Kings Mountain, NC 
Maples Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: extrovert Hole #2 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 125ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Basket over the back of the hill.



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice 9-holer

1    4/28/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course located next to a small lake. A little off the beaten path so it's not likely to be that crowded. Navigation was pretty easy even with no map or guide. Fairways were well defined and cleared, making for obvious lines to hit with drives. Baskets were all in good shape. Decent variety between wooded and open holes. Also a decent mix in hole lengths. Nothing felt overly repetitive or dull.

While flow between holes did have a few short walks, there was nothing confusing or long. There were also simple signs at most tees telling the hole number and length. There were also colored flags in the ground indicating tee positions.
Cons: Natural tee pads. In some areas footing was a little tricky, but it was not bad enough to ruin my round.

The wooded holes on this course show you why the side areas of the fairways are called rough. There is some thick, nasty brush and a decent amount of trees and fallen wood. Watch your disc carefully and make sure you know where it went in.

Holes 4, 5, and 6 were pretty dull. Just wide open field shots.

It is called Maples Lake and there is no shots around or over the lake. I guess it's a con if you like shots that must carry the water.
Other Thoughts: Basket positions and fairways were designed well on the wooded holes. Holes 2 and 3 were very nice. Hole #7 is a nice blend of throwing out in an open field and then threading your disc into the trees toward the basket. #8 is a tight fairway followed by a basket close to the edge of the hill. Throwing off the hill on #9 and bombing out into the field is a good time too. The basket must have been moved since previous reviews as there is no longer a shot near the lake.

Since this course is only a few miles off of I-85 I would certainly recommend it if you're in the area. $5 is a little steep for 9 holes, but if you've got time to play it twice it isn't a bad deal. It seems like the holes are pretty well thought out, and my guess would be that this course slowly gets better as the owner has time to work on tee pads and clearing some of the excess brush and trees away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New Hours & Rates

1    7/30/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: FunkSkunk
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Owner is very helpful and interested in the sport
- Course is going to be updated with some educated help
- Great location for a course
- Very secluded = no crowds
- Good to see something other than hunting and fishing in this rural area
- Bring a pole though and you could catch your dinner!
Cons: - A bit off the main roads but it's really not that far
- Still needs tee pads, but understandable since it's still in development
Other Thoughts: The course is now open Mon - Sat. from 8am till dark and it only costs $5 to play as much as you want. You can also rent a set of 3 discs + 1 marker for another $5. If you lose a floater rental don't worry if it's floating he won't charge you for it. Sinkers, well that will cost you. If the doors are locked and you have your own discs, just pay the fee in the box on the front porch of the Pro Shop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Promising new course

1    7/10/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: extrovert
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a private course that plays around a large commercial fishing lake and has some outstanding holes. Fairway one plays through a small valley at the foot of a mountain, the fairway has a small clear water running stream winding through the middle of it, outstanding hole. Holes two & three are tight heavily wooded shots before the course opens up again. The finishing holes, 7,8 & the inredible hole 9 are an absolute blast to play. 9 plays from atop the mountain back down past the parking area to pins either on a peninsula in the lake or all the way back up to the entrance of the park. Fantastic hole. The club house has discs and bags for sale and rent, nice touch!
Cons: It's only a 9 hole course, though the guy in the pro shop (Ricky) mentioned plans for a complete 18. It's pay to play. The course is pretty rugged, hasn't seen much play & is a bit of a hike. The tee pads are earth only and are often not even close to being level, making it tough to get a good shot off the tee. While the design is a blast to play there are some holes crossing each other, 9 throws over hole 1. Both are great fairways but it's not a good idea for holes to cross each other, but as this course isn't often played I doubt it will cause any problems.
Other Thoughts: Ricky told me I could play 18 holes for $5 but it was cash only, I had none & he let me play for free, even drew me a map of the course. Great guy. When you drive up to it you'll see it's fenced in at the entrance, you'll see Innova signs on the fence, drive to the right of the lake and you'll see the club house on a hill on the right. To play you'll want to park at the front of the park just to the left of the lake, there's a marked off area in the grass for parking right beside hole one and hole 9 finishes back beside your car, always nice. I hope they add to it and I will play it again the first time I'm back in the area. A little work and an extra 9 holes and this could be a great course. I just uploaded some photos I took, played like a dog but had a great day!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Course... Going to be Great!

1    12/23/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Pin Position. The pin positions for several holes (1, 3, 7, 8, 9) were really well done, with Hole 9's pin being out-of-control great (on a 20' "island" on the edge of the lake, 3' from the waters edge).
- Gorgeous Scenery. The property is surrounded by a farm-like setting (although in a neighborhood) with rolling green hills and some stands of really big trees… plus a small lake.
- Beautiful Shots. Holes 1, 7, and 9 are beautiful shots and worth the price of entry alone. And the other holes, although not as aesthetically pleasing, were good shots.
- Private Property. I love private property DG courses. They just have an atmosphere that park courses can't compete with.
- Working with Innova. The owner is working with the Innova design team to design the course… as well as work with them on getting course equipment and the future pro-shop. This place is going to get better!
Cons:
- Only Open Saturdays… (for now). Although I played this course on a Wednesday afternoon, the hours are supposed to be only Saturdays from 8-sunset.
- 75 Cents per Hole. Although a few of the holes may be worth that much, in general $7 rounds are best reserved for immaculate courses. I can only hope the money goes back into the course and the construction of some…
- Tee-Pads. The tees are natural and uneven and marked by little Innova construction flags. Not only are they slippery when muddy; but, if you're going to charge money, you need to have good tee-pads.
- Unrealistic Fairways. Two of the holes had unFAIRways. 15' wide, 300' long, sidearm "S"-turn fairways. Probably not the most realistic shots (Holes 3 and 8).
- Walk to Hole 1. Hole 1 is far from the pro-shop. Actually, the whole course is far from the pro-shop. However, there are future plans to redesign the layout to start and stop at the pro-shop.
- Missing Stuff. Hole 6 was missing the tee-sign and tee-pad flags. And, seeing as to how the other holes utilize temporary equipment, it is possible those signs and flags could disappear too.
Other Thoughts:
- Order of Operations. When you pull in, drive down the driveway with the houses and pay your money at the back door of the brick house (little locked mailbox), then open gate, drive in, close gate, and drive to "pro-shop" building and park. Walk back toward road and around lake past Hole 9's pin (on island) to find Hole 1.
- The Owner… was a really cool guy. Not only did he not kick me out for being there during off hours (non-Saturday), but he gave me a floater disc to use on the last hole (which I gave back when I threw it in the water). He also gave me some insider information about the course like the history, the tornado, expansion plans, pro-shop plans, etc…
- The Future. There are plans to install a new back 9 and practically re-design the entire layout of the course. And, with tons of land for expansion, Innova helping with equipment and design, and a Pro-Shop being built… the future of Maples Lake looks sweet.
- Downed Wood. Some of the holes have downed trees all over them… at first I was going to list this as a con… however, upon speaking with the owner I was informed that a tornado came through the course and made a mess of the place. And, apparently they have done a good job cleaning it up thus-far.
- My Score: -2

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.