Mexico, MO 
Northeast Park Share
Uploaded By: Charger440 Hole #8 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 433ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Better than expected

1    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: foo_g
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a lot more fun than I thought it would be. Quite a few holes are a challenge as Par 3's. Although most holes are long and require a big drive, there is still a little bit of variation mixed in. Several baskets are tucked into tree lines and require some strategic approach shots to have a clear putt.
Cons:
- There was some monotony to a lot of the tee shots -- lots of RHBH hyzers and max distance shots that don't require a lot of precision.
- On hot, sunny days, there's not much shade during certain stretches of the course to help escape the heat.
- Because of vandals, there are usually no picnic tables or benches on the course.
Other Thoughts:
- The course was dry and had no water to contend with, which I'm sure would alter things quite a bit.
- There is a limited number of holes with legitimate birdie opportunities, so take advantage of them.
- The tall, thick grass around 8, 9, and 10 will eat discs. It's really tough to find them once they go into it. But, it really helps to separate the holes and add a degree of difficulty to them.
- Restrooms are located near the parking lot, but may not always be unlocked and available.
- It is a long course that will wear you down a bit by the time you get through all 18 holes.
- It's worth playing if you have time and are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Swamp

5+    4/7/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 56  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2013
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some of the pins are in interesting nooks. It's a nice place to go practice driving for distance. Lots of open hyzers, with 2 or 3 shots with some decent elevation change. There's a bathroom in a central location. It's easily navigated. There's a nice mix of protected and unprotected greens.
Cons: It's a swamp during rainy season. 2-5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, and 18 are all rhbh skewed (rhbh is there on all; a few have other options) Fairways are often surrounded by deep grass that makes it easy to lose a disc, but doesn't add much difficulty to your next shot (assuming you find your disc). The wind swirls, making it very difficult to judge the effect on your disc. 11's drive is dangerous; you can't see people walking from 11 basket to 12 tee. The 2 mandos are the "cheap" sort, but do make the shots interesting; without them 2 more holes would be rhbh hyzers.
Other Thoughts: A vast improvement over the old 9 hole course. It's a well-designed course for the park it's in. Fine for playing on nice days, but if it's rainy the front 9 turns into a swamp, and if it's hot, there isn't much shade. I hear there's a shady element in that park, but I've never had any problem. The park's neighbors are very nice.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

1    10/2/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: MOchains
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some good length to it. Nice concrete tee pads. This course will allow you to air the disc out and get some good D. Holes 6-11 are probably the best holes on the course. Each of these holes (except 10 which is a shorter hole) requires distance as well as accuracy. Holes 8 and 11 had to be my favorite holes on the course. Hole 8 requires an accurate tee shot away from the tree line on the left hand side. The further the shot is placed right the easier the approach; however, tall grass lines the right side and provides risk of losing a disc. Hole 11 offers three distinct routes toward the basket with the easiest drive resulting in a tougher approach and the toughest drive resulting in an easier approach.
Cons: Although I enjoyed the distance on this course, I felt that many of the holes did not produce scoring variance. It seemed that several of the holes did not punish errant drives nor reward accurate distance. Hole two for example was not reachable by the vast majority and therefore, did not require players to consider hugging the tree line for a chance at a two. Although I like the distance, shortening this hole would provide a risk reward situation in opposition to the current location. The lack of scoring variation on holes is mainly due to the fact that this course is wide open. I think with some clever pin locations and shortening or lengthening this can increase score variation. Players should have to consider the possibility of going OB or missing into the tree line on drives or approaches. This course also seemed to have way more righty hyzers than anything.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed this course. I do not know that it is one of the best courses in Mid MO but there are definitely some interesting holes, especially 6-11.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New but!

1    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: bigt
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads.
Length
Some well placed baskets
Cons: Flat low level ground so course tends to stay wet, but a little work with some field tile and that could be solved.

Wide open for the most part.

With this course being in a small park some times you are driving right back into another hole.

Very few trees on some holes, but they have planted some new ones and that will help.

Hole 7 in short but when the new trees in front of the basket get a little older it will be a great hole.
Other Thoughts: I really think this will be a nice course in a few years after they take care of the water problem and the new trees get some size to them.

Great group of local players that really seem to care about their course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Long par threes

1    9/27/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 324  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park almost exclusively for disc golf. 5 x 10 concrete tee pads. Disc catcher baskets. Numbers are now on the baskets. All holes are par 3s and most are long 400 to 500 feet plus. Some technical holes with good use of trees and terrain to protect pin placements. No termites (casuals) when we played.
Cons: No tee signs as of yet. Some holes are very uneventful as they are flat with no obstacles and 400 to 500 feet long (for me that is 2 drives and then some). No elevation change except slight on holes 1 and 2. The town of Mexico is about 20 miles north of I 70.
Other Thoughts: Good course to work on your drive and long approach. Home opener tourney was held here on 9/20 and I heard 53 was the best score in Master division. My short armed game, 71, with several missed putts. 3 holes with trees as mandos add to the challenge. First timers need to print off the map.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/11/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 34.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: BRAND NEW course, concrete tee pads and shiny new disccatcher baskets. Good design for what they had to work with.
Cons: Their first scheduled tourney on this course is 9/20/09, the DGClub in Mexico plans on having most of the cons taken care of by then. The course is very poorly marked at this time. There`s spraypainted numbers on the tee pads but that`s about it. None of the shiny new baskets were numbered so it was difficult to figure out what you were sposed to be throwing at. Luckily I met and played with the guy who was GPS marking the tees and holes for the MexicoDGClub. He informed me of the "out of bounds/mandatory" areas as we played, which were not yet marked. Again many of these cons are in the process of being resolved even as I type.
Other Thoughts: It`s a wide open flat course for the most part. There`s a few holes on the tree line and amongst the few trees to make it interesting. A couple long holes for those with a booming drive. I enjoyed this course and it`s only going to get better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.