Disc Golf Store
Winston-Salem, NC 
Horizons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 153ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short n sweet

1    5/11/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat area of a park that seemed to be entirely devoted to disc golf. There were no conflicts with other park uses on the course, which is always nice. Most of the course plays through and around a large stand of mature trees with a high canopy and no underbrush.

The trees mean that most of the holes have multiple options to choose from, with different levels of challenge to the various routes. Often there is one more obvious route, and on these there was an ok mix of right/left holes, with most playing fairly straight ahead.

The signs were great, and made the course even easier to follow, the flow was already good with no awkward walks on this course. The grounds are very nice, and for a park course this is pretty scenic and well-maintained. The barn hole was a fun touch, and an obstacle that gets in your head a little.
Cons: The course really has no length, just about every hole is an ace run for more experienced players. There aren't many holes that really force a variety of shots, you could score well here with nothing but hyzers from either hand.

The course is pretty packed in to a small area, meaning that often errant throws from one hole end up on other fairways which can be a safety issue if there are lots of people playing. We played on a nice weekday evening, and the course was packed with people. All were friendly and courteous, but it makes for a slow round with lots of "fore" heard.

The tees are tiny, and not in great shape, luckily you won't need much of a runup on anything here. The baskets were a little dated and low, but still caught just fine.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic course for a fun round with friends, or as a place to learn the game. You're not going to lose a disc here, and there's enough to make it an interesting round but not too challenging for new players. More experienced throwers aren't going to find a lot of challenges here, but it is fun to go for lots of ace runs and birdies.

If you have the chance, this course is worth the stop for a fun and quick round. It's nothing special, but it is enjoyable and an older course that has held up well.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a short course

5+    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well maintained grounds
- Trees provide challenges on a few holes
- Good for practicing driving with your putters and midranges
- Every hole is ace-able
- Good view of the mountains
Cons: - The baskets seem shorter than normal and they also like to spit out puts that aren't dead center.
- Course is on the short side
- Some tees aren't quite level, and some can have a lot of mud pits after rain.
Other Thoughts: I joined the local league and they put on some fun events and are pretty cool guys. I suggest joining the club if you play here a lot.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/26/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: airforcechck
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees provide interesting obstacles. The people are normally friendly that play there, including some regulars. There are squirrels that provide some entertainment and it is right across from a dog park so you can play then go let your dog run around. There are picnic tables so you can go practice/play and eat there. There is a shot that you have to make around a barn, it adds a nice challenge. I've seen people hit the barn, cause their disc to go over or on top of the barn. The tee pads are concrete, and everything is numbered.
Cons: Leaves!! It is really easy to loose your disc in the leaves. You shoot between trees because this course snakes around. There isn't really long shots, There are at least two holes that if you are a long driver you could cause your disc to go into the road.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Squirrels that walk course

5+    11/1/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: BenevolentWind
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very well maintained, beautiful area, with across the street fenced in dog area for pet lovers that don't want there frisbees chewed. Nice open areas, with "wooded" center course. Fun tournaments that are held somewhat regularly. Locals are all pretty friendly. Concrete pads.
Cons: Not too much variety, with most holes not more than 300 feet. It can get crowded at times, especially during tourneys and sunny days. Only one pin position per basket, with one launch pad.
Other Thoughts: When I first moved to the area and started visiting the park, the first thing I noticed were the either fearless squirrels or extremely laid back, perhaps lazy squirrels. They do everything in there power to walk, so they make great putting practice, lol (kidding: please don't hurt the poor devils!) this is a great beginner course, but not for those of greater distance and skill who like a challenge.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice view

1    6/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park, good signage, concrete tees, lovely views of surrounding hillsides. Nice big trees. Impossible to get lost. The course is quite charming, you kind of felt like your grandma was going to bring you a glass of iced tea any moment. Squirrels were fearless. Well mowed, clean park.
Cons: I have pants longer than the tee pads. Holes overlap each other a bit, high risk in hitting other players. Very open, which is fine although I prefer wooded, but the course felt like it was put in someone's big yard. Quite short, quite easy, unimaginative layout. The weird thing about the course is that there is this great expanse of rolling land beside the course that would have greatly relieved this course of its problems. Some of the baskets were bent with loose chains but were all functional.
Other Thoughts: I know this course is historic, but I was underwhelmed. I'm not saying it isn't good, it stands the test of time for sure, but it just isn't a 3 disc rated course in my eyes. It's like the girl next door that you never really found attractive but was nice enough that you eventually ended up marrying her but all along you can't keep from thinking about other, more attractive courses. Yeah, that's about it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, short course

1    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 80  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - I loved the setting with the rolling hills surrounding the course. It's definitely open with plenty of natural beauty.

- The trees in the middle of the course are deceptively challenging. Maybe it was because I was having a subpar round that day, but I seemed to find the trees more than I thought I would. Although there is no true "wooded" portion of the course, the few trees that are there do provide an obstacle.

- If your midrange game is lacking - as mine is lately - this is a great course to practice those shots.

- I like #14 with the barn in play. It's not a particularly difficult shot and can be avoided with a smart throw, but it does add a different element to the course. It hooked at least one person in as I heard a loud thud off the barn from the group playing behind us that day.

- The free scorecards were a nice touch.
Cons: - I have to echo the comment about the short tee pads. For someone 6'6" like me, that definitely came into play. Luckily, most of the holes don't require much of a run-up, but it's still something that distracts you when you need to be focusing on your throw.

- Also mentioned before, but the low baskets are another disadvantage to the taller player.

- Many of the holes seemed similar or just didn't have enough distinction for my taste. For me, that was especially true of the "wooded" holes near the center of the course.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I enjoyed the course and would play it again if I were in the area. I was surprised to read on here that the course often gets crowded, because it wasn't too bad on the Saturday we played. That was earlier in the day, though, so that could have been a factor.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/29/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: zbyrd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best part of this course is the signage. It is definitely the best I've seen. The course is very beginner friendly. There are plenty of holes where you have to create a line, which is great for teaching the basics of the game.
Cons: Way too easy. Some locals have been known to routinely score 12-14 under par. The course is often be very busy and the holes can run on top of one another. Not many hyzer/anhyzer holes. Almost all of the wooded holes require straight line 200-250ft drives. Lots of families/groups of bros.
Other Thoughts: This is basically a place to get a hold for the game of to keep sharp. It can be good for intermediate player trying to practice driving the basket.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be a little too open and a little too bland

5+    7/13/2007   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

2-4    6/7/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean and beautiful park. Holes are short but the course makes great use of the trees and elevation to make holes more challenging. Holes are easy to navigate and the park has clean restrooms.
Cons: Some of the baskets seem beat up a little and sit rather low. Advanced players may not find the course challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: If for no other reason then the historical factor of being the state's oldest course it is worth the play. The course is set in a beautiful park and offers a variety of shots. If thinking of making a trip to play this course I wouldnt let the "short" holes be a deterent, the course as a whole more then makes up for it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Confidence Builder

5+    11/23/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: hycard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open course for learning the basics but still fun for intermediate players to run at the chains. Family friendly environment.

Variety of players from kids to senior citizen; family groups to advanced players.

Scorecard / map available at teepad #1 but map is not needed - above average signage allows for easy navigation.
Cons: Short course.
Other Thoughts: Course well maintained - restrooms and amenities for the whole family. Dogwalking park across the street.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.