Buzzz). Older Mach 1 baskets, and short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: If I was in the area, I would play it again. It's a pretty and calming park. I'd leave the bag in the truck and just bring 1 putter and 1 midrange.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a quick play

1    1/16/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A lot of DG history at this course, It is fun, very clean, and well kept Park, easy to navigate, you can play it with an approach disc and putter so it is a good course to practice your approach shot.
Cons: short holes that are crowded together I heard watch out and fore more times than ever while I was there. The tees are concrete but too short, and the odds of hitting a car are not on your side especially if you throw left to right
Other Thoughts: some of the biggest trees I have seen in a long time, and you don't have to worry about loosing a disc here

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 146  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape
Scenic setting
Easy to play
Mostly open shots to basket
Plenty of ace-runs
Fun to play
Cons: 2-step concrete pads
Several baskets on edge of parking lot
Short holes
Other Thoughts: I was traveling and running out of light so I dashed to this course. Thanks to 3OrangeWhips who gave me directions while missing the Colts/Jets game. After reading other posts, I see this is NC's first course - so playing on a historic course adds to the enjoyment.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in NC!

5+    11/21/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You can play the course with ultrastars, and still shoot under par.
Fun factor is great here.
Old trees are intermixed into the fairways, very eye catching.
Great temp course out there during the Horizon's park classic.
Neat Triad disc league club out there during most of the week.
Cons: The baskets there are in pretty rough shape. They have a tendancy not to catch much of anything.
Several shots face right at a parking lot, this isn't too good. I've had my car hit a few times out there more than I would care for.
No drivers at all on this course... No variety of shots other than putters and mids.
Other Thoughts: Really cute course, for those that are travelling you have to play it just to pay homage to the first course in NC. I mean, its pretty historic for our sport.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short n sweet

1    5/11/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat area of a park that seemed to be entirely devoted to disc golf. There were no conflicts with other park uses on the course, which is always nice. Most of the course plays through and around a large stand of mature trees with a high canopy and no underbrush.

The trees mean that most of the holes have multiple options to choose from, with different levels of challenge to the various routes. Often there is one more obvious route, and on these there was an ok mix of right/left holes, with most playing fairly straight ahead.

The signs were great, and made the course even easier to follow, the flow was already good with no awkward walks on this course. The grounds are very nice, and for a park course this is pretty scenic and well-maintained. The barn hole was a fun touch, and an obstacle that gets in your head a little.
Cons: The course really has no length, just about every hole is an ace run for more experienced players. There aren't many holes that really force a variety of shots, you could score well here with nothing but hyzers from either hand.

The course is pretty packed in to a small area, meaning that often errant throws from one hole end up on other fairways which can be a safety issue if there are lots of people playing. We played on a nice weekday evening, and the course was packed with people. All were friendly and courteous, but it makes for a slow round with lots of "fore" heard.

The tees are tiny, and not in great shape, luckily you won't need much of a runup on anything here. The baskets were a little dated and low, but still caught just fine.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic course for a fun round with friends, or as a place to learn the game. You're not going to lose a disc here, and there's enough to make it an interesting round but not too challenging for new players. More experienced throwers aren't going to find a lot of challenges here, but it is fun to go for lots of ace runs and birdies.

If you have the chance, this course is worth the stop for a fun and quick round. It's nothing special, but it is enjoyable and an older course that has held up well.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a short course

5+    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well maintained grounds
- Trees provide challenges on a few holes
- Good for practicing driving with your putters and midranges
- Every hole is ace-able
- Good view of the mountains
Cons: - The baskets seem shorter than normal and they also like to spit out puts that aren't dead center.
- Course is on the short side
- Some tees aren't quite level, and some can have a lot of mud pits after rain.
Other Thoughts: I joined the local league and they put on some fun events and are pretty cool guys. I suggest joining the club if you play here a lot.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.