Winston-Salem, NC 
Horizons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 153ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Park, Very short Pitch and Putt

5+    8/5/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: NCSU2002
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very Clean, well kept up park
Easy to navigate with signs and scorecards
Many ace opportunities
Hard to lose a disc here
Great beginner course
Cons: All holes are short (under 300')
Very little in the way of elevation changes
Course is kind of tightly arranged and drives on several holes can reach the other tees
Other Thoughts: Nice short, open beginner course, easy to find and well kept up. I wish it was a little more spread out and challenging.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a midrange and a putter

5+    7/8/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a good course for high intermediate, advanced, and pros to get some practice throwing midrange and putters off of the tee.

The course is kept in great shape and there are very few areas that show signs of errosion. These areas are generally at the back of a few teepads.

There are tee signs which shows the distance and the route to the basket. Flow from one teepad to the next is pretty obvious.

There is a box with scorecards at the first tee.

This can be a good beginner's course if...
Cons: They need to do something about the baskets. These are Mach I baskets with an additional set of chains added. The chains are very stiff and it kicks a lot of solid putts out. The way the second layer of chains were added also tends to kick good putts out as well.

The baskets are also lower to the ground which takes a while to get use to.

Other Thoughts: The longest hole by footage 300 ft and it is slightly downhill which means it plays closer to 270. The following hole is 280 feet uphill but it plays as if it is closer to 300. There is enough land near these holes that the park owns and is not using that could be used to make these 2 holes a little longer and more challenging.

There is an alternate set up that is used in some tournaments. This alternate setup is much better than the original course and it is sad that the alternate course is not used more.

I live close to this course, but would prefer to drive a little farther to get to better courses. I would only come out and play this course if I needed to work on throwing midrange discs and putters.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: mattpoin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quite a beautiful area. In a clean park, and easy to find. Some interesting holes, with a good mix of difficulties. The barn (#14) is a fun challenge. Tees are well-managed, and signage is obvious and clear.
Cons: Gets heavy traffic at times. If you overthrow some baskets, you risk getting your disc crunched by cars. Some baskets are right on top of each other, and it's difficult to know which is yours.
Other Thoughts: Designers were generous with the strokes--this could have easily been a course of all par 3s.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good distance, not too challenging (a couple holes are a little bit difficult, not too shabby though).
Great for players on an intermediate skill level. Hole 1 is a good opener. I hit the basket on the first shot, finished up the course with a 1 over.
Cons: Holes a little too close together.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    6/5/2009   9/5/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a really beautiful course. It is set in a mostly-open field/meadow. It has scorecards and a map on the course. Navigation is easy. Good course for beginners. Good signage, great navigation. They did all they could with the land and space available. Minimal risk of losing discs. I played this course when my max distance was about 250', still manged to shoot way under par, and I had a blast.
Cons: Not really challenging. Short tees. Short holes. Baskets are a little close to the next tee, so just keep a heads-up. Other than that, there's not a lot to say that's bad. Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: For me, this was a fun course for my skill level. I'm sure that I would get tired of it if I played it a lot. Bathrooms on site. All holes are under 300'. I think it's the oldest course in the state and it shows. The holes cannot stand up to modern distance drivers and disc technology, but don't let that stop you. If you want to get someone hooked on the game, start here. Bring a mid-range and a putter and cut loose.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Along with Bull Run in Va, Horizons Park is the best course I've seen to introduce someone to disc golf. It is also the oldest course in NC, so it has some historical significance, but without the erosion that you commonly see on old courses. The combo of well-maintained grass and huge trees scattered around paint an aethestically pleasing picture. Totally relaxing disc golf.
Cons: As your game improves you could outgrow this course.
Other Thoughts: Horizons Park fills a need as an introductory course and acheives it with flying colors.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

1    3/23/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: windgodd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great example of a classic disc golf course. The park is very rustic and pretty. The course also flows very well from hole to hole.
Cons: Not a difficult course, and it is very short. I used a putter all day except on 2 holes (a Buzzz). Older Mach 1 baskets, and short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: If I was in the area, I would play it again. It's a pretty and calming park. I'd leave the bag in the truck and just bring 1 putter and 1 midrange.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a quick play

1    1/16/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A lot of DG history at this course, It is fun, very clean, and well kept Park, easy to navigate, you can play it with an approach disc and putter so it is a good course to practice your approach shot.
Cons: short holes that are crowded together I heard watch out and fore more times than ever while I was there. The tees are concrete but too short, and the odds of hitting a car are not on your side especially if you throw left to right
Other Thoughts: some of the biggest trees I have seen in a long time, and you don't have to worry about loosing a disc here

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 148  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape
Scenic setting
Easy to play
Mostly open shots to basket
Plenty of ace-runs
Fun to play
Cons: 2-step concrete pads
Several baskets on edge of parking lot
Short holes
Other Thoughts: I was traveling and running out of light so I dashed to this course. Thanks to 3OrangeWhips who gave me directions while missing the Colts/Jets game. After reading other posts, I see this is NC's first course - so playing on a historic course adds to the enjoyment.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in NC!

5+    11/21/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You can play the course with ultrastars, and still shoot under par.
Fun factor is great here.
Old trees are intermixed into the fairways, very eye catching.
Great temp course out there during the Horizon's park classic.
Neat Triad disc league club out there during most of the week.
Cons: The baskets there are in pretty rough shape. They have a tendancy not to catch much of anything.
Several shots face right at a parking lot, this isn't too good. I've had my car hit a few times out there more than I would care for.
No drivers at all on this course... No variety of shots other than putters and mids.
Other Thoughts: Really cute course, for those that are travelling you have to play it just to pay homage to the first course in NC. I mean, its pretty historic for our sport.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.