Conklin, NY 
Conklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Godard Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / --   3 / 222ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Dont go out of bounds !!!

1    6/14/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: Well kept, all fairways looked just like a golf course, very well trimmed hazards and out of bounds, concrete tee boxes were nice but very short, course looked and played great. Cool layout with the lack of trees etc and use of bunker type hazards, challenging course, MUST STAY IN THE FAIRWAY
Cons: All hazards and fairway edges, and out of bounds = 4 foot high grass, you throw anything in here and your gonna devote about 30 minutes finding a disc right in front of your face. HOLY GRASS... Lost a disc, looked for 30 minutes, gave up... came back and found it immediately haha
Other Thoughts: 9 holes only, careful throwing discs into the go-kart / dog park track or your gonna have to hop the high fence which is a PIA, i had a great day tho

Approx 3.8 miles for a full 18 holes based on my app

  Finally a course in my town!!

5+    7/14/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: celly37
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to home!! (ten min)
Great for people learning to play, doesnt discourage new players
Good variety and opportunities to work on different throws
this make a great practice course as well
love the crop circles we play any tall grass as out of bounds so we dont want the extra stroke so we really have been learning some great techniques to avoid them
First half shorter holes that take a little skill
second half is pretty much impossible to loose a disc give or take a couple spots but the fairways are alot longer.
I see that a couple people have mentioned the swamp, we have been playing a couple times a week for the last couple months and we have not had any problems with the swamp nor have we gotten wet shoes, the ground is very dry.
Cons: Very easy to loose discs on holes 2,3,&4 (6 if your really really new)

all but one and a half holes are in open fields. I would like to see them expand another 9 holes into the woods.

I really like courses where sometimes your shooting uphill, downhill, through woods ect, but this course is basically a flat field

tees are way too small, but at least they are there



Other Thoughts: Whoever put this course up, THANK YOU!!!!!
i hope you start the trend in the binghamton area!!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good local public course

5+    5/15/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: Sexton K. Hardcastle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course - I've been in the sport for 3 years now and have several family and friends who would like to get into the sport and this is a great course to break them in on. The pars are a great confidence builder for new players.

Decent hole variety - There are several wide open holes and a few where you can practice some different types of shots, such as hole 4.
Cons: Small tee boxes - My biggest complaint about this course are the small tee boxes. I find it impossible to x-step on the tees, I have to tee off next to the boxes.

Swamp - I didn't deduct any points for it, but the swamp next to fairway 3 can be a nuisance if the wind catches your disc and carries it there. Nothing worse than playing a round of golf with wet shoes.
Other Thoughts: If not for the small tee boxes I would've rated the course much higher. Like I said, VERY beginner friendly and that's a good thing. The fence around the the old go-cart track is more of an inconvenience than anything else. There are 2 gates at the front of the track but if you don't feel like walking back to them or hopping the fence, be sure you have a Disc Golf Ninja with you. Although it's the only public course in the area, it's not the only course; there's a private 18 hole course in the Vestal area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Binghamton Area

1    11/8/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Wreckmaster13
Played: 129  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice local Course, Great for beginners.
The course has concrete tee off boxes with a nice run up. Also has a good mix of long and short play.

Hole 1 - Needs some trees. If I remember correctly par 4,(once some trees get added.) maybe.

Hole 2 - Shorter straight hole. This hole has some thick weeds growing in strategic areas for this hole. It looks more dificult than it is.

Hole 3 - The first review called it crop circles... Pretty accurate. The hole is place between 3 or 4 weed patches. The day I played, it was a swamp.

Hole 4 - The sign shows a curve ball. I Tossed the thumber. Landed on top of the basket and flipped off, For a 1 foot chain touch. That would have been awesome. It is a great blind shot.

Hole 5 - I foresee a problem here. (Placing a gate on the fence will help the wounded find there way back to the in bounds.) Nice long dog leg. There is an OB to the left and right. I chose the path less traveled. I went for it. A Star Valkerye over the OB and layed it right up by the hole for the easy 20 foot shot ... that I missed. Settled for a 3. Par was a 4.

Hole 6 - A desivingly short hole. This hole CAN be aced. There are a lot of gopher holes. be careful.

Hole 7 - Nice long driving hole. This may be my favorite hole (appearance wise) on the course. I used to throw my long shot and it would hook hard at the end to the right. The Wii Tiger woods game screwed my entire game up. Now my long throw pulls left after the straight flight. Perfect for this hole.I aimed right for the corner of the other property and let it fly. A short approach, and then dropped it in.

Hole 8 - Another ace-able hole. A slightly elevated pin. You must keep the disc high enough to get there, but low enought not to hit the drooping tree limbs... This is another very good looking hole.

Hole 9 - If you have a great long game, This is your hole. The final hole of the day. Long, Open, Flat Ground. Air it out, or go for the roller. This hole is an easy 3/4.
Cons: This may not be the course to play after a good rain, very swampy first few holes... Hole 5 needs a gate in the fence.

Add some trees to the first 3 holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice local Course, Great for beginners.
The course has concrete tee off boxes with a nice run up. Also has a good mix of long and short play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The only game in town

1    10/4/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: FULL DISCLOSURE: Course was designed by my Aunt and Uncle, so take my thoughts with a grain of salt!!!

This is the only course within 20 miles, so it's an excellent alternative to driving to Ithaca or Hickory Run for a quick round. There is plenty of tough shule on the course, but it's always possible to retrieve your disc and make a recovery. Baskets are in great shape. Fairways are mowed and very fair. Decent distances on the holes, with two solid ace runs for variety. Wind adds to the challenge. Well-stocked mailbox by the practice tee with scorecards (though the scorecards only list the "amateur" par).
Cons: Concrete teepads are too small. The go-kart track is not only OB, but there is no way to get your disc back without climbing the fence. There are no lefty-friendly holes, only a couple of dogleg-lefts for the righties. Course is in the Conklin River floodplain, and is often wet. There are many flying bugs, and I saw two snakes too.
Other Thoughts: Full hole descriptions:

1 "Franorma" A nearly 400-foot run with a fairly wide fairway, but OB on the left and a thin strip of shule on the right. Basket is tucked near the shrubs.

2 "Iron Horse" A shorter, narrower version of 1, running parallel. This time the basket is on the left.

3 "Crop Circles" This time the shule is in the middle of the fairway, but the hole is much shorter, so just throw it hard and take the birdie opportunity.

4 "Marksman" While it looks like a hard dogleg left, it's really a short tomahawk over the shrubs.

5 "Woodchuck" Tight approach, with OB left and right (thanks to the property line) and a mando to boot. Big arms can take the OB out of play, leading to a tricky upshot to a basket on the top of a slope.

6 "Tee Boss" A long ace run, but righties beware that overshooting the pin could easily result sail OB, or at the least a tough putt against the fence back up the slope.

7 "River Watch" Wide open hole leading to a basket that's just feet from rough shule behind it.

8 "The Del" The shortest hole on the course, and the only one where trees come into play. The basket is hanging from the branch of the final tree, and is a beautiful uphill ace run. Birdie putts have little obstacle, but long drives will encounter branches on the way back.

9 "Conklin Fair-way" The longest hole, and wide open. Air it out and hope the wind doesn't interfere with your long putt / upshot.

The mayor is very high on the sport, so be sure to let him know that you enjoyed the course and spent some tourism dollars in his town!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.