Winston-Salem, NC 
Horizons Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beautiful Course

1    6/5/2009   9/5/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a really beautiful course. It is set in a mostly-open field/meadow. It has scorecards and a map on the course. Navigation is easy. Good course for beginners. Good signage, great navigation. They did all they could with the land and space available. Minimal risk of losing discs. I played this course when my max distance was about 250', still manged to shoot way under par, and I had a blast.
Cons: Not really challenging. Short tees. Short holes. Baskets are a little close to the next tee, so just keep a heads-up. Other than that, there's not a lot to say that's bad. Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: For me, this was a fun course for my skill level. I'm sure that I would get tired of it if I played it a lot. Bathrooms on site. All holes are under 300'. I think it's the oldest course in the state and it shows. The holes cannot stand up to modern distance drivers and disc technology, but don't let that stop you. If you want to get someone hooked on the game, start here. Bring a mid-range and a putter and cut loose.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Mando
Played: 113  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Along with Bull Run in Va, Horizons Park is the best course I've seen to introduce someone to disc golf. It is also the oldest course in NC, so it has some historical significance, but without the erosion that you commonly see on old courses. The combo of well-maintained grass and huge trees scattered around paint an aethestically pleasing picture. Totally relaxing disc golf.
Cons: As your game improves you could outgrow this course.
Other Thoughts: Horizons Park fills a need as an introductory course and acheives it with flying colors.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    3/23/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: windgodd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great example of a classic disc golf course. The park is very rustic and pretty. The course also flows very well from hole to hole.
Cons: Not a difficult course, and it is very short. I used a putter all day except on 2 holes (a Buzzz). Older Mach 1 baskets, and short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: If I was in the area, I would play it again. It's a pretty and calming park. I'd leave the bag in the truck and just bring 1 putter and 1 midrange.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a quick play

1    1/16/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A lot of DG history at this course, It is fun, very clean, and well kept Park, easy to navigate, you can play it with an approach disc and putter so it is a good course to practice your approach shot.
Cons: short holes that are crowded together I heard watch out and fore more times than ever while I was there. The tees are concrete but too short, and the odds of hitting a car are not on your side especially if you throw left to right
Other Thoughts: some of the biggest trees I have seen in a long time, and you don't have to worry about loosing a disc here

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 173  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape
Scenic setting
Easy to play
Mostly open shots to basket
Plenty of ace-runs
Fun to play
Cons: 2-step concrete pads
Several baskets on edge of parking lot
Short holes
Other Thoughts: I was traveling and running out of light so I dashed to this course. Thanks to 3OrangeWhips who gave me directions while missing the Colts/Jets game. After reading other posts, I see this is NC's first course - so playing on a historic course adds to the enjoyment.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in NC!

5+    11/21/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You can play the course with ultrastars, and still shoot under par.
Fun factor is great here.
Old trees are intermixed into the fairways, very eye catching.
Great temp course out there during the Horizon's park classic.
Neat Triad disc league club out there during most of the week.
Cons: The baskets there are in pretty rough shape. They have a tendancy not to catch much of anything.
Several shots face right at a parking lot, this isn't too good. I've had my car hit a few times out there more than I would care for.
No drivers at all on this course... No variety of shots other than putters and mids.
Other Thoughts: Really cute course, for those that are travelling you have to play it just to pay homage to the first course in NC. I mean, its pretty historic for our sport.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short n sweet

1    5/11/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat area of a park that seemed to be entirely devoted to disc golf. There were no conflicts with other park uses on the course, which is always nice. Most of the course plays through and around a large stand of mature trees with a high canopy and no underbrush.

The trees mean that most of the holes have multiple options to choose from, with different levels of challenge to the various routes. Often there is one more obvious route, and on these there was an ok mix of right/left holes, with most playing fairly straight ahead.

The signs were great, and made the course even easier to follow, the flow was already good with no awkward walks on this course. The grounds are very nice, and for a park course this is pretty scenic and well-maintained. The barn hole was a fun touch, and an obstacle that gets in your head a little.
Cons: The course really has no length, just about every hole is an ace run for more experienced players. There aren't many holes that really force a variety of shots, you could score well here with nothing but hyzers from either hand.

The course is pretty packed in to a small area, meaning that often errant throws from one hole end up on other fairways which can be a safety issue if there are lots of people playing. We played on a nice weekday evening, and the course was packed with people. All were friendly and courteous, but it makes for a slow round with lots of "fore" heard.

The tees are tiny, and not in great shape, luckily you won't need much of a runup on anything here. The baskets were a little dated and low, but still caught just fine.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic course for a fun round with friends, or as a place to learn the game. You're not going to lose a disc here, and there's enough to make it an interesting round but not too challenging for new players. More experienced throwers aren't going to find a lot of challenges here, but it is fun to go for lots of ace runs and birdies.

If you have the chance, this course is worth the stop for a fun and quick round. It's nothing special, but it is enjoyable and an older course that has held up well.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a short course

5+    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well maintained grounds
- Trees provide challenges on a few holes
- Good for practicing driving with your putters and midranges
- Every hole is ace-able
- Good view of the mountains
Cons: - The baskets seem shorter than normal and they also like to spit out puts that aren't dead center.
- Course is on the short side
- Some tees aren't quite level, and some can have a lot of mud pits after rain.
Other Thoughts: I joined the local league and they put on some fun events and are pretty cool guys. I suggest joining the club if you play here a lot.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/26/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: airforcechck
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees provide interesting obstacles. The people are normally friendly that play there, including some regulars. There are squirrels that provide some entertainment and it is right across from a dog park so you can play then go let your dog run around. There are picnic tables so you can go practice/play and eat there. There is a shot that you have to make around a barn, it adds a nice challenge. I've seen people hit the barn, cause their disc to go over or on top of the barn. The tee pads are concrete, and everything is numbered.
Cons: Leaves!! It is really easy to loose your disc in the leaves. You shoot between trees because this course snakes around. There isn't really long shots, There are at least two holes that if you are a long driver you could cause your disc to go into the road.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Squirrels that walk course

5+    11/1/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: BenevolentWind
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very well maintained, beautiful area, with across the street fenced in dog area for pet lovers that don't want there frisbees chewed. Nice open areas, with "wooded" center course. Fun tournaments that are held somewhat regularly. Locals are all pretty friendly. Concrete pads.
Cons: Not too much variety, with most holes not more than 300 feet. It can get crowded at times, especially during tourneys and sunny days. Only one pin position per basket, with one launch pad.
Other Thoughts: When I first moved to the area and started visiting the park, the first thing I noticed were the either fearless squirrels or extremely laid back, perhaps lazy squirrels. They do everything in there power to walk, so they make great putting practice, lol (kidding: please don't hurt the poor devils!) this is a great beginner course, but not for those of greater distance and skill who like a challenge.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.