Hopedale, IL
Hopedale Park Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 270ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Feel at Home in hopedale

5+    10/26/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: JmanJoshua
Played: 96  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you arrive at Hopedale you can tell it is a friendly town. As you approach the town you will probably have some people wave hello to you, even though they don't know you. The Casey's on the corner is redone and a hub of conversation, food & friendly faces. Once you get to the course you pull past the shelter into the big gravel parking lot on the right. Hold #1 is past the shelter to the east. There is a map showing the first 9 holes and it will hopefully be updated to show the other new 3 holes soon. The course is well maintained and has very mature trees. It takes advantage of the land and natural obstacles. If you come here for any tournaments you usually play the 12 holes 3 times to equal a regular 36 holes for a tournament. There are also some alternate tees and a long placement for basket #3 200 ft south of the current hole #3's basket. They set up a temporary basket for the summer tournament and I hope someday they will make it a permanent alternate pin placement. It is a great course, family friendly, but with enough challenge to make it a fun course for advanced players. There are some tough line, like hole #3 & #6 which have a good risk and reward, giving you a chance for a birdie if you hit that nice line. I have thrown birdies on every hole, except the new #11, but I have only throw from that new tee pad (back about 50 feet from the old one) once and had a 75 ft shot for the birdie from . For some added difficulty play the road, dirt(#7 & #8) and use an island green for #9 and all else OB, and OB baseball fields(#10 & #12)and fence lines. This increases the difficulty of the course quite a bit and will change your casual upshot or putt at #7 into a big risk and reward shot with OB 10 feet behind the basket. I have played this course since it was created in 2009 and I usually try to play it when I'm in town visiting family. After you play hole #9, the tee pad for ten in up by the baseball diamond. Throw off the right edge of the concrete at the concession stand past the pine trees and into the group of trees. #11's tee pad is tucked into the back, SE of 10's basket shooting through the open field. Holes 10, 11 and 12 are only available to play during the off season of Baseball. During baseball these baskets are pulled due to the high traffic area of the baseball diamonds. The restrooms are very nice and if you visit on a Wednesday in the summer they have a farmers market at the shelter. At each basket there are bricks in the ground pointing you to the next basket. Holes # 3, 6, 8, 9 & 10 are my favorite at this course.
Cons: The tee pads have great texture and I have played in snow and not slipped. I do wish they were a little bit longer and I wish the tee signs gave a small diagram of tee pad, basket & an arrow pointing to the next tee pad. When I first played it I was curious about the short walk between 6 & 7 and 8 & 9, but the way the course is laid out with a road right down the middle of it, then splitting at tee pad #7, it is designed to fit perfectly into the park.
Other Thoughts: I have played a lot of courses in small towns and this course gets a gold star for using the entire park. It has a wonderful layout which will not be too aggravating to new players, but still fun for advanced players. The trees and tee pad to basket lines make this feel like the park was designed to have a disc golf course in it. It reminds me of a smaller version of Grand View in Des Moines. The designer Chad, did a great job and has a lot of support from the Lions Club and the local community. The park is very clean, well maintained and peaceful to play in. If you are in Morton, Perkin, Lincoln or driving down 155, stop in and play this course! It is within a 30 minute drive from Peoria or Bloomington/Normal and worth the short trip. Also I heard a new course might be in the works in Miner so keep your eyes peeled. It is also a lot of fun to play with a large group and a variety of skill levels.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A quick and fun break!

2-4    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Offers tough but rewarding lines to hit
*Well maintained park
*Big, nice baskets
*Holes 3,8, and 9 are comparable to holes on high caliber courses
Cons: *Only 9 holes
*Small teepads
Other Thoughts: If I was road tripping to high caliber courses in the central Illinois area, Hopedale would be a refreshing break that still offered moderate challenges on each hole. The lines presented make appropriate disc selection an important part of the course. However, the holes are not difficult enough to make it an "epic" course.

Hopedale, Illinois is a small town and the park seems to be a hub of activity. There are baseball diamonds, a school, and vending on site. Therefore, it is a very well maintained park and is sure to be enjoyable. Unfortunately, Hopedale is probably too far out of your way to justify a special trip to it.

Overall, I am giving Hopedale Park a high rating because if it had 9 more holes comparable to holes 3, 8, and 9, I would probably make it a favorite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Small town park.

2-4    10/8/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice small park in the middle of a small town. There is a school right next to the park. The land is very flat with a bunch of large scattered trees. Almost all of the course plays in the shade. This is a very beginner friendly course and absolutely no where to lose discs.

When you pull in the park look for the pavillion and restooms. Park in the lot to the west of the restrooms. The 1st tee is located on the east of the pavillion.

Brand new Innova Discatcher baskets. Each has the hole # listed on them.

Next to each basket there is a stone in the ground pointing in the direction of the next tee.

The tee pads are nice and flat. They were installed properly and roughed up nicely.

The tee signs are very basic. The have the hole # and distance on them. They also have the school logo on them.

Several of the holes have multi route options.

There are a variety of lengths from 215ft to 380ft.

There are nice restoom facilities.
Cons: The course flows petty good until #7. Once you play #6 you have to walk back to play #7.

For more skilled players this course will get boring.
Other Thoughts: I played an alternate tee on #5. There is a covered stage that is elevated. It's a fun place to throw from to #5's basket.

This course is located just a few minutes off I155. There is a Casey's located right down the street from the course.

If you are local or driving thru it's not a bad option to play a quick round. If you have a family it's a great place to play. There are picnic tables and nice restrooms.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hopedale

1    11/22/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very new and clean! I got here and I was very surprised by the quality of the tees, signs (only yardage and par), and the brand new baskets.
At the beginning of the course behind the first tee, there's a nice map and a box that contains free scorecards and a map on the other side of the scorecard sheet.
For being a new course, it's very impressive and absolutely takes advantage of the land that's given to the designer.
Cons: It's only nine holes.
I usually would complain about not being very challenging, but the course really takes advantage of every single object on the plot of land.
Other Thoughts: I went here because it was kind of on the way to Pekin, and I wanted to check out the new course. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the course in such a small town. I was half expecting a efffortlessly thrown together course.
Plus the community here is very nice from what I've seen and heard. Two kids basically followed me around the whole time offering to help for random things like finding my disc. I was content. :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 surprisingly nice little niner

1    10/26/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete pads, bathrooms and drinking fountains
-course plays over slightly rolling terrain with many large mature trees that give you a variety of lines, there are some downhill shots, and some slightly uphill shots, but most holes roll slightly
-good variety of hole length, from 200' to 380', matched with the trees and terrain, some of the holes are genuinely challenging.
-decent variety of shots required, a few rhbh slight annies, some slight hyzers, but it lacks any hard hyzer or hard anhyzer shots.
-Nice use of OB especially on the last hole. The pin for hole nine is in the back of a peninsula surrounded by road, if you over power the shot, you'll be OB.
-A couple holes like 6 have smaller fairway trees that will only increase the technical nature of the hole as time passes
Cons: -tee signs are not informative, just hole number and length, no indication of where the next tee is, therefore I found myself wandering a bit, especially after 3, 7, 8.
-The walk on hole 8 (I was a bit off the fairway) was super muddy, I think it borders a dirt lot or road but I wasn't sure as leaves were covering the ground.
Other Thoughts: This is surprisingly a nice course for a small rural city park course, I was pleasantly surprised. Whoever the designer is did a great job utilizing the topographical features of the course. I just wish there were another nine holes like the ones put in. I'll definitely play here again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.