Stockton, CA 
Michael Faklis Park Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon   (Taken 11/2012)



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    11/23/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is really just a poorly planned practice area. No obstacles (other than OB road and sidewalk) all holes throw through a busy, multi-use park area DIRECTLY down heavily trafficked sidewalks. For 18 baskets, doesn't get much more disappointing than this!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

I give The Course A 1.0, The Restroom A Zero.

1    8/25/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 613  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful park well kept park with velvety soft green grass. The 18 baskets are placed randomly around the perimiter of the park along the walking path. There are no teepads or signs. I agree with previous users that some parks department official wanted to add disc golf to the parks list of activities.
Cons: The restroom was gross. It smelled like a Sani-can after a Grateful dead concert!
A ballgame would affect your practice schedule.

Don't waste your time here, drive over to Oak Grove for a real course.
Other Thoughts: You can play this course clockwise or you play it counter clockwise.

I say take the # 1 basket and transplant it over to the HCP elementary school course in Loomis. They desperately need to replace their stolen # 1 basket and NO-ONE will ever notice that it's missing here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This Is a practic course!

2-4    4/8/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: BossRoss
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -f2p
-nicely mowed grass
-lots of open space to practice form.
Cons: This isn't a "course"
Other Thoughts: If you live in Stockton, this is where you should practice. When oak grove, 1 mile away and is leaps and bounds better (also cost 5 bucks) this should be your toss spot.

The pins are nicely and placed and cemented in, wide open field that's easily over 700 feet. playing the perimeter the course becomes a putt course using the field makes infinite number of 2-5 par holes. Though if you come on a Saturday expect to play around fellow park goers.

This course was made for practice and it does just that. Don't drive 20+ miles and thinks you will have a game with made up tees, you will have to ovoid other players/park goers. Definitely pony up 5 bucks and go to oak grove.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 OK, I kinda get it...you need to use your imagination

1    2/14/2012   2/15/2012
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, it's 18 baskets (I actually counted 17, but probably missed one), and the park itself is in great shape with multiple activities and plenty of space available. Playing the "Perimeter course", the holes are short, and range anywhere from 90-170ft depending on where you decide to tee off from. I can see if you're out early in the morning when the park is empty, there are an infinite number of ways of playing these baskets. Some holes could even be stretched to 300-400ft if you choose to use the large field to throw across. Nicely mounted baskets.
Cons: No signs or teepads. Even though I was the only DGer, the park itself was very crowded when I played (mid afternoon, weekday).
Other Thoughts: I can understand the complaints, because this isn't your typical 18 hole DG course. It's more of a family friendly practice or putting course, but is also capable of being devised into a longer course if you just make up your own holes. It's generally easy, but using the walkway as OB makes things more interesting and difficult.
=================
Uniqueness: C+ (uninspired layout, convenient location)
Difficulty: C+ (flat; no trees; try playing concrete as OB)
Fun Factor: C+ (it is what it is; DG is always fun)
Aesthetics: B (nicely manicured park, grassy)
---------------------
Overall: C+

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not really a course

1    3/6/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Fairly easy to find
A very nice park overall with bathroom and leisure amenities
Cons:
No tees really
No layout
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Play Oak Grove Regional Park nearby

Random Thoughts:
There's not much I can add that isn't in the prior review. The baskets are placed in a rough circle around a sizable park with no real thought. I imagine the park designers just wanted to be able to say that the park supports several sports, one of which is Disc Golf. I look at this 'course' as really just a place to practice shots. The field in the middle is big enough for drives, so assuming no one's using it, you can let loose on just about any shot, however, some of the baskets are actually too close to the fences, so once you're within range, any overthrows will be in trouble, as I found out, of course. Others I didn't even throw at because it was too risky.

Bottom Line: This is a beautiful park with lots of fun things to do (basketball, soccer, baseball/softball, dog park, picnic areas, tennis, etc...) but disc golf, unfortunately got thrown in the middle of all that. As a result, I agree that they should probably remove most of these baskets and use them elsewhere. Maybe keep a couple around for practice, or small children, but that's it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Why were baskets wasted and put in this park?!

1    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - it's new and it has nice baskets
- the "course" is in a nice park
- it's close to Oak Grove Regional Park, so you don't have to drive very far to actually play
- no one else plays here, so you'll have it to yourself
Cons: - there are no tees, the 18 baskets are literally placed in a circle around this park and you throw from basket to basket
- no thought was given to course design
Other Thoughts: Honestly, these baskets were wasted by putting them in this park. This course has no tees, and the only thing you can do is throw 100-150 feet from basket to basket with scrub trees in the way. Not any fun.

If anyone from Stockton reads this, take these baskets out and design a second 18 at Oak Grove Regional Park, or in another park in Stockton because Michael Falkis park is a joke and a waste of time.

I wouldn't even call this a course, spend your time elsewhere.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.